More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.07

Awesome: 10.81%
Worth A Look: 4.05%
Average: 16.22%
Pretty Bad: 18.92%
Total Crap50%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Inspector Gadget
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"go go get over it!"
3 stars

a silly little movie. not the cartoon we grew up with. but it's designed for a new generation, and it's a fine children's movie. much more entertaining and appropriate than tarzan, in my humble opinion.

this movie is not for the old at heart. it is very slapstick and very silly. being live action takes away some of the charm of the cartoon, and come on! brain gets one line :(

i love brain.

and they showed claw's face. i don't know if that's the choice i would have gone with, but rupert was very entertaining. and i mainly saw the movie for him. but he was actually my least favorite character. andy dick, the minion, penny, and the scientist chick were all an excellent supportign cast. andy dick stole much of the show, and the minion had the best joke in the whole thing.

the two guys i went with said this movie was gay.

but they're not 6. or 6 at heart. i realize it's not the best movie, or even the best kid's movie, but it's a fuckload better than the hunchback of notre fuicking dame.

so i say the movie was average. some damn funny moments and very cute aside from that. and what can i say? i love a man who can say "go go gadget..." yeah, you know what i mean. 3 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=796&reviewer=6
originally posted: 08/01/99 07:41:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Memo to Hollywood. Time to knock it off with the damn Saturday Morning Cartoon remakes. 2 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
3/15/08 Charles Tatum Pretty painful, whether you are a fan of the toon or not 2 stars
8/05/07 Jeff Anderson I love the cartoon, but THIS is truly unwatchable & gets the toon completely WRONG!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/06/07 shari king i love it. but why does claw have to be an asshole 5 stars
6/22/05 darick At most a 2.5/5: pretty inaccurate to the cartoon 3 stars
2/17/05 Janet Crandall okay 2 stars
9/15/03 Diana/Ryoko VERRY STUPID! its not the true cartoon Inspector Gadget! THIS FILM SUCKS ASS! 1 stars
10/24/02 qtpie a great film 5 stars
3/27/02 Claxner Oxjaw Too far-fetched to even be a fantasy. 2 stars
12/08/01 Monster W. Kung Unwatchable garbage. No entertainment, no laughs; just pain. 1 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Never Gets Anywhere, and What Could Of Been An Action Filled Film Is Dull. 1 stars
10/10/01 Butterbean I was disapointed, but the kids will like it. 3 stars
8/14/01 J I admit I actually liked the movie though I won't go as far as Turtle did. 3 stars
6/18/01 WOW! Andy Dicks the sexiest man alive! 5 stars
2/08/01 Erin Collins ANDY DICK IS A BUTT UGLY ASS 1 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Non-stop fun! One of Disney's better live-action films. Much better than the show. 5 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin liked the show; the film is pppppuuuuurrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeee dog turd 1 stars
10/09/00 Ground Zero mind exploding stupidity! 1 stars
9/30/00 Anthony C. Notaro I must be from Mars.....This movie was great for the kids! 5 stars
5/09/00 Pansy it's a movie for dorks and dopes 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall it's a movie for dweebs. liked the cartoon... the movie was shit! 1 stars
1/29/00 Tom Middlemiss I loved the movie and i'd like to Rate it G 5 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 Loved the show. HATED the movie! 1 stars
1/15/00 James none 5 stars
1/15/00 Marli it's a movie for babies 2 stars
12/26/99 Frank Barker The grandchildren enjoyed it. I put up wit it. 2 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Don't waste your money on this peice of crap! 1 stars
10/23/99 Datawolf Great job relating to the show! Very funny! Dr. Claw's hand needed work. Otherwise great. 4 stars
10/23/99 James I think that this movie was funny at times but simply lacked in content and energy. 3 stars
10/20/99 pave väisänen No huh huh mitä paskaa 1 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh Loved the cartoon, but... WHY do this? 1 stars
10/10/99 Tom Absolute torture 1 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah [[[barf]]] 1 stars
9/16/99 Ratso I didn't know that children made children's movies. 1 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Nope 1 stars
9/03/99 Kenya Give up, Disney...stick to theme parks & tv networks; the cinema world has passed you by. 1 stars
8/25/99 badman it sucked 1 stars
8/20/99 Getsome Yo, Broderick! Find another profession... please! 2 stars
8/19/99 Admiral Crunch liked the characters, and why was the GadgetMobile such a jerk? 1 stars
8/02/99 JimBob expected more with suc actors 3 stars
8/01/99 J. Random Hacker There is no God. 1 stars
8/01/99 Zoit Different from the old favorite, but great for the new generation. Good kid's flick 3 stars
7/31/99 Blue sky It was a very cute and somewhat humorous movie. You've got to remember it's a kid's movie. 4 stars
7/31/99 Michael Highly energetic, but equally annoying & instantly forgettable -- wait, what movie is this? 2 stars
7/27/99 Laz Most reviews have been awful..hey,it wasn't all that bad.The kids loved it,it was fun! 4 stars
7/26/99 Imaginer I'd rather be related to a whore than someone who worked on this movie. I'd feel less shame 1 stars
7/25/99 blue an absolute travesty against the cartoon that most of us grew up with and loved 1 stars
7/25/99 Ah Dooey loved the cartoon, hated the movie 1 stars
7/24/99 Vampyre9mm words simply can't describe. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-1999 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Dec-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast