More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.07

Awesome: 10.81%
Worth A Look: 4.05%
Average: 16.22%
Pretty Bad: 18.92%
Total Crap50%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Buddy System, The by Jack Sommersby

Amiko by Jay Seaver

Man Who Killed Hitler and Then The Bigfoot, The by Jay Seaver

Laplace's Witch by Jay Seaver

Eighth Grade by Peter Sobczynski

Unfriended: Dark Web by Peter Sobczynski

Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again! by Peter Sobczynski

Boiled Angels: The Trial of Mike Diana by Jay Seaver

Buy Bust by Jay Seaver

Isle of Dogs by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Inspector Gadget
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"The tedium is not the fault of the actors."
2 stars

It’s a shame adults will have to wait until the end credits to get the laughs they’ll enjoy most in this picture. Until then, accompanying a child could come under the heading of duty, with grown-ups having to get their entertainment from the many film and TV allusions in script/sight gags. It's such a good cast for so little result: Matthew Broderick, Rupert Everett and Joely Fisher are fine as John Brown, Scolex, and Brenda Bradford, and young Michelle Trachtenberg is good as Brown’s niece Penny.

The problem appears to be the plot (story Dana Olsen and Kerry Ehrin, screenplay Ehrin and Zak Penn), which seems to put all events on an equal level. Kids may accept various happenings strung together like popcorn, but their wrinkly escorts – some old enough to remember the original Inspector Gadget cartoon – are likely to expect more in the way of structure and character development.

The story starts by showing how security guard John Brown became the bionic Inspector Gadget, after an accident which also injured evil millionaire Scolex. At the behest of Brenda Bradford (after her inventor father’s death due to Scolex) Brown is remade with all sorts of helpful doodads to fight crime, while Scolex acquires a metal pincer invented by his minion Kramer (Andy Dick), leading to his nickname “Claw”. The rest of the story introduces an evil copy of Inspector Gadget named RoboGadget, and a bad version of Brenda Bradford, and the bad robots cause havoc etc., etc.

As the end credits roll, the film’s most amusing idea comes with a shot of Claw’s former minion, Sikes (Michael G. Hagerty), attending a meeting of a Minion Recovery Group, along with Oddjob, Kato, Tonto, and others you’ll have to be quick to recognise. Watch also for the final few seconds, when the Caravan Pictures man walking off into the distance sprouts rotors like Inspector Gadget to lift him up and away. (Shane Lewis--filmnet.org.au)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=796&reviewer=169
originally posted: 12/23/99 17:32:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Memo to Hollywood. Time to knock it off with the damn Saturday Morning Cartoon remakes. 2 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
3/15/08 Charles Tatum Pretty painful, whether you are a fan of the toon or not 2 stars
8/05/07 Jeff Anderson I love the cartoon, but THIS is truly unwatchable & gets the toon completely WRONG!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/06/07 shari king i love it. but why does claw have to be an asshole 5 stars
6/22/05 darick At most a 2.5/5: pretty inaccurate to the cartoon 3 stars
2/17/05 Janet Crandall okay 2 stars
9/15/03 Diana/Ryoko VERRY STUPID! its not the true cartoon Inspector Gadget! THIS FILM SUCKS ASS! 1 stars
10/24/02 qtpie a great film 5 stars
3/27/02 Claxner Oxjaw Too far-fetched to even be a fantasy. 2 stars
12/08/01 Monster W. Kung Unwatchable garbage. No entertainment, no laughs; just pain. 1 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Never Gets Anywhere, and What Could Of Been An Action Filled Film Is Dull. 1 stars
10/10/01 Butterbean I was disapointed, but the kids will like it. 3 stars
8/14/01 J I admit I actually liked the movie though I won't go as far as Turtle did. 3 stars
6/18/01 WOW! Andy Dicks the sexiest man alive! 5 stars
2/08/01 Erin Collins ANDY DICK IS A BUTT UGLY ASS 1 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Non-stop fun! One of Disney's better live-action films. Much better than the show. 5 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin liked the show; the film is pppppuuuuurrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeee dog turd 1 stars
10/09/00 Ground Zero mind exploding stupidity! 1 stars
9/30/00 Anthony C. Notaro I must be from Mars.....This movie was great for the kids! 5 stars
5/09/00 Pansy it's a movie for dorks and dopes 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall it's a movie for dweebs. liked the cartoon... the movie was shit! 1 stars
1/29/00 Tom Middlemiss I loved the movie and i'd like to Rate it G 5 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 Loved the show. HATED the movie! 1 stars
1/15/00 James none 5 stars
1/15/00 Marli it's a movie for babies 2 stars
12/26/99 Frank Barker The grandchildren enjoyed it. I put up wit it. 2 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Don't waste your money on this peice of crap! 1 stars
10/23/99 Datawolf Great job relating to the show! Very funny! Dr. Claw's hand needed work. Otherwise great. 4 stars
10/23/99 James I think that this movie was funny at times but simply lacked in content and energy. 3 stars
10/20/99 pave väisänen No huh huh mitä paskaa 1 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh Loved the cartoon, but... WHY do this? 1 stars
10/10/99 Tom Absolute torture 1 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah [[[barf]]] 1 stars
9/16/99 Ratso I didn't know that children made children's movies. 1 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Nope 1 stars
9/03/99 Kenya Give up, Disney...stick to theme parks & tv networks; the cinema world has passed you by. 1 stars
8/25/99 badman it sucked 1 stars
8/20/99 Getsome Yo, Broderick! Find another profession... please! 2 stars
8/19/99 Admiral Crunch liked the characters, and why was the GadgetMobile such a jerk? 1 stars
8/02/99 JimBob expected more with suc actors 3 stars
8/01/99 J. Random Hacker There is no God. 1 stars
8/01/99 Zoit Different from the old favorite, but great for the new generation. Good kid's flick 3 stars
7/31/99 Blue sky It was a very cute and somewhat humorous movie. You've got to remember it's a kid's movie. 4 stars
7/31/99 Michael Highly energetic, but equally annoying & instantly forgettable -- wait, what movie is this? 2 stars
7/27/99 Laz Most reviews have been awful..hey,it wasn't all that bad.The kids loved it,it was fun! 4 stars
7/26/99 Imaginer I'd rather be related to a whore than someone who worked on this movie. I'd feel less shame 1 stars
7/25/99 blue an absolute travesty against the cartoon that most of us grew up with and loved 1 stars
7/25/99 Ah Dooey loved the cartoon, hated the movie 1 stars
7/24/99 Vampyre9mm words simply can't describe. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-1999 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Dec-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast