More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome70.23%
Worth A Look: 16.99%
Average: 7.36%
Pretty Bad: 2.63%
Total Crap: 2.8%

10 reviews, 511 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"More fun in a movie, you's not be having this year, I'll wager. Arr."
5 stars

It's a rare thing when I come out of a movie theater these days saying the words, "Geez, I hope they do a sequel to this thing." But Pirates of the Caribbean is SO much fun, so well paced, and so Saturday morning adventure serial-styled, that it would take an overwhelming cynic to not enjoy the hell out of it. Johnny Depp, who could make a memorable character out of week-old custard, positively chews, swallows and digests the scenery as half-crazy, half-drunk, half-rock star pirate Jack Sparrow, an aging scallywag most certainly more suited to life at sea than on land. So what's the story about? Really, it just doesn't matter. I'll encapsulate why you must see this film on the big screen in just three words - IT'S GREAT FUN!

There have been plenty of pirate movies hit the big screen over the years, but not since the days of Flynn has anyone been able to really capture what the pirate life was all about. Mel Gibson thought it was about having sex with topless native women. Dustin Hoffman thought it was about saying "arr" a lot. And Geena Davis... well, the jury is still out as to what the hell Geena Davis was thinking when she delivered us to the evil that was "Cutthroat Island"!

But Depp is the Brando of modern times. He doesn't just sign on for a role, he becomes the person he's depicting. When he signed on to Terry Gilliam's Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Depp reportedly spent a month in the basement of drug-crazed gonzo journalist Hunter S. Thompson's fortified Colorado compound, dodging small arms fire and digesting enough ether to send six Marine regiments to a M*A*S*H unit for a month. When he became Ichabod Crane in Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow, reportedly Depp got so into character that he carried his accent around with him on his days off.

And now we have his greatest ever thespianic achievement - Jack Sparrow. A character this good deserves a great supporting cast, a fine screenplay and a director who knows what he's doing. That Sparrow manages to tip-toe the line between good guy and bad guy so deftly is testimony to the quality of said writing, directing and supporting cast - but it's the amazing talents of Depp that turn the entire production on its ear.

In anyone else's hands, this movie would have been a yawner. Imagine Antonio Banderas in Depp's place, or Jackie Chan, or Mel Gibson. Imagine anyone you can think of - Ben Affleck, Robin Williams, Ed Norton - nobody on planet Earth could have delivered what Johnny Depp delivers here.

Quite simply, only Depp is mad enough and big enough to make the call he made when creating Jack Sparrow. It was Depp that showed up to set with a mouth full of gold teeth, not because he was asked to - in fact, he was asked not to. And it was Depp that decided to make his character more Keith Richards than Errol Flynn - though the studio most certainly would have preferred a more Happy Meal-friendly lead. And it was Depp who blows everyone else in the film out of the water with all the ferocity of an eight cannon broadside.

The reason the Indiana Jones series went so long and did so well was because it was pure escapist enjoyment. You could boo the bad guys, cheer the good guys, marvel at the hijinx and put your disbelief in a very distant place. And just when you thought that things were getting too far away from reality, the lead would bring them back with a self-deprecating line or goofy foul-up. Indiana Jones brought back all the fun of 1940's adventure serials, and for some unknown reason nobody has been able to replicate that feat - until now.

Pirates of the Carribean, despite its questionable basis as a Disneyland ride, is everything popcorn movies should be. You've got the good guy (Orlando Bloom) who is cardboard in character, but true of heart. You've got the love interest (Keira Knightley), who inevitably shows up the men with her bravery and wit. You've got the bad guy (Geoffrey Rush, proving he has a deft touch for comedic ham), who never stops being boo-able. And then there's the comedic foil for everybody. The guy both good and evil despise and the audience loves. The guy who may just be the devil... but may also be the true hero of the piece.

Like Little Bruno in Di Sica's classic film, The Bicycle Thief, Depp is the niggling little bugger sitting on everyone's shoulder, whispering his trademark, "I wouldn't do that if I were you," so often that you can almost feel it coming ahead of time. Depp is at once the conscience of the film, and its major pest. His opening scene, where he stands atop the mast of his ship as it sails into port, slowly sinking to the point where only Depp can be seen above the water, is as comic as it is smooth.

But if Pirates were only about Depp's character, it wouldn't be a great movie. Thankfully, everyone in the film fulfils their role to perfection. Bloom might not be charismatic, but that's not what's needed. Knightley may be the closest thing to a tomboy in modern feature film, but she sure fits that role well. And Rush, while not putting himself in line for Oscars, sure as heck gives you a great opportunity to root against the bad guy.

Particular mention should also be made of the wise use of special effects in the film. Though it would have been easy to overdo things, especially with a cast of dozens of swashbuckling bad guys consisting of nothing but skeletal remains, all that director Gore Verbinski uses is all he needs. There's not one 'look what we can fake' scene, and there are plenty where the underdone effects are put to great effect to let our imagination run wild.

A good movie in a genre like this is never going to be worth more than four stars. The rarity is to find a genre adventure film that engages you in such a fun few hours that you'd gladly undergo the experience again. Pirates of the Carribean, for my money, could not have been a better film - thus it gets the big five. Get thee to a theater and see it - now!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7895&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/09/03 13:49:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

7/17/14 ovfkloic USA 4 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless I enjoyed it 4 stars
5/16/13 Baylee Nelson Pretty good . Not my favorite, nor a constant for me. 4 stars
4/02/13 Julie Link my son LOVED this movie and we have watched it uber times 5 stars
1/30/13 Alex Gomez always fun 5 stars
11/07/12 Lia M Love this movie so much. 5 stars
9/10/11 Shannon Dagesse All I have to say is Johnny Depp yummy 5 stars
9/06/11 sylvia jastrzebski great family movie to watch !!!! 5 stars
8/21/11 Lawrence Mercer Probably the best of the Pirates movies 5 stars
7/03/11 Jennifer b. awesome! 5 stars
3/15/11 Annabel Dreadful. Milking it. Couldn't stay awake! 2 stars
2/20/11 Ark Yep! Darn good-and safe enough to see with all your church-dork buddies! 5 stars
6/19/10 Heather thought I would hate it but it wasnt to bad 3 stars
4/05/10 Tobu Deftly paced, funny and never less than thoroughly entertaining--a classic adventure movie. 5 stars
3/26/09 Rhett Perkins CLASSIC - GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
1/21/09 Anonymous. good enjoyable fun and i love johnny depp :] 4 stars
12/01/08 Roz Best pirate movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
11/30/08 noops.... johnny depp rules....savvy!!!! 5 stars
11/08/08 Abby Meyer a little on the dark side 3 stars
10/12/08 PAUL SHORTT A JOLLY ROGER ROLLERCOASTER OF FUN 4 stars
5/21/08 jennifer great 5 stars
5/11/08 Tabitha Rabisa This one hopefully will go down in history as the best live disney movie ever made JOHNNY D 5 stars
4/28/08 Christy Johnny Depp comes thru again 4 stars
4/25/08 frieda moudy a classic film - watch it! 5 stars
4/20/08 Ah-ah. Johnny Depp needs a remake. HE is getting sort of boring. 2 stars
3/03/08 Mike I love all these movies. Johnny Depp is great. 5 stars
3/02/08 Jackie Fantastic - who couldn't love Johnny in this! 5 stars
12/14/07 Junker If one ignores the typos in the article, it speaks the truth! Great movie. 5 stars
9/09/07 Juanita Merrill Absolutely brilliantly great. And very successful. Entertaining! 5 stars
8/07/07 tiffles jonny depp is hott 5 stars
7/31/07 Spazzy Sazzy omg this movie is so good!! 4 stars
7/16/07 David Kimble Loved the movie 5 stars
6/28/07 John Its not that bad.. its ok.. 3 stars
6/20/07 Jq A two-and-a-half hour bore. 1 stars
5/29/07 Valerie Very worth seeing this film!! The humor is after 5 times seeing, still as good! 5 stars
5/21/07 Alex Sebastian amazin..just amazin...i love it... 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Any film that shows the royal navy unable to shoot someone should not be watched. 2 stars
3/07/07 dude great 4 stars
2/18/07 Sara great movie 5 stars
2/17/07 Vip Ebriega Shiver 'yer timbers fun and rollickin adventure. 4 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini classic 5 stars
12/20/06 Courtney Fleming I think that movie is worth waching over and over! 5 stars
12/14/06 Angel POTC rockz my sockz! to the people who gave bad ratings: u suck 5 stars
12/10/06 Emma It' an awsome movie 5 stars
11/08/06 j potter this film is crap 1 stars
9/22/06 lindsey this is my new favorite movie 5 stars
9/22/06 JohnnyFaye man I love watching people over read movies hahah it's a god damn movie chill out and enjoy 4 stars
9/19/06 Joyster loved it 5 stars
9/14/06 Mara Frost Johnny Depp is amazing and this movie is fun from start to end! 5 stars
9/13/06 Bitchflaps Two and a half hours of unrelenting cliches and blandness. 1 stars
9/13/06 Agent Sands A first-rate Hollywood entertainment with great character chemistry and a great score. 5 stars
9/07/06 santosh MAGIC FROM JOHNNY DEPP!!!! 5 stars
9/01/06 Mr Bayg if someone asked me if this movie DIDN'T suck big butt, i'd say no. 1 stars
8/25/06 Bitchflaps Economical on creative investment, not so with its running time at a merciless 2 & 1/2 hrs. 2 stars
8/14/06 Sharon I love this movie a new roll for johnny dept but a good one LOVE THE COSTUME!!! 5 stars
8/13/06 George Much more entertaining than Dead man's chest. To tell you the truth, thiss movie is great. 5 stars
8/13/06 ass itz ok.. too long. i hate keira shes crap.. but jhonny was awsome 4 stars
8/10/06 Lola Might a total piece of shit and fucking bad actors 1 stars
7/29/06 samiul best i had ever seen and the actress is too sexy 5 stars
7/26/06 Quigley one of my favorites of all time; it won't be forgotten. Jack Sparrow is too cool for words 5 stars
7/13/06 Anthony Feor Great actors in a crap film 1 stars
6/25/06 film geek itz a real deal and u should watch it cauz itz juz swash buckling 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty Can't wait for the next one 5 stars
5/21/06 Kcaj The most violent and scary disney film. It rocks 5 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands Deserving of all the hype, but more because of the good script, cast and production values. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Brilliant stuff - Depp excels, Rush is w'ful, can't wait 4 sequel. 5 stars
5/04/06 Christopher Lindstrom Grrrrr....eat! A good action adventure, entertaining. 5 stars
4/20/06 Becky great special effects+amazing score+fabulous Johnny Depp = great movie 5 stars
4/15/06 146 cool movie . REally good specialeffects 5 stars
4/06/06 Mary Ang hilarious totally loved it 5 stars
4/02/06 JRE funny, lots of action, good story, great acting. What more could you want? 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The only good Live action disney film since Mary Poppins! 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Hard not to like 4 stars
3/08/06 myzzy 3 thumbs up if i had them :) 5 stars
3/01/06 Uk_shooter shite is all this film is avoid!!!! 1 stars
1/09/06 Jim Johny Depp should have won the Academy Award 5 stars
1/04/06 cody visual effects were good and johnny depp was cool, story was ok, but everything seem to off 3 stars
1/01/06 Quigley one of the greatest movies of all time. Depp deserved that Oscar. bring on the sequels! 5 stars
12/19/05 Bree Great acting(Rush/Depp), humor, a little romance, a story, action. A complete film. 5 stars
12/06/05 sparkle johnny depp was so fa-realkin sexy 5 stars
11/23/05 Indrid Cold Shallow and repetitive, but I suppose it's the best pirate movie ever. 4 stars
11/23/05 Guy Lame comedy and boring swordfights make for an overrated flick. 1 stars
11/05/05 R.W.Welch Overlong swasher is carried by Depp's remarkable perf. 4 stars
10/31/05 missjie86 Five stars for Johnny Depp... and the movie is better than the ride! 5 stars
10/31/05 mum This Rocks 5 stars
10/12/05 Jennifer Free This was a very clean and entertaining movie. 4 stars
10/11/05 Alyce Morahan Best movie eva!! 5 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Decent popcorn flick but too long. 3 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes the best summer movie of 2003 5 stars
9/08/05 paki_munda this was just brilliant. hilarious. johnny depp is one fo the finest actors around. 5 stars
9/02/05 larry keira knightley is the most beautiful woman on earth. 4 stars
8/29/05 Sydnie Monty I was greatly surprized by how good this was, two snaps up! 5 stars
8/29/05 Eden Good in the cinema but gets weaker everytime i see it 4 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns This was a great movie. Johnny Depp was perfectly cast for his role. 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ Great acting, exhilarating fights, amazing special effects, and superb story. 5 stars
8/18/05 ES It was silly and I like action, Depp's richards improve was dead on, but who cares 2 stars
8/04/05 ^podo this movie ROCKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/02/05 Ric Overrated. 1 stars
7/27/05 John Great! Can't wait for the sequel! 5 stars
6/21/05 mike johnny depp the best of the best!!!one of the best movies ever!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/16/05 Nolady as good as anything 1 stars
6/15/05 bull absolutely fantastic!!!!johnny depp's performance is one of the best ever!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/05 Holly johnny depp rocks, plus the movie was sweet. aye 5 stars
5/31/05 Steve Newman Great film - would watch this again. 4 stars
5/21/05 hl johnny depp rocks! 5 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers This is a really good movie...can't wait for the 2nd one. Johnny Depp is the best! 4 stars
5/17/05 tatum Overhyped but fun 4 stars
5/15/05 S HAir Meh 1 stars
5/07/05 Gretchen Delightfully funny and whimsical! 5 stars
5/05/05 Cindy Lovell Johnny Depp was fantastic! 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch Bloody fantastic! Don't need to say anymore, everyone agrees with me! 5 stars
4/28/05 Quigley makes one want to shiver me timbers all over again. awesome CG and Johnny Depp is terrific 5 stars
4/23/05 H Lin great stuff 4 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Good job 4 stars
3/24/05 Holly Dawson fun family movie! 5 stars
3/23/05 heidi kukta What a totally awesome ride...the kids and I truly enjoyed this time and again 5 stars
3/17/05 tazy so memorable! who doesn't know the whole story by heart?! 5 stars
3/09/05 Natasha Williams Awesome 5 stars
3/05/05 kimerie jones this was a excellent movie for both me and my kids very fun and exciting movie 5 stars
3/04/05 Jess Depp is perfect, but the movie does get tedious. It never takes itself too seriously. 4 stars
2/20/05 David Siegel Another great Johnny Depp trip. 5 stars
2/17/05 Jay Fuit Great! 5 stars
2/15/05 Tim Good Dumb Fun 4 stars
2/01/05 Angela Awesome! My favorite movie! The most fun you can have in a movie! 5 stars
1/31/05 Katherine Frazier Great fun entertaining movie. 4 stars
1/31/05 williamwar The film was a good action movie. Johnny Depp's performance made the movie. 4 stars
1/30/05 Dawn I've seen it twice! Can't get enough! 5 stars
1/30/05 dana hammell great movie, Johnny Depp deserved the Oscar 5 stars
1/29/05 terri shaw loved so much i bought it. Fun for the whole family. 5 stars
12/30/04 Nobody everybody loves this movie for good reason! 5 stars
12/08/04 Priestess_Saren Great humor, wonderfully done. Loved every minute of it! 5 stars
11/27/04 Lucy Mitchell I thouight the film was brill 5 stars
11/20/04 Andrew It is one of the best films I have ever seen 5 stars
11/04/04 Annie I can't believe people actually liked this movie. It was one of the worst movies EVER!!! 1 stars
10/24/04 MG loads of fun 5 stars
10/24/04 lotrEEproper owns this,but its still an ownage film johnny kinda rules and i like the undead very kool bit like lotr but nothing compared to t 5 stars
10/21/04 Jenny One of the BEST disney movies i've seen in a long time. BETTER THAN AMAZING 5 stars
10/18/04 Christine Airth Wow it was really good. Johnny Depp still sexy as ever! 4 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert Great fun! Fast paced, great acting and something different. 5 stars
10/12/04 Al Guy After three viewings, it's still fun. 5 stars
9/26/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Why does Orlando get cast as a male when he's clearly a big LADY? Depp great, tho 4 stars
9/21/04 Seshu Kumar Waiting for Sequel 5 stars
9/14/04 Perzy Monty As good as gold!!! 5 stars
9/12/04 stef i love johnny depp he is so funny and hot 5 stars
9/09/04 Aaron Smith Great fun movie, best of 2003!!! 5 stars
8/30/04 Ric Lame jokes, routine action, the movie's just not that fun 2 stars
8/09/04 BigBlack This one of Depp's BEST roles, AND the most enjoyable by far! 5 stars
8/01/04 Daveman At least half the wisecracks don't work and the film is altogether mercilessly boring. 2 stars
7/28/04 Brit and Erin Depp and Bloom are both hott and great characters...one of my favorite movies of all times! 5 stars
7/23/04 booklover I loved this movie personally and would highly recommend it moviewatchers of all ages. 5 stars
7/23/04 JASON FISKE My daughter found her first love with this movie 4 stars
7/20/04 Valerie White keeps me laughing and interested 5 stars
7/19/04 Karla GREAT movie, the special features are awesome!!! 5 stars
7/13/04 Aimes Awesome! Totally original and Kiera Knightly is so young but beautiful. Depp is amazing! 5 stars
7/13/04 miz good 5 stars
7/04/04 Haleigh This movie is awesome. Plus it helps that Orlando Bloom and Johnny Depp are totally hot! 5 stars
6/27/04 Christy TOO MUCH FUN!! Johnny Depp is amazing! 5 stars
6/26/04 Morgan EXELENT of corse 5 stars
6/26/04 Alex unsurpassed 5 stars
6/21/04 cricket best movie about pirates!!!! 5 stars
6/10/04 john citisen nice 5 stars
6/07/04 alexandra melillo amazind swqash 5 stars
6/03/04 Angel No good reason for the 13 addition to this PG movie, and Depp is brilliant 4 stars
6/02/04 Rachel M It is the best movie ever you have got to see it!! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody More fun than your average pirate movie! You will want to watch more than once 5 stars
5/27/04 suzi I agree with the review the only thing saving this movie is Johnny Depps acting. 4 stars
5/27/04 krissy johhny depp and elizabeth shoul have been together 5 stars
5/19/04 Larissa Pilgrim Absolutley Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04 Yasu Fun! Wild! The best action movie in many years. 5 stars
5/08/04 Daveman Further proof that Pixar is the only thing keeping Disney credible these days. 2 stars
4/24/04 sassy beat movie ever made!! Johnny is the hottest guy on earth 5 stars
4/20/04 ALI HBOUS a very well made adventure 4 stars
4/18/04 Kev Best movie of the year by far! 5 stars
4/15/04 Brie Campbell The moive was awesome!!!! I thought it was the best movie I had seen!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/13/04 Lorna Best film I've seen, my favourite - johnny depp looked damn sexy, too. 5 stars
4/10/04 Tito Doesn't really live up to the hype...but who cares? Best "pop-corn" film in decades, easy. 5 stars
4/08/04 my name? jack sparrow, will you marry my? 5 stars
4/07/04 Deb Read Nothing short of brilliant - especially Johnny Depps performance as Captain Jack Sparrow. 5 stars
4/07/04 Sarah It's the very best movie disney's ever made and I hope to see more 5 stars
4/01/04 Cassade Watts Johnny Deep is sooooo hot! 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Grand, if not quite terrific, entertainment 4 stars
3/31/04 blahblah its was okay... from all the rumors i expected better 4 stars
3/29/04 Blues Singer Babe johnny depp looks so hot wit eyeliner go captain barbossa! it was awesome not wut i expecte 5 stars
3/27/04 michowl Excellent, no limits to Johnny Depp's acting ability. 5 stars
3/20/04 Marcia Scurfield I found this movie to be very entertaining--Johnny Depp is a treat! 5 stars
3/19/04 Nicole I want to lick Johnny Deep all over.. mm pirate with eyeliner what a hottie good movie! 5 stars
3/18/04 Belenda W. One of the best movies of 2003 5 stars
3/17/04 Seija Anderson I was surprised by how much I liked this movie! 5 stars
3/17/04 CoLLeeN My fave movie of all time! I got it at Xmas and ive watched it over 18 times 5 stars
3/16/04 Laura stone fantastic!!!! must see film! i love it! watch it twice a night! 5 stars
3/11/04 Nancy A Bishop Impressive movie. Thumbs up for a sequel!! Depp was entertaining!! 5 stars
3/08/04 Zefram Mann Best pirate movie ever! 5 stars
3/07/04 Desiree Henstridge Best movie EVER 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Certainly the best adventure I have ever seen (5 times!)! 5 stars
3/01/04 paul yarr!!! 4 stars
2/28/04 ghkswwef BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
2/28/04 Claire best movie i have seen in a while 5 stars
2/22/04 Monster W. Kung Good but less action, more comedy would've been better. It's still not Monkey Island! 4 stars
2/22/04 Vince Very entertaining. Johnny Depp is specially great 4 stars
2/22/04 AL Its nice to see a movie that doesn't center on naked girls and bad language to sell tickets 5 stars
2/22/04 Trisha hengen It's the best mvie ever 5 stars
2/21/04 Audrey Fueconcillo Awesome. Johnny and Orlando are great!!!!! <meow> ^_,^ 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Depp is great 5 stars
2/20/04 Agent Sands Not quite perfect, but it definitely has some awesome elements. 5 stars
2/03/04 ghost Johnny Depp has created one of the most original charachters in a long time 5 stars
2/02/04 Sylvia Best Movie ever with great performances from both sexy Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom 5 stars
1/29/04 renee kay it was the greatest movie ever Johnny Depp looked fab and Orlando Bloom looks HOT!! duh luv 5 stars
1/28/04 Rapunzel Gladstone One of those "What is all the fuss about?" blockbusters. 3 stars
1/27/04 smartmusician was saved because of Johnny Depps performance. 3 stars
1/25/04 I Would For suc a repetitively dull film, it certainly is lengthy. 2 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Wow - this was so awesome! Just look at the amazing cast!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Kiersten I LUVD IT.....ITS MY FAVORITE MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess The best summer blockbuster of 2003. 5 stars
1/20/04 Maria the film was incredibly perfect!!!! I love it!!! 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Good production values don't always solve the script's unconsistancies. 3 stars
1/12/04 sean it was incredible..i loved it 5 stars
1/12/04 Ren a vent-hole for the soul 5 stars
1/11/04 S. Weitzel Fabulous Movie- hope the sequel is just as good. 5 stars
1/09/04 sabrina I loved it one of the best movies from 2003 5 stars
1/08/04 Stephen Spielborg Not as much action as E.T. 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Depp! Saves the day. 4 stars
1/04/04 Ry Not Bad. Story was ok. 3 stars
1/04/04 Audra This is my new favorite move, and that's an almost impossible feat. 5 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Johnny Depp is hilarious. Action is gr8. Orlando Bloom is not as bad as everyone says. 5 stars
12/31/03 Jinnvisible `Pirates.` has,,a black pearl, a blacksmith and ,uh 7 black people(carribean?)-Queezy fun 4 stars
12/30/03 Chris At first I didn't want to see it, now it's a great action pic. Note: Lose the dead monkey. 4 stars
12/28/03 orlando lover omg!! i thought the movie was the best . orlando bloom looked so hot. johnny depp rocks. 5 stars
12/28/03 Caitlin Amazing film! .... I have already seen it 9 times.... 5 stars
12/27/03 kasandra merritt best moivie i've ever seen the sceletons r soo wicked(jhonny depp is soo cute) 5 stars
12/27/03 Captain Jack Sparrow Hmmm, yes... I thought the movie was ok,I thought the movie could emphasis more on me. J.S 4 stars
12/25/03 Phil M. Aficionado One of the best escapism movies, but that's not my cup 'o grog exactly. 3 stars
12/24/03 jp Great movie...really fun to watch. I enjoyed every minute of it. Johnny Depp is awesome! 5 stars
12/23/03 Arr, matey! Bit long on the running time, but thoroughly enjoyable. 4 stars
12/21/03 Bob the Boner My comment is, Orlando Bloom is crap, Johnny Depp is really good. Cool!!! 5 stars
12/19/03 Sophie Best movie i have EVER seen...left me chanting "Johnny! Johnny!" for hours after 5 stars
12/19/03 Butterfly Bad ass movie, only I was confused when it ended and realized i didnt see Depp do any drugs 5 stars
12/18/03 * An Idiot Who Loves Johnny Depp* FUCKIN' AWSOME LOVED IT JOHNNY DEPP SO HOT WITH EYELINER! 5 stars
12/18/03 Kimberly It was the best movie I have ever seen from Disney or pretty much any where for that matter 5 stars
12/16/03 Allison Rocked!!! 5 stars
12/16/03 jada fun time, too long though 4 stars
12/15/03 Luke O'Donoghue You can lie back, curl your seat around you and spy on the action through yer scope. 5 stars
12/15/03 Jessica it is the best film ever 5 stars
12/14/03 Keith I thought it would never end. Yawn. 2 stars
12/14/03 Laura Benavides Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom were great together, awesome movie i loved it! 5 stars
12/14/03 Agent Sands Inarguably one of the greatest popcorn movies of all time. 5 stars
12/11/03 Katherine Bernhard The fighting scene between Jack sparrows and Will turner was awesome. 5 stars
12/08/03 Danielle I loved this movie Johnny played his role great and Orlando Bloom was just gorgeous. 5 stars
12/05/03 HAYLEY BRILLIANT 5 stars
12/05/03 Ray Jhonny Depp gives the movie its greatness 5 stars
12/04/03 shaniese crowe having the 2 hottest guys in the moive really made it good grrreat job 5 stars
12/04/03 Maurice The Predator Johnny Deppppppp in tha house, oh yeah! 5 stars
12/04/03 youssef this film is the best film i see in my live 5 stars
11/30/03 Kitty B. i luv geoffrey rush!! hes the best one! bloom, ok, knightly, ok, depp, amazing, rush, wow!! 5 stars
11/27/03 John Johnny Depp's performance as Keith Richards is phenomenal 5 stars
11/23/03 Mary Really like this type of humor. LOVE Johnny!! 5 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician Overrated 3 stars
11/22/03 JamesVG Probably going to catch it yet again at the local "3 Dollar." Yeah, I like it. 5 stars
11/18/03 *A Monotonous Creton who loves Tom Hulce* geoffrey rush is the greates character, so shoot me depp luvers!! johnny is really good too 5 stars
11/16/03 AshFan Orlandio is so annoying, it's scary, but see it for Depp, and only Depp. Oh God, he rules. 5 stars
11/13/03 Charlie Fantastic, Depp was very funny. 5 stars
11/12/03 w Depp rules (so does Orlando Bloom) 5 stars
11/12/03 Chris A great summer popcorn pick. I had alot of fun, not for families. See it. 4 stars
11/12/03 tracy did is the best movie in years it has some of the best cast in it from the uk 5 stars
11/11/03 Jor.Armstrong Good romp, little else, a good way to waste an afternoon 4 stars
10/28/03 alina rodgers I loved the movie!!! I saw it SEVEN TIMES!!!! I cant wait till it comes out on dvd ! 5 stars
10/24/03 Kae Appeals to all ages, hilarious movie! I loved it! 5 stars
10/23/03 Sexy Babe I wanna see it again and again 5 stars
10/23/03 Max Peterson I LOVE this movie!!!!!! 5 stars
10/22/03 julia bree viccars I totallu love johnny he's sooo sexy in the movie 5 stars
10/20/03 Julia Jackson i have always wanted to be a pirate and this movie brought that to life. 5 stars
10/19/03 Boris Smtih mmm....Keira Knigtley...mmm 5 stars
10/18/03 Unheard Prophetess Best movie in years. Captain Jack Sparrow is the most intriguing character in ages! Love it 5 stars
10/18/03 Faye Lunar It has to be the best movie of the century..! 5 stars
10/18/03 Romina This movie was AMAZING! All the people who disagree SUCK COCK 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Who wouldn't love this masterpiece? 5 stars
10/16/03 Mary Johnny was amazing, absolutely loved the movie! 5 stars
10/14/03 Ian johnny depp was well funny! 5 stars
10/14/03 John Doyle Very, very good 5 stars
10/13/03 lisa stewart it is an awsome film i love this movie 5 stars
10/10/03 Rebecca just awesome! I am now entirely convinced that Johnny Depp is the best actor alive! 5 stars
10/08/03 Joanna Priftakis I love this movie! Johnny Depp was brilliant 5 stars
10/08/03 Azeneth A great movie for all ages. ts funny, entertainig and well-made. Jhonny looks great 5 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant Butt-pirates no longer...I can actually say after 23 years I saw a great pirate movie. 5 stars
10/04/03 alien assassin At last, a pirate movie that kicks ass !!!!! 5 stars
10/04/03 Ann Can't wait to buy the DVD! Loved it. 5 stars
10/03/03 Minz It's just so much fun! Johnny Depp is awesome 5 stars
10/03/03 Ghetto Smurf Other than a few lame jokes, this wasn't as bad as I thought it would be 3 stars
10/02/03 Mopsa Might be no masterpiece, but sure it's major fun. Will buy the DVD! Geoffrey Rush is great! 5 stars
9/29/03 Kristen Cole The best movie EVER! 5 stars
9/27/03 Chlo Orlando is a hottie - Johnny is so funny - and Keira Knightley...hmmm 5 stars
9/25/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Doesn't bore you for even one minute. The chick that plays the young Elizabeth is hot. 5 stars
9/23/03 Ashley Hudson I loved this movie so much I saw it 11 times. 5 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake Geoffrey Rush was the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/20/03 Shams Huque Awesome fun at the cinema! 5 stars
9/20/03 Dawn I'm so glad I managed to convince my sister to see this instead of Uptown Girls. 5 stars
9/20/03 agata this is GREAT!!!i love it!!!!!! 5 stars
9/17/03 Milka Liikamaa The acters, music and everything! It's was a best movie what I've ever seen! I love it! 5 stars
9/15/03 Odyssey Superb! Beyond Awsome!! The Ultimate Movie! 5 stars
9/15/03 Sherry Faust Awesome! 5 stars
9/14/03 Jennifer Johnny Depp is amazing 5 stars
9/13/03 Carlijn It is a great film, best I've ever seen! 5 stars
9/13/03 Adam Suprisingly Incredible, when's the sequel!!!! 5 stars
9/13/03 Kai Best movie I've seen in years!!!! 5 stars
9/12/03 JFennell Depp is the best gay pirate ever! 5 stars
9/12/03 Natalie I loved this movie! The onscreen chemistry bet 5 stars
9/12/03 metta LOVE LOVE LOVE JOHHNY DEPP! * ) great show all in all! 5 stars
9/11/03 Samantha This is the all time BEST movie I have ever seen......esp since it has Johnny and Orlando!! 5 stars
9/11/03 Kathy-Ann Hepburn A great movie, when i feel down, i just think back to a part in the movie and i smile again 5 stars
9/10/03 Kate My favourite movie of the decade. Wow. 5 stars
9/09/03 karine benoit it really is the best disney movie I've ever seen, along with the lion king 5 stars
9/08/03 Gerry love it, just love it... 5 stars
9/08/03 Miles Bader Depp is inspired, the rest is solid, polished, often witty, and always grand. 5 stars
9/08/03 ZY Awsome movie, but I'm very leery of Johnny Depp 5 stars
9/07/03 Kitty J. Blues "No, we named the Monkey Jack" "No, we named the reviewers who hated it assholes" 5 stars
9/07/03 beth turner I loved it !!!! 5 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Good plot and special effects, but not the movie of the year. 4 stars
9/05/03 Ann Alas not all it could have been. 4 stars
9/05/03 Kitty B. geoffrey rush kicked ass!!!! 5 stars
9/05/03 Alex The Best Movie Ever! 5 stars
9/05/03 Jessica THE BEST MOVE EVER! Johnny Deep was pure hilarious, and hot too. 5 stars
9/05/03 Ingo Great entertainment, but a bit too long. 4 stars
9/04/03 BillHead (Lifts an eyecatch up and blows a wad) Orlando should have gotten his asshole rammed hard..Arggh me matties 1 stars
9/04/03 Emily Radaker 5 stars
9/02/03 Nira BEST MOVIE EVER! Johnny Depp is hilarious, and just great! 5 stars
9/01/03 J-Chan Yo ho, me 'earties! Jack, the drink's on me, break open a keg and let's drink till sunrise! 5 stars
9/01/03 Rachel Was exciting, funny and gr8. Orlando bloom was the hottest guy! He rocks my world!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/03 Chelsea Wilson The movie ROCKS!!!!!!Orlando is SO HOT!!!!! 5 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso Depp waz great, but my Fav waz Geoffrey Rush 5 stars
8/30/03 Nicole der film ist very cool!! 5 stars
8/28/03 kim the best movie of the summer, bravo johnny and rush!!! 5 stars
8/28/03 Marsh Great! I've seen it 4 times! 5 stars
8/26/03 Goofy Maxwell Chuckles, chills, shivers, & thrills...*Yo ho ho & a bottle of rum!* 5 stars
8/26/03 Eloise just not my bag baby. 2 stars
8/25/03 Jonny wonderful 5 stars
8/24/03 Koitus Classic "summer-time, popcorn flick." Depp TOTALLY "stole" the show! 4 stars
8/24/03 Johnny's biggest fans and lovers brillient,truly amazin, excellent, awesome,magnificent jack sparrow is mine!!! hes well fit 5 stars
8/20/03 Sarah v. surprised - I figured the movie wouldn't be that great but now it's one of my favs 5 stars
8/20/03 Lori I could watch this movie every day just to see jack sparrow, Johnny depp,< orlando bloom i 5 stars
8/20/03 coladdict I loved it!... Almost as much as the stick-swordfight I had after! 5 stars
8/20/03 Ellie entertaining from start to finish 4 stars
8/19/03 me give me movie!!! NOW!!! 5 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Not as great as it being made out to be, but still a pretty dang fun film. 4 stars
8/17/03 JOANNE BOUDREAU AWESOME MOVIE BEST ACTION,FANTASY...YET!!! 5 stars
8/16/03 Jon Just a tad overrated. It was a great watch but it wasn't "fucking" awesome material... 4 stars
8/16/03 Herbie Best movie I'll ever see. Johnnny Depp and Orlando Bloom are so sexy. 5 stars
8/14/03 carleton no less than great awesome flick...best since 20,000 Leagues for Disney ... Rush & Depp, ye 5 stars
8/14/03 DrJello This movie was rated PG 13 but I would have given it a rating of ARRRRRRR... 5 stars
8/14/03 snowconehead Best pirate movie since.......since.......uh..... 5 stars
8/13/03 Isabel Sweat Depp is brilliant! 5 stars
8/13/03 Nancy295 Loved it - didn't know whether Johnny was on the level or not! 5 stars
8/13/03 tiffany it was the best .I'v seen it 4 times 5 stars
8/13/03 JL Fantastic, i've seen it twice already!! Love Johnny! 5 stars
8/12/03 Janet What strikes me most about this film is its heart re: sailing. "Bring me the horizon." 5 stars
8/12/03 Ali i am sorry but i loved this movie ! 5 stars
8/11/03 Mr. X Matinee only; it wasn't bad, but it certainly wasn't great. 4 stars
8/11/03 Kortney I love that movie!! Orlando is hott and acts great!! Depp was great too!! Good job guys!! 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole I am a sucker for this fantasy/action stuff......Depp is wonderful! 5 stars
8/10/03 lolita lolita rules! ans johnny deep too 5 stars
8/09/03 Liz mirizz Defines Action Movies By far! i loved it And Im Sure Others Did 5 stars
8/09/03 Lance Unexpectedly great! One of the best of the summer. 5 stars
8/09/03 BigAl A laff riot! Depp's performance is hysterical. 5 stars
8/09/03 Josh BOOOOOOORRRRRRRING 1 stars
8/08/03 Churl Depp stands out, but otherwise a typical action flick. 3 stars
8/08/03 Danielle Galdy Best movie of the year!!!!!!!! Totally awsome!!!! 5 stars
8/07/03 Bob Johnny Depp is a genius; Jack Sparrow is my Hero 5 stars
8/07/03 Sanjuro_Madrox "best film in the world"....?...get real 4 stars
8/07/03 Marisa THIS IS AN EXCELLENT MOVIE SEE IT. 5 stars
8/06/03 Valerie Great fun! Story kept me on edge. All acted very well; Depp was delightful. When is sequel? 5 stars
8/06/03 Lorenz Esguerra Great entertaining film. A must see! 5 stars
8/05/03 Elizabeth Stinebaugh "The best film in the world excluding LOTR" 5 stars
8/05/03 KC Reynolds Excellent - the more I see it the better it gets! A++++ 5 stars
8/04/03 Eric S. Not that memorable, but I'd still recommend it 4 stars
8/04/03 Natasha Blazevic absoluting amazing... I mean really, really.. amazing.. 5 stars
8/04/03 Joman fun but long 4 stars
8/03/03 Debbie most fun I've had at the movies in a long time - seen it 3 times too!!! 5 stars
8/03/03 Goose Plenty of swordplay and swashbuckling...what's not to love? 5 stars
8/02/03 Jon Lyrik Johnny Depp is priceless, the rest of the film is good too. 4 stars
8/02/03 Sarah Hollis Best Disney movie ever! Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/01/03 King Richard I think this movie is crap, but I will admit that Johnny Deep was pretty awesome. 2 stars
7/31/03 Large Farve Hells yes! Another drink me harties! Yo ho! 5 stars
7/31/03 AJ Final Best film of 2003 so far 5 stars
7/30/03 Laura great! worth the $6.25 5 stars
7/30/03 Meg Johnny is the most underrated actor today! He desearves an Oscar nod for his Jack Sparrow. 5 stars
7/29/03 Wild child its the best movie of the year 5 stars
7/29/03 maria ramos i enjoyed the movie, Johnny was the perfect pirate! 4 stars
7/29/03 Beth Depp deserves an Oscar for this - he was phenomenal 4 stars
7/28/03 Gary Pirates rule, and Erik you are brillant!!!!! 5 stars
7/27/03 DR 3/4 of the movie was on land for pete's sake. and the other 1/4 real close to it. 2 stars
7/27/03 R.V Johhny Depp stole the movie from everyone. Good movie in my opinion except for the ending. 5 stars
7/27/03 jodie plot is okay, but johnny depp is awesome! he made the movie what it is! 5 stars
7/26/03 David Depp is on FIRE! Most entertaining film in years. 5 stars
7/26/03 benry Great Fun - Depp Amazing 4 stars
7/26/03 Aly Wane Surprisingly good. Good old fashioned fun! 5 stars
7/26/03 Patrish Vanhesselink Totally awesome in every way 5 stars
7/25/03 Mike Gehringer A bit long but worth the price of admission 5 stars
7/24/03 Flick Chick OMG way too long - and typical action crap - guy flick all the way. 2 stars
7/24/03 Jennifer Dude, it has a ZOMBIE PIRATE ARMY. If that makes you go "WOO!" then you'll love this movie 4 stars
7/24/03 blaise Ending makes you groan, the rest makes you cheer 4 stars
7/24/03 Strater Patrick Depp is awesome. Good Show. 5 stars
7/24/03 Yvonne I love Johnny Depp, he's funny in the movie! 5 stars
7/23/03 Akeyla Ulii Johnny Depp's character makes this film worth seeing several times. It's the BEST film ever 5 stars
7/23/03 movieboy I loved it one of the best movies of the summer 5 stars
7/23/03 Rod Johnston Well, like there was this black pearl and it was like cursed yo! That Rocks! Rock!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/23/03 rich best of this year 5 stars
7/23/03 Strawberry it was ok no intentions of watchin it again 3 stars
7/22/03 tombraider's raider freaking awesome 5 stars
7/22/03 Gray This movie made me feel like a kid again 5 stars
7/22/03 Elan Depp was amazing! The other actors would be cardboard if he wasn't in this movie. 5 stars
7/22/03 Lorin I loved it -- especially Depp. 5 stars
7/22/03 dan I like a good pirate movie. This wasn't one. It was entertaining, though. 3 stars
7/21/03 Nikaelah Loved it!!! I can't wait to see the DVD. 5 stars
7/21/03 Blutarski Certainly worth seeing 4 stars
7/21/03 George Jung Very decent summer movie. JACK SOMMERSBY SUCKS! 4 stars
7/21/03 Norman Epstein Damn clever 4 stars
7/21/03 katie i loved this movie! i want 2 c it again!!!!! 5 stars
7/21/03 Bill Hays Jack Sparrow meets Tinkerbell, another Disney money machine 5 stars
7/20/03 Brand New Depp Fan Movie was great. JD was AMAZING! Stole every scene he was in. Amazing actor! 5 stars
7/20/03 Elizaveta the rest of the movie is worth a look, but johnny depp upgrades this one to fucking awesome 5 stars
7/20/03 Nicole Depp' 5 stars
7/20/03 Alejandra This movie is soooo AWESOME! All of the actors are incredible...especially JOHNNY DEPP!!! 5 stars
7/20/03 Jessica Workman It is the second best movie I have seen this year! 5 stars
7/19/03 Desiree The best damn movie I have EVER seen 5 stars
7/19/03 malcolm everything a swashbuckling film should be, despite Depp's slurring 4 stars
7/19/03 mappy d kicks hulks bouncy ass 5 stars
7/19/03 Daddy Plaid JD stole the summer with this!! Ready for the sequel!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/19/03 Vena Fox Fun movie, JD is riveting... charming, goofy, sexy, spectacular 5 stars
7/19/03 Christian Harding Best summer film so far and possibly the best movie ever! 5 stars
7/19/03 Ross Bernard Depp looks wasted the whole time, plot was fucked up, and overall was a kiddy movie 2 stars
7/19/03 Sparvey Like drinking rum on a Caribbean beach! 5 stars
7/18/03 Nikki It was so awesome! Very good acting. Orlando Boom's a hottie but Johnny Depp looked so sexy 5 stars
7/18/03 john excellent , awesome...Ebert and that ilk, too prudish...paid critics are such knit pickers 5 stars
7/18/03 chris HILARIOUS. can't wait to see it again!! 5 stars
7/18/03 Jack I've seen it twice and it still rules 5 stars
7/18/03 Audrey WONDERFUL YOU HAVE TO LOVE IT OR ELSE....... 5 stars
7/18/03 Bam Margera Believe the hype. As good as everyone is saying. Depp was awesome - stole the show! 5 stars
7/17/03 Boomer Very entertaining, good summer fun! 5 stars
7/17/03 Nikki it's a really good movie and johnny depp & orlando bloom=sexiness 5 stars
7/17/03 KingNeutron Bloom and Rush seemed miscast, but Depp "made" the movie. 4 stars
7/17/03 Mr. Hat This is one of the best of 2003!!! 5 stars
7/17/03 Fran-is-a-fan This may be the movie for Johnny Depp's Oscar nomination at last! (Matters to ME, not him! 5 stars
7/17/03 Rob Pace sometimes forced. Bloom uninspiring. Rush/Depp steal the show. 4 stars
7/17/03 Dave Depp deserves an Oscar (but let's not hold our breath) 5 stars
7/17/03 Cheryl Zhang The best movie of the year 5 stars
7/17/03 luiz GREAT fun-- that first swordfight was better than ALL of Matrix II 5 stars
7/17/03 MzMel Fantastic, Awesome, absolute must see. 5 stars
7/16/03 Vicious Got rather slow at some bits, but was overall fun. 4 stars
7/16/03 Emperor's New Clothes Just because it's better than the other crap out there doesn't make it good. <3 Johnny. 3 stars
7/16/03 M. Moses One of the most fun, entertaining movies I have ever seen! You must see it!!! 5 stars
7/15/03 ajay good harmless fun... 4 stars
7/15/03 monkeysvsrobots.com great pirate movie. great movie period! 5 stars
7/15/03 sparrowfan a great movie, worthy of a place at the top, along with "Raiders of the Lost Ark" 5 stars
7/15/03 Flounder This is the most fun I have had at the movies in a long while 5 stars
7/15/03 Xalt Impressive. Depp made me laugh, Rush made me cringe, Bloom made me drool. Fun! 5 stars
7/15/03 astrotart Johnny Depp alone is worth the trip to the movie theatre for this one! 5 stars
7/14/03 Mike Dooley Excellent, Loved every minute. Look for the "Easter Eggs" from the ride. 5 stars
7/14/03 Gracy Lionheart Am I the only one who thought this movie was a little on the boring side? 3 stars
7/14/03 Jaws This movie was incredible 5 stars
7/14/03 Jiz I thought pirate movies were supposed to suck. Where'd they go wrong? Real fun movie. 5 stars
7/14/03 Tim Holdener could have been really cool w/o bits of moronic comic relief (bird pooping, monkey) 4 stars
7/14/03 zx best film i have seen in a long time. 5 stars
7/14/03 Paula J. Great fun. 5 stars
7/14/03 JaninaBambina Was Johnny Depp Turner' REAL father? Thats what I want to know... 5 stars
7/14/03 Jimmy James fun stuff, depp is the man :) 4 stars
7/14/03 Darth Haggis Best Movie Of The Year Loads Of Fun 5 stars
7/14/03 me frog ahh it is perfect! excellent! see it now FOOL! 5 stars
7/14/03 M Plum The most fun I've had at a movie in years. 5 stars
7/14/03 Judd Robertson Depp is amazing in this movie 4 stars
7/14/03 Emma WONERFUL!!! 5 stars
7/14/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB SEE PIRATES,T3,28 DAYS LATER,HULK,ORANYTHING ELSEINSTEAD OF LXG!DONT LISTEN TOSIMON! 4 stars
7/14/03 Cap'n Mel Johnny totally owns this movie...fantastic! 5 stars
7/13/03 Doug pretty good 4 stars
7/13/03 Simon Go watch LXG instead! 1 stars
7/13/03 Ida A grand pirate adventure in the high seas. Depp is outstanding, as are all! 5 stars
7/13/03 Keira Knightley=b*i*t*c*h Especially Depp with his gay self! GO DEPP GO! Lets not forget my man ORLANDO BLOOM! 5 stars
7/13/03 Mike All around great. Depp especially 5 stars
7/13/03 syrius depp struttin like a gay man because of the heat, hahahaha 5 stars
7/13/03 B.D. Depp makes the movie. 5 stars
7/13/03 Sarah Friesen All around awesome movie. Amazing effects and a perfectly chosen cast. 5 stars
7/13/03 kitty awesome 5 stars
7/13/03 glow Great movie, about time a good pirate movie was made, a welcome change of pace 5 stars
7/13/03 Kicks Reese Witherspoon's ass This movie had no right to be as good as this. And Depp is a genius! 4 stars
7/13/03 Dawn K Johnny Depp made this movie. It was great. 5 stars
7/12/03 orpy too much weird funny stuff; perfect for an 8 year-old 3 stars
7/12/03 ChazB. The best moive ever yo-ho a pirates life for me! 5 stars
7/12/03 Hal Cohen The "Star Wars" of pirate movies! 5 stars
7/12/03 Jaws Incredible.........so much fun 5 stars
7/12/03 Titus Wonderful fun. Go see this movie. Depp is awesome. 5 stars
7/12/03 Amanda The best movie this summer! Has everything you need, sexy people and action! 5 stars
7/12/03 char most enjoyable--great swashbuckling adventure 5 stars
7/12/03 Lena This movie takes it's place beside 'LOTR' a nd that's the best compliment I give to movies. 5 stars
7/12/03 Mark Amaaaaaaaaaaazing 5 stars
7/12/03 Boo Dude, SEE IT 5 stars
7/12/03 Aaron Much better than I was expecting. 5 stars
7/12/03 Jack Bourbon Depp's amusing. 4 stars
7/11/03 Joe Great fun, but only because we dressed up 4 stars
7/11/03 Lauren PREPARE TO BE BLOWN OUT OF THE SEA!! 5 stars
7/11/03 ------- I was very impressed since I only went to see Bloom. Loved Jack. 5 stars
7/11/03 nick2k awesome movie, despite it being bruckheimer related. verbinski rules! stay til the end..... 5 stars
7/11/03 Jen Depp romps. Art direction, costumes, score all first-rate. Can't wait for the DVD 5 stars
7/11/03 George Jung Goddamn, this fucking shit kicked all ass! 5 stars
7/11/03 Vyvean Awesome Movies for the Summer! 5 stars
7/11/03 Aaron Lee Don't waste your money. 1 stars
7/11/03 Human Shield Above and beyond every movie that has come out so far. It may be the movie of the year. 5 stars
7/11/03 LAS Finally! 5 stars
7/11/03 Ron Tryzinski An absolute blast. This is the real summer thriller that we have been waiting for. 5 stars
7/11/03 Elizabeth Baker A pirate's life for me! I sat in a movie theatre with pirates yelling ar! and loved it! 5 stars
7/10/03 Sabrina It was one of the best movies i've seen 5 stars
7/10/03 Shaun best movie so far this year 5 stars
7/10/03 Flounder An absolute blast! This is one of the more enjoyable movies I have seen in a long time! 5 stars
7/10/03 Jackie Johnny Depp reminds me of Keith Richards in this movie. 4 stars
7/10/03 sunny great movie 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Sep-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast