More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.82

Awesome39.39%
Worth A Look: 20.2%
Average: 28.28%
Pretty Bad: 7.07%
Total Crap: 5.05%

5 reviews, 69 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Let Us Prey by Jay Seaver

Puzzle (2014) by Jay Seaver

Heavenly Sword by Jay Seaver

Haunt by Charles Tatum

Expendables 3, The by Daniel Kelly

Zero Theorem, The by Jay Seaver

Zombie TV by Jay Seaver

Suburban Gothic by Jay Seaver

Admiral: Roaring Currents, The by Jay Seaver

Expendables 3, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Cube
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"A Rubik's cube that metastasized into all 256 sides."
3 stars

"Cube" was an interesting piece of work out of a fresh face from Canada. Directed by Vincenzo Natali, a newbie, this film has quite the artistic vision, and in most instances is very adept at carrying them out. The only harrowing element is that of the acting.

"Cube" is one of the few films that I wouldn't mind seeing a Hollywood remake of -- just so long as they did like Gus Van Sant, and do it shot-for-shot. I think a remake of "Cube" would be awesome if they could reassemble all of the technical crew, the writers, and Natali again as the director. The only change would be in the actors. I'd suggest Sarah Polley, David Strathairn, Eric LaSalle, Jeremy Piven, Sarah MacLachlan, and a few other assortments. Keep the low budget, and we'd be set!

"Cube" centers around six people who all mysteriously end up in a cube upon awakening. The object is a game of survival, as the cube is filled with deadly traps, weapons, and mind-games. It's a process of elimination, and the only way to get out is through teamwork, and pooling all efforts into one. But considering as how none of them seem to get along with each other continous basis, it serves as a major dilemma.

Natali never sells out, and he pulls forward with the product throughout. Even though he may scrape along the way as he goes, in many ways the film is unique.

It may be an amateurish production, leaning on a first-time director with a very stylized script, and some uncapable actors. The further the movie went on, the more I yearned for professionals. The problem was that in many instances, the actors came off as fake and produced -- there were several that could hold their guns.

Nicole de Boer stood out along with David Hewlitt who was okay. But others like Nicky Guadagni and Andrew Miller were just one-note actors. Maurice Dean Witt on the other hand, was good except when he would get worked up -- which happened quite often -- and then he went totally overboard and came off very fictitious.

"Cube" boasted a strong production design, good editing, and a notable direction by Natali. The cube itself, and what little we learn about it, is creative, and the traps are innovative and cutting edge. But the performances leave something to be desired!

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=806&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/02/99 17:02:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/12/14 PAUL SHORTT TEASING, UNPLEASANT LOW-BUDGET SCI-FI 2 stars
4/01/13 dr.lao What pretentious crap! 2 stars
7/12/07 T'Mar Wonderful movie; hypnotic and tense. And it has David Hewlett AND Maurice Dean Wint! 5 stars
9/26/06 Aleksandar (www.psmovies.co.sr) Sensless yet gripping and tense. Poorly written, filled with some cliches and banalities 3 stars
2/11/06 Josh Standlee Fucking amazing! I was on the edge of my seat! 5 stars
9/15/05 Tom Burns Very cool killings in this movie. Good original story too. 5 stars
7/18/05 JFK bad actings, good idea, a little boring 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Quite original, but ultimately there's not much to it. 3 stars
3/14/05 Ronin You don't need big budged to make an excelent movie. The same goes for Blair Witch Project. 5 stars
3/05/05 jeff very original but a bit of overacting by the black dude!!! 5 stars
2/27/05 Graves If it werent for the crappy sequeals this would've been like "The THING"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/05 Maurice EVO totaly wicked! GREAT 5 stars
12/11/04 scott mcvittie restores my faith in the ability to create exceptional sci-fi's 5 stars
11/05/04 America the Cube check the "red" states for booby-traps, I awoke to find myself more afraid for US than ever 4 stars
10/16/04 alice inginious 5 stars
9/04/04 DM Amateurish but gripping - a pleasant surprise 4 stars
8/09/04 BigBlack One of my Country's best exports. Fresh concept that is worth telling your friends to see!! 5 stars
7/25/04 Patrick Puhl Great Concept. Opening Scene is a Top 5 Coolest Death Ever. 4 stars
7/15/04 Joseph Barale Excellent movie. Better than Cube 2 5 stars
5/13/04 Jiz Would have been a lot better if it had a POINT. But the ending kinda ruined that. 3 stars
3/09/04 B. Fresh Interesting then boring then annoying due to lack of explanations 3 stars
12/02/03 Hahner Péter First exciting, then boring, without any reasonable explanation. 2 stars
7/28/03 Ingo Despite some bad acting - it's worth every minute. 5 stars
7/20/03 MadMax Very original. Definitely deviates from the norm. Way better than it's piece of shit sequel 5 stars
7/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik good 4 stars
7/04/03 Jack Sommersby More a concept than a fleshed-out story. The sequel's a bit better. 2 stars
4/04/03 Charles Tatum Funky, cool pic 5 stars
4/02/03 Gray in the end the meek did inherite the earth 5 stars
3/30/03 maja lovriæ Movie is very unpredictable, very tense and very scary 4 stars
3/01/03 cinkcool You cant kill the goddamn girl! 1 stars
2/23/03 Wojo Shit on a poop cracker 1 stars
10/14/02 www.cubederfilm.de it is abstract, intelligent & a masterpiece 5 stars
9/23/02 Vitality1 Loved the concept. A remake would definitely be even better. 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 Very unique plot. Gets my vote! 5 stars
9/17/02 Zefram Mann Decent, fairly ballsy flick. 4 stars
8/18/02 slipperyK best plot in years!!!!1....bad ending! 4 stars
8/18/02 P.Rodriguez Great movie- the ending could been a whole lot. better. Kills Spielberg 10mil+ crap 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi really good wen i shink about it.....interetsing.... 5 stars
4/24/02 Monster W. Kung How the hell did the bad guy come back? So many holes in this. Yuck. 2 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia Claustrophobic, harrowing, slick. Marred only by anticlimacitic ending. 4 stars
4/11/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Very interesting, very low budget sci-fi; Nicole de Boer is great in this one! 5 stars
10/14/01 Silent Screamer An awesome movie. Really makes you think. Definitely worth a look. 5 stars
10/10/01 rjaraya good idea, but not well expressed 3 stars
9/30/01 unigolyn looks damn good for 700K. Ending was a bit of an anticlimax. Hint - let sane people live. 4 stars
9/30/01 the scarecrow low probably fucked up the ending, good anyway 3 stars
7/21/01 isil ambitiguous 5 stars
3/16/01 Sinjoro Ludulo I'd Watch Nikki deBoer in anything. This was not a bad context to see her. 3 stars
3/11/01 ilfrs everything hollywood would have done, would have ruined that movie. it's just GREAT 5 stars
3/05/01 Michael Lee great movie - not your regular linear plot Hollywood crap 5 stars
2/18/01 Kris An incredibly intelligent and mysterious thought provoker 5 stars
12/01/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi As far as geometric-shape movies go...top of the charts. Kicks the shit outta "Sphere." 4 stars
11/01/00 Paul Plot?? Social commentary?? Give me a break nothing new here 1 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Acting and dialogue was awful but apart from that-wow!-what a find! 5 stars
7/08/00 Heena Pathetic ending - reminds me of Event Horizon - entire cast dead - whats the point? 1 stars
5/04/00 P.Rodriguez A beautiful fable that teaches us what I suspected-only the pure hearted reach heaven 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC Great flick deconstructing humanity down to its roots. 5 stars
1/11/00 SAM One of the best, revealing the structure of cosmos, and even spiritual world. 5 stars
1/10/00 Will it was like a sci-fi/horror short story. And I just love those. 5 stars
11/25/99 Will Hunting Suspensful, smart. Loved the plot, even with its holes. 5 stars
11/14/99 Ken Yuck! 1 stars
8/02/99 Kemma Intriguing, suspenseful, Intelligent. But I didn't like the cop out ending 4 stars
6/24/99 william recagno mind blowing.although a bit tidious at times. 4 stars
3/17/99 davebo Insightful, Interesting, but terrible dialogue/acting 4 stars
12/06/98 George Morgan SAW THE PREMIER AT SUNDANCE - BEST MOVIE I SAW AT THE FESTIVAL. EVERYONE IN THE THEATER SE 5 stars
12/02/98 Evil Buffy cool and creepy i like the theories. the conspiracy is that no one is in controll. creepy 4 stars
11/27/98 John Gray Waiting for Godot meets Hellraiser, but the writers ain't no Beckett 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Fascinating premise that quickly defaults into theatrical histrionics and slick pretension. 3 stars
9/14/98 Como Erectus Kept expecting Rod Serling to walk on. 'Tarded. 2 stars
9/09/98 Karl Denninger I thought this was the next Star Trek movie until i finished masturbating to David Hewlett 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Sep-1998 (NR)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast