More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome53.62%
Worth A Look: 10.14%
Average: 10.14%
Pretty Bad: 11.59%
Total Crap: 14.49%

1 review, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Robin Hood: Men in Tights
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Another nail in the coffin of the parody genre."
1 stars

How I long for the days of a good Mel Brooks movie.

The guy made Blazing Saddles. A comedy classic if there ever was one. Same goes for Silent Movie. But in the 90's Mel's slipped a bit. This and Dracula: Dead and Loving It, were his only other efforts following 1991's Life Stinks. And let's face it: Robin Hood: Men In Tights and Dracula: Dead And Loving It sucked something fierce.

RH: MIT came after Costner's lame-ass Robin Hood. Cary Elwes had the title role. The jokes are stale and the acting is crap. Elwes had the charm to play Robin hood, just not play him for laughs. Richard Lewis, Tracy Ullman, David Chapelle...all gifted comedians stuck in lame parody roles.

Some bits where you may occasionally smile, but more often as not you'll be checking your watch.

"Did you say Abe Lincoln?" "No, I said Hey, Blinken." That's the funniest line in the film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=789&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/15/98 00:57:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/17/13 Dane Youssef Even Brooks has bad days. Unfortunately, this was the beginning of the end. 2 stars
8/06/10 the dork knight Overlong jokes and hammy, stupid clowning. It looks cheap, too. 2 stars
11/07/09 Jeff Wilder Funny in spots. But it's clear Brooks has taken to repeating himself. 3 stars
9/28/09 Danny I'm very hard to please where comedy is concerned, and I find this VERY funny! 5 stars
8/06/08 Screwball Super fun ! I can't get that song out of my head. 5 stars
4/28/07 David Cohen Geez, the Kevin Costner version was funnier than this 2 stars
4/27/07 Total Crap We're MEN. We're Men in tights. TIGHT! Tights. 5 stars
1/04/07 Kimera Denver This is an amazing film, brooks has yet to let me down! 5 stars
12/09/06 Ron anyone who didnt like this movie, doesnt know what comedy is 5 stars
9/04/06 michelebspy I love how rediculous some of the puns can be in this movie 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer It's the perfect pick-me-up! The jokes never get old! 5 stars
7/09/05 Rebecca Just as bad as Poltergeist 3? You need your eyes checked, buddy 5 stars
5/17/05 Meg A sarcastic, laugh out loud parody that never gets old. Just don't take it too seriously. 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold It's about as good as Blazing Saddles, why does everything think that's so great? 2 stars
7/19/04 Alyssa My 2nd favorite Brooks movie. 4 stars
2/26/04 Kyle No, not great, especially not for Brooks. But a decent timekiller. 5 stars
11/24/03 R.W. Welch Mostly pretty lame stuff; a few chuckles. 2 stars
9/15/03 eliza i laughed the whole way through! 5 stars
8/13/03 3man Not one of Brooks better movies 3 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Funny... but the worse Brooks film I've seen. 3 stars
4/30/03 JL This is one of my absolute favs! 5 stars
2/24/03 Greg F This was a great Mel Brooks comedy. Don't know what you other people have a problem with... 5 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Mel, give it up already 1 stars
10/10/02 artemishia the funniest movie ever! 5 stars
7/08/02 henry ginsberg yum yum men in tights 5 stars
5/25/02 Butterbean Blinken For President 2004!!!!! 5 stars
5/20/02 Christina R I think this is a movie you need a certain sense of humor to appreciate. I liked it anyway! 4 stars
5/18/02 Candace Troy Powers Better than Kevin Costner's version!&I'm gonna break ranks & spell Amy Yasbeck's name right 4 stars
4/01/02 Jerry Rabbi Tuckman is just hilarious! 5 stars
2/28/02 Wolfgang funny stuff 3 stars
1/11/02 ali i`m in love with Amy Yesback. 5 stars
11/27/01 sara it was a funny movie 5 stars
10/05/01 Lisa Hey come on...i loved it 5 stars
9/24/01 Satanic Bitch v.v.v.funny i love it. Cary Elwes looks cute, all the actors r so funny. its great 5 stars
9/24/01 Katherine I don't see hoeI loved it, and I still love it, I don't see how you couldn't. 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Cary Elwes looking very hot with the funniest cast! I love Blinken to death! 5 stars
8/13/01 Chrisy P The funniiest movie I've ever seen, and I've seen a load of funny movies! 5 stars
8/09/01 moviegoer While funny, this movie is rather gross and only basically follows the original Robin Hood. 3 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat A couple o' facetious parts, but mainly stupid and fucked in the ass. 2 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg I love the rap at the begining .Did you know the lead singer is puff dady . 4 stars
4/08/01 Debbie Williams I thought is was so funny. My favorite line is when Robin Hood is saying goodbye. 5 stars
4/01/01 Truong Kuku great film , laugh and laugh especially when the prince asked : " Do I have a mole?", 5 stars
3/08/01 michael josef funniest film i have ever seen 5 stars
3/01/01 Ajew So motherfucking funny. It's a damn shame Mel Brooks doesn't make movies anymore 5 stars
2/23/01 Tony Donovan Must see!!! 5 stars
12/17/00 john m. slaten love mel brooks 4 stars
11/08/00 Sandy This is my favorite movie, it keeps me laughing through the whole thing! 5 stars
8/07/00 Ryan Screw the critics, this was a funny movie! 5 stars
5/30/00 Jason Brooks has done better 3 stars
2/29/00 Dud_Muffin Funny, kicks ass 5 stars
1/15/00 Chris M. Funny movie! 5 stars
12/12/99 Mike W. I love this film! It is da bom! Best movie I ever saw! It's mah favourite! 5 stars
12/03/99 perpetual loser mel is great. but, for those who don't like cheese or stupidity in comedy, stay away. 5 stars
8/21/99 Rory Aronsky A fine, well-acted film. Very funny! COME BACK MEL, WE NEED YOU! 5 stars
7/26/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Average" 3 stars
2/20/99 Piz good yo watch on TBS on a Sunday afternoon, maybe a laugh or two. 2 stars
12/07/98 cyanide rush again dr.evil(below) shows us how little he knows, very fuckin funny 5 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil On the map of film comedy, Brooks has slid off the southern edge. 1 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Mel, Mel, Mel....PLEASE stop listening to the bus stop musings of 5th graders!!! 1 stars
9/28/98 Heather I actually liked this one. More precisely, I liked Cary Elwes. 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Right up there with "Spy Hard". 1 stars
9/06/98 Sentaia E. Powergal A great, hilarious movie! 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Just not funny enough to be called a comedy. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1993 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mel Brooks

Written by
  Mel Brooks
  Evan Chandler
  J. David Shapiro

Cast
  Cary Elwes
  Richard Lewis
  Roger Rees
  Amy Yasbeck
  Tracey Ullman
  Dom DeLuise



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast