More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.2

Awesome: 32.94%
Worth A Look58.82%
Average: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 2.35%

5 reviews, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Freaky Friday (2003)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Freaky because something genuinely nice, albeit limited, is achieved."
4 stars

Disney remakes itself once again: Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsay Lohan are a mother and daughter who don’t see eye-to-eye — and not just because of the separation in their height.

As the flighty shrink, Curtis approaches closer to her second marriage (it’s obviously a Disney movie, not only does the fiancé not share a bed with her, they’re not even living together yet), she and her Avril Lavigne-inspired alterna-punk-girl daughter magically switch bodies, requiring them to live a little in the other’s shoes to better understand each other. Of course this provides a bounty of opportunities for both generations to poke ribs at one another (“I look like Stevie Nicks”/ “Who’s that?” or “I’m old! I look like the Crypt Keeper”), more often siding with the younger crowd. One of the things that works well within the context of the movie is the performances of Curtis and Lohan, adapting the psychology of Cage and Travolta in Face/Off, of initially setting up their inhabited character and then shifting/shuffling/switching roles to competently retain the internal characteristics. The duo works, with Lohan believably emanating what Curtis set up, and surreptitiously, Curtis actually improving on the ossature Lohan began with. (As well it should be; Curtis, the experienced pro, has a lot more range in which to use in either personality, but Lohan is surprising for better embracing Curtis’ personality than her own.) Aside from the awkwardness of having the Lohan-aged boy interest fall for her in Curtis’ appearance, Freaky Friday remains a squeaky-clean generic romp, pat and PC, with dull supporting characters, overly diplomatic resolutions and epiphanies, and bland pop-music. It’s a weird position with Disney trying to convince itself and cash in on Lavigne’s image, and how it chooses what to deem alternatively cool (Emily Strange, The Hives, a cover of “… Baby One More Time”) but then disses a band as individual and truly alternative as The White Stripes. (This also marks an interesting trend with Disney, hiring the director of The House of Yes, Mark Waters, and Trick’s Jim Fall for The Lizzie McGuire Movie — neither of whom have displayed much skill, but both whom started off with such decidedly adult features, only to graduate to the juvenile arena.)

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8064&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/28/03 22:28:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell fun imo 4 stars
8/02/14 roger Jamie Lee Curtis enjoys it much more than the audience 3 stars
9/22/11 Millie Maelstrom If world were fair, Lindsay Lohan would be winning Oscars & Jodie Foster in&out of rehab. 5 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 4 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT DOESNT OFFER MUCH IN THE WAY OF NEW INSIGHTS INTO THIS MOST PECULIAR OF SUBGENRES 1 stars
10/17/07 Beau It was really enjoyable, much better remake and great cast to top it off!! nice work!! 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini Lindsay Lohan is hot! 5 stars
10/05/06 Stanley Thai A very good remake. You don't get that a lot these days. 4 stars
4/02/06 JRE not bad 3 stars
2/09/06 cathy it is so fabulous! i love it! 5 stars
12/24/05 moolataafongoriannshonternon leviosaton ttly awesome 5 stars
6/30/05 John Ay Entertaining 3 stars
6/27/05 dan awesome, lindsay is so hot 5 stars
6/05/05 Charlene Javier Excellent! Lindsay and Jamie rocks! 5 stars
6/04/05 Mike Jozic Surprisingly competent remake. Lohan & Curtis do a great job. 4 stars
6/03/05 Christy Schultz Way funny 4 stars
6/03/05 deadwiz Fun family film, plus its got lindsay lohan in it. That helps. 4 stars
5/23/05 Jim Decent fluff, picks up steam as it goes along 4 stars
5/13/05 Jennifer Regan This movie is hilarious! 4 stars
9/20/04 Valerie This movie is great, much better than the original. 5 stars
8/01/04 valerie hart gr8 family fun and a gr8 startin performance by lohan !!! 5 stars
6/25/04 Arse Poet Not as bad as I predicted. Not a great movie, but not bad, considering it's a kiddie film. 4 stars
5/07/04 Ross Great movie. I love J. Curtis 5 stars
2/20/04 aubrey i loved Chad Michael Murray, he's so damn hot 4 stars
2/19/04 KingNeutron Both actresses were excellent. JLC is still Teh Hottay! :) 5 stars
2/08/04 Nicola Hutton Exerlent 5 stars
1/24/04 JohnnyXXX a movie that you can watch over and over again 5 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Both mother and daughter were cast brilliantly! 4 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Very likable, well-acted Disney comedy. 5 stars
1/06/04 monica a good family film 4 stars
1/06/04 Natasha Theobald I can't believe how funny and enjoyable this was. 4 stars
1/04/04 ari it was cute, a great mother/daughter bonding film 3 stars
1/01/04 Phil M. Aficionado I suggest you read Sott Weinberg's review; I. too. found it enjoyable, at about 3.6 stars 4 stars
1/01/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Too preachy and stiff. Stick with the Jodie Foster version. 3 stars
12/30/03 Chris A great addition to the disney collection if perhaps alittle too raunchy. 4 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician Better than what I expected 4 stars
10/15/03 here a good film 4 stars
10/11/03 Joana This movie was da bomb 5 stars
10/08/03 courtney h. i loved the movie and i love her@ 5 stars
10/05/03 ERIN SO COOL 5 stars
9/25/03 tina I absolutely loved it. Way better than what I thought it would be 4 stars
9/13/03 Bill Better than the original for music, acting, script, dialogue... 4 stars
9/11/03 Dottie Hubbard I thought it was a hoot! A real 'fun' movie that is thoroughly entertaining. 5 stars
9/08/03 lindsen It was greeeeeaaaatttt! i loved it sooooo much! i hope i get to buy it! 5 stars
8/30/03 jada better than expected, actors really good 4 stars
8/29/03 SPH I loved it, my kids loved it!! 5 stars
8/28/03 Joey OH MY GOD 1 stars
8/16/03 MEEE great film 5 stars
8/16/03 Kyle Smith Great Movie! 5 stars
8/16/03 bigfan lindsey lohan is so hot 5 stars
8/12/03 maigne interesting 5 stars
8/11/03 Jenn a great mother-daughter movie, kept me laughing the whole way through! 5 stars
8/10/03 Red a great film 5 stars
8/09/03 Beth Maxey Pleasantly surprised, helped me look at things from 15yr old daughter's view. Well done! 5 stars
8/07/03 Redpajammas I thought this was a very cute movie; kept me laughing from beginning to end! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Aug-2003 (PG)
  DVD: 16-Dec-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Sep-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast