More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome: 18.1%
Worth A Look58.1%
Average: 4.76%
Pretty Bad: 0.95%
Total Crap: 18.1%

7 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Long Night in a Dead City by Rob Gonsalves

All the Rage: Saved by Sarno by Rob Gonsalves

Street Fighting Men by Jay Seaver

Transformers: The Last Knight by Peter Sobczynski

Warriors of the Dawn by Jay Seaver

My Cousin Rachel (2017) by Jay Seaver

47 Meters Down by Jay Seaver

Cars 3 by Peter Sobczynski

It Comes at Night by Jay Seaver

Mummy, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


American Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's on like Donkey Kong."
4 stars

The continuing adventures of the American Pie gang...uh, continue...as Jim and Michelle take the next step in their relationship, and prove there's more to love than just shaving your balls.

Missing for the next go around are Oz, Heather, Vicki, Jessica, Nadia and the Sherminator. Surprisingly (or perhaps not), you won't miss them.

We open following the graduation of the gang. Jim (Jason Biggs) and Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) are still together. Jim has decided to pop the question to her following a romantic dinner at a ritzy restaurant. Unfortunately, the ring's not in the jewelry box. Jim's dad (Eugene Levy) is en route with the ring, however, so Jim just has to stall. Michelle believes Jim's flustering is because he wants an under the table blowjob, so she obliges. Which of course sets up one of several uncomfortable sequences for our hapless hero.

There is your opening sequence. It sets the tone for the movie.

Jim's still the lovable loser, but he's got the girl. He's ready to take it to the next level by marrying Michelle, the one who really is perfect for him. She wants the traditional wedding. He wants to please her. It's that simple.

Everything that follows leads up the wedding. Jim finally meets Michelle's parents (Deborah Rush and Fred Willard, in some inspired casting); Stifler (Seann William Scott) runs roughshod over Finch and the Rookie Of The Year (Eddie Kaye Thomas and Thomas Ian Nicholas) and tries to get into the pants of Michelle's younger sister Cadence (the lovely January Jones). Those are the basic plot points. There are elaborate setups and payoffs as to how they get from beginning to end, and it's done in what is now the somewhat traditional trademark American Pie gross-out humor. There's nudity, strippers, pubic hair jokes, and so on. But there also is still the underlying sweetness that has existed in the previous films, mainly shown by Levy, who is Jim's confidante and the film's moral center, and by Biggs himself, who has always played Jim as very much the everyguy, never completely sure of everything that he's doing. He's who the majority of the audience is supposed to identify with. The rest of the audience has to see themselves in Stifler, and even he shows growth as a character this time around, but not before amping up the vulgarity to 11.

Eugene Levy is gold, as always. Biggs is awesome to watch, honestly. He shows us the progression in Jim's character from the first movie to now, where Jim's growing into a decent young man with the lengths he goes to to make Michelle happy (whether they involve getting her the dress she wants, or shaving south of the border, for example). Seann William Scott has a more prominent role this time around, but he also gets the most laughs when he's on screen. It's supply and demand.

I'd have loved to have seen more of Alyson Hannigan, though, since she's the latest object of my celebrity crushes. But Michelle's surprisingly not given a lot to do, which is odd (and unfortunate) considering how her chacter should be a focal point to the plot. But I'll take whatever Hannigan I can get, and it's not as if audiences go to see American Pie movies for plot, anyway.

American Wedding has a shaky start and a couple of dry stretches, but those are pretty much shoved to the background with the remaining setups and gags. It's got a ton of laugh out loud moments, and that's really all you can ask for in a movie like this. You know what to expect going in, and you're not disappointed.

I actually prefer American Wedding over its two predecessors because the characters have evolved, although your mileage may vary. I laughed. A lot. That's a sure sign of enjoying a comedy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7858&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/04/03 02:38:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/25/10 Dane Youssef Aworthy finale. Great to see they found a way to make it all end on the best possible note. 5 stars
1/27/09 wes realy funny and cool 5 stars
8/03/08 Tyler THE BEST OF THE BUNCH! AWESOME FILM! 5 stars
10/18/07 Beau this is an average sequel to the previous ones, not the best but had moments 'FOCUS FOCUS' 3 stars
4/02/07 fools♫gold The high point of the trilogy (the three that matter). 4 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller "Fucking right, doggie - that's a good flick!" So sayeth Stifler; so shall it be. 4 stars
3/12/06 JM Synth They're not even trying anymore 1 stars
9/27/05 Daveman A waste of everyone's time. Hardly watchable. 1 stars
8/25/05 Eden I really enjoyed the first two but this is crap. Would never watch it again 1 stars
7/23/05 Clubber Lang It is what it is, and it's very funny. Second best of the series, after 2. 4 stars
4/10/05 Cheryl Mayfield Probably tops first two, even if Stiffler has to stuff dog shit in his mouth to do it. 4 stars
1/19/05 Charlène I saw this film and I think it was unapologetically witty and gleeful 5 stars
11/18/04 Chris Belldo I've taken funnier shits. Imagine American Pie ass-raped w/out lube or a reach-around. 1 stars
10/25/04 hudson wow! 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Stifler steals the show, very funny 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff pretty funny for a teen movie. 4 stars
9/04/04 Ghetto Smurf Jason Biggs' acting got better while everyone else's got worse. Still, good movie. 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fuck this 1 stars
7/23/04 Samuel As good as the first two, if not better. 5 stars
7/21/04 Littlepurch Won't be liked by all but I loved it. Some real cringingly hilarious moments! 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva No where near as good as the first two 3 stars
7/03/04 J HILARLIOUS!!! Stiffler is funny but a mental a**Hole!!! 5 stars
5/26/04 Daveman Fucking shit. The worst film I saw in 2003. 1 stars
4/26/04 eve dont take it 2 seriously! how old r u anyway? 5 stars
4/12/04 cinkcool awesome 5 stars
1/08/04 KICK ASS OR DONT COME HOME! practically the whole movie was on stifler and jim and michelle were barely in it,still fun 4 stars
1/03/04 Gray needed Chick for finch other than MILF 4 stars
1/03/04 A F They were trying a little too hard. Stiffler is getting a little played out. 4 stars
11/14/03 orangefactory Best among the American Pie series! 5 stars
11/10/03 Long River surprisingly dumb 1 stars
10/31/03 Natasha Bly Awesome if they do part 4 to pair Finch with someone better than S's mom; average otherwise 4 stars
10/31/03 Barry End of fuckin story? Character most like me stuck with Stiffler's mom? Gross!!! Bogus!!! 3 stars
10/22/03 Cheryl Mayfield Probably tops first two, even if Stiffler has to stuff dog shit in his mouth to do it. 4 stars
10/10/03 I've Got Worms The movie didn't show entirely what I wanted to see Lezys 3 stars
9/10/03 snowconehead falls somewhere between heh and meh. 4 stars
9/01/03 Jimmy James too forced, too unfunny. and i wanted to like it :( 2 stars
9/01/03 hando surprisingly funny! 4 stars
8/31/03 Marc The best movie ever 5 stars
8/25/03 Jimmeh Johnez HBS used to not suck. Now popups and BS all the time. 3 stars
8/24/03 I Would In the grand tradition of American Pie films, it's formulaic, it's dumb and it's not funny. 1 stars
8/21/03 Jack Bourbon Stifler is my hero 4 stars
8/18/03 Koitus Agree, that it has 5-6 scenes that are GREAT! Nikki Ziering topless also helps! :-) 4 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Hilarious and, incredible as it seems, just as sweet and heartfelt. 5 stars
8/16/03 Croweater I really liked it, it was sooooo funny ;-) 4 stars
8/16/03 Roundman Terrible. So far over the top that it didn't even seem to be an American Pie movie. 1 stars
8/14/03 mcw more zany than ever 4 stars
8/12/03 LoudChris 2nd best movie of the year! 5 stars
8/10/03 Ahnold Sucked. Series of lame gag-situations and gross-out scenes. Horrible. 1 stars
8/08/03 j lo jiggle that ass 1 stars
8/08/03 LoLo This is BY FAR the best out of the American trilogy! I laughed so hard I was almost crying! 5 stars
8/08/03 Winternight I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
8/08/03 JJ from da block Another freakin teeny bopper flick...I'd almost rather watch JLo's jigglin ass in jigli 1 stars
8/06/03 Frank Riccilli BULL DYKES FOR LIFE 5 stars
8/05/03 Bam Margera Laugh Out Loud. 'Nuff Said. Stifler indeed stole the show yet again. 5 stars
8/05/03 Desperado A great ending to a perfect trilogy 5 stars
8/05/03 I FUCK PIE NeVeR Say LALLA! 1 stars
8/05/03 Tyler Funny 4 stars
8/04/03 FrayLo actually entertaining, i expected less, got more. 4 stars
8/04/03 Joman fucking awsome 5 stars
8/04/03 Nicole Pretty funny, though starting to get a bit old 4 stars
8/02/03 Jason Kallelis Huh. Actually pretty damn good. Was surprised. 4 stars
8/02/03 Doug Totally lost the 'feel' of the first one, but still good 4 stars
8/02/03 bob mckenzie a worthy conclusion to a funny trilogy 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 02-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Aug-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast