More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome62.92%
Worth A Look: 13%
Average: 11.25%
Pretty Bad: 5.55%
Total Crap: 7.29%

20 reviews, 511 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Saving Private Ryan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Ear-splitting carnage but not much else."
3 stars

Critics across America fell over themselves to bestow masterpiece status on "Saving Private Ryan," the hefty war movie directed by Steven Spielberg. I'll agree with the raves about the battle sequences, which have a cruel, piercing horror, but otherwise the critics sound like a pack of easily impressed 12-year-old boys.

A masterpiece? Hardly. Neither as subtly artful as Schindler's List nor as boringly high-minded as Amistad, this film falls somewhere in the bland middle. It's forty minutes of steely violence and two hours of cliché-ridden flab -- and Spielberg's draining the color out of the clichés doesn't make them any less clichés.

The film begins not with carnage but with grief: an elderly man visiting the Normandy memorial, wandering through the rows of white crosses. The image recalls Scarlett O'Hara walking through the dead and dying in Gone with the Wind -- just one of many bits Spielberg cribs from other war films. The old man gets one of those sad-thinking-back faces, and we cut to D-Day on Omaha Beach. Men are dying everywhere you look; they die before they even get off the boats, they die underwater when bullets cut through the murk and kick up a cloud of red. Spielberg and cinematographer Janusz Kaminski stage the combat in a jittery, haphazard style that conveys the systematic nightmare of war.

It's a bit of a distancing style, though -- too self-consciously a newsreel effect -- and you can't help being excited even as you're appalled. Spielberg pays a price for starting things off with a bang: after a certain amount of graphic violence (and this movie is the hardest R I've ever seen), you just go numb. And Spielberg can't help aestheticizing it; even the harsh physical realism becomes almost pleasurable to watch. The staccato noise of bullets thudding into flesh, the shock of sudden death -- it all has a feral beauty. (The gray-toned photography further distances us. Was Spielberg afraid to go all the way and shoot in black and white -- an uncommercial format -- or did he want to avoid comparisons to Schindler's List?)

Owen Gleiberman of Entertainment Weekly called Spielberg "our most spectacular poet of war," which is not a label anyone applied to Kubrick or Oliver Stone or Coppola -- or even Edward Zwick, whose Glory and Courage Under Fire captured the moral complexity of war far more effectively than anything in Saving Private Ryan. And has anyone noticed how Spielberg the spectacular poet of war hedges his bets? He doesn't start with any old battle -- he kicks things off with D-Day. If he hadn't gotten our attention with such a large-scale canvas of chaos, would we not feel that war is hell? In Glory, we got the point without seeing dozens of men get their brains blown out. One head blown off was quite enough to make the case.

At the center of Saving Private Ryan is a rather routine drama. Four brothers are stationed overseas during World War II; three of them have been killed, and the fourth, James Ryan (Matt Damon), is still out there somewhere. The top brass sends a platoon, headed by Captain John Miller (Tom Hanks), to find Ryan and bring him back alive so he can go home to his thrice-bereaved mother. So Miller and his squad of stereotypes -- the faithful sergeant (Tom Sizemore), the cynical Brooklyn guy (Edward Burns), the surly Italian (Vin Diesel), the sensitive medic (Giovanni Ribisi), the skittish new guy (Jeremy Davies), the mordant Jew (Adam Goldberg), the devout Christian (Barry Pepper) -- venture into Spielberg's version of war-torn hell, which is really an anthology of moments from war movies and books: the sniper, the German prisoner, the little heart-tugging kid, and so on.

"Whoever saves one life saves the world entire" -- that was the defining line in Schindler's List, and it could be the epigram for Saving Private Ryan. Spielberg and screenwriter Robert Rodat hang their epic on a shaky metaphor. Private Ryan, of course, is us -- the abstract American ideal that our soldiers died to defend. "Earn this," Miller says to Ryan -- meaning, Earn the life we've died to protect. Yet Spielberg ignores the fact that it was the government, not Ryan -- not us -- who sent those soldiers to die. The last scene, a schmaltzy reprise of the opening scene, is meant to send us out wanting to be worthy of America's great sacrifice. And it's meant to make you feel small for asking why anyone must die or kill in any war.

Saving Private Ryan says nothing fresh about war; it lacks the sardonic vision of Kubrick's great war films (Paths of Glory and Full Metal Jacket, the latter of which Spielberg swipes from constantly), which regarded war with a hollow laugh, as the sickest of sick jokes. The closest Spielberg comes to Kubrick is in a couple of scenes with the terrified interpreter played by Jeremy Davies, and in a perfectly realized death scene claiming a soldier we've come to like. Elsewhere, Spielberg loses focus, and he underdirects his actors. Some, like Edward Burns and Adam Goldberg, come through anyway; others, like Tom Hanks and Tom Sizemore, show little personality -- it's as if they had no time to bring anything of themselves to the show.

That's true of Spielberg too. He has a fierce visual precision in those combat scenes. Everywhere else, where it really counts, he shoots all over the place.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/25/06 12:48:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/16/13 Vicki R love tom hanks, hated the way i felt 4 stars
7/31/13 David A. Not nearly as compelling as Spielberg's masterpiece Duel. 2 stars
10/13/12 jesse kaellis I'm going to enlist! 3 stars
2/12/12 Tony Hogan Great movie - first hand in the trenches look at warfare 4 stars
1/30/12 steve luke mediocre plot, completely uninsightful, gloss 2 stars
9/30/11 Todd Teghtmeyer Great movie ! 5 stars
9/11/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky Love Tom Hanks 4 stars
9/10/11 Shannon Dagesse Classic from Day one shows the dedication and heroism of our soldiers 5 stars
9/09/11 Scot Dee One of the best over rated movies ever 4 stars
7/17/11 Ron Stanwood So real, shows combat as it really is, raises many question and it answers many of them. 5 stars
6/06/11 AEB The epitome of film 5 stars
5/30/11 Dorothy Really enjoyed this , opening scene is great 4 stars
4/13/11 Damian I agree with Rob Gonsalves completely 3 stars
2/22/11 GonsalvesSucks You clearly don't know shit about anything. Fuck you. 5 stars
1/09/11 Pamela White great visceral meaning can be found on the horrors and waste of war and the freedom we have 5 stars
10/17/10 Julie Lutz this is the most realistic and disturbinly true war film Ive ever heard of 5 stars
9/13/10 David Gresh you feel like you're there 5 stars
6/19/10 Heather Awesome Awesome Awesome 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King I believe that this film is a classic case of style over substance. 3 stars
5/20/10 Rob Gonsalves Glad you all loved it. I find it overrated. Deal with it. 3 stars
5/18/10 Mr. McComment Rob Gonsalves. You complete douche. Jump off a cliff. Pussy. 5 stars
4/16/10 ze? technically nice, but too much patriotism and underlying stereotypes = just good propaganda 4 stars
3/15/10 Jonathan Speilberg's best since "Schindler's List" 5 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef The most brutal film ever made about WWII. Everyone involved re-creates the experience. 5 stars
11/27/09 Micah Grim, but great. 5 stars
11/23/09 t2k after 3 views - dagger intimacy stays (and the beach overture) 5 stars
8/03/09 Rachel Unforgettable 5 stars
6/28/09 Bedridden so very very blah, boring, mediocre, TTRL far superior 2 stars
6/20/09 Georg What bad movie. A selection of random images that don't make any sense. It's a Spielberg. 2 stars
4/28/09 mike hawk wow, cliched? one head blowing off too much? oh wait nobody dies in war? 5 stars
3/26/09 Rhett Perkins Pretty good movie- too slow in places 3 stars
3/12/09 Matt Such a classic load of elitist bullshit. Spielberg is a genius...this guy is clueless. 5 stars
3/08/09 GJ Tryon These comments illustrate Spielberg's greatest asset: a credulous audience. I won't see it. 3 stars
2/11/09 aric dang i felt like was a solider 5 stars
1/08/09 Victoria T Absolutly awsome movie, No movie comes close to it! 5 stars
12/21/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 5 stars
12/06/08 Simon Fantastic, unforgettable movie. jules' review= dim;it's Thin RED Line! 5 stars
12/03/08 Jimmy Speilberg's best 5 stars
12/01/08 Roz One of the best war movies ever. The opening scene is epic! 5 stars
11/08/08 Abby Meyer rip your heart out real! 4 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Best war movie I've ever seen. That this did not win Best Picture was a travesty. 4 stars
8/06/08 Screwball Too violent for my taste. Made me ill. 2 stars
8/04/08 Peter Filth & brutality put onto celluloid - unparalleled achievement 5 stars
7/28/08 Dan This movie shows the utter, brutal reality of war. Be grateful for these men who fight. 5 stars
7/20/08 George Barksdale War is hell and not fun and games, Tom Hanks is great in this 5 stars
6/22/08 J Black Tom Hanks is in it. Nothing more need be said. 5 stars
5/26/08 PAUL SHORTT FORCES US TO UNDERSTAND THAT EVERY LIFE IS MEANINGFUL & THAT EVERYONE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE 5 stars
5/18/08 John Gonsalves needs to grow a penis. The movie was amazing. 5 stars
4/28/08 Ogechi Asia awesome video i never wanted it to end!! 5 stars
4/25/08 Dennis Frierson Tom never makes a bad movie 4 stars
4/01/08 Tom like it took a list of everything it admired, then darned it together with their feet 1 stars
3/03/08 Rich Strickler Best war film ever made...major injustice by Oscars...alltime ripoff 5 stars
3/02/08 Jackie Awesome 4 stars
2/29/08 A. Belt Mr Gonsalves is a stupid fucktard, this movie is beautiful. 5 stars
2/17/08 Bnorm Greatest war movie ever. 5 stars
11/25/07 N. Gawli Incredible opening. Rest is pretty good. Speilberg created a masterpiece. 5 stars
11/19/07 Fred Maness The vehicle crash scenes were really cool 5 stars
9/16/07 Stephen It's a good war movie. Action was great and Drama too. Worth buying. 4 stars
6/20/07 al smith k dog is a complete and utter retarded cock end 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK The Bang Bahg Splatty gets boring halfway, but picks up again for the end. 3 stars
4/18/07 Tracey Chambers great movie if you can stomach the first twenty minutes. 4 stars
2/18/07 Sara loved it 5 stars
2/17/07 mano bloody horrible movie:D luv it! must c 5 stars
1/31/07 Matt War is a necessary but insane evil. The landing scenes prove it all by themselves. Awesome. 5 stars
12/29/06 cecelia great war movie. 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
11/29/06 Margaret Garcia All you dumb asses that didn't like the movie need to go back to school and finish it! 5 stars
11/15/06 KC Take off the "bookends," and you have a flawless movie. 5 stars
11/01/06 Agent Sands Undeniably one of the greatest war films ever made. 5 stars
10/29/06 Pete If you liked this film you will love a Korean film called 'Brotherhood', its even better. 5 stars
10/19/06 sudip talukdar there won't be a comparable war film for the next 50 years. 5 stars
9/25/06 ffcrazydude possible the best film i ever saw, stunningly real, and a moving plot that flows seamlesly 5 stars
9/19/06 Joyster awsome 5 stars
8/02/06 dan a great story a great film 4 stars
7/24/06 Sepi53 MAsterpiece! Greatest WW2-film ever made! 5 stars
7/13/06 EZ Again, K-Dog you are insane!!!!! This movie is amazing in a saddening way 5 stars
5/24/06 Anthony Feor The greatest war movie in the world 5 stars
4/02/06 JRE It had great battle scenes but it's not all it's hyped up to be 4 stars
3/26/06 Thomas Semesky One of the best films ever made. Powerful 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Along with Jurassic Park and Schindlers list this was speilburgs finest 5 stars
1/22/06 IT I agree with Mr. Robertson. Purchasing this movie is a waste of money. 2 stars
1/08/06 Gerry Dunne Absolutely stunning, perhaps best film ever! 5 stars
1/01/06 wiseman This movie makes me apricate The people who fought in ww2 God bless em 5 stars
12/27/05 Tombstone If you`ve ever been shot at,the most realistic 4 stars
12/19/05 cooler Fuck you K-Dog,This movie is awesome and powerful.Goddamit 5 stars
11/21/05 Quigley this is one powerful film that will stay with you forever. way to go spielberg 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Not your typical World War II movie, but it introduces themes to it that are welcome. 5 stars
11/12/05 DG powerful, emotionally draining 5 stars
11/03/05 Mark Great movie! 5 stars
10/07/05 Johnny Intensely powerful. 5 stars
9/29/05 Jonathon Holmes the greatest war film of our time 5 stars
9/11/05 CRITICS SUCK BALLS. "Awesome, you fuckin' critics don't know shit." 5 stars
9/02/05 Zack this review is bull shit 5 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G wow this movie was great, kenneth is just sad he's a lonely pathetic douche. 5 stars
8/25/05 ES Enjoyed it, especially the combat scenes through the first town 4 stars
8/13/05 Dan Great movie, tragic, sad, and gripping. Really shows what humans have to go through in war. 5 stars
8/12/05 Kenneth Grodd Terrible film. One of the worst I've ever seen. Bad editing. Lousy, disjointed plot. 1 stars
8/06/05 Brandy Harrington Awesome, you fuckin' critics don't know shit. 5 stars
7/22/05 Quigley this is the greatest war film ever; powerful and incredibly profound scenes. don't miss it 5 stars
7/19/05 John Burke BEST WAR MOVIE OF ALL TIME 5 stars
7/19/05 Joe Gatt My opinion of SPR….please allow me to use the same language continuously used in the film… 1 stars
7/06/05 Burt Ward Why is K-Dog a critic on this site 5 stars
7/02/05 Eddie A very well-acted story 5 stars
6/30/05 jonny wildcard ignore the review, this film is incredible. 5 stars
6/27/05 Adam Muir outstanding but graphic 5 stars
6/08/05 me yeah bitch, yeeeeeeaaaahhhh... 5 stars
6/07/05 Anthony G WOW 5 stars
5/30/05 Joses Really really cool action scenes. 5 stars
5/25/05 The shizz this movie was great 5 stars
4/29/05 haha One of the best movie's ever, speilberg did it right this time. 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley this is the best war film ever; none succeed it. an extremely powewrful experience. 5 stars
4/20/05 jellosheriff Almost too real at times, as if you were really there. 5 stars
3/24/05 Michael Lloyd greatest war movie ever 5 stars
3/23/05 Sharon Sharen fantastic movie a must see 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold War movies divide into preSPR and postSPR. Everything pre looks unrealistic in comparison. 5 stars
3/12/05 craig varney great war movie 5 stars
3/02/05 matt One of the top 10 war movies ever! 5 stars
2/23/05 lol best movie of the 90's 5 stars
2/17/05 Jay Fuit Ups and downs, loved and hated it! 4 stars
2/17/05 Rafael Ochoa amazing 5 stars
2/12/05 craig varney great action keeps you on the edge of your seat 5 stars
2/02/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old more overrated tom hanks junk 2 stars
1/31/05 clinger26 On e of the greatest 5 stars
1/30/05 MARION BURGESS VERY GOOD MOVIE 5 stars
1/29/05 PaulBryant Amazing pictures, amazing performances 5 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules Spielbergs 2nd best film. (Jaws is his best) 5 stars
12/25/04 DAN GREAT! 5 stars
12/23/04 goatfarmer profundity hit on the third viewing 5 stars
12/15/04 Tom Benton One of the absolute best war films ever, another Spielberg masterpiece. Devastating intro. 5 stars
12/02/04 keithers.. One of th greatest War films ever made 5 stars
12/01/04 mohit anyone who doesnt like this movie should stop watching movies 5 stars
11/25/04 T. Maj Tired of exploiting the Holocaust, Spielberg move on to D-Day 2 stars
11/13/04 dmf opening well done, but plot unravels into hollywood b.s. very overrated. 2 stars
11/13/04 Cristine Alarcon The film is superb! 5 stars
11/13/04 your worst goddamn nightmare Just Fucking Incredible!! Hard to watch, though. 5 stars
11/05/04 Rich Strickler an absolute masterpiece 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER first half-hour and the last haif-hour of the movie are just MIND-BLOWING 4 stars
10/23/04 ODH Great opening, then the movie falls apart.. 2 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy A great movie despite the illogical premise. 5 stars
9/12/04 Dan WTFPWNT!!!! 5 stars
9/12/04 jeff people that dont like this movie just want to get attention. 5 stars
9/10/04 Munchie8 People that dont like this film they are democrats, and like the french. you fuckers 5 stars
9/07/04 Caiphn KathrynKnobgobbler should have seen something more up her alley, like "Dude, Wheres My Car? 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton Yawn 1 stars
8/16/04 Peter James The most realistic and gripping war movie ever made 5 stars
8/07/04 ALDO One of the best war films.... 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G Katheryn is a stupid fucking whore who need to have a nice creampie,this movie owns 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton I wish they would have rescued me instead of Private Ryan, FROM SEEING THIS MOVIE - awful 1 stars
7/30/04 DJ Wtf? Pwnt. 5 stars
7/25/04 Rebecca Cottrell Gripping from the first moment. 5 stars
7/23/04 JASON FISKE Kick butt and take no names movie 5 stars
5/09/04 TonyMontana underated 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Awesome beginning, poignant ending, but they forgot to add a story on the middle 4 stars
4/24/04 Brip ode to ww2 movies not real war...damn good...but flawed 4 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley K Dog... you are fucken idiot...Full Metal Jacket sucked this movie blows that one away 5 stars
4/08/04 movieman amazingly shot movie with an emotional message i will never forget 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho 2 terrific battle scenes, but little else to recommend it. 3 stars
3/26/04 Kimberly Kay Crellin ...a little too real... 5 stars
2/28/04 Kyle Flawed, convulted film...but it changed the war genre and was skillfully made. Not bad. 4 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Has an emotional kick like a boot in the face 5 stars
2/03/04 Evan This was amazingly disappointing, full of stereotypes and cliches. The Brooklyn kid who h 1 stars
1/26/04 x-nonymous Fuck you, Adalwolf, this movie rules and you totally miss the point. 5 stars
12/20/03 60,000blueshirtssuck Good film but weren't there enough Ryan’s back in neutral Ireland. 4 stars
12/15/03 Adalwolf Slick Jewish propaganda. Suck my balls, Spielberg. 1 stars
12/03/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) One of the highest movie body counts ever. It's an epic, though, like an old Kurosawa film. 4 stars
11/27/03 John well directed after a truly average and by the numbers script 4 stars
11/02/03 J The blodiest war movie ever made!!!!! 5 stars
9/21/03 HistMan A Mixture of Rambo, A-Team and MacGyver. One of the worst Warmovies EVER! Spielberg, who el 1 stars
9/07/03 Eric Great 5 stars
7/22/03 P.Rodriguez Good 4 stars
7/12/03 Indrid Cold Lame, flag-waving story, but stunningly realistic. No other war movie even comes close. 5 stars
6/23/03 AD brill 5 stars
6/03/03 defranco71 Great movie. 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Not that good when you look back on it. 3 stars
5/17/03 action mpvie database except for excellent battle scenes, ryan was a bore 2 stars
5/06/03 King of the Kebabs How about Saving the poor people of Iraq 1 stars
4/26/03 Mr. Do This whole movie is just made to rip you of your cash . 2 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Average. Band of Brothers was better. 3 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Overpraised crap, chockful of stereotypical characters and endless cliches. 1 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite great intro and final scenes; Hanks is miscast, though, and film falls into sentimentality 3 stars
3/12/03 GMan Most realistic depiction of fighting in a war, but little ado for the b.s. wankarama story. 3 stars
3/02/03 JH Coverse So much ado about nothing 1 stars
2/03/03 Glen Needs to be more greusome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/01/03 dionwr One classic sequence, but not a classic movie 4 stars
1/30/03 eddie cahyono incredible movie !!!!!! 5 stars
1/27/03 Panzerfaust Very good in the beginning, not very realistic in the end 4 stars
1/22/03 amy foy a beautifally well made film an absoloute masterpiece 5 stars
1/21/03 Anton Santos The best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ASTIG!!! 5 stars
1/08/03 Seppo Can anyone do better war film than this? 5 stars
1/04/03 freewaygl it didnt make me bleed like old war films did..i didnt get lost 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Gore bore. 1 stars
12/23/02 3man Excellent movie. 5 stars
12/15/02 MrChri5 Saving Ryan's Privates might be ok for a rental if you have nothing else to do. 3 stars
12/07/02 Kyle The first 20 minutes was VERY hard to watch. I guess because it really happened 5 stars
11/24/02 YES The best war film ever made. 5 stars
11/22/02 dead stupid like me 5 stars
11/18/02 SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION platoon is better 3 stars
11/05/02 Vicious i've heard veterans say this film gave them flashbacks. This is a hell of a film. 5 stars
10/24/02 Jay Tom Hanks is the best actor ever!!!!! Suck dick whoever doesn't like this film!!!! 5 stars
10/02/02 snowconehead I cried the moment I realized Lieutenant Dan wasn't going to be in this 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 Yeah i liked it, but damn i can't stand that Matt Damon 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Tacky and dreadful. Hollywood hype and marketing again and again. 2 stars
8/16/02 Scott Great movie. Simply awesome. War movies have reached a new bar. Omaha was the best part. 5 stars
8/16/02 Shaun Dramatic, a realistic war film 5 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers If I had to choose between war and this movie...I'd pick war 1 stars
8/07/02 Obi Wan Gave me new found respect for our Vets, especially the WWII Vets. 5 stars
7/31/02 The Truth Very overrated because after opening 20 minutes movie falls apart. Platoon is superior. 4 stars
7/20/02 ! Steve ur comments explain how much u know abot movies, and stop voting twice.... 5 stars
7/19/02 STEVE MOST WORTHLESS WARMOVIE THAT ONLY WANTS TO SHOW GCI MOMENTS!!SORRY AS PEARL HARBOUR 1 stars
7/14/02 STEVE GIVE ME A BREAK!!SEE BLACK HAWK DOWN OR WE WERE SOLDIERS INSTEAD 1 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar Speechless 5 stars
7/02/02 tad One good film 4 stars
5/27/02 Eric Great characters, the most intense battle sequences make SPR the best war film ever. 5 stars
5/21/02 Charles Tatum Terrible script, but pretty to look at. 3 stars
5/19/02 Steve Worton They should of had 2 guys fucking, that's what really happened-thats what my dad said 5 stars
5/19/02 Film Guy Good 5 stars
5/10/02 J_D_Givaphuk The academy is obviously full of biased shakespear fans 5 stars
3/07/02 Marcia Lartz Riveting! Robbed of Best Picture by silly SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE. 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Once you get past the admittedly stunning opening battle, there's not much there. 3 stars
2/23/02 Shrike Not bad but there are superior war films out there. 3 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Depressing and At Times Pointless War Movie. 2 stars
1/24/02 Flick Chick a guy movie - yet i liked it....there is a god. 4 stars
1/23/02 Doug Great 5 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles Along with The Searchers the best film ever made. 5 stars
1/11/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Awesome. It's all bloody and nasty and shit. 5 stars
12/07/01 Abe the review had some good points, but a flawed sense of logic over all 5 stars
12/01/01 Mark Conway decent film, although some partsa were extremely boring 3 stars
11/30/01 Jeff Wilson speilberg takes a risk for once... everyshot shows his skill and genuis 5 stars
11/04/01 richards best film ever, speilberg really is able to catch the atmosphere 5 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam I have a new found appreciation for the world's suffering due to WW2, salute Spielberg! 5 stars
9/28/01 Tim Anyone notice the story line was almost the same as Kelley's Hero's? 3 stars
9/06/01 Gary First ten minutes were OK. That's the best I can say. 1 stars
8/29/01 RSpears The most moving experience I've ever had viewing a movie 5 stars
8/22/01 Brody Thompson NO POINT ... STUPID STORY LINE... WASTE OF FILM.. 1 stars
8/22/01 bdf20 great war film 5 stars
8/11/01 IP_Freely zombie is an idiot.. this was definitely the best film released that year 5 stars
8/09/01 taha ahmed 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa 'Saving Private Ryan" is a heart-pounding, well-acted war flick. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Beautiful movie...poerful, unforgettable. 5 stars
7/27/01 Rolling Thunder Good, good. Yeah, it's a little bit over-patriotic, but pathetic-Emmerich it ain't. 4 stars
7/23/01 anusface saving ryan's privates: ted danson, tom hanks shakey hand, academy performances all around! 3 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard I'm sick of Tom Hanks, but it's a great DVD. 4 stars
6/22/01 The Sushi Man. Best War film I have seen yet, the beach scene reall shows that war is hell. 4 stars
6/15/01 zombie too sentimental. too many cliches 3 stars
6/10/01 Ramsey More real and less hollywood, kudos! Steve. 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Pretty Good. 4 stars
5/13/01 Pete Wrigley Spielturd. Ed Burns blows. Tom Hanks is in every movie I've ever seen. 3 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I like war movies, but this one wasn't all that everyone said it was. 3 stars
4/25/01 Toast It was pretty cool but dudes IT WASN'T THAT COOL! 3 stars
4/19/01 Maria J great movie, but the scenes at the military graveyard were just pathetic 4 stars
4/16/01 DanC The best war movie ever made... yet 5 stars
4/15/01 Fafafoey Typical Spielberg. Sentimental.Contrived.Overrate Tries hard to be an "important film." 1 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Very good, if a little bit too patriotic. 4 stars
3/17/01 BART VVVVVVVEEEEEERRRRRRRYYYYY slow;though i like the beginning. 3 stars
3/02/01 Barkely To not cry profusely during and after this movie is to have a soul of silicon. Astounding 5 stars
2/28/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro I wanted this movie had won an Oscar, not Shakespeare in Love 5 stars
2/28/01 matt perry no other war film will ever competet to this 5 stars
2/20/01 Nick Berger whack, hypocritical, tom hanks sucks monkey balls, spielberg continues his sellout ways 1 stars
2/16/01 lisa Depressing, Barry Pepper was the only redeeming feature. what a cutie! 3 stars
2/14/01 Captain Miller Wannabie.... The 24-min opener is truly a harrowing experience! 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Extremely powerful movie!!! Could this be a classic??!! 5 stars
1/31/01 Fat Guy in a Little Coat I liked the beach party scene at the beginning... 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip Great film. 5 stars
1/14/01 Invader good movie,best looking german half track yet on screen,action usual hollywood. 4 stars
1/14/01 Matt69 Maybe the greatest war movie ever made. 5 stars
12/31/00 Msitrab GREAT movie 5 stars
12/03/00 Phil I was dodging bullets in the theatre! This movie takes a hold of you and doesnt let go. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla My gosh, the most emotionally powerful film since The Deer Hunter! See it!!!!! 5 stars
11/22/00 Pionek Wieczysty Janusz Kaminski's icky, faded old newsreel cinematography & effects are haunting. 5 stars
11/21/00 Graham Bloodworth heart breaking 5 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head The best movie of 1998! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Good, but not the best 3 stars
10/29/00 Big Al people get their arms blown off cant beat that action 5 stars
10/27/00 JC23 Staggering 5 stars
10/09/00 Arron Cotrel It was very graphic, but its what happened 5 stars
10/02/00 Madoc69 I good predictable war movie not the best but far from the worst 4 stars
9/22/00 White Rabbit My favorite Spielberg movie 5 stars
9/13/00 Jed Overrated but decent war movie. 3 stars
8/04/00 Viking The "Thin Red Line" crowd should stop their intellectual wanking and enjoy this flick !!! 5 stars
8/01/00 Dog Eating Tiger K-Dog takes it up the ass. "This film tried & failed to shock the audience". Ok Stevie 5 stars
7/29/00 Jinx Not bad, but not a masterpiece. Manipulating & derivative. Occasionally brilliant. 4 stars
6/21/00 Michael O"Neill ok - but not as good as Thin Red Line 2 stars
6/20/00 Rommel Brutal battle scenes! Great flick. 5 stars
6/17/00 Roger Clemente Ehhhhhhh......it was okay. Boring in parts, violent in others. 3 stars
6/12/00 perverted pixie SStaggering (though Schindler was better). Did Upham really have to give in to brutality? 4 stars
6/12/00 Jed Overated but an enjoyable average war flick. 3 stars
5/25/00 Jason Cooke This movie is so good, everyone should be forced to watch it. 5 stars
5/15/00 Anonymous Coward Great movie...got boring at some parts, but what the hell...it was good. 5 stars
5/11/00 PJ Take away the bookends, opening closing it would have been a masterpiece, Thin Red better 4 stars
5/05/00 chris This movie ruled. 5 stars
5/04/00 P.Rodriguez Lets hope this film teaches humanity that war comes at too high a price. 5 stars
5/03/00 matt Never has a war film captured the horror, the hell, and the heroism like this movie does. 5 stars
4/21/00 Private Ryan HOLY CRAP 5 stars
4/07/00 Gremlin Best war movie EVER!! VERY powerful, made all other movies look like shit. 5 stars
4/07/00 Bruce While I still prefer "Platoon", this is a powerful film 5 stars
3/19/00 Joel Harwood ITS BEEN DONE 4 stars
3/19/00 Lame-Oh Jules' review sucks, 'cause he's a idiot. This movie is stunning! 5 stars
3/16/00 Richard Wright A little overrated: the heated battle scenes give way to cliched anti-war sequences. YAWN. 3 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall A brilliant masterpiece! Not to mention 10 times stunning than Titanic!! 5 stars
3/04/00 Pizaster great cinematic experience...i'm never going to war. 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic One of the best war movies of all time, and almost as good as Schindler's List and E.T. 5 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 As good as Braveheart. Not Spielberg's best, though. 5 stars
1/04/00 Herman the Slightly Below Average Slug Absolutely smashing! 5 stars
12/16/99 brentorama Most realistic, deglamourizing war film ever made. Spielberg continues to astonish me. 5 stars
12/13/99 Lame-Oh this was soo much better than Titanic. 5 stars
12/05/99 Eric S. The greatest war film ever made and perhaps the best film ever made. 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic One of the best war films. 5 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Excellent drama 5 stars
11/24/99 Murray Castles The most staggering film in years. Blows the mind and breaks the Heart. 5 stars
11/19/99 Tyson Stewart Good in every way...but not perfect. 5 stars
11/09/99 Todd The best war movie ever made, I didn't enjoy watching it, but everyone needs to see it. 5 stars
11/08/99 Max Kline The 1st half hour is great, the rest is typical Spielberg crap. Hey is that Sam Malone???!! 2 stars
10/28/99 Christian Behet Staggeringly powerful. Masterfully filmed. An instant classic! 5 stars
10/27/99 Ralf Behet Despite the unnecessary framing device, an outstanding achievement 5 stars
10/25/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Great" 5 stars
10/25/99 Bueller The best film of 1998. Enough said. 5 stars
10/21/99 the Grinch Thanks for the spoilers, Roo!! (X and Y's characters die)Oh well, it's expected every1 dies 4 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh A classic! Better than that over-rated Titanic trash! 5 stars
10/08/99 Nathan Hall This film was the best war film created, so shut the fuck up and be a patriot. 5 stars
10/07/99 Eran (erancoo7@hotmail.com) One of the best movies I've ever seen.A remarkable creation. 5 stars
10/05/99 rob Magnificent. 5 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy Should have ended after the Omaha Beach scene. Spielberg is no Sam Fuller. 3 stars
9/04/99 godsdog Not about war,its aboutsacrifice.C it,then kiss your granpappy's shellshocked, wrinkly ass. 5 stars
8/26/99 Azimat Best opening war scenes yet!!Hollywood gores never looks soo realistic!!! 4 stars
8/10/99 Ted Wetzel A disturbing film that shows just how evil War can make men. 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Classic...Great Film...The Beginning is Shocking...but I could only sit thru it once! 4 stars
7/19/99 blue b. Powerful...really made me think. 5 stars
7/18/99 Eric The best film ever made 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the burning soldier scenes were cool. 4 stars
7/10/99 LEISHA THE MOVIE WAS EXELENTLY MADE AND SHOWS U WHAT IT WAS LIKE TO BE IN THE WAR 5 stars
7/09/99 Katsat great battle scenes but manipulative story. Characters never came to life 4 stars
7/07/99 Doug Sinclair Very nearly perfect. 5 stars
7/05/99 Ed Wood bullshit, people - this movie sucks all ass 1 stars
7/05/99 Pat Flanagan Second year in a row Academy was on crack. D-Day finally gets shown as it was, a battle. 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Powerful, but aside from realistic battle scenes, there was something fake about it. 4 stars
7/04/99 randy grubbs a must see. speilberg at his best. tom hanks ditto 5 stars
7/03/99 blue b. Superb movie. Left the theatre with tears. 5 stars
6/25/99 john this movie rocked, for once the germans have authentic equipment 5 stars
6/21/99 Trey Westerburg Phenominal. That's all I can say. Absolutely the best movie ever made. 5 stars
6/11/99 Doug Paulsen com 'on. This was a war movie that wasn't very good. HEY STEVE, GO DO A MOVIE ON D-DAY 2 stars
6/11/99 The Bomb 69 Wow!!! Wow!! 5 stars
6/07/99 ed jimenez It was the greatest! 5 stars
6/07/99 Randall I liked it, i always thought I was imune to movie violence, this movie proved me wrong 5 stars
6/02/99 kevin wood one of the great movies of all times!!!! 5 stars
6/02/99 Tristynn seen it 5 times,I'm always amazed at what I miss each time.see it more than once...amazing 5 stars
5/31/99 C. Marlowe AWESOME! Outsatnding cast, outstanding story, outstanding direction, outstanding cinematog 5 stars
5/06/99 anonymous After having seen the re-released versions of "The Longest Day", there is only one rating. 1 stars
4/27/99 Angie if you ever want a movie with so much realism of war, this is the movie for you!! 5 stars
4/27/99 Bushman Incredible film. I'm glad I was in the theatre and not on that beach. 5 stars
4/25/99 Duck Starts off well but falls short by the end 3 stars
4/25/99 aoakely13 "a whole lot of blood with a whole lot of good acting!" 5 stars
4/25/99 XenoWolf best WW2 movie that I have seen 5 stars
4/23/99 Joe Good Flick 5 stars
4/22/99 Christopher Bacher Good show, still a show. Won't stand the test of time. 4 stars
4/20/99 bo-bo Simply Amazing 5 stars
4/16/99 lucas jackson the greatest war movie in history i found myself ducking when bullits were shot 5 stars
4/16/99 Mr. Kramitall amazing 5 stars
4/12/99 Technorama AWESOME! 5 stars
4/10/99 Aaron W. Pennington POWERFUL!!! 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder Manipulative directing which is fucking awesome in its own right. 5 stars
4/10/99 MagnumPI Saw this when it was first released and it still affects me. 5 stars
4/09/99 Meepos The first 1/2 hr should have been a documentary. The rest was just a waste of time. 3 stars
4/08/99 Brian M intense, the best war flick made 5 stars
4/08/99 Erica Incredible!!! 5 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Steven Spielberg vomit being praised. American GOOD. German BAD. Remember WWI?? 1 stars
4/02/99 Jeff Brillant special effects 5 stars
4/01/99 Cari Disturbing, grotesque, nauseating, breathtaking.... a must see. 4 stars
3/29/99 v. sheridan great film 5 stars
3/26/99 debbie tuttle damn good, but a reason why to dodge the draft! 5 stars
3/22/99 A. M. This film is an insult to soldiers everywhere. 2 stars
3/19/99 GothamDK Man alive, I had to remember to breathe! 5 stars
3/18/99 crooked wookiee the first 30 minutes alone was make it worth seeing 5 stars
3/18/99 boschy great beginning...but so unbelievably stupid and kitschy in the end. 4 stars
3/15/99 davebo Unlike old ww2 movies, this had great effects and a poor story 4 stars
3/14/99 Dan Oplinger Fairly accurate portrayal 5 stars
3/14/99 Malbert Am I the only one that thinks this film wasn't that good? 3 stars
3/14/99 Dharma War is hell... I had nightmares about that opening scene for weeks. Great movie, though. 5 stars
3/11/99 nototis Matt Damon sucks; J. Davies looks/acts like Eliot (ET) characters are WWII stereotypes 4 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey Titanic's dead. This movie deserves an Oscar or Academy Award! 5 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans Pretty good film, but Hanks is so likeable, that I just hate him. Carrey for Oscar. 4 stars
3/09/99 Katie Amazing film, took my breath away. 5 stars
3/09/99 Cathy & Kevin Can't wait to see it again. Kept your attention. 5 stars
3/07/99 Tom great movie-loved it 5 stars
3/04/99 Andrew Feland Graphic violence and all-too-real gore cover up a really bad hack job of a story. 3 stars
2/28/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Whats with the 'humour' at war?,anyway still 1 of the best films ever made. 5 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 I think what did it for me with this movie was the lack of butt sex. 5 stars
2/27/99 Viral Messiah Better than Titanic, deserved a even better audience. 5 stars
2/27/99 stevens3 A honest potrayal of the senselessness and horror of combat. 5 stars
2/24/99 Melissa Anne Absolutely Horrifyingly True. 5 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Extreme graphic detail, good war scenes,sluggish at end,damon's script needed some help 4 stars
2/21/99 Shanandler Bong I left the theatre moved.The first 'moving' flick I had seen since GWH:not because of Matt 5 stars
2/20/99 Bill great 5 stars
2/20/99 Cool Thing Without the obvious guilt trips at beginning and end, this film would have been much better 3 stars
2/18/99 Derek Unforgettable. Best I've seen this year. We are damn lucky not to go to war. 5 stars
2/18/99 Piz brutally nasty and humanly touching. 5 stars
2/17/99 ShadowStar This movie pulled me right in. I could feel the soldiers' fear. Maybe a little too real.... 5 stars
2/14/99 Rolf Steiner Great, moving film. Not to be missed on the big screen. 5 stars
1/24/99 Slugmuffin I hope I never get drafted 5 stars
1/23/99 Jason Stein BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!, Thin Red Line sucked 5 stars
1/21/99 Angus awsome! reaches right down your throat and pulls your hear out. actually made me feel fear 5 stars
1/21/99 C Dub INTENSE, REALISTIC, AND VERY BELIEVABLE FILM. Instant classic. 5 stars
1/15/99 Brian S This is by far the most astounding movie I have ever seen. Much props to Hanks & Speilberg. 5 stars
1/11/99 Joe C. Great battle scene-cliche-great battle scene-cliche-great battle scene. still worth a look 4 stars
1/03/99 Dasha This movie scared me so much. Almost too much realism. But God, it was magnificent! 5 stars
12/23/98 chuck-d anyone who doesn't realize that this is THE MOST REALISTIC WAR MOVIE EVER is an idiot 5 stars
12/13/98 Binky Minimal over the top flag waving. A shame the first half hour didn't continue throughout. 5 stars
12/11/98 Brent One of the best movies I've ever seen. Everyone was silent as they left the theatre. 5 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Not only Titanic blows, this is one hell of a great realistic WW movie. Even better! 5 stars
12/05/98 Svengali Raw Power. Amazingly filmed. You must see in THX/surround to appreciate the experience. 5 stars
12/05/98 Jason Stein This is THE Best Movie EVER, plain and simple, it'll sweep and the Oscars, Whats Titanic? 5 stars
11/30/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! A Masterpiece In-Definitely,Oscar contendor....1 quest. why crack jokes during battle ??? 5 stars
11/30/98 Assman Awesome, realistic war movie. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink American patriotism diminishes this movie's power. 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred WWII is a main character, don't look for anything deeper. Worth seeing for D-DAY alone. 5 stars
11/24/98 Sarah Rogers This is simply an amazing film...it really shows you how much you have to be grateful for. 5 stars
11/23/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! confrontational to say the least!.......spielberg does it again. 5 stars
11/15/98 little jerry cut the story out,leaving a 2hr doco & it WOULD be awesome.new title ''Green Dog Sector''. 4 stars
11/15/98 Jeremiah Lewis This was the most impressive movie I have seen all year!!! 5 stars
11/11/98 K-Dog BIGGEST SELF ABSORBED PILE OF SHIT! 1 stars
11/09/98 Spice I wish they all could have come home 4 stars
11/09/98 Neil Its a shame that all of the "characters" weren't killed in the beach scene. 2 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce The second time you see this film, you spot a lot of stuff you missed first time around. 5 stars
11/05/98 lord rashanko rocked my ass 5 stars
11/02/98 Shaun More gore than Braveheart, more touching than the neighbor next door. I loved it. 5 stars
11/02/98 Mike Good battle scenes but sucky dialogue and plot. 3 stars
10/29/98 R Calmelat Fucking Awesome 5 stars
10/29/98 zenball close but no Oscar 4 stars
10/29/98 Mikie Puscar great movie but has graphic violence 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Execellent, if manipulative. Speilberg comes close to a 'Schindlers List' for dogfaces. 5 stars
10/26/98 fred bloody but good movie 5 stars
10/26/98 Pariah Touching film...If I ever see Jeremy Davies on the street, I will beat his eyes shut. 5 stars
10/24/98 Havoc best movie this year 5 stars
10/23/98 Da Werd Man This movie kicked fucking ass! 5 stars
10/23/98 Ike Stunningly visceral battles, but unnecessary, insipid first & last scenes ruin it 3 stars
10/23/98 Paul Snow Best Movie of all time 5 stars
10/23/98 Jason Stein One of the best flims of all time-A Masterpiece 5 stars
10/23/98 PirateGirl Men make friends in wartime, war is hell, we knew that 4 stars
10/23/98 Andrew Hill Excellent scenes made this a hell of a movie 5 stars
10/21/98 Back J. G. good 5 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Somewhat disturbing and haunting, a kick-ass movie. 5 stars
10/10/98 Blake One of the best films ever made! 5 stars
10/08/98 White Dolemite A modern masterpiece that does not glamorize the horrors of war! Amen! 5 stars
10/07/98 Kraznutz Awesome movie. Completely mind-blowing, but the end needed work. 5 stars
10/04/98 Joe Whats wrong with you people, this movie is worth a look, only if you can stomach it! 4 stars
10/03/98 Jeannie It was very realistic. 5 stars
10/02/98 arachic13 what was with that shitty flashback device??? 5 stars
10/01/98 Flea Bitten Nut Tremendous film. Corny ending, but overall a happening. 5 stars
9/30/98 maria it just great!!!!! 5 stars
9/30/98 Daddy Rich Too goddamn long!! It was hard to sit thru 3 hours of bullshit!! 2 stars
9/29/98 cocksmoker the dude from this movies sucked my balls till i came 5 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan First time I've ever seen a movie and had the audience leave in complete silence. 5 stars
9/23/98 Jon I know one of the production assistants.. 1 stars
9/23/98 irish_girl First twenty minutes were intense -- to bad the rest of the movie wasn't as good. Predictable storyline, trite dialogue. For a really good WWII movie, go rent The Fighting Sullivans. Too much hype o 3 stars
9/23/98 Rob Forey What a film. This is definately Speilberg at his best and his best! 5 stars
9/21/98 Maegs I laughed, I cried, it was better than Cats. 5 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD SHEER ECSTASY,spielberg IS a god,HATE tom hanks loved tom sizemore! 5 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic As a vet I can say that the 1st 25 min. were gritty. The rest was unrealistic horse shit. 2 stars
9/17/98 Simple Pimple Simply phenomonal. The way to use a big list of stars properly. 5 stars
9/16/98 Kitty Williams Not into war flicks as a general rule, thought this one was outstanding! 5 stars
9/16/98 Raghavendra T N Very well acted and directed... 5 stars
9/15/98 Gamma Only Schindler's List moved me more... the ending sequence is beautiful and powerful. 5 stars
9/15/98 Norm Truly the best war movie ever. Dont wait for the video. See this one on the big screen 5 stars
9/15/98 pd41ck To computerized in the battle scenes, to fake. 3 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Tom Hanks can't act his way out of a nutsac¡ Ryan remembering his bros was a good scene.. 4 stars
9/15/98 Katie This movie was so great! I love Matt Damon! 5 stars
9/15/98 Foxe Great Movie 5 stars
9/15/98 tessSpork Absolutely will not regret seeing this movie 5 stars
9/14/98 Vince Needs a stronger story line. Nothing but a bunch of blood and guts. 4 stars
9/14/98 Joe Kinda Intense, not for everyone, "blah, blah"... 4 stars
9/14/98 Ron Kuerner, Jr. This is NOT entertainment! This is not fun. Spielberg has made the definitive anti-war film 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor aWESOME ACTION SCENES. A DUDE'S ARM COMES OFF AND HE PICKS IT BACK UP, CAN'T BEAT THAT. 5 stars
9/14/98 john morton reviews=realistic, no-holds-barred, harrowing. truth=schmaltzy unbelievable pro-USA crap. 2 stars
9/13/98 Daniel Eskin Crap Spielberg is a hack 1 stars
9/13/98 Paul Leone Brilliant. Makes 90% of all war movies look like crap in comparison. 5 stars
9/13/98 LuvPat The most incredibly realistic war scenes I've ever witnessed. Fantastic characterizations. 5 stars
9/11/98 Mike Overrated pro-war bullshit. Go see Apocalypse Now before this. 1 stars
9/11/98 Matthew Malouf great movie but too long 5 stars
9/10/98 wes 20+ ways to dismember a body 4 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. I like a film Arma-fuckn-geddon likes. Bad sign. 5 stars
9/09/98 ARMA-FUCK'N-GEDDON Edge of your seat emotional war epic, I felt scared like i was in WW2 5 stars
9/09/98 Karl Denninger forest gump all over again.Digital insets of anne frank hangbangs n ppl gettin shot.Hot Sex 1 stars
9/08/98 Bob-5 alright...the hype is too much for a film this bad..dont bother.. 1 stars
9/07/98 Damien this is real, pray you never have to fight in a war, Spielberg is god 5 stars
9/07/98 Truthteller I hat ethe hype, but this was a great movie. 5 stars
9/07/98 monkyswngr terriffic film making 5 stars
9/06/98 Noah Great Anti-War film remenisent of Slaughter House 5 5 stars
9/06/98 BBReBozo I would've given it 6 stars but then I saw Ted Danson 5 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Shows awesomely realistic battle just so they can make a crappy formula action story. Lame. 2 stars
9/05/98 Jon One of the most powerful and amazing films I have ever seen. 5 stars
9/05/98 Nation of Chogs achooo 5 stars
9/05/98 Amanda Dicob WOW 5 stars
9/05/98 Susan 4 What an EXCELLENT movie! 5 stars
9/04/98 Scott Taylor The family thrill ride of the summer! 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass Grand filmmaking. 5 stars
9/02/98 Bly Too many scenes just for shock value. 4 stars
8/31/98 Pup-Paul Amazing. I don't know what to say. 5 stars
8/30/98 Matt now, if Matt Damon had died, i woulda found a way to give it 6 stars 5 stars
8/26/98 zubilicious It brought out emotions unknown to me. I am forever changed. 5 stars
8/26/98 Chuck-D What others thinks doesn't change the fact that this is the best war movie ever. 5 stars
8/25/98 FrankG Not the film that everyone is making it out to be, but it is still pretty darn good. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball You can't tell me this is anything less than awesome. 5 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine Sit back and take it in. Dont' leave your seat, the action is awesome. 5 stars
8/23/98 Superfly The opening battle is one of the most amazing things I've ever seen on film. 5 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee words fail me 5 stars
8/21/98 J-Guy (The MFC) touching, disgusting, compelling, nauseating, amazing. 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny Best film of 98 thus far 5 stars
8/14/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. So good I never want to see it again. 5 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} Dudes, it was three hours and I didn't want it to end. Nuff said. 5 stars
8/13/98 clark the greatest, most realistic war movie ever made. 5 stars
8/12/98 Beetchslarp Schmee. Now I know why Granddad ducks when lightning comes 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 25-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Nov-1998


Directed by
  Steven Spielberg

Written by
  Robert Rodat
  Frank Darabont
  Scott Frank

Cast
  Tom Hanks
  Tom Sizemore
  Matt Damon
  Ed Burns
  Adam Goldberg
  Vin Diesel



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast