More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome: 35.71%
Worth A Look52.14%
Average: 8.57%
Pretty Bad: 2.14%
Total Crap: 1.43%

11 reviews, 74 user ratings



Man on the Moon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Tenkyuveddymuch, Jim."
4 stars

Now Andy did you hear about this one? Tell me, are you Latka the Fonz? Andy, are you goofing on Elvis, hey baby, are you having fun?

Andy Kaufman. Where the fuck to begin about him. Comic genius? That would be a nice compliment, but that would probably be off the mark. Master of deception? Without a doubt. The very definition of "performance artist"? That's what I'd say, in my opinion.

At any rate, I was too young the first time around to figure out what the hell Andy was doing, but after his death, I eventually saw the Saturday Night Live reruns and the old episodes of Taxi and the spots on Late Night with David Letterman. And to this day, I'm impressed by how Andy fooled the world. On stage. On television. In the wrestling ring. Whatever he managed to do, whatever he meant to accomplish, he certainly had a hell of a lot of fun doing it, no doubt.

And somehow Milos Forman brings that zany energy of Andy, as well as his trompe-le-monde penchant, to the screen in his new biopic on the late great Kaufman, Man on the Moon. And what better man to portray the enigma of Andy than Mister Talk-Out-His-Ass himself. Jim Carrey didn't just play Andy, he seemed almost possessed by the ghost of Andy. He certainly did his homework, plus extra credit, getting the look, feel, and the mannerisms down.

We follow Andy's show-biz life, only briefly touching on his childhood, through his early standup acts, his Saturday Night Live appearance, his Tony Clifton lounge-singer act, his stint on Taxi as Latka Gravas, his college tours, his wrestling bouts, and his valiant attempts to beat the lung cancer that slowly did him in.

And the people who were eager to join in his wild ride (some more reluctant than others) were his manager, George Shapiro (Danny DeVito, also appearing as himself), his writing buddy Bob Zmuda (Paul Giamatti), and his girlfriend Lynn Margulies (Courtney Love). All grace the screen as wonderfully as Mr. Carrey himself.

Lots of the supporting characters in the show that was Andy's life also reprise their Kaufman moments as well. Loyal followers of the World Wrestling Federation will get a kick out of seeing now-announcer Jerry "The King" Lawler relive history by putting a piledriver on the Trans-Gender Champion, not to mention Lawler's real-life co-announcer Jim Ross calling the shots. The cast of Taxi, from Marilu Henner to Judd Hirsch to Christopher "Okey-doke!" Lloyd, is also reunited for this film. Cameos abound by SNL boss Lorne Michaels, Richard Belzer, Caroline Rhea, Norm MacDonald, Ravi Shankar, David Letterman, Paul Shaffer and the World's Most Dangerous Band.

You'll leave this film still wondering what went on in Mr. Kaufman's mind. You'll definitely wonder about the glaring anachronisms and inconsistencies that show up every now and then in the film. (For example, watch the booger hanging from Andy's nose in his first dinner with Mr. Shapiro.) Were they put there on purpose, as sort of a tribute to Kaufman's inside-joke tendencies? Probably so. We ARE dealing with the director of Oscar-adorned Ama-fucking-deus here.

Love him or hate him, I'm sure everyone would agree that Andy Kaufman was quite the unique individual. If anything, he taught us to enjoy life, to not take anything in life too seriously, to laugh even when death is staring you down. And Man on the Moon is the quintessential tribute to him, warts and all.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=804&reviewer=9
originally posted: 12/22/99 17:53:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/06/09 Dane Youssef A stunning re-creation and posession of an underrated genius madman & the havoc he wreaked. 5 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane Im sad now :( 5 stars
9/27/04 alicia carey is amazing in this. 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Jim Carrey's Andy Kaufman imitation. See a Kaufman documentary instead 3 stars
3/22/04 Elena This is highly underrated for its style, acting and plot. It's a great, funny and sad movie 5 stars
12/26/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A fine movie on Andy Kaufman's life. It also remembrs "FRIDAYS". Put that show back on TV! 4 stars
11/24/03 Samuel One of the Greatest films of all time!! 5 stars
6/05/03 Mike A funny and entertaining movie. One of my faves. 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Another overstated, poorly made Forman leftist cinematic leaflet. 1 stars
2/01/03 Hi there Jim Carrey is excellent. 5 stars
1/13/03 WestcoastPunk Carrey is the best underated actor in Hollywood 5 stars
10/10/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS MOVIE IS SO FUCKING COOL I LUV IT, ITS FUCKING BRILL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/30/02 Ryan Justice fucking hilarious a must see 5 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 Jim Carrey's acting is great, but the movie wasn't. 3 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Lee Would like to give a full review as this is a must see film for those who have no seen Andy 5 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden I Liked How They Had Carrey Put Into Kaufman's Place For The "Taxi" Scenes. 3 stars
9/30/01 daniboy I loved it. Jim Carrey was impressive. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Good film. Carrey was perfect and of course, was fucked by the academy. (bastards 4 stars
7/14/01 Marijan Srdic Very entertaining!!!!! 5 stars
5/30/01 perverted pixie Kaufmans legend and Carreys gifts. Thats a double dose of crazy genius. 5 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Jim Carrey proves once again that he IS, after all, talented. 4 stars
2/05/01 Diego Romero If you believe this movie sucks,go suck some cock 5 stars
2/04/01 Del R Jim Carrey is Andy Kaufman. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/21/01 thom carrey: usually a typcast gobshite. This is no exception, but it's ace cos Carrey fits. 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Another movie with Jim Carrey doing his best work! 5 stars
12/20/00 Speedy With no oscar recognition, it's official: Carrey is now most underated actor in world 5 stars
12/19/00 natasha Jim Carrey was the heart of this film - see it for his performance 4 stars
11/18/00 salvo greetings by tony clifton 5 stars
10/11/00 Add Its a good film but Carrey makes it great. Congrats to Jim and bollocks to the academy! 4 stars
6/12/00 Michael Grimm should have focused on personal relationships more than being a documentary 3 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez I am History and I say he`s a fucking asshole!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/03/00 JonnyA Carrey is great, movie is very average but worth seeing 4 stars
4/07/00 SID Best fucking movie of the year, I don't care what anyone says. 5 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Really an expanded A&E Biography, not enough "Taxi," good 4 those who never really knew him 4 stars
2/26/00 Bernard Self Carrey is brilliant, the film leaves me confused! 4 stars
2/25/00 Matthew Smith worth seeing for carrey's performance. 4 stars
2/24/00 Mic Could've been better (pacing for one thing). 3.5 Stars. 3 stars
2/18/00 Joel Harwood Hello i'm ANDY and i enjoyed the movie 4 stars
2/15/00 the Grinch Go see this, if only for the fantabulous "Tony Clifton"! 4 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman didn't think i'd like it. i did. glad they didn't try to explain andy. 4 stars
2/04/00 arnold fucking funny 5 stars
1/28/00 Donna Fritz Carrey was awesome! A wonderful tribute to the daring Mr. Kaufman. Funnier than expected! 5 stars
1/21/00 tom too big of a deal made out of something ultimately unimpressive 2 stars
1/16/00 Lindsay Worth a Look 4 stars
1/13/00 Timmy Fucking Rocked. Go Jim! you're more than Fire Marshal Bill! 5 stars
1/11/00 Louis A Great Movie. A whole bunch of well-earned laughs 5 stars
1/06/00 ALIaS Very well done, my only complaint is that it was too short......there was so much more! 5 stars
1/06/00 Gregory damn good movie. carrey is amazing. 4 stars
1/06/00 Laura Baker It made me laugh as well as wonder! 4 stars
1/06/00 Aldo P Good Movie. Who would want to see it, tho? 5 stars
1/04/00 PhilmPhreak Really well done - not a lot of insight into why he was so wierd, though. 4 stars
1/03/00 SJKelley Carrey and odd subject-matter barely keep it from being a T.V.-caliber bio-movie. 4 stars
1/03/00 Fork Outstanding. Truely a thinking man's film. Not just a life but an enigma. 5 stars
1/02/00 Starry Knight The character of Tony Clifton was brilliant 5 stars
1/01/00 ZuG Definately bad-ass 5 stars
1/01/00 unstrung it was pretty damn good 5 stars
1/01/00 Mike Clifton The story was too fragmented & choppy to make this a masterpiece, but Jim is unbelievable 5 stars
1/01/00 sexychick After Any Given Sunday this movie rocked!! 5 stars
1/01/00 Tyson Stewart funny, funny, funny. a good story. Carey's best film! 4 stars
1/01/00 majawat okay 4 stars
12/31/99 ANNIE best film ever 5 stars
12/31/99 maryjane Jim Carrey is awsome as an actor. Andy Kaufman was/is a bastard genius. 5 stars
12/31/99 KK Carrey deserves an Oscar Nomination for this. 5 stars
12/30/99 Fenris I look forward to seeing where Jim Carrey goes from here. 4 stars
12/26/99 Sadie I loved it. I laughed and was moved to tears. The best film in years. 5 stars
12/26/99 The King of the Bros Read Zmuda's book you fucking hacks. 3 stars
12/25/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is a great movie, once again an amazing job jim!! 4 stars
12/24/99 JonnyAngel Really good, but I'm stingy with those 5 star ratings 4 stars
12/24/99 Losifer A great film. Wonderful. Fantastic. 5 stars
12/24/99 chouck Carey was great but the movie was all over the map 2 stars
12/23/99 Malbert Jim Carey is *awesome* in this one! 4 stars
12/23/99 Marc It is absolutely, no contest the best film of 1999. 5 stars
12/23/99 Z rather confusing movie, i didn't like it 2 stars
12/19/99 Marla K It is touching, well-acted and well-directed. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast