More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.44

Awesome: 2.67%
Worth A Look: 5.33%
Average: 5.33%
Pretty Bad: 6.22%
Total Crap80.44%

6 reviews, 189 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gigli
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Way better than you've been led to believe."
4 stars

Will nobody spare a kind word for "Gigli"?

This odd, garrulous whatever-it-is, which joined the ranks of notorious flops practically before it was even released, garnered a remarkable 8% rating on rottentomatoes.com (meaning the other 92% of the collected reviews savaged it) -- worse than Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life (27%), worse than The Life of David Gale (20%), worse than Dumb and Dumberer (11%), yes, even worse than The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (19%). I submit that even if Orson Welles had risen from the grave and directed Gigli, the numbers would still have been in the basement. The critics had their knives out for this one, because they were as sick of Ben and J.Lo -- the one-time media prince and princess -- as the rest of us.

I can't call Gigli a misunderstood masterwork, but I'm not ashamed to say I enjoyed it. The movie, about two Mob enforcers (Ben Affleck as the titular Gigli, Jennifer Lopez as the false-named Ricki) assigned to kidnap the mentally-challenged brother (Justin Bartha) of a federal prosecutor working a Mob case, is weirdly, almost perversely digressive. Writer-director Martin Brest refuses to push his characters towards some sort of chintzy shoot-out or car chase; he likes to leave them in a room and listen to them argue, philosophize, ruffle each other's feathers. As he's shown in his earlier work (Beverly Hills Cop, Scent of a Woman, Midnight Run, Meet Joe Black), Brest is more interested in the doodles in the margins than in the actual text. He loves improv and he loves actors; he brings in a few powerhouses (Christopher Walken, Lainie Kazan, and a gay-inflected, gun-waving Al Pacino) and lets them ramble and rant.

Ben Affleck is always falling in love with unattainable women, either lesbians (Chasing Amy) or assassins (Daredevil), and here he's got both at once. Ricki, the sort of contract killer who quotes from Sun Tzu and curls up with a Thich Nhat Hanh book in bed, weighs in with a playfully lusty speech in praise of female contours; Gigli goes slack in the jaw, knowing she's got a point. This movie is too stuffed with bizarre detail to be waved off as conventional -- I particularly liked Ricki's theory about masculine and feminine methods of looking at one's fingernails. Every reel seems to bring a fresh supporting character to storm in and paint in bold colors, whether it's Lainie Kazan as Gigli's mom (who has sexual secrets of her own) or Missy Crider in a startling walk-through as Ricki's jealous ex-girlfriend.

The premise of two Mob killers (California Mob killers, yet) stuck with a cutely mentally ill kid is a bit too high-concept, but Gigli gets some mileage out of it; the boy, named Brian, has quirks and obsessions of his own -- everyone in the movie is flustered and driven by sexual appetite. By the time Al Pacino shows up in full roar as a Mob associate who leaves someone's brains dripping into a fish tank (we get a close-up of a fish nibbling at the gray matter), you realize that this is only a Bennifer movie by default; entire scenes go by wherein the two stars clam up while newcomer Justin Bartha babbles or Christopher Walken takes his usual sweet time delivering his lines.

Brest has made, almost spitefully, a movie that will not appeal to the tabloid followers of the Ben-and-J.Lo saga, or to anyone else looking for a straightforward narrative. Directors used to be free to make this sort of strange, oblique film in the '70s. Ever since Beverly Hills Cop made him a player, Martin Brest hasn't been content to work within mainstream structures without warping them a little.

If you look at "Gigli" as the work of a director who wants to take viewers on a ride substantially different from the one they signed up for, it's considerably and consistently of interest.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8023&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/26/06 05:41:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/31/14 bdaglfsf USA 3 stars
11/18/11 Ursula Turpin Al Pacino way worse than in JACK&JILL; otherwise this is better than cracked down to be. 3 stars
1/07/10 julie this movie is like a giant turd 1 stars
10/17/09 Liberty Man Nothing great but fun to watch. Sure beats the hell out of Eyes Wide Shut!!! 3 stars
5/27/09 19thpersonality with a start like this, no wonder justin bartha is where he is 1 stars
4/10/08 Duke of Omnium Too bad even to be "so bad that it's good". Something to offend (or worse, bore) everybody. 1 stars
9/14/07 JM Synth Massively ill conceived on every level; has a certain morbid curiosity value 2 stars
8/26/07 Kevin Bad rap not as bad as they say 4 stars
1/22/07 Alex DeLarge This movie was about as enjoyable as sticking ones genitals in a bee hive 1 stars
10/14/06 Barry J-L0 is still hot as hell - tell me u all would not do her!! 5 stars
9/22/06 Charles Tatum Horrible, I couldn't make it past twenty minutes 1 stars
8/14/06 Sharon its was okay untill ben came on screen!!! 1 stars
8/10/06 Ryan_A Not the WORST thing ever, but far from good. Bartha makes me wanna punch him. Lots. 1 stars
6/16/06 Annie IT sux sux boring and not really a point to me! 2 stars
5/20/06 Synchoa A horrid nasty movie that deserves a hiding 1 stars
4/25/06 lily donville this movie is offensive,perverted and it was horrible 1 stars
1/04/06 Anthony Feor Jenninfer's acting career just went down the drain 1 stars
12/17/05 Sean D Manos may be worst. Gigli is most hateful. Avoid like the plague 1 stars
12/13/05 alvin AL PACINO IS IN IT (UN4TUNATELY FOR LIKE 2 MINS), MAKIN IT ABIT BETTER BUT STILL ITS CRAPPP 1 stars
12/07/05 T. Maj Mr. Affleck, please consider a career change. Burger King's hiring. 1 stars
10/19/05 Douglas Reese One of 2003's best films! Put a smile to my face and Bartha is extraordinarily terrific!!! 5 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes at least Micheal Bay didn't direct this rancid dogshit of a film 1 stars
8/18/05 ES it's pronounced 'Jiggly' and it was meh <shrugs shoulders> 3 stars
7/28/05 Daveman Not as unwatchable as the critics would have you belief but still idiotic and pointless. 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris Horrible, and the ending is the worst part of it! It had to last 20 minutes!? 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Another terrible Ben Assfleck movie. 1 stars
5/30/05 Nedim Do NOT waste your time 1 stars
5/25/05 Jake Complete shit, pure and simple. 1 stars
5/25/05 The shizz wow 1 stars
5/21/05 HL sucks 1 stars
5/13/05 Jennifer Regan Bad, bad, bad - don't bother! 1 stars
5/06/05 Colleen Goldrick Not a great one but cute 3 stars
5/05/05 Cindy Lovell Absolute Crap...I will never get that time back 1 stars
3/14/05 Jeff Anderson Disposable, but 2 things redeem it. Lopez's sexy performance & her amazingly good dialogue! 2 stars
3/12/05 craig varney not as bad as most say 3 stars
2/18/05 Margot Copeland I can't believe I watched the whole thing! 1 stars
2/05/05 Susan Chamberlain I didn't even finish watching it!!!!!!!!!!!!1 1 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules what a fuckin' pile of flaming dog shit. Smelly cunt-ass FUCK. 1 stars
12/27/04 mjoc This may be the worst thing I have ever tried to watch. What a waste of time and money 1 stars
12/26/04 Louie Brilliant. Great story and acting. The heck with the critics. 4 stars
12/23/04 Jason Kaul J-Lo describing why she is lesbian, was hotter than Carrie Fisher in the brass bra! WOW! 4 stars
12/12/04 Lucas Stensland The score alone ruins this film 1 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams ha! 1 stars
11/27/04 gerbilerba I blow farts more interesting than this gagathon 1 stars
11/18/04 Chris Belldo even if i was a dimwitted giggly teenage girl, i'd still want to take a crap on this movie 1 stars
10/20/04 SJK Ben Affleck must be trying to tank his career. 1 stars
10/15/04 Pete What were they thinking.... 1 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu A year after THEY broke up, this is surprisingly enjoybable and not to be missed...really 4 stars
9/08/04 Bob It was OK. There have been a lot worse films released in the past. 3 stars
8/30/04 Tam Sad dialogue & slow pace. Why can't they portray any loyal lesbians these days? 1 stars
8/06/04 ELI Well, it was better than "Cat in the Hat." 2 stars
8/03/04 The Talking Elbow Pacino and Walken were great, and I was hoping a char from LOTR would show up, like Sauron. 2 stars
7/17/04 Gray even the actors slamed it!!!!! 1 stars
7/15/04 S.F I'll head your advice and never watch this film - EVER! 1 stars
7/09/04 Diesel Will JLo ever get the hint? 1 stars
7/06/04 Spiderfan720 There is a rumor that The President is gonna put this on a nuke if we ever use one again. 1 stars
6/18/04 Ryan any who thinks this is good is demented 1 stars
6/17/04 Spiderfan50 BE DRAINED OF LIFE!!! 1 stars
6/07/04 Reid Cornelius absolutely the best film of the year 5 stars
6/06/04 The More You Know Sucks like lainie kazan's fat azz making that thong string disappear. Get the picture? Uggh 1 stars
5/06/04 Ajax It sucks, but as a lot of people point out, it doesn't suck that bad. 3 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Horrendous? Made Tommy Boy look like Oscar material. Avoid at all costs. 1 stars
4/26/04 Monster W. Kung Not good, but not nearly as bad as some garbage that came out in the last few years. 2 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt It's nowhere near as bad as it's made out to be, and not even close to worst of the year! 3 stars
4/05/04 Me Nice azz. Movie blows. Sick of hearing about he love life. 1 stars
3/29/04 Blues Singer Babe it sucked big time it was a bomb at the movie box office Jennifer is a hoar dont see it ! 1 stars
3/23/04 Spastiqua Not very good, but certainly not the years worst! hello! dumb & dumber 2? marci x? 3 stars
3/21/04 Kayla I think its an alright movie..Not one of the best but recommend that anyone sees it. 4 stars
3/19/04 da hood a rich, thought provoking film, with a suspenseful, brilliant twist.whoops, wrong movie! 1 stars
3/19/04 Chris Taco flavored kisses for my Beeennnn!! 1 stars
3/08/04 movieguy sucks 1 stars
2/29/04 Kelly Rogers utterly horrid excuse of a film 1 stars
2/27/04 greg this movie is the biggest piece of sh** i have ever seen 1 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge "gag-me" 1 stars
2/20/04 AJ Certainly Crap 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Killed a piece of my soul 1 stars
2/02/04 yeahboy true definition of YUCK!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/28/04 Dandy Candy This was the worst movie I've ever seen. GALLIPOLLI'S much more interesting 1 stars
1/24/04 CC %^&% 1 stars
1/24/04 Tygra A lobotomy would have been more entertaining 1 stars
1/24/04 M Jlo sux, movie shits 1 stars
1/16/04 jingo p. i'd rather wipe my ass with barbed wire. 1 stars
1/13/04 MelissaNYC Why hath Hollywood smote us so? 1 stars
1/08/04 JJ Jesus died in vain... 1 stars
1/06/04 beautie full of undiluted crap,that bitch cant act to save her plump ass!!! 1 stars
1/03/04 J has sunk to a new Lo like watching an un-funny SNL: A series of unlreated skits meant to promote star product 1 stars
1/02/04 burikak Matt McLoota, did someone hit u in the head????? 1 stars
1/02/04 Matt McLoota This movie is fantastic, Oscar worthy performances all around. One of the ten best movies. 5 stars
12/29/03 Agent Sands Well, I'VE seen it. And it's a gangster flick a la Get Shorty, assholes! Seriously! 3 stars
12/22/03 M jlo smells, ben stinks! 1 stars
12/08/03 lilcutie so stupid 1 stars
12/02/03 WTF? Rightfully deserves the title of worst movie ever. The critics weren't lying! 1 stars
11/30/03 john oh what fun! 1 stars
11/27/03 he crap 1 stars
11/23/03 ozzy sucks hardcore donkey dick 1 stars
11/12/03 Red crap 1 stars
10/30/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Better than most reviews indicate; What's this DAY MY BUTT WENT PSYCHO in above picture???? 3 stars
10/24/03 illini bri pathetic! 1 stars
10/22/03 Gigli This film is so bad that it had to be intentional. 1 stars
10/22/03 nr i hated this movie 1 stars
10/16/03 Carmelita Florine oh, oh, I just lurved this movie! 5 stars
10/14/03 snowconehead this is a sure quick way to induce vomitting 1 stars
10/10/03 KooKuKrazeeKitti i feel REALLY bad 4 al pacino and chris walken. they deserve bettr treatment than this shit 1 stars
10/03/03 pudsey it is so shite its unbelievable. ben and JLO r 2 pathetic, overated actors 1 stars
9/22/03 Redpajammas bad bad bad 1 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES total crap it fuckin sucked j lo is such a slut 1 stars
9/19/03 Mark86 Lol, ben and j-lo suck ass! 1 stars
9/13/03 Joe This sucked 1 stars
9/06/03 Gigli the one wh made this movie has down's syndorme 1 stars
9/03/03 Serge Rodnunsky I couldn't make a movie this bad if I tried. 1 stars
9/03/03 Dawn Would have been less offensive if cast members just had one giant circle jerk. 1 stars
9/03/03 Vinnie people who liked this movie should have their eyeballs gauged out! 1 stars
9/02/03 robbie keane bad 1 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. FUCK ANYBODY WHO THINKS THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE OUT THERE 1 stars
8/31/03 Cat B. it sucked 1 stars
8/31/03 Redpajammas thid gilm sucked 1 stars
8/24/03 steven spielberg worst film? have you seen Star Wars? What was Lucas thinking? 1 stars
8/23/03 MiMi Stinkie 1 stars
8/21/03 Mike H. I *have* to give it at least one star?! No fair! 1 stars
8/20/03 Crocface If only it wasn't such bloody nonsense 1 stars
8/20/03 nr crap 1 stars
8/20/03 Reese Witherspoon suckzzzzz Not anywhere as bad as the media hype say it is. 4 stars
8/18/03 adam it's turkey time! gobble gobble! ROFLMAO!! 1 stars
8/18/03 h crap 1 stars
8/16/03 punjab complete and total fucking piss 1 stars
8/16/03 MEEE crap 1 stars
8/16/03 Collin Time Ofr The Carears Of Mr. Aflec And Bimbo Extrodinaire J-Lo To Crash And Burn, 1 stars
8/15/03 john atty The end of Ben and Jen 1 stars
8/15/03 JJ from da block JLo's ass is jigli, that's bout all that's gigli bout this crud 1 stars
8/12/03 Joey A pile of dog shit 1 stars
8/12/03 meathole The dump I took this morning had far more symbolism and intrigue 1 stars
8/12/03 snowconehead The best things about empty theaters are the blowjobs. Remember that, kids. 1 stars
8/11/03 hjhj horrible 1 stars
8/09/03 pedro andino shitty movie for 2003 1 stars
8/09/03 not impressed. will j lo be able to restart her career after this 1? 1 stars
8/09/03 Patrick Bateman Absolute shash 1 stars
8/08/03 BAD horrible 1 stars
8/08/03 The main man Holy Crap somebody open the window . That was just foul 1 stars
8/07/03 asina I hope Ben and J. Lo die....Now, what's this about a movie??? 1 stars
8/07/03 Chrys lordis perdifida, we could wish you unborn. but we can only wish. 1 stars
8/07/03 Kasandra M This is the worst film with TWO big asses in it, both being Jennifer Lopez 1 stars
8/07/03 jholler Fame = money = scam the fans 1 stars
8/07/03 Sarah H. I was once a fan of both Ben & J-Lo... Now I'm Not! 1 stars
8/07/03 John Davis A collosal POS 1 stars
8/07/03 Jet Stinks! 1 stars
8/07/03 JJ from da block JLo's jigglin ass was the only thing worth lookin at 1 stars
8/07/03 lordis perdifida i laughed a little, and cried a little. what more can you wish for? 5 stars
8/06/03 Michael M. Worst film ever! 1 stars
8/06/03 Lorenz Esguerra The worst movie of 2003! Ben and Jen shouldn't star together in a movie again. 1 stars
8/06/03 Collin Compared To This Jason X Looks Like A Contender For Best Picture AtThe Oscars 1 stars
8/05/03 Uncle Salty J.Lo is a fucking pig no matter what Entertainment tonight says. 1 stars
8/05/03 Rocky I'd rather watch BenniferJ. Afflo clawing it's way out of a burning car 1 stars
8/05/03 Michael Wilson Can't wait for it to come out on dvd so that I won't buy it there either. 1 stars
8/05/03 Boat Fuck a manatee with a long sharp pole. It's just like watching this movie. 1 stars
8/05/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB AL PACHINO AND CHRISTOPHER WALKIN-NOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/05/03 Peter Good God 1 stars
8/05/03 JJ from da block J.Lo's jigglin ass is the only good thing 2 stars
8/05/03 Reese Witherspoon suckzzzzz Bad, but not as bad as people make it seem. Lara Croft was worse. 2 stars
8/05/03 Jim Holy Horrific Movie Batman! 1 stars
8/04/03 m I snuck into this movie and I still feel ripped off. 1 stars
8/04/03 Kia Ora I've seen better film on teeth. 1 stars
8/04/03 pokesmot I saw this movie stoned and it still sucked 1 stars
8/03/03 Chrys Ben asslick should be fucking terminated 1 stars
8/03/03 Raquchie Macacho It was a loss of my precious time and my money. It was SHITTY that Jennifer played a Lesbo. 1 stars
8/03/03 your worst goddamn nightmare c'mon guys, it wasn't that bad, I onlu ralphed twice... 1 stars
8/03/03 gibbons 5 minutes of material stretched out into two hours never works. 1 stars
8/03/03 Darrin Silverman G should be its grade. An "F" is too high 1 stars
8/03/03 Ash The commercials were so painful I will never go to a theater again!! 1 stars
8/03/03 Stephen P. Robertson This was worse than losing $10.00 in a washing machine at a laundramat! 1 stars
8/03/03 Atanu why did eric snider had to upgrade it to crappy?? 1 stars
8/03/03 Matt I hate Bennifer! 1 stars
8/03/03 Asshat A cinematic masterpiece, the likes of which we haven't seen since "Swept Away". 1 stars
8/02/03 Double G krap 1 stars
8/02/03 monkey slayer SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT.....*gasp*...SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT 1 stars
8/02/03 Xaivier SInclaire H-ly Sh-t I want my money back and someone please shoot me, this movie SUCKS 1 stars
8/02/03 BAD aweful 1 stars
8/02/03 Jennifer Botello HORRIBLE! I left the movie confused, annoyed, and aggrevated. I hated it. Dont watch it!!!! 1 stars
8/02/03 Brian It burns! My eyes!!! Ahhhhhh!!! 1 stars
8/02/03 Earl Dittman - Wireless Magazine It's Ben Asslick and Jenny from the Cock...what did you expect, Space Monkeys? Art?? 1 stars
8/02/03 gman this cocksmoking movie lasts about as long as J.Lo's and Affleck's impending marriage... 1 stars
8/02/03 Brian yet another horrble lopez film. it'll make undeserved millions of dollars... 1 stars
8/02/03 Lori Donnelly 2 hours of my life I'll never get back! 1 stars
8/01/03 Gerry Fleck Jlo and Ben Asshack suck my balls....and so did this piece of shit flick 1 stars
8/01/03 Todd J-lo is a not talent, tone deaf, jug butt. Ben is a pussy. The movie? Worse than Hitler. 1 stars
7/30/03 Uncle Salty TemJ-Fleck Blame their fame, I blame the INSURMOUNTABLE AWFULNESS OF THIS STEAMER! 1 stars
7/30/03 Vanessa The most shadowy movies this summer that tries to be something it's not -- a good movie 1 stars
7/29/03 Jason Absolutely terrible 1 stars
7/28/03 dave jlo is hot. this movie is not. 1 stars
7/25/03 Mike Radlif Won tickets for preview. Walked out after about an hour. Not the worst movie, but close. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Aug-2003 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Martin Brest

Written by
  Martin Brest

Cast
  Ben Affleck
  Jennifer Lopez
  Al Pacino
  Christopher Walken
  Justin Bartha
  Lenny Venito



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast