More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome: 21.78%
Worth A Look35.64%
Average: 24.75%
Pretty Bad: 8.91%
Total Crap: 8.91%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Thomas Crown Affair, The (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Remake a Fun Grown-Up Thriller"
4 stars

The Thomas Crown Affair (***) – Pierce Brosnan must have been genetically harvested to play three roles during his career – Remington Steele, James Bond (eventually), and Thomas Crown. You’ll realize that by watching the remake of the 1968 Steve McQueen/Faye Dunaway opus.

You can’t imagine anyone else playing this role and that helps give credibility to what easily could have been just a riff on his take of James Bond. Rene Russo also does a good job as the sly investigator, proving once again (after Tin Cup) that perhaps she is coming into her own as a very fine actress. It doesn’t hurt that the gentlemen in the audience will finally get their first full glimpse of Rene el grande delicto, but she proves to have more sex appeal than Sean Connery’s nemesis earlier this year. This is the movie that Entrapment wanted to be, which essentially was also just an updating of the original Thomas Crown with an older thief, an even younger insurance investigator, and a lame twist ineptly acted by hotpants Catherine Zeta-Jones. It’s not that Entrapment was such a bad movie (I gave it 2 ˝ Stars), but it felt like a by-the-numbers Hollywood screenplay. Thomas Crown doesn’t. It feels like a real story with real people and not just characterizations, even though it easily could have been. Director John McTiernan (most known for two of the best in the action genre – Die Hard and The Hunt for Red October – along with the third Die Hard film, Predator, and the severely underrated Last Action Hero.) keeps it moving with conviction, trusting his audience not just to get caught up in the elaborate heist sequence, but in its characters as well where the real tension in the movie lies. Is the whole thing just a game to the two of them, or are the emotions between them so strong that we want, along with Thomas Crown, that he be able to trust her completely. I was surprised to see that this was the real heart of the movie and not just heist after heist after heist. There is one heist early on – and the whole film builds off that. Not to demean the heist by any means, because it is a truly superior one, revealing layer after subtle layer throughout the film (without the mind-numbing use of repetitive split-screen as the 1968 film) as the audience is allowed to discover the clues along with the police leading up to its cleverly fun climax that for one had me fooled and had the audience cheering. The final scene of the film I had problems with, as it kind of cut across everything the movie was trying to be about. It felt like the one true cheat in a film full of bluffs.

But other than the final 5 minutes, I was very entertained by The Thomas Crown Affair and recommend it, whether you’ve seen Entrapment or not. (Trivia: This is the second time McTiernan has worked with Brosnan in a movie. Any guesses for the first time? Nomads in 1986.)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=805&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 10:30:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell the boring affair is more like it 1 stars
11/30/15 jamie loved this movie,sexy,rich yet approachable, renee's got great boobs, piece is luscious 5 stars
2/03/06 Anthony Feor Peirce does it again 4 stars
11/24/05 noops gr8 film frm gr8 actor.nice climax...good romance 2... 4 stars
2/27/05 mike bad 1 stars
12/23/03 tatum Fun, romantic, everything the original was not 5 stars
12/11/03 Agent Sands A wee bit better acting/filmmaking-wise, but the certain heistfilm rules remain broken. 3 stars
11/27/03 John elegant, romantic and classy! phenomenal direction and eclectic musical score 5 stars
10/05/03 John Bale Seldom does a remake exceed the original, this does. Brosnan excells, Russo shows tits. 4 stars
5/27/03 Edmund Armor Smart, sexy, beautifully shot, visually witty 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Entertaining and sexy. The two stars are luminous, and the editing is masterfully tricky. 4 stars
9/15/02 Zefram Mann I honestly didn't want to like this movie, but I did. 5 stars
8/10/02 R.W. Welch Not bad but falls well short of the McQueen rendition. 3 stars
5/12/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne (no fan or usually obnoxious Renee Russo) Russo this time just chugs kaopectate & twirls buttocks. Inoffensive but silly. 3 stars
4/28/02 Geebo Very clever 5 stars
4/09/02 spacecowboy smooooth 4 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo What was McTiernan thinking? Lacked pace and likeable characters, among other things... 2 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee Other than seeing the wonderful Ms. Russo nude, this movie is a bore. 2 stars
2/21/02 Xaver Interesting story, but nothing too exciting. 3 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy good little flick! one of McT's best along with Predator, die hard, die hard 3, & THFRO. 4 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat Better than the old one. 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I enjoyed seeing Russo's boobies...besides that it was dragging. 3 stars
7/16/01 bobbuttons i thought it was pretty good too. i loved the bowler hats 4 stars
7/12/01 JLH I thought it was great. Just different enough from the original. Soundtrack was good too. 5 stars
2/16/01 Lisa I Love this movie. It is one of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/16/01 Shara If my mom were as hot as Rene, I don't think I would mind the dress... 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Pretentious boring seppo crap trying to be classy and failing. 1 stars
1/06/01 Connoisseur only her tits are 4 stars
12/09/00 Carly Lees This movie is witty, full of spunk, and all out AWESOME! 5 stars
10/06/00 Fishsticks Not bad. Smart dialogue, story good, if predicable in a few places it mainly avoids it 4 stars
9/27/00 mephetic A good, smart, and very funny movie. But it'd be a hell of a lot better if there were more 3 stars
5/03/00 Matt Sabian Bloody Brilliant, worth every look 5 stars
5/01/00 Tom Rees Consumed my attention while recovering from minor surgery!!!!! 4 stars
4/25/00 Danny Sykes Brilliant! Nothing Better! 5 stars
4/24/00 Trina Barnard Love everything about it 5 stars
4/08/00 Bruce Rene does have nice nipples 4 stars
3/21/00 Wafer pretty good flick and a great ending 4 stars
1/26/00 The Bomb 69 pretty standard hollywood fluff 3 stars
1/10/00 Will Russo looked like utter shit in this movie. Aside from that it was just silly. 2 stars
11/13/99 Daniel I've never seen the original and I thought Brosnan and Russo were excellent. 5 stars
10/27/99 pipeman overrated fluff 3 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan Great fun storyline, Rene and Pierce were excellent. Stuck on the nipples too here! 4 stars
10/07/99 Eran entertaining movie that gives the viewer a good time 4 stars
9/06/99 Matthew Bartley A good film.Not exactly Out Of Sight but decent nevertheless 3 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Typical hollywood ending, but decent movie 3 stars
8/26/99 Steven Loved the ending and Rene's Nipples. 4 stars
8/24/99 Pierce Lanson Rene Russo is THE sexiest woman on the big screen right now!! 4 stars
8/22/99 Gini Charming and fun. Not a classic, but still a good way to spend an evening. 4 stars
8/17/99 Rick Pierce Brosnan is no Steve McQueen, but Rene Russo is more than Faye Dunaway. 3 stars
8/14/99 JimBob Good acting,Tits and Ass,good entertainment,did Rene use a body double?Pierce? 4 stars
8/14/99 Bushman Not the best film of the year but one of the most entertaining. 5 stars
8/12/99 Goofus Anyone who has seen the original could not possibly give this one five stars. Or even four. 3 stars
8/11/99 portia smith brilliant film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Aug-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Aug-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast