More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome: 18.1%
Worth A Look58.1%
Average: 4.76%
Pretty Bad: 0.95%
Total Crap: 18.1%

7 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


American Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"More of the same, which isn't such a bad thing."
4 stars

Say what you will about the “American Pie” trilogy, but one thing is certain: The films are consistent. They are outrageously crass, vulgar and sexual, with a hint of sweetness under it all. Whether that’s good or bad is in the eye of the beholder, but at least they seem to have been cut from the same cloth. That’s more than you can say for most movie franchises.

“American Wedding,” the third and allegedly final installment in the series, finds our young heroes at the end of their college careers and about to embark on life. Hapless Jim (Jason Biggs) and the dingbatty but sexually adventurous Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) are about to get married, which is cause for much celebration among themselves, their families and their friends.

Unfortunately, the friend they’d rather avoid -- moronic profanity-spewer Stifler (Seann William Scott) -- catches wind of the nuptials and, Eddie Haskell-style, ingratiates himself with both families. (Jim’s dad, played by the wonderful Eugene Levy, is back again, and we get to meet Michelle’s parents, including a father played by Levy’s frequent collaborator Fred Willard. Alas, Levy and Willard don’t have much time together, and Willard doesn’t get to do much at all.)

Stifler has the hots for Michelle’s upright younger sister, Cadence (January Jones), and must put on a show of gentility around her. This irritates Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas), who actually IS genteel and intelligent and would like to date Cadence himself. The Chris Klein character from the first films isn’t around, nor is his absence explained. Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) is here, but he’s more or less forgotten by the screenplay.

The film is essentially one embarrassing sexual situation after another, funny as far as those things go, but not terribly rewarding. The prize is Stifler, who has always had the films’ best one-liners and who here borders on -- but does not cross over into -- the territory of being over-used. Much of the plot involves him, and he has the film’s single funniest sequence: a dance-off at a gay bar.

Seann William Scott’s performance is a tour de force of vulgarity. That may not seem like much to be proud of, but it involves a fair amount of proper timing, delivery and inflection. Swearing isn’t automatically funny. You have to swear just right to EARN a laugh, and Scott can do it.

Scott, alas, also has an intensely disgusting scene that for me crossed the line between being coarsely funny and being too gross to even watch, much less enjoy. You will know it when it arrives, I promise.

“American Pie” (1999) revived the teen gross-out sex comedy and is noted in the film history books for that reason. What tends to get overlooked in it all is that most of the cast members are pretty gifted comedic actors, too. The trilogy is superlative, for its genre, because no one lets the fact that they’re enacting vulgarity get in the way of turning in honest, legitimate performances.

Directed by Jesse Dylan (Bob Dylan’s son, I kid you not) and written, as were the first two films, by Adam Herz, “American Wedding” has a few fantastically written and delivered one-liners, and more than a few other amusing moments, including (of course), several more instances of food-defilement. It also has that hint of heart under the layers of sexual ribaldry, giving it a soft, likable touch.

It is, as its predecessors, not a film I can recommend generally. Its language and content will offend many, and rightly so. But for what it means to be, and what it wants to do, it is largely successful. It made me laugh very hard many times, which was surely its intention.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7858&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/02/03 04:21:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/25/10 Dane Youssef Aworthy finale. Great to see they found a way to make it all end on the best possible note. 5 stars
1/27/09 wes realy funny and cool 5 stars
8/03/08 Tyler THE BEST OF THE BUNCH! AWESOME FILM! 5 stars
10/18/07 Beau this is an average sequel to the previous ones, not the best but had moments 'FOCUS FOCUS' 3 stars
4/02/07 fools♫gold The high point of the trilogy (the three that matter). 4 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller "Fucking right, doggie - that's a good flick!" So sayeth Stifler; so shall it be. 4 stars
3/12/06 JM Synth They're not even trying anymore 1 stars
9/27/05 Daveman A waste of everyone's time. Hardly watchable. 1 stars
8/25/05 Eden I really enjoyed the first two but this is crap. Would never watch it again 1 stars
7/23/05 Clubber Lang It is what it is, and it's very funny. Second best of the series, after 2. 4 stars
4/10/05 Cheryl Mayfield Probably tops first two, even if Stiffler has to stuff dog shit in his mouth to do it. 4 stars
1/19/05 Charlène I saw this film and I think it was unapologetically witty and gleeful 5 stars
11/18/04 Chris Belldo I've taken funnier shits. Imagine American Pie ass-raped w/out lube or a reach-around. 1 stars
10/25/04 hudson wow! 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Stifler steals the show, very funny 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff pretty funny for a teen movie. 4 stars
9/04/04 Ghetto Smurf Jason Biggs' acting got better while everyone else's got worse. Still, good movie. 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fuck this 1 stars
7/23/04 Samuel As good as the first two, if not better. 5 stars
7/21/04 Littlepurch Won't be liked by all but I loved it. Some real cringingly hilarious moments! 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva No where near as good as the first two 3 stars
7/03/04 J HILARLIOUS!!! Stiffler is funny but a mental a**Hole!!! 5 stars
5/26/04 Daveman Fucking shit. The worst film I saw in 2003. 1 stars
4/26/04 eve dont take it 2 seriously! how old r u anyway? 5 stars
4/12/04 cinkcool awesome 5 stars
1/08/04 KICK ASS OR DONT COME HOME! practically the whole movie was on stifler and jim and michelle were barely in it,still fun 4 stars
1/03/04 Gray needed Chick for finch other than MILF 4 stars
1/03/04 A F They were trying a little too hard. Stiffler is getting a little played out. 4 stars
11/14/03 orangefactory Best among the American Pie series! 5 stars
11/10/03 Long River surprisingly dumb 1 stars
10/31/03 Natasha Bly Awesome if they do part 4 to pair Finch with someone better than S's mom; average otherwise 4 stars
10/31/03 Barry End of fuckin story? Character most like me stuck with Stiffler's mom? Gross!!! Bogus!!! 3 stars
10/22/03 Cheryl Mayfield Probably tops first two, even if Stiffler has to stuff dog shit in his mouth to do it. 4 stars
10/10/03 I've Got Worms The movie didn't show entirely what I wanted to see Lezys 3 stars
9/10/03 snowconehead falls somewhere between heh and meh. 4 stars
9/01/03 Jimmy James too forced, too unfunny. and i wanted to like it :( 2 stars
9/01/03 hando surprisingly funny! 4 stars
8/31/03 Marc The best movie ever 5 stars
8/25/03 Jimmeh Johnez HBS used to not suck. Now popups and BS all the time. 3 stars
8/24/03 I Would In the grand tradition of American Pie films, it's formulaic, it's dumb and it's not funny. 1 stars
8/21/03 Jack Bourbon Stifler is my hero 4 stars
8/18/03 Koitus Agree, that it has 5-6 scenes that are GREAT! Nikki Ziering topless also helps! :-) 4 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Hilarious and, incredible as it seems, just as sweet and heartfelt. 5 stars
8/16/03 Croweater I really liked it, it was sooooo funny ;-) 4 stars
8/16/03 Roundman Terrible. So far over the top that it didn't even seem to be an American Pie movie. 1 stars
8/14/03 mcw more zany than ever 4 stars
8/12/03 LoudChris 2nd best movie of the year! 5 stars
8/10/03 Ahnold Sucked. Series of lame gag-situations and gross-out scenes. Horrible. 1 stars
8/08/03 j lo jiggle that ass 1 stars
8/08/03 LoLo This is BY FAR the best out of the American trilogy! I laughed so hard I was almost crying! 5 stars
8/08/03 Winternight I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
8/08/03 JJ from da block Another freakin teeny bopper flick...I'd almost rather watch JLo's jigglin ass in jigli 1 stars
8/06/03 Frank Riccilli BULL DYKES FOR LIFE 5 stars
8/05/03 Bam Margera Laugh Out Loud. 'Nuff Said. Stifler indeed stole the show yet again. 5 stars
8/05/03 Desperado A great ending to a perfect trilogy 5 stars
8/05/03 I FUCK PIE NeVeR Say LALLA! 1 stars
8/05/03 Tyler Funny 4 stars
8/04/03 FrayLo actually entertaining, i expected less, got more. 4 stars
8/04/03 Joman fucking awsome 5 stars
8/04/03 Nicole Pretty funny, though starting to get a bit old 4 stars
8/02/03 Jason Kallelis Huh. Actually pretty damn good. Was surprised. 4 stars
8/02/03 Doug Totally lost the 'feel' of the first one, but still good 4 stars
8/02/03 bob mckenzie a worthy conclusion to a funny trilogy 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 02-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Aug-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast