More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.05

Awesome: 18.07%
Worth A Look: 20.48%
Average32.53%
Pretty Bad: 6.02%
Total Crap: 22.89%

9 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yesterday by Peter Sobczynski

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hurlyburly
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Eliza

"If you want quality, decent language or morality, skip this one."
1 stars

I was so disappointed with this film. The cast is pretty amazing, many of them veterans in the film industry. I just wonder what on Earth made them choose to act in this film.

Okay, to be fair I never finished watching this film. I managed to struggle through the first twenty minutes, listening to Eddie (Sean Penn) and Mickey (Kevin Spacey) arguing over some apparently awesome chick named Darlene. They swore, snorted coke, smoked pot. Not a lot of action. A few boring phone conversations in the car, a few even more boring sex scenes and I switched off.
Anna Paquin who was so good in The Piano completely trashed her image to play perhaps her first "grown up" role. As a runaway who is found in the elevator and given to Eddie and Mickey as a kind of "pet" she displays little if any acting ability.
My main disappointment came in the fact that I couldn't hold on long enough to see Meg Ryan. I just hope that she maintained some of her dignity throughout this piece of schmuck.

Well, I might be being unfair...I haven't even seen the whole film. But that's what disappointment can do to a person, and I was DAMN disappointed in Hurly Burly.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=802&reviewer=159
originally posted: 09/14/99 19:04:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/29/16 Sheller Shit review. Great talky type of movie, good examination of psychosis and neurosis 4 stars
1/10/16 Caroline Winter Unbearable. Insufferable and full of itself. 1 stars
4/30/14 Mr Right Efficiency tip: watch first 15 min & last 15; you'll get full value + save yourself 100 min 2 stars
8/14/13 PAUL SHORTT MORBID, SORDID, MEAN-SPIRITED DRAMA, DESPITE A GOOD CAST 2 stars
7/19/12 Luigi Great film, worthless review 5 stars
3/21/08 Ozan My favorite play & movie ever; a masterpiece completely misunderstood, like all genius is. 5 stars
7/02/07 fools♫gold What sarcasm? 5 stars
3/09/06 JLZ Total crap, indeed. 1 stars
11/17/04 psycho black dwarf A well-written, if not well-crafted "get over yourself" movie. 4 stars
5/11/04 Kooler Ugh--the kind of screenwriting hollywood thinks is intelligent and edgy. An embarrassment. 2 stars
6/11/03 Hottie okay 3 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Here, here, Charles! 1 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Odious garbage that made me want a shower 1 stars
8/19/02 Mike Brilliant 5 stars
10/14/00 comeasur a reflection of the sickness in modern society. not a surprise that it is set hollywood. 4 stars
10/08/00 matthew nice? no. a tour de force for actors, brilliant, even meg ryan was 5 stars
8/08/00 Aron Tym Anderson An absolutely brilliant film, for those that can recognize one. 5 stars
3/11/00 JonnyAngel I can't explain but it's become a cult favorite of my cult 5 stars
1/08/00 seldom scene I was waiting for something to happen-This would make a better play than movie 3 stars
9/16/99 Ratso I thought this was a documentary on Sean Penn. Ooops. 1 stars
8/24/99 mard if you like coke and "fuck" this movie is for you otherwise who cares about these people? 2 stars
2/18/99 Derek Widely misunderstood movie. Great portrait of failure to connect w/ others in modern world 5 stars
2/15/99 emma mindblowing cast, mindnumbing movie 2 stars
2/01/99 Bridgette more like 3 1/2 stars, but spacey is wonderful 4 stars
1/22/99 Jeff good--love spacy--who know Meg Ryan was such a hottie as a coke head stripper?? 4 stars
1/12/99 Doobie Boy I was looking forward to this film, but it wasn't what I hoped. 3 stars
1/09/99 crc great cast (except ryan), wasteful, boring film. Long, dull-get ready to walk out early 1 stars
1/08/99 Movie Geezer Pathetic waste of time and talent. As bad a film as I have ever seen. 1 stars
12/30/98 The Dude Fucking great movie , Fucking great cast and it has Garry Shandling. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Mar-1999


Directed by
  Anthony Drazan

Written by
  David Rabe

Cast
  Sean Penn
  Robin Wright Penn
  Kevin Spacey
  Chazz Palminteri
  Meg Ryan
  Garry Shandling



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast