More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 37.78%
Worth A Look42.22%
Average: 8.89%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 11.11%

2 reviews, 33 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Firm, The
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Mmm...Jeanne Tripplehorn..."
4 stars


One of the better Grisham adaptations, and that's because the ending was changed.

Tom Cruise is a lawyer who gets an offer he just can't refuse. It's a too-good-to-be-true offer to work for a firm in Memphis that turns out to have ties to the mob. Tom faces a moral dilemma: does he stay loyal to the firm and be rich, or does he turn to the FBI and help bring the firm down, because since he's a young lawyer, he's not corrupt yet?

Tough call. Not really, though.

Decent performances here, from Cruise, Gene Hackman (as always), Holly Hunter and Jeanne Tripplehorn. Solid direction, too. Pretty suspenseful, and fans of the book probably will prefer the film's ending to the novel's.

All in all, not a bad film.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/10/98 01:45:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/07 Chris Redmond Wonderful cast, compelling story, the best grisham adaptation by far. 5 stars
7/13/06 Rosalie Soriano It's great 4 stars
6/05/06 Johnathon Very good (deep) story line I loved the film 5 stars
10/26/05 noops nice 2 watch tom cruise in such a role 4 stars
8/25/05 ES godfather on the money, this film is a rare gem for those who like conspiracies & intrigue 5 stars
7/13/04 You suck hugecock godfather Your review sucks like shitt 1 stars
6/11/04 Kevin Farkas Entertaining and suspenseful... effective use of music. 4 stars
5/05/04 John nothing much to praise or pan here - it entertains well enough I suppose 3 stars
3/30/03 Nanc S. Very intense film. Cruise top notch, as usual! 5 stars
12/05/02 Agatha The book is better! But its thrilling and has a super cast!!! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Bloated film based on a bloated book 3 stars
8/02/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa aFucking masterpiece 5 stars
7/25/02 Justin Very Good 5 stars
6/11/02 Pati Very good! I like it very much! 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn Plot's too complicated. But that's the idea of the film. 4 stars
4/15/02 R.W. Welch Pretty good suspense factor and Hackman always helps of course. 4 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Hackman & Cruise at their best 4 stars
1/04/02 KMG I bet Wilford Brimley can pinch a mean loaf 4 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Gene Hackman is great! Do lawyers bill that way? 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Boring as hell! I had no idea what was going on and didn't care 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Nice lawyer yarn. Boring at times but ultimately intense. 4 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Loved the Holly/Hal subplot 4 stars
7/05/01 Beverly Cordle Great film.Hackman and Cruise are sooo real! 5 stars
8/11/00 Elvisfan Not that bad, even tho Tom is a non-actor; Holly Hunter & Hackman were good 4 stars
3/29/00 Dijan den Hartog I thought it was thrilling!! 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
7/01/99 Kelly Decent entertainment but they should have stuck to the book 3 stars
6/15/99 Dylan One of the better Tom Cruise films. 4 stars
4/11/99 Catherine CRAP! It was totally predictable, I walked out in the middle of it. 1 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Now, this was a lesson in Hollywood reality. Grisham makes one book and they fucked up! 1 stars
11/16/98 Jules Completely ruined by candy hollywood ending. Book ending was so important to story... 3 stars
9/15/98 Badass Solid entertainment. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  30-Jun-1993 (R)


  02-Jul-1993 (MA)

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast