More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 9.09%
Worth A Look: 12.88%
Average: 22.73%
Pretty Bad30.3%
Total Crap: 25%

7 reviews, 90 user ratings



League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Most unextraordinary."
2 stars

Anachronisms run abound in this salmagundi teaming of literary “heroes” in fin de siècle Europe to battle a cryptic villain known only as The Fantom (“How operatic”) from generating a world war with his “alternative” technology.

The rogue’s gallery consists of Allan Quartermain (“King Solomon’s Mines”), Captain Nemo (“20,000 Leagues under the Sea”), Tom Sawyer (“The Adventures of Tom Sawyer”), Rick Skinner (a rift on “The Invisible Man”), Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde (self-explanatory), Mina Harker (“Dracula”) and Dorian Gray (“The Picture of Dorian Gray”). In theory the idea sounds great, leading me to want to search out Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s graphic novel (also responsible for From Hell’s source material — with brief reference here), but in execution it’s a mess. Director Stephen Norrington (Blade) fails to convincingly propound the concept by disallowing the viewer to buy into the factitious reasons all of these foreign characters and mythos are being thrown together. From there the abundant use of computer animation and special effects rouse as an avocation from further explanation or development of the plot. It remains in comic form until the end, or at least the way the sloppiest of comics translate to the screen, heavily dependent on the diversity of abilities, the need for one’s powers to upstage those of the previous, and so forth. Neither is it a help that the entire cast peruse about on autopilot. Though I think the assortment of characters has potential for true adventure, the way they are manipulated against each other serves as too much of a conflict. There are striking visuals — the transmogrification of Hyde back to Jekyll or vise-versa, the immersion of the Nautilus — but they are used to dictate the story instead of assist. Then as well, there are any number of sloppy examples, the flip-flopping effects of the invisible guy, the gaping continuity errors, excessively edited action sequences, the trend of dark scenes to cover up poor CGI (as seen recently in Pirates, Hulk, minimally in T3). When all is said and done, this minor league defeats itself with dilettantism.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7888&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/28/03 22:04:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

12/01/08 Tomes it wasn't terrible, but it wasn't good 2 stars
3/14/08 mr.mike Teeters on the brink of crash and burn , but doesn't. 3 stars
10/17/07 austin weiss this movie sucked balls 1 stars
1/15/07 del I thought it was silly, brainless, goofy fun. 4 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller I really REALLY wanted to love this flick; unfortunately, the movie didn't let me. 2 stars
2/16/06 R.W.Welch Promising premise, witless execution. 2 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes Crap, I want my money back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. Connery this movie has no redeeming value, bad CGI and makes no sense= where do I sign! 1 stars
6/20/05 darick Nothing extraordinary 2 stars
6/18/05 tony The legue of what the hell was this movie! Sean is too old to do it like he use to do!! 2 stars
4/21/05 Colleen Goldrick If you love these characters watch it 5 stars
2/18/05 tatum How to completely destroy literature's most famous characters 2 stars
1/24/05 sbpat21 not really very good 3 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson NOT BAD AT ALL! An enjoyable, old-fashioned good time. S. Connery and P. Wilson are great. 4 stars
12/23/04 Cool Leather Jacket Poor directing, I want my life back! 1 stars
10/22/04 T a terrible waste of a great idea. such poor direction i wanted to cry, or shoot someone 1 stars
10/17/04 Elisheva Rison This movie had all of the right elements, was cool, but they ruined it with the very ending 5 stars
10/17/04 Charlene Javier 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea 2 stars
10/12/04 Al Guy Despite the CGI, I liked it. 4 stars
8/25/04 The Grinch If Hellboy can get good ratings...really, was this much different? BAD effects and editing 3 stars
8/16/04 psycho dwarf Had I expected any less, I'd reserve my rating just for correct names...even that's f'd up! 1 stars
8/08/04 Shams Huque They completey wrecked the great novel!!! 3 stars
6/03/04 Littlepurch Well I really liked it. A lighthearted, fun-for-all journey back to Connery's days as Bond. 4 stars
5/25/04 Gazza E Fun at times, but can someone explain this movie to me!! 2 stars
5/15/04 jezfromhell Enough with the CGI! 1 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I know its shitty, i know it fell short, but i enjoyed it anyway! 4 stars
5/02/04 Carly I loved it! 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 reminded me of old serials put into a movie was alot of fun 4 stars
3/23/04 wog nice fx, really boring plot,dialogue,action,actors etc etc 2 stars
3/14/04 Charles Could have been so friggin' awesome....but NOPE. Fuck Hollywood. 1 stars
2/29/04 bullit16 A great graphic novel totally ruined. 2 stars
2/27/04 Poo Monkey I shall extract my eyeballs lest they see such pox ever again... 1 stars
2/23/04 Mike Kidd Promising material completely ruined. 1 stars
2/16/04 Jack I hope the writers and producers (a) were fired and (b) never work in Hollywood again. 1 stars
2/03/04 Jack Bourbon I am utterly perplexed by this film. I saw at release, and taped from PPV. I WILL get it! 1 stars
2/01/04 movie critic hmm.. 4 stars
1/28/04 Crapola Wow that was boring. I turned it off. 1 stars
1/15/04 Helius I wasn't impressed much...but this film didn't tank like some say it made $76 mil total 2 stars
1/13/04 The Ramuh ....does anyone notice "extraordinary" doesn't start with X? 2 stars
1/06/04 tricky dick I felt as though I was two hours closer to my death!!! 1 stars
1/05/04 Keith This was a big budget film? I was severely dissappointed with the cardboard characters. 1 stars
12/26/03 Mason I would've paid not to see this movie. 2 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart I really enjoyed this movie. 4 stars
11/27/03 John it's the classic good "bad movie"..it's pretty horrible but you'll have a good time 5 stars
10/27/03 John Elkington I can't ever recall a big budget film being this bad. 1 stars
10/21/03 Will Just awful. Mr. Hyde is show as an Incredible Hulk type creature. Just plain stupid. 1 stars
10/16/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Starts off promisingly, then delivers a muddled mixed Bag. 3 stars
10/08/03 Long River One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
10/04/03 alien assassin Read the comic instead !!! 2 stars
9/08/03 JFennell Not even accurate-Mina Harker never became a vampire. 1 stars
8/29/03 mike great movie 5 stars
8/21/03 Mad It has some nice eye candy and its good for sensless entertainment. 3 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Undeserving of all this criticism. Pretty darn good, w/ engaging characters. 5 stars
8/13/03 Christian Harding An extraordinarily good movie. 4 stars
8/07/03 Alex What's with the ending? Did the cast ran out of film to finish the movie, money, or both? 2 stars
8/05/03 Jack Bourbon One fastinatingly preposterous notion after another. Amazing stuff. 2 stars
8/04/03 Joman orginal and action packed a refresher for action buffs 4 stars
8/04/03 Wolf Hyde should NOT have been a good guy; other than that be sure to suspend disbelief b4hand. 3 stars
8/04/03 Ron Daniels Biggest waste of energy I have ever seen 1 stars
8/03/03 Herbie Someone told me there was an original novel that was long, not a comic book, I can't find. 5 stars
8/02/03 Devious The more knowledge of the history of these novels, the better the film will be to you. 4 stars
8/01/03 Curtiss J.Robinson, the screenwriter is not responsible for that piece of junk. Studio execs are! 1 stars
7/28/03 Jim Um ... how was vampire chick hanging out in daylight? Anyway, I wasn't bored. 3 stars
7/24/03 rachelle Shan Conney made the movie worth seeing 5 stars
7/23/03 Lord Jiggy The entire film should have been devoted to the hot vampire chick. The rest was a waste. 2 stars
7/21/03 malcolm a blast. i had no idea Nemo could kick ass like that 4 stars
7/21/03 Nikaelah Horrible 1 stars
7/19/03 Mike You'll love it if you don't know the real characters. 5 stars
7/19/03 Bakana Not nearly as good as critics say. Makes you more miserable if you've read the comic book. 2 stars
7/19/03 K Elder Shakespeare: a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifiying nothing 1 stars
7/18/03 CaseySucks Wylde, Verne, Stoker, Wells, Twain, Stevenson, and Doyle are burning their manuscripts. 1 stars
7/17/03 Mr. Hat The FX are absolutely kick-ass, but the rest isn't all that great. 3 stars
7/16/03 Xalt Interesting if you can get past the plot holes. Neat visuals and ideas. 3 stars
7/15/03 Rod Johnston Well what can I say? This movie is extraordinary! Get it?! He Hee!!! 5 stars
7/15/03 B . Dawg exciting action movie. better than expected! 4 stars
7/14/03 Gary GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
7/14/03 Copernicus Ereol When Connery and Sawyer were shooting on the boat, it showed the boat going 78 mph, then 0! 2 stars
7/14/03 bob dole its not that bad worth 8 bucks 4 stars
7/14/03 C Tseng Not nearly as bad as critics say. Makes more sense if you've read the comic book. 4 stars
7/13/03 Wil I didn't think it was that bad it just needed more. 4 stars
7/13/03 Darth Haggis Cheezy movie but better than the Hulk 1 stars
7/13/03 GameZMaster It was an alright movie that could have been much better, due to the source material. 3 stars
7/13/03 Bam Margera I thought it was actually pretty good...since I read the reviews and decided not to ask why 4 stars
7/13/03 KingNeutron The 2nd "Hyde" was way overdone, but I liked the movie. Venice blowing up was tense. 3 stars
7/13/03 George Jung Needed an R rating. What's so fucking hard about following Moore's original fucking story? 2 stars
7/13/03 Negrotigre Abysmal 1 stars
7/13/03 dave lets just hope this isn't a sign to come for blade 3 1 stars
7/12/03 Wendy Agreed. It was bad. Characters were good, but the storyline was incomprehensible. 2 stars
7/12/03 Human Shield HHH is right. Go see Pirates instead. The camera work in this movie almost made me sick. 2 stars
7/12/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB GO SEE PIRATES INSTEAD!OR T3 AGAIN!OR 28 DAYS LATER!SO MANY CHOOSES!JUST STAY WAY FROM LXG 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jul-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast