More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.66

Awesome: 10.17%
Worth A Look: 16.95%
Average32.2%
Pretty Bad: 10.17%
Total Crap: 30.51%

2 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Cliffhanger (1993)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I told you, it sucks."
1 stars

Violent. Loud. Dumb.

An open letter to Slyvester Stallone:

Mr. Stallone -

First, thanks for visiting Hollywood Bitchslap. No doubt we'll rip you a new one for most of your movies (with the excpetion of Copland), so we thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule of opening Planet Hollywoods and not making decent flicks to stop by.

I just wanted to discuss with you the film Cliffhanger. It was a moderate success for you. Brought you back among the action stars, as it were. I guess my complaint with this movie is that it sucked. Hard.

A movie about mountain climbing isn't so bad, but this movie didn't even show the mountains that much. What's up with that? You had clout; couldn't you have told Renny Harlin to stop focusing on the crappy script and shoot some footage of the scenery?

It's not your fault that it's Die Hard on a mountain, complete with John Lithgow hamming it up. But Mr. Stallone, you signed on for this movie. It may even have been tailored for you. Therein lies the problem.

It's just another action movie. It's boring. It's a far cry from Rocky and Copland. It's far from your best work. What I'm saying is this: you've made your fame and fortune through movies like this. No arguing that. But while you take $20 million a picture and don't offer any hits, something's amiss.

What I'm sayng, in a nutshell, is we need more character-driven roles for you, more Balboa's and Freddy Heflin's. That's where the respect lies. You've certainly proven you've got the acting abilities for those roles, why wouldn't there be others?

Thanks for your time.

Sincerely,

Ryan_A
Hollywood Bitchslap

As for an actual review, don't bother. It sucks. That's all you need to know.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=782&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/01/98 01:14:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/11 Jeff Wilder Die Hard on the high slopes. Fun but slight. 3 stars
7/07/10 harry lime very enjoyable/ exciting actioner. One of Sly's best. 4 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE ACTION ADVENTURE WITH GOOD STUNTS 3 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight John Lithgow is good (can't believe i just wrote that) 3 stars
1/26/07 Jeff Anderson A good action film, but dumb at times. Nothing however tops the 1st 12 min. which is great! 3 stars
12/13/06 R.W.Welch Some nice stuntwork and holds together pretty well. 3 stars
12/10/06 David Cohen Just didn't like it 2 stars
6/05/06 chris f a brilliant movie fantastic 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon The stunts alone are worth 4 stars 4 stars
2/27/06 Quigley the movie had one of the worst scripts ever written, atrocious acting and very fake action 2 stars
8/30/05 ES Didn't hate it, but it felt like a 'shoot to kill' ripoff 3 stars
6/14/05 E-FUNK It's so bad. And it's all because of that Finnish fuck, Renny Harlin. Hated every frame. 1 stars
5/28/05 tony Not a bad film. in fact, i liked it a bit. 3 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Very dumb, but some good nail-biting action. 3 stars
1/10/05 keithers.. worth a look...a good action romp 4 stars
12/06/03 Maurice The Predator This film is ok, a tad to long but good overall 4 stars
5/18/03 Andrew Carden Fantastic Location Shots and Direction; but This Is Stallone At His Worst Point. 3 stars
4/20/03 Stefan Halka The script was good but the film was dragged down by weak action scenes. 3 stars
4/01/03 Sylvester Stallone Hey thanks folks! 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Starts out well, then goes the 'ol cliched route. Bad acting all around. 2 stars
3/02/03 Monster W. Kung Another piece of shit from Stallone's staples. 1 stars
2/18/03 stuntman entertaining if not taken seriously, which is the point! 4 stars
1/03/03 padraig o connor sly is a good actor but d plots shit 4 stars
2/13/02 Scottish Kilt One of stallone's finest films, though it's a bit far fetched. 4 stars
1/18/02 David A. Great action, suspense, and breathtaking photography! It's got it all! 5 stars
12/30/01 Cracked head Laughably awful. 1 stars
11/28/01 Cookie Cutter Bad... 2 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz One of those movies you just know is gonna suck, and when it's over, you were right. 1 stars
10/18/01 Nicole D Two hours of my life I can never get back 1 stars
8/10/01 Crisis Management "Bad guy" vs "good guy" action piece of crap, with inane depiction of rock climbing. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The opening scene and John Lithgow are worth your time...but not much. 3 stars
8/01/01 KC Au A very boring "action" movie. 1 stars
6/07/01 Dean Engrossing? Holds together? What the fuck are you on? This is cliched and unrealistic junk. 1 stars
4/29/01 TNT-6 As for climb-rocking, the ineptitude of this movie is astounding. 1 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Laughable, unrealistic, dumb and overblown climbing-action-whatever wannabe. IT BLOWS. 1 stars
2/15/01 dale hardiman I first saw it 7 yrs ago and i still think that it is a top film 4 stars
2/14/01 Jake This movie is quite engrossing. Rooker was great. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla another flick that would have been better 3 stars
8/23/00 zall It does not suck .It stinks ! 1 stars
7/02/00 liam jackson cliffhanger is sylvester stallone's best movie ever!it does not suck! 5 stars
3/05/99 little jerry Does the job. 4 stars
1/12/99 demon_shredder Hey, this movie rocked! 5 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep I would of only given it a Just Average except it was spoofed in Ace ventura 2 4 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce At least he saw the light and went into indies after this and Daylight. 2 stars
9/04/98 Badass You can totally tell which was filmed on location and which wasn't. 3 stars
9/02/98 Johny STOP! OR MY MOM WILL SHOOT! was worse 2 stars
9/01/98 kooky sal I hate formula action. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-May-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast