More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome40%
Worth A Look: 21.9%
Average: 16.19%
Pretty Bad: 6.19%
Total Crap: 15.71%

5 reviews, 180 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Freddy vs. Jason
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Freddy & Jason vs. One Confused Screenplay"
3 stars

Slasher Fan Disclaimer: As a lifelong fan of all things horrific and slasher-related, it's important for me to know that a particular movie critic can appreciate the blood-soaked sub-genre before I read their review of Masked Stalker Part 9. The Slasher Flick creates a divisive rift among movie fans and critics, mainly because 97% of the movies are awash in shoddy filmmaking. But it's important to me that I make this distinction early on: Jason, Freddy, Michael, Pinhead and Leatherface were my babysitters. I love the damn guys. So before you dismiss my mild complaints regarding the long-awaited "Freddy vs. Jason" - rest assured, bloodthirsty horror freaks, that I am one of your own.

And Holy Hatchet in the Head was I really looking forward to this movie! I've no predisposition whatsoever to knock a Slasher Flick for being silly or stupid or formulaic or derivative. Those components come part and parcel with the entirely squishy sub-genre. No, the complaints I have regarding Freddy vs. Jason are the kinds that I'd level at any movie - from a Family Farce to a Merchant/Ivory production.

I expected a certain goofiness; a vague misshapenness (if that's even a word) that invariably comes when a movie studio attempts to fuse two popular series into one; a string of flimsy acting performances; and (despite all the film's publicity ordering me to do otherwise) an impartiality between the two anti-heroes that must exist in order to appease fans from both camps.

As a horror freak, I was psyched. As a movie reviewer, I was skeptical.

But the last thing I expected was to be bored.

And for big, long, pregnant moments of Freddy vs. Jason I was helplessly and hopelessly bored. The bulk of the problem lies in the Icon meets Icon conceit; the screenwriters are saddled with the unenviable task of combining two horror legends into one cohesive new film. But in an effort to 'explain everything logically' the movie gets stuck in a seemingly endless loop of meandering plot exposition and the frustrating presence of about three subplots too many.

There are a handful of cool kills, some very enjoyable interplay between the two anti-heroes, and a WHOLE LOTTA chit-chat-chit-chat exposition explanation backstory recovery blah blah blah.

The plot, which needed only to be a somewhat sturdy framework on which to hang the killers' new exploits, is mercilessly sluggish. The main gist - that Freddy has been rendered impotent by the art of "intentional forgetfulness" before enlisting the undead hockey-face to scare him back into existence - works quite well in theory. And if this were the only plotline on which the filmmakers focused...we could have had something with a bit more focused intensity.

Unfortunately the relationship between Fred and Jay is often jammed into the background in favor of several unrewarding side plots. As you're subjected to the tedious scenes involving mental hospitals and police stations and our virginal heroine's dead mother - try to keep in mind what it was you were expecting from Freddy vs. Jason. I bet it wasn't a plot-heavy soap opera you were looking for.

When the two leading men are not onscreen, Freddy vs. Jason grinds to a dead, screeching halt.

After explaining my complaints to a fellow critic (and one clearly smarter than myself), I began to pick apart my own nitpicks. If I can recommend Friday the 13th Part 2, a film that's basically as plotless as a movie can ever be, then surely I'm being a bit too rough on Freddy vs. Jason by dismissing it as 'lurchy and plot-heavy'.

But there's good news too: what works in Freddy vs. Jason works quite well. There are the predictably horrific murders, each of which should find my fellow Gorehounds grinning in their seats. Each undead lunatic gets his share of time doling out the death & destruction. The flick gets better as things grow more chaotic. Up until the final Battle Royale between Mr. Krueger and Mr. Voorhees, the sloppy bits are inevitably punctuated by moments of extensive yap - but once the final 25 minutes kick in, there's a heaping helping of gore-soaked carnage. And I mean that in a good way. But even all that gooey goodness manages to disappoint in one small way:

Remember how several people had a problem with the "Burly Brawl" from The Matrix Reloaded because there's very little tension inherent in a battle between two wholly invincible entities? That's what F and J's final battle feels like. Lotsa splattery gore and stuff like that, but very little actual excitement. These scenes are directed crisply and with an apparently keen eye for strategically placed blood-squirts...but before too long it just feels a little tiresome.

Logically the acting is fairly atrocious and many of the technical aspects are subpar at best. (Freddy vs. Jason is one of the most sloppily edited films I've seen in a long time.) But considering how atrocious the film could have been, I feel a bit satisfied that it's merely "so-so, certainly watchable for the fans". And let's face it: there was very little chance of it being an excellent film.

I do offer my recommendation despite all my various misgivings. The best bits do eventually overshadow the interminable slow spots, and I'd certainly never be one to dissuade the faithful from seeing these two immortals duke it out on the big screen.

Solid points for treating the adored anti-heroes with some semblance of respect, and the goopy bits make for a rousing good time. On the flip side, those rousing moments are a bit too few and far between to wholly satisfy this Horror Freak, so the experiment succeeds and fails at the same time. Clearly on a flick like this - your mileage may vary.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8072&reviewer=128
originally posted: 08/15/03 14:06:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/25/14 uvftwwkoc USA 3 stars
7/10/14 nxlbnvq USA 5 stars
6/24/14 The Big D Who carried whose head off at the end? Be warned, Michael Myers, before starting with Jason 4 stars
1/16/14 Fgwlllzg USA 5 stars
8/07/11 art FREDDY mopped up the floor with that mama's boy jason! 3 stars
10/07/10 Charles Manson Do you feel like wolf kabob roth vantage? Gefrannis booj, bear-ramage? 3 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT GORY AND DREARY 1 stars
9/27/10 art NOT to SPOIL the ending,BUT FREDDy REIGHN"S SUPREME i this FILM! 3 stars
3/31/10 James Awful CGI, bland story, predicatable ending, awful acting (except Englund) 1 stars
3/26/10 art IT WAS FIXED! because this was A FRED KRUGER FILM! 4 stars
3/10/10 Giggles Concept too retarded to ever be anything worth watching. 2 stars
1/26/10 art IT WAS DISSAPOINTING! 1 stars
10/22/09 art WHO CARES? 1 stars
2/21/09 Charlie Interesting Concept. Decent Delivery 4 stars
2/19/09 Total Crap It's what you'd expect. Merging a F13 movie with NoES movie. Loved the gore though. 2 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
4/16/08 art WHO CARES? / 1 stars
1/26/08 man lame 1 stars
10/29/07 hank3395 i love seeing 80s slashers pinned together 5 stars
10/03/07 wall dont bother 1 stars
9/18/07 Beau I found it entertaining, it was a well made film, with some framing errors, im now a fan 4 stars
9/15/07 dude avoid 1 stars
6/15/07 Indrid Cold Obviously made for the Freddy/Jason battles and while brief, they don't disappoint. 2 stars
3/23/07 dude I thought it sucked 1 stars
12/28/06 David Pollastrini didn't find it very scary. Liked the concept though. 4 stars
12/20/06 MP Bartley 80s horror cliches should stay in 80s horrors. A total bore. 2 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A decent film. Nothing more, nothing less. 3 stars
9/09/06 Booksworm I've seen better entertainment on a car insurance commercial.Better plots,too 1 stars
6/23/06 The X Fucking gay 2 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Will it ever end 1 stars
12/29/05 chris f great film i loved it 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 the greatest dang one 5 stars
11/27/05 cr good visual effects, cool lines,and a ok story, acting is hit and miss,not scary but gory 3 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Never has a movie been so much fun. The script, the direction, everything is just perfect. 5 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Does a credible job at finding a plausible way to join the franchises, but that's all 2 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns My favorite of either of the series by far. A bloody good time. 5 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Watch it high, it'll make you paranoid. Watch it normal it'll make you stupider. 2 stars
8/23/05 ES If you like either of these characters you'll not be disappointed 4 stars
7/23/05 Nick Great Movie 5 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
6/24/05 Cheif Fight at the end isn't disappointing, but acting, effects, and story sucked. Still Okay tho 3 stars
4/12/05 Phoenix I loved it! Very enjoyable. Final fight scene was awsome. 5 stars
3/11/05 Nick Boyd A bloody mess 1 stars
2/24/05 ELI Good deaths! Acting, script, and everything else sucked though... 2 stars
2/23/05 lol this movie sucks, fuckin' retarded plot. 2 stars
2/12/05 Littlepurch Overly gross but very fun. Final fight very exciting and, i think, well thought-out. 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules it's okay, probably. 3 stars
12/25/04 Freddy loved seeing Freddy kick Jason's ass! 5 stars
11/21/04 Zeus come out with a second one 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey Awesomeness. 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! It was good. 5 stars
11/08/04 Cridic It wasn't the best film u c the girls in da film shit dem selves and it ain't BITCH. 3 stars
10/16/04 My Opinion Is Better Than Yours I liked it ya fucking douchebag motherfuckers!!!! 5 stars
10/03/04 Daveman I'm with Slasher Goddess on this one, this film sucks ass and so do you Meth Lab. 1 stars
9/28/04 Butter G I'd have to say this movie was plotted well. The last fight sucked. Bad graphics. But okay! 3 stars
9/20/04 Dr Shroud. Fucking ace:especially the fight!!!. 5 stars
9/10/04 jeff this movie is amuzing if ur 12 years old. releasin such movies should be illegal. 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Ok, I loved this movie, but I love horror movies in general, except the Village 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth UC this film expecting pure fun and thats what you get, with the odd scare+laugh 5 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... I agree 'gyirsGYuiqE'... It's all FUN! 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel not a bad film at all. if you are a fan of either series, you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
7/02/04 Daveman The sorriest entry into either series although F13th parts V, VI, VII and X come very close 1 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess Despite some good gore, it's a huge disappointment. 1 stars
6/23/04 Littlepurch Strange but i REALLY liked it!More an action thn a horror and its lightheartd and just fun! 5 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 watch this at home in HD and 6.1 dolby - turn up the sub, my shaked - AWESOME! 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark This film was a lot more fun in the theater, but it's a good return to both series 3 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds The best movie Freddy and Jason have done in a while 5 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It was Tight!!!!!! 5 stars
5/28/04 T-Shirt Guy Kickass Shit! 5 stars
5/24/04 Monster W. Kung Way too much time spent on worthless, dumb characters. Average AT BEST, sadly. 3 stars
5/17/04 caleb I liked the part when Freddy came into the real world! 5 stars
5/16/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/14/04 himmy Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose two icons I grew up watching battling it out, very pleased with the end result 5 stars
5/11/04 7 Great fun! fuck the idiots who think it sucked 5 stars
5/09/04 Charlene Javier Ho-hum! 3 stars
5/07/04 Ross Answered a lot of questions regarding Jason 4 stars
5/07/04 dead next door first half is kind of boring but the final with our two heros fighting each other is great. 4 stars
4/15/04 J Funny and Gory! All they need is a different ending!!! *** 5 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart its a bit pointless and spoils the theme of the 2 films in but great gory scenes!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/04/04 J-P Not brilliant, but at least better than I expected. 3 stars
3/29/04 Bill Wilson BORING MOVIE. It sucked! 1 stars
3/28/04 Hoangxuandung Verry Interesting 5 stars
3/25/04 SrM Great popcorn-fun! 5 stars
3/25/04 shaun jackson its the shit 5 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker Needs A Better Ending 4 stars
3/22/04 Taylor very good, i think they should have a Freddy VS. Jason 2. because when freddy winks 4 stars
3/16/04 mr mister since jason has freddys head, ill bet i know what he uses freddys mouth for! 5 stars
3/10/04 bsho76 Interesting plot...not scary enough though 3 stars
3/04/04 david warren it was scary but neather one won 5 stars
3/03/04 me great 5 stars
2/29/04 C I think it wasn't scary and I am ten ! 4 stars
2/24/04 tatum A dumb idea turned into an even dumber film 1 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge More of a comedy than a horror. Predictable and puerile harmless popcorn. 3 stars
2/04/04 Agent Sands Surprisingly good script, excellent camerawork, & good acting. 4 stars
2/01/04 mushroom ken kirzingers "Jason" was all wrong bring back Kain 4 stars
1/29/04 J I hope there's a Freddy vs. Jason Round 2 5 stars
1/27/04 Samuel At the end i expected Ashton Kutcher to jump out and scream you got punked! 3 stars
1/22/04 George Hill This is one movie I'll never forget 5 stars
1/17/04 Miguel Ein gutes film! 5 stars
1/16/04 Yo Crazy Movie, Freddy's the best 5 stars
1/15/04 chase starnes cool 5 stars
1/09/04 Joseph Barale One of the best "Nightmare on Elm St" and "Friday the 13 th" movies ever 5 stars
1/06/04 George GGREAATT 5 stars
1/03/04 A F So entertaining. Freddy rules. 5 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Tottaly Awesome 5 stars
11/30/03 john much to my surprise - a fun ride and a good film 5 stars
11/16/03 Alice A must for all fans despite the terrible acting blondie 4 stars
11/14/03 Michael Dixon A fun, exciting thrillride of a horror movie! 4 stars
11/11/03 The Velcro Warlock Start will appeal to some, with girl showing boobs&butt; the rest is a muddled mess. 2 stars
10/28/03 sex machine billy-bob keeps to the other films enough to work 4 stars
10/19/03 peck Fantastic brilliant when the sequel coming out 5 stars
10/19/03 dead motherf**ker jason kicked freddys ass! 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Eye candy, eye candy! Everywhere I see eye candy! A horror masterpiece! 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Been waiting for this match-up since 1985. I loved every moment of this uber-gory smackdown 5 stars
10/05/03 Fred THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!! 5 stars
10/05/03 Samuel Justus Cabin Fever kicked its ass! well, hell Dickie Roberts kicked its ass!! 1 stars
10/01/03 Iván Not as good as the old gory stuff but still better than the shit released nowadays 4 stars
9/30/03 jawsboy24 A pussy ass flick!!! Where's the gore? Where are the cool kills? Too tame.You know the rest 1 stars
9/18/03 Bebe Too much blood spoiled the movie, but it seemed funny in some scenes^^ 3 stars
9/18/03 Alex Walton I thought the movie kicked ass 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Bunch of Shit!! 1 stars
9/16/03 I Would Huge disappointment, all of the death scenes are ripped off from earlier entries. 1 stars
9/15/03 LoudChris That was fun. I just want to know where Kane Hodder went! 4 stars
9/14/03 Obi Wan Finally Jason shows up at a party and goes to town!! LOL 4 stars
9/06/03 Greg the best movie ever made 5 stars
9/06/03 edward vickers this mpovie is what I have been waiting for!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/06/03 Awesomeguy Awesome.... 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie c'mon - freddy fucking rules. enough said. 5 stars
9/04/03 ChanceHead penis that is infested with crabs and AIDS. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
9/03/03 George Jung Proof that the movie industry has no respect for us. 1 stars
9/02/03 Gray has more than a few problems but beats jason x 4 stars
9/01/03 Koitus Jason being lit on fire, and "the rods" piercing his body? "Stretched" worse than before! 3 stars
8/31/03 I Would Kiss my ass, John. This film blows like every Friday The 13th film and Elm Street sequal. 2 stars
8/30/03 --- it was funny, but anyone who rates it awesome can go fuck themselves 2 stars
8/29/03 DARREN MUCH BETTER THAN IT COULD HAVE BEEN 3 stars
8/29/03 lashuna1028 fake acting, nowhere near scary 2 stars
8/28/03 John It rocks 5 stars
8/28/03 twapayback GOD DAM! (EOM) 5 stars
8/28/03 JJ from da block Freddy vs Jason? Give me Godzilla vs J. Lo's booty 1 stars
8/26/03 chris sweet 5 stars
8/24/03 nick2k the 'battle' was well worth the time sitting thru all those fake boobies. 3 stars
8/24/03 hell ya holy shit...... 5 stars
8/24/03 gladgirlwemadeit erik is dead on,i saw 2thirds fridays and seen all nightmares. good flick for initiated 4 stars
8/24/03 gman Markus, you spell it RETARD with a "D" not RETART, you FUCKING RETARD...good, mindless fun. 5 stars
8/24/03 George Jung Damn, sorry to piss everyone off, but this movie really wasn't that good. 1 stars
8/23/03 Richard D. This movie Rocks! Brutal and messy! Yes! 5 stars
8/23/03 Terrance Rogers Robert Englund is the only one that can play freddy that good 5 stars
8/23/03 hell yeah gets better every time you see it 5 stars
8/22/03 George Jung "Screw you, George Jung!!?" - That's not a question is it ass monkey. 1 stars
8/22/03 Brian i guess i shouldn't have expected so much.... 1 stars
8/21/03 Mickey This shit was more funny than scary. But the fight between the two kicked ass 3 stars
8/21/03 George Jung THE BEST MOVIE EVER for ass monkeys. 1 stars
8/20/03 Obi Wan Suprisingly good...didn't like how it ended for one of the Slashers though. 5 stars
8/20/03 Jack Bourbon Sucks. . . Jason X was much better, and that's a sad statement for FvJ 1 stars
8/20/03 Le'Var Osborne This is one of the best motherf**king movies ever!!!! 5 stars
8/19/03 Jimbo Nice date movie for you and your girl, espically since she will be holding you dick scared. 4 stars
8/19/03 Mike Smith Mandatory watching! 5 stars
8/19/03 john movie kicked ass screw who ever thoguht it was stupid 5 stars
8/19/03 Patherat Film was great JASON rules 4eva 5 stars
8/19/03 Sarah I had high expectations for this movie and wasn't disappointed. Excellent movie! 5 stars
8/18/03 Nick Everything I wanted and expected from this movie was delivered 5 stars
8/18/03 Shaun I've seen it twice and its just as fun 5 stars
8/18/03 Caiphn Suprisingly good. Worth seeing if you've ever had any interest whatsoever in either series. 5 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Much, MUCH better than I expected. 5 stars
8/17/03 Michael One Badass Fucking Movie! Beats the Shit out of all recent horror movies. Well worth the $ 5 stars
8/17/03 Renegade Bushido The Fight and kills were awesome, fight could have been longer 4 stars
8/17/03 E Most fun I've had at the movies in a long time. Stupid? Not scary? So fucking what? 5 stars
8/17/03 Reese Witherspoon suckzzzzz Silly, stupid, unfunny, not scary. 1 stars
8/17/03 Jon great 5 stars
8/17/03 KingNeutron Would have liked some 4th-wall humor, they missed a perfect Python quote(just a flesh wound 4 stars
8/17/03 makeyougohmmdotcom As far as sequels go, it makes the cut 4 stars
8/17/03 Kagato The final 5 minutes alone are worth the price. 5 stars
8/17/03 Morally Sound Freddy Vs. Jason = One Kick Ass Horror/Action Film! The Best Of Both Series! 5 stars
8/17/03 hjhj shitty 1 stars
8/16/03 Shaun fun.....fun.......fun......fun........fun 5 stars
8/16/03 Kyle FUCK YES. 4 stars
8/16/03 Mickey Waiting for years on this and it was worth the wait! 5 stars
8/16/03 Jiz Holy shit that was the best movie ever. 5 stars
8/15/03 mAsON wILLIaMs THANK GOD THIS MOVIE EXISTS, I HOPE IT MAKES A BILLION! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast