More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.98

Awesome: 5.26%
Worth A Look: 15.79%
Average: 8.77%
Pretty Bad: 12.28%
Total Crap57.89%

2 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Super Mario Bros
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Do the Mario! Better yet, don't!"
1 stars

Uh-oh.

Even as movies based on video games go, this movie sucks ass.

Terrible. Rather than lift the plot directly from a classic video game, the decided to make it, I don't know, more epic, I guess. It looks less like a movie and more like an amusement park gone horribly amok.

Hopper overacts. Badly. Again.
Hoskins is alright, though you question signing on a Brit to play an Italian. Only Leguizamo seems to know he's in a stinkburger.

The effects are wasted, and even some of the elements that made the game cool (those boots, for example) are reduced to one-note jokes here (a wind-up bomb?).

Not even a child with the shortest attention span will get anything from this movie. Not a bit.

Compared to this, Mortal Kombat was a masterpiece.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=783&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/03/98 01:20:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/14 Mario is the Best This movie is total crap!! But the video games are the best games ever! 1 stars
5/26/11 Glenn Laurence Hardy Junior This is a total embarrassment to Nintendo. :( 3 stars
11/18/10 Luigi Holy-ah shit-ah, Mario, even the Goombas are literally retarded! 2 stars
6/16/09 dupadoit drunk again 2 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight There weren't any damn rocket boots in the video game! 2 stars
6/26/08 Mario This movie should have been more like the games. 2 stars
7/01/07 Sugarfoot About as terrible as you would expect. 1 stars
2/16/07 johnnyfog Pretty complicated fo a movie about fucking mario bros. Daisy was hot though 2 stars
4/17/06 Aldo only for really young viewers 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer It's entertaining, though chessy and a sacrilige to the games. I love Hoskins. 4 stars
12/19/05 Monster W. Kung Utter bullshit. 1 stars
9/10/05 skullwolf35 this ain't no game its total crap 1 stars
9/04/05 Tom Burns I loved it! A fun ride. 4 stars
7/25/05 Jake Not as terrible as they say it is, but sort of entertaining 3 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Tetris: The Movie, would be more entertaining than this bullshit. 1 stars
2/14/04 Zargo not THAT bad, but not good... spelt the end for poor old roxette 2 stars
2/07/04 jmsynth It's a fun movie, aimed mostly at kids, it doesn't deserve such harsh criticism 4 stars
6/26/03 cochese What were they thinking? Hopper? 1 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum This is terrible all around 1 stars
9/26/02 snowconehead How the hell could anyone make this game-to-movie seem realistic?? 4 stars
7/07/02 SuperMarioX3 Very funny, althought it wasn't meant to be a comedy.... 4 stars
3/25/02 Mazz-zzaM u suk duck fethers that are fat, this movie is very good u wanker go kis the queens mother 5 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden Just proves that video games belong on the small screen. 2 stars
3/28/01 Michael Bearden The worst movie based on a vidoe game ever mortal combat was better than this 1 stars
1/17/01 RT Williamson This movie was good in a different way. Appreciate it for what it is. 4 stars
9/22/00 Turtle Awesome! As much fun as the video game! 5 stars
9/12/00 Jed Underrated & super although it could've been better. 4 stars
7/21/00 AA I thought it was totally awful, but that's just my opinion it's not fact! 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers It was good but confusing. 3 stars
2/17/00 Trevor Gumbel I liked it ALOT!! 5 stars
1/09/00 John Markham WHAT THE HELL IS THIS CRAP? ALL COPIES MUST BE BURNED AT ONCE! 1 stars
10/29/99 Karahde Khan It has the same title than one famous videogame. Otherwise it has nothing to do with it. 1 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh AWFUL! 1 stars
8/02/99 Duck A great family film, how could you hate it? 4 stars
7/19/99 blue b. Why did I waste my money on this? 1 stars
7/10/99 Justin Horrid. Right down there with "Mac and Me" 1 stars
6/24/99 Ah Dooey sincerely bullshit 1 stars
6/22/99 Angie retarded movie...don't even waste your time watching it 1 stars
5/22/99 WankerKing I'd rather have my ass impaled on a glass studded spike than watch this shit again. Ugh. 1 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein Bill Paxton must have been in on this one.... 1 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan I thought I saw the wrong movie. That wasn't the Mario Brothers! 1 stars
9/20/98 Johny This had Oscar potential, but failed. Too bad. 1 stars
9/09/98 MikeF this movie was ok. 3 stars
9/04/98 Badass I was this when I was 14. I was ashamed I sat through it then too. 1 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy holy monkeys! this movie blew!! give me cap'n lou albano any day over this crap! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-May-1993 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast