More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.71

Awesome29.87%
Worth A Look29.87%
Average: 25.97%
Pretty Bad: 10.39%
Total Crap: 3.9%

4 reviews, 53 user ratings



Titan A.E.
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Looks aren't everything."
3 stars

"Titan A.E." looks fantastic. The computer-animated backgrounds and spaceship dog-fights are wonderful, and the more traditional-looking character animation is lively and fluid.

Unfortunately, this movie, like most movies since the 1930s, is a talkie. And when these characters open their mouths, you hear dialogue so trite and generic, you'd swear you were watching every movie ever made all at once. (Typical example: The weapons specialist is warned their their ship is about to be destroyed by the bad guys. "Not if I can help it!" she says, with Han Solo self-assuredness -- and that's not the only time you'll think of "Star Wars," or "Star Trek," or lots of other sci-fi movies, while watching this one.)

In the year 3044, 15 years after the Dredge alien race has destroyed Earth pretty much just for the fun of it, a young Earthling named Cale (voice of Matt Damon) discovers that only he has the power to find the Titan spacecraft. Seems Cale's dad, among others, built this ship just before Earth got whacked, and the ship has the power to create a new planet and all the life forms that belong on it. Good science-fiction would at least take a stab at explaining how this is possible, but "Titan A.E." is not good science-fiction.

Cale has a ring that projects a hologram space map of where the Titan is hidden, making him a precious commodity. With the help of fellow homo sapiens Korso (Bill Pullman) and Akima (Drew Barrymore), they run from the Dredge -- who, still inexplicably, are bent on destroying all humans -- while simultaneously searching for the Titan.

Some characters turn out not to be what they first claimed, and everyone's surprised, and I think someone dies. Then everyone lives happily ever after.

"Titan A.E." was written by three men who should have done something incredible: Ben Edlund (TV's "The Tick"), John August (1999 indie hit "Go") and Joss Whedon (TV's "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; "Toy Story"). Instead, they've done something mediocre. The plot contains not one original idea, and even the dialogue, as mentioned, is derivative and stilted.

Director Don Bluth, an animator who worked on many Disney classics and has since done "The Secret of NIMH" and "An American Tail," among others, certainly knows how to do a good feature-length cartoon. But here he seems to think that a lot of flashy visual effects, coupled with the sheer novelty of making the first real sci-fi space cartoon, will be enough to entertain us. Alas, it is not.

"Titan A.E." is like a really pretty girl you think you're gonna love ... until she opens her mouth and proves herself vacuous and uninteresting.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=801&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/07/03 10:10:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/25/12 FIEVEL MOUSEKEWITZ Directed by DON BLUTH (THE RESCUERS,AN AMERICAN TAIL and THE LAND BEFORE TIME). 5 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles Fun 4 stars
12/18/09 Alana Hignite Of course it's a kiddie stuff, of course it's child oriented- IT'S A KID MOVIE! 5 stars
8/30/09 CTT Surprising, strong animated effort 5 stars
1/23/06 Alana Hignite The Best Animated Movie Not In This World! 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Better than the critics said, a solid romp with some cool stuff tossed in 4 stars
10/02/04 arimla it,s okay 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Heart-warming and good! 5 stars
11/28/03 Joseph As long as it's not a Disney film, it's in my collection. 5 stars
5/21/03 Doc Shock I was entertained. 4 stars
10/18/02 Bluth Liker Deluxe An impressive Lensman animated film! Despite the box office, this is one of 2001's best. 4 stars
9/07/02 Ramblin Wreck Not a bad movie per se.......I was just waiting for Cale to shout "KHAAAANNNN"!!!!! 3 stars
12/03/01 D.Subbub This movie might have been better if they slowed it down a little 4 stars
10/29/01 Shell I personally loved this movie.. 5 stars
10/08/01 Andrew Carden Nothing Special Going On Here. 3 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Poor choice of voices. Nothing special here. Don't listen to Roger Ebert! Rent Anime! 3 stars
7/28/01 Steve Over-commercialized soundtrack, but definitely a movie worth watching. Too bad sales sucked 4 stars
7/28/01 Turtle This movie is a lot of fun, but there were a few things that bothered me. 4 stars
5/08/01 Gracy Lionheart It was a great film. I agree with Agglepraxis. 5 stars
5/02/01 Agglepraxis It was a "Star Wars" to me; I found the action and theme of hope captivating. 5 stars
4/22/01 ashira its a fuckin great film what ya on!!! 5 stars
3/29/01 SNAKEEYES EVE It's a really cool movie ! I just loved the soundtrack! 5 stars
3/24/01 Alex Simply astounding visually 5 stars
2/17/01 Dan Good movie, great soundtrack 5 stars
2/06/01 Brian Beautiful animation...lame plot. 4 stars
2/03/01 brentley great animated movie. i was very impressed. 4 stars
1/25/01 Craig slick film, well thought out plot if only it ran longer and played louder!!! 4 stars
1/23/01 dave not only were the vocies unreal, the animation and story were far deeper! give it a chance! 5 stars
1/06/01 Viking Great animation, pedestrian story 3 stars
12/12/00 cinemaestro70 Splended Visuals!!...What Plot? I don't care!! Foregeound character animation sucks! 4 stars
12/11/00 Adam Hail Hitler 5 stars
11/21/00 DREDD Worth watching twice, nice graphics and animation, but weak story line. 4 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin a HORRIBLE plot; child-oriented characters; good thing it was a box-office disaster 1 stars
11/10/00 The Bomb 69 the 3D animation was amazing, the story was pretty weak 3 stars
11/10/00 Grimlock I don't know what most people thought about this movie that was bad, i liked it 5 stars
9/08/00 Richard Wright The two styles of animation don't mix, and the story is basically ho-hum sci-fi drivel. 2 stars
8/25/00 Eric I liked it, so what!!! 5 stars
7/23/00 Digitalus nice 3D background, brilliant animation, better than Battlefield Earth 4 stars
6/26/00 Bubby What a steaming load. Save your money. 1 stars
6/22/00 frank the animation was horribly inconsistent and the story was cheesy. 1 stars
6/20/00 WinX 2D foreground graphics with 3D backgrounds look FAKE. 3 stars
6/20/00 Captain Highcrime Also very reminiscent of Transformers: The Movie (Unicron, the Autobot matrix, etc). 4 stars
6/20/00 B.O.B. Same kiddie animation fluff with cgi thrown in - take your money and buy "The Iron Giant" 2 stars
6/19/00 Chuck Craig Has its problems but I think it is the best animated movie since the original Heavy Metal 4 stars
6/19/00 Futuristic Underdog Hero Much better than I thought - very impressive animation, & better storywise than "Star Wars" 5 stars
6/19/00 Nessus Check logic at the door. 2 year old CG backgrounds with 20 year old animation pasted on. 3 stars
6/19/00 Cutter Newmoon I was expecting to be disappointed. That didn't happen. 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte nicely done 4 stars
6/18/00 ChuckEye Good blend, decent action, fun characters 5 stars
6/18/00 Thor-Leo Forget Akima... *Korso* is HOT! 5 stars
6/18/00 Krystal visually stunning, but the story itself had me nodding off 3 stars
6/17/00 DatherFrawdad akima is HOT!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/15/00 Crystal Magick visual beauty, script neglect 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2000 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast