More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.04

Awesome: 5.36%
Worth A Look: 8.93%
Average: 23.21%
Pretty Bad: 8.93%
Total Crap53.57%

2 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Legally Blonde 2: Red, White & Blonde
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"This is what we get for liking the first one?? Great."
1 stars

Here's a textbook example of A SUCKY SEQUEL. See, when people left the multiplexes after seeing the first Legally Blonde, most were mildly excited by the fact that the film was considerably more charming and amusing than it had any right to be. Legally Blonde was a bright little surprise. So instead of trying to recapture that magic with an honest effort, the sequel-mongers trot out this lifeless mess, a sadly unnecessary film that hopes to earn points simply by being "familiar".

Ye gods do we NOT need an Elle Woods revisit. I'm going to keep this attack short, as every letter I type is two more than this despicable flotsam deserves. Gone is the sunny goodwill and pleasant perkiness of the original installment. In the all-important rush to crank out a sequel while the original movie is still remembered fondly, the filmmakers forgot to add anything resembling comedy, drama or basically anything that would hold your interest for 90 minutes.

The act of watching Red, White & Blonde feels like some horrible punishment, administered because we chose to make the first flick so darn profitable. Old characters and catch phrases are bandied about in a transparent effort at familiarity, but in the end this movie feels like a failed TV pilot inspired by Legally Blonde.

And if you've ever seen the TV shows based on Animal House or Ferris Bueller's Day Off, then you're well aware that such a comparison is hardly a compliment. This listless mess takes Elle out of college and plunks her down into Washington D.C. Why she's there and what she accomplishes through her staggeringly ditzy Blonde Power are plot contrivances best left to the professional screenwriters; suffice to say I've seen empty aquariums that exhibit more life and color than this movie does.

Precisely like the first film, Elle gets treated meanly by hard-working people who immediately label her as the clear dolt she is. In Act III, Elle gets real smart and shows those bullies but good. We bought the first film because Elle, despite being rather shallow and simpering, was sort of charming. In the sequel, she's simply insufferable. Witherspoon seems firmly stuck on Bubbly Overload and it's sad to see a character actually devolve from one film to another.

Instead of using what worked in Legally Blonde as a springboard to more fresh-faced projects, MGM was simply content to slap a paint-by-numbers follow-up into the multiplexes and keep their collective fingers crossed. Well, they got pretty lucky with Part 1. No way it happens again.

That Bob Newhart and Sally Field find themselves playing third and fourth bananas to a vapid Reese Witherspoon and her omnipresent little doggie (insert "awwwwwww" here) is simply too sad for words. This is lazy, cookie-cutter sequelizing at its most royally obnoxious. Sure, I still like the first movie - but now I'm sort of wishing I didn't.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7894&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/09/03 07:24:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/29/11 the dork knight One-joke movie gets old fast. But hey, it's Reese. 4 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Reese great role but very bad writers 2 stars
7/02/07 mrsinister Total copy of the last movie. Outrageous. 2 stars
4/09/07 johnnyfog Luke Wilson is cardboard! But hey some parts were funny. Just not most 3 stars
11/03/05 Priscilla Postlethwaite Much better than first, as Elle comes to peace with being a blonde airhead. 4 stars
9/27/05 Daveman A postmodern funfest, so utterly silly and dumb, it's funny and clever all over again. 3 stars
7/20/05 Chris Boring and stupid 1 stars
2/17/05 Janet Crandall not as good as the 1st one 3 stars
8/06/04 ELI Dear God, why the fuck did I watch this movie? 1 stars
5/13/04 Dean Rapp What was the point of the movie? 3 stars
4/03/04 Queen ShitakiMushrooms Shitty, like crap in a used toilet bowl, if i could put 0 stars I would. 1 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick a complete wasted sequel 1 stars
11/15/03 KR Worst movie since "Scooby Doo." What a piece of sh*t! 1 stars
11/10/03 KING EDWARD I am now convinced that god is either not real, or very cruel. I feel like killing someone. 1 stars
10/31/03 Elvis Aaron Presley Sucked more than the shitty he-man remake where he had a square head 1 stars
10/31/03 Dimitri Aubert I wished it finished 10 minutes after it started! 1 stars
10/25/03 Eddie Fan This movie sucked big time. What a waste of money at the cinema. Can i have a refund please 1 stars
10/21/03 Allison Lafferty Much better'n 1st, as it's content to remain silly, rather'n fuck-up tryin' to be deep! 4 stars
9/24/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng One of the worst sequels I've seen all year. First one was great! Better cast. 2 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert A waste of time. 1 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. not right making the dog gay(no offense) bruce mcgill was the only good character 2 stars
8/27/03 wim no good 1 stars
8/25/03 jenna blue it was the best movie ever 5 stars
8/20/03 sheryl d. into whatever the reviews say, i love it! i adore elle woods! 5 stars
8/13/03 Nancy295 Disappointing sequel to a surprisingly fun flick! 3 stars
8/09/03 Will Green I was disappointed by this unwatchable hollywood crap 1 stars
8/04/03 punjab legally shite! 1 stars
7/29/03 This movie Sucked the Root 1 stars
7/25/03 Janine Lay I thought it was adorable and had some very funny moments where I laughed out loud! 4 stars
7/24/03 nicole the frist movie was better. 3 stars
7/13/03 Rani The worst movie I've ever seen, even worse than Drowing Mona... and that was bad. 1 stars
7/12/03 Reese Witherspoon wouldn't be good even in a porno movie… …but that at least wouldn't be as bad as this shit. 1 stars
7/09/03 Uncle Salty Legally Douchebag 1 stars
7/09/03 Rod Johnston Wow! That Reese Witherspoon is a hottie. she is hot and so is the movie! yeah! 5 stars
7/08/03 Nicole First one was funny.....this one made me want to die! 2 stars
7/07/03 From Justin to Kelly was worse… …but that still doesn't justify this ugly turd. 1 stars
7/07/03 blog blog blog Awful shit. 1 stars
7/07/03 Ball Buster Hmmm..... 1 stars
7/06/03 cinkcool yeah 3 stars
7/06/03 toneely I enjoyed the movie! 4 stars
7/06/03 Reese Witherspoon is Satan Hideous. Unfunny, annoying, reactionary. And what's with the doggy loving shtick? 1 stars
7/05/03 bob mckenzie a naked Reese couldn't have saved this movie 1 stars
7/04/03 Kyle Would rather choke on my own vomit then see again. Fucking horrid movie. 1 stars
7/03/03 rog bad 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Sep-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast