More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome: 21.78%
Worth A Look35.64%
Average: 24.75%
Pretty Bad: 8.91%
Total Crap: 8.91%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

Divine Fury, The by Jay Seaver

Them That Follow by Jay Seaver

Bravest, The by Jay Seaver

Abyss, The by Rob Gonsalves

Bodies at Rest by Jay Seaver

Hobbs & Shaw by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Thomas Crown Affair, The (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jimmy-Bond

"Cool..... Cool."
5 stars

This movie has it all - intriguing dialog, bold action sequences, and lots of gratuitous nudity that adds nothing to the story. Plus it has a happy ending with a twist of lime, my fav.

Me being Jimmy-Bond, Pierce Brosnan is one of my favorite actors. He definitly holds his own in this pic. Rene Russo ain't too bad either. However; I don't think she was right for the part, her character was intended to compliment Thomas Crown as a big kid looking for adventure. She comes off as a bitchy whiny kid that wants to be an adult while staying a kid. If it wasn't for that fact that I'm a hetero guy and she was throwing her nipples everywhere, I might have not liked her performance.

Then there is Dennis Leary, the lone gunman with an army that you never see. He, of course, is the detective assigned to the case of the missing painting stolen by Thomas Crown. (Rene Russo is just a lowly Bounty Hunter for the Insurance Agency) His performace is as Dennis always is, funny yet serious. In this light-hearted comedy/drama he is 1/2 comedy and 1/2 drama.

I have not seen the original so I will not attempt a comparison, but I will tell you that this movie is a definite see. If only for the amazing twists at the end of the movie, it is still worth the $7.25 (do appropraite conversion for your city).

Overall, it is the Thomas Crown character and Pierce's performance that makes this movie great. He makes you love Thomas Crown because he "get's away with everything and anything". Hell, he even gets the girl.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=805&reviewer=133
originally posted: 08/11/99 02:46:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell the boring affair is more like it 1 stars
11/30/15 jamie loved this movie,sexy,rich yet approachable, renee's got great boobs, piece is luscious 5 stars
2/03/06 Anthony Feor Peirce does it again 4 stars
11/24/05 noops gr8 film frm gr8 actor.nice climax...good romance 2... 4 stars
2/27/05 mike bad 1 stars
12/23/03 tatum Fun, romantic, everything the original was not 5 stars
12/11/03 Agent Sands A wee bit better acting/filmmaking-wise, but the certain heistfilm rules remain broken. 3 stars
11/27/03 John elegant, romantic and classy! phenomenal direction and eclectic musical score 5 stars
10/05/03 John Bale Seldom does a remake exceed the original, this does. Brosnan excells, Russo shows tits. 4 stars
5/27/03 Edmund Armor Smart, sexy, beautifully shot, visually witty 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Entertaining and sexy. The two stars are luminous, and the editing is masterfully tricky. 4 stars
9/15/02 Zefram Mann I honestly didn't want to like this movie, but I did. 5 stars
8/10/02 R.W. Welch Not bad but falls well short of the McQueen rendition. 3 stars
5/12/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne (no fan or usually obnoxious Renee Russo) Russo this time just chugs kaopectate & twirls buttocks. Inoffensive but silly. 3 stars
4/28/02 Geebo Very clever 5 stars
4/09/02 spacecowboy smooooth 4 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo What was McTiernan thinking? Lacked pace and likeable characters, among other things... 2 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee Other than seeing the wonderful Ms. Russo nude, this movie is a bore. 2 stars
2/21/02 Xaver Interesting story, but nothing too exciting. 3 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy good little flick! one of McT's best along with Predator, die hard, die hard 3, & THFRO. 4 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat Better than the old one. 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I enjoyed seeing Russo's boobies...besides that it was dragging. 3 stars
7/16/01 bobbuttons i thought it was pretty good too. i loved the bowler hats 4 stars
7/12/01 JLH I thought it was great. Just different enough from the original. Soundtrack was good too. 5 stars
2/16/01 Lisa I Love this movie. It is one of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/16/01 Shara If my mom were as hot as Rene, I don't think I would mind the dress... 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Pretentious boring seppo crap trying to be classy and failing. 1 stars
1/06/01 Connoisseur only her tits are 4 stars
12/09/00 Carly Lees This movie is witty, full of spunk, and all out AWESOME! 5 stars
10/06/00 Fishsticks Not bad. Smart dialogue, story good, if predicable in a few places it mainly avoids it 4 stars
9/27/00 mephetic A good, smart, and very funny movie. But it'd be a hell of a lot better if there were more 3 stars
5/03/00 Matt Sabian Bloody Brilliant, worth every look 5 stars
5/01/00 Tom Rees Consumed my attention while recovering from minor surgery!!!!! 4 stars
4/25/00 Danny Sykes Brilliant! Nothing Better! 5 stars
4/24/00 Trina Barnard Love everything about it 5 stars
4/08/00 Bruce Rene does have nice nipples 4 stars
3/21/00 Wafer pretty good flick and a great ending 4 stars
1/26/00 The Bomb 69 pretty standard hollywood fluff 3 stars
1/10/00 Will Russo looked like utter shit in this movie. Aside from that it was just silly. 2 stars
11/13/99 Daniel I've never seen the original and I thought Brosnan and Russo were excellent. 5 stars
10/27/99 pipeman overrated fluff 3 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan Great fun storyline, Rene and Pierce were excellent. Stuck on the nipples too here! 4 stars
10/07/99 Eran entertaining movie that gives the viewer a good time 4 stars
9/06/99 Matthew Bartley A good film.Not exactly Out Of Sight but decent nevertheless 3 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Typical hollywood ending, but decent movie 3 stars
8/26/99 Steven Loved the ending and Rene's Nipples. 4 stars
8/24/99 Pierce Lanson Rene Russo is THE sexiest woman on the big screen right now!! 4 stars
8/22/99 Gini Charming and fun. Not a classic, but still a good way to spend an evening. 4 stars
8/17/99 Rick Pierce Brosnan is no Steve McQueen, but Rene Russo is more than Faye Dunaway. 3 stars
8/14/99 JimBob Good acting,Tits and Ass,good entertainment,did Rene use a body double?Pierce? 4 stars
8/14/99 Bushman Not the best film of the year but one of the most entertaining. 5 stars
8/12/99 Goofus Anyone who has seen the original could not possibly give this one five stars. Or even four. 3 stars
8/11/99 portia smith brilliant film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Aug-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Aug-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast