More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.93

Awesome: 9.26%
Worth A Look: 5.56%
Average: 11.11%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap57.41%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Mod Squad, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"The fashionable police."
2 stars

Witty and self-aware at times, but the story is lame.

I've never seen the show this is based on, so I can't comment on how they compare. Here's the skinny.

Julie (Claire Danes), Pete (Giovanni Ribisi) and Linc (Omar Epps) are all young folks who were on the wrong side of the law until a police officer named Greer (Dennis Farina, woefully underused) takes them under his wing. They'll be cops, sort of. They'll report to him, and work in undercover work. As Greer tells his superiors, the kids can get into areas that real cops never could. But they can't (legally) carry guns.

We jump right in. They're casing a club that could be a front for prostitution. Julie's a waitress there, while Pete and Linc work the crowd. Out of nowhere, Barbra Streisand's stepson (Josh Brolin, whose character's name is Billy, but I don't care) appears. He used to hang with Julie. They were both alkies, but now they're both clean and sober. Meanwhile, Linc sees someone getting into what looks like Greers car and wonders what's up.

Next night, Greer is shot, maybe by crooked cops, maybe by the goofy guy Linc saw getting into the car. But hey, they're not cops, so they all sort of go their separate ways (which lasts a few minutes, at least) until they decide to find out who did it.

Now the squad is reduced to laughable crimesolving techniques. Granted, they're kids, but still. Eavesdropping? Snooping? Recording evidence on a microcassette recording in the pouring rain?

How very Hardy Boys.

What I enjoyed about the film was how self-aware it was (at times, anyway). There's quite a few cliches here (Julie, being a former alkie, will fall off the wagon, and drink from a fifth; it's a cop movie, so someone will chase another character by running over rooftops of cars, and so on), but there are some moments that you just have to laugh at (says Pete to Julie during the course of the action, "I feel like I should say I'm gettin' too old for this shit," and they mention how they hope the final confrontation will not occur in some abandoned warehouse, which to a certain degree, it will).

Danes is pretty as Julie, and gives the dependable Danes performance. Epps is too wooden. Ribisi gets the best lines and steals the show.

But it's just not enough.

The rest of the production is top notch, but it's the script that's just so lame.

There are better bad cop movies, but few so oddly disappointing as this one.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=803&reviewer=7
originally posted: 03/30/99 05:27:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

6/11/16 Tommy2tone What a fucked-up review by Erik Childress. 3 stars
5/20/14 PAUL SHORTT INCOHERENT, MINDLESS REHASH 1 stars
4/25/03 Jack Sommersby As dreadful as expected. Somone ban Danes from the world of cinema. 1 stars
3/31/02 Carmen Crowe Last look at halfway good Claire Danes before downward spiral began in Brokedown Palace. 3 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden I'd Rather Watch The TV Series, but Not Half-Bad. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Ribisi got on my nerves, the script was shit.....you get the idea 2 stars
6/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This movie was like smelling somebody's stinky armpit for 2 hours. Utterly repulsive. 1 stars
10/02/00 Madoc69 not worth the bandwith you wasted to read this 1 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine MOD SQUAD?! I haven't even seen it, but it MUST suck. 1 stars
7/21/99 James The seventies funky feel may have helped people to reminisce, but I was four when the ended 2 stars
7/19/99 TOMB WORSE TRANSLATION TO FILM KIND OF MOVIE 1 stars
5/07/99 Diptherio I am amused 5 stars
4/30/99 Evan Hughes This movie caused me physical pain. I think my body rejected it. 1 stars
4/30/99 Goddess No way does this movie suck! I think it's cool. 4 stars
4/27/99 Ben Galewitz I could have made a better film about me taking a shit, i like to smell my urine, im gay 1 stars
4/23/99 Ember_fires Good movie, funnier than expected but is far from the best. 4 stars
4/12/99 Technorama Go! was a better flick. Reeally botched up movie. 1 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo Talk about a waste of talent. This movie was reeeeally bad 1 stars
4/08/99 John Sutphin I could've filmed a better movie in my backyard 1 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie I loved this movie, finally it was the grown-ups who were bad instead of the kids. 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert Hey, loved this movie. Ribisi Rocks. 5 stars
4/03/99 Lily Will someone PLEASE return Claire Danes' brain? 1 stars
4/01/99 Ah Dooey The Big Hit was better. What a bunch of dumbass polliwogs. 1 stars
3/31/99 Cecelia worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
3/30/99 Daddy Rich Robisi is hilarious and Epps is a cool mother fucker. Other than that, just average. 3 stars
3/29/99 Michael Claire sucked 1 stars
3/29/99 Marcous no don't go 1 stars
3/29/99 Keith I agree, "My so called movie" fits. Maybe the "bomb Squad" it's gonna bomb 1 stars
3/29/99 mikef this rocks when you don't compare it to the tv show. YEAH BOB! 5 stars
3/29/99 Randall Give it a shot, its better than a lot of other crap out there 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug They should have named it "My So-Called Movie" 1 stars
3/27/99 Lisa Awful. Painfully bad. S-l-o-w. Almost walked out. Not one funny comment or one cool stunt. 1 stars
3/25/99 Viral Messiah Not much decency in this movie. 3 stars
3/25/99 CHERLETTA WHITAKER OMAR EPPS WAS GREAT AND THE MOVIE WAS ALSO 5 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons I found myself rather bored throughout the entire film. 2 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool Hip actors. Hip music. Hip clothes. Nothing special. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jul-1999


Directed by
  Scott Silver

Written by
  Scott Silver
  Stephen Kay

Cast
  Claire Danes
  Omar Epps
  Giovanni Ribisi
  Steve Harris
  Josh Brolin
  Michael Lerner



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast