More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome: 11.43%
Worth A Look54.29%
Average: 12.86%
Pretty Bad: 8.57%
Total Crap: 12.86%

3 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Last Action Hero
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"A guy keeps taking his eye out. Coooool."
4 stars

Most people hated this, but I thought it a very interesting piece of work.

I'm not saying it was necessarily good, in fact I found it lacking. I feel the bombing of this movie is a result of bad marketing, more than the actual movie itself. It was marketed over the top, but it just came across as really pushing this movie, not a mockery of film marketing, which is what I assume they were going for, because the movie itself is a mockery of movies.

Summary: a boy finds a magic ticket. It takes him inside the movie of his favorite star, Arnie. Inside he experiences every movie cliche, as the movie mocks them. Eventually he brings arnie out, but bad guys come too. And movie bad guys in the real world = bad. So he needs to save the world, and set his mom up with Arnie at the same time. (sex with Arnie must be so weird. First of all talking dirty in that accent just sounds dumb, but what role playing games could you play that we havn't seen him do on screen? "Oh, you be Conan the Barbarian, and I can be a peasant woman!" or "Oh, you can be an android from the future and I can be mankind's only hope for survival!")

Arnold does a wonderful caricature of himself. He can actually do comedy if he's basically a straight man. The kid is no more than we can expect from him, and everyone is supposed to be superficial and extreme anyways, so it all works.

The message about our movie-honoring society is I think an important one, and the choice of doing it through an *action* movie is a bold choice, which prehaps some didn't care for. I think action fans were dissapointed at the depth, and others were dissapointed by the action element.

If you look at this in context, It's really quite remarkable. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=787&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 12:55:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/14 PAUL SHORTT NOISY, UNEVEN AND UNPLEASANT 1 stars
3/25/13 Chris F Very enjoyable film to watch 4 stars
3/17/11 That Guy Kelley Proves that you can never go wrong underestimating the movie-going public. In any sane 5 stars
1/26/11 Wisdo Derrida/Deconstructivist meta film that goes WAY over most heads. Charles Dance is superb. 5 stars
3/03/10 Richard Brandt Best scene: when Slater reveals the emptiness of the hero's true life 4 stars
9/08/09 Jeff Wilder Has potential. But can't overcome the one-joke premise. 2 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Such an awesome movie. Great plot, awesome action,and a great family movie 4 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White sooo bad, no plot stupid stupid I like Arnold but this SUCKS 1 stars
1/08/08 Jo Lacouenne Loved it when I was young and still do; a funny spoof and and arnold fan dream come true 5 stars
9/30/07 silenig A very underrated movie. It's no worse than many actioners with better reviews/boxoffice. 4 stars
4/21/07 Stevo UK Arnold sweatyknackers is always worth watching. 4 stars
11/21/06 Austin Wertman BORING, STUPID, WAAAAAAAAY OVERLONG, TOO CARTOONY, MISCAST ARNIE, REALLY IRRITATING O'BRIAN 1 stars
8/14/06 Sepi53 Better than I expected 4 stars
4/08/06 Jin Entertaining and funny. Better than True Lies. 4 stars
9/08/05 tatum Off putting and loud, but some cool action 3 stars
8/18/05 ES 'magic ticket my ass McBain!' but i liked it ok 3 stars
6/20/05 darick Delivers what it is supposed to (i.e mindless entertainment, indestructable superheroes) 4 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold It's pretty stupid, but still underrated entertainment. 4 stars
2/23/05 ALDO IT'S Orginal....Not the same old story.. bad guy kills...hero wants revenge!!! 4 stars
1/31/05 Jeff Anderson Trash this film all you want, but to me I found this film to be a wild, energetic BLAST!!!! 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G arnold is a shitty actor, and I want that kid to die 2 stars
11/28/03 john not as bad as everyone said it was - great set design - great direction but a bad script 3 stars
9/18/03 snowconehead It's amazing how much I enjoyed this stupid movie 4 stars
7/26/03 3man They should have shown more of the hot daughter and less of the kid. 2 stars
6/22/03 cochese Not as bad as Junior, but a piece of shit nonetheless. Cmon Ahnuld, you can do better. 1 stars
4/21/03 Matt Thiel Someone should remake this film. Really. I'd pay to see someone do the premise justice. 3 stars
4/17/03 Fonq35 It's really alright! Fun and stupid... and Arnie is funny as himself! Piss. Taking thereof. 4 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do not so bad.. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Underrated, colorful, imaginative action pic is a whole lot of fun. 4 stars
4/13/02 NWO4LIFE Fun, out of control, over the top action flick. 4 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic Definatly under rated... very funny with awesome action. They should make the Slater movie 4 stars
2/17/02 I love movies some pathetic lines but some good stuff too 3 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy fun & entertaining, but kind of shitty...... McT still rules!!!! 3 stars
10/02/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Cool Movie, Very Well Done. 5 stars
8/17/01 Monster W. Kung I have a lot of respect for Schwarzenegger, but definitely not because of this stuff. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A pivotal point in Arnold's career...He went on to an academy award performance in Batman. 1 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Creative & clever.If U keep youreyes open the whole time,U can see Damon Wayans asan extra! 4 stars
4/24/01 Dark Sol Funny in a way that you laugh at the characters. Good plot, understructured. 3 stars
2/28/01 Jake Much better than that True Lies crap. underrated 5 stars
1/12/01 Bender Underrated spoof of Action movies. 4 stars
12/22/00 John Doe SHANE BLACK KICKS ASS! 5 stars
11/27/00 The Evil Penguin Dissapointing action/spoof of movies within a movie. 2 stars
5/30/00 danilo DEFINITELY worth seeing! 4 stars
5/05/00 chris this movie blows 1 stars
2/28/00 Porno Dave One of the only PG-13 movies that I can actually stand. 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Had an okay idea , didn't really go any where with it though . Best part T-1000 appearance. 2 stars
9/25/99 alyssa Please God...Never again 1 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Average" 3 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Overblown, utterly self-indulgent piece of shit!! 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Good (if overdone) idea, Crappy execution! 3 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Quite remarkable, I enjoyed it. 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy cuh-rah-pee!!!!!! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-1993 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast