More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome39.81%
Worth A Look: 21.8%
Average: 16.11%
Pretty Bad: 6.64%
Total Crap: 15.64%

5 reviews, 181 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Freddy vs. Jason
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Who wins? Honestly . . . who CARES?"
3 stars

I suppose we'll have to wait until August, when ALIEN VS. PREDATOR comes out, in order to determine which film deserves the coveted "Pointless and Shameless Crossover to Milk Two Franchises That Are Well Past Their Prime" Award the most. But while FREDDY VS. JASON was obviously made as a cash grab to part zit-faced slasher fanboys from their allowances and prey on the nostalgia of old-school gorehounds, it can be moderately entertaining at times - in that most simple-minded brain-in-neutral kind of way. If they'd REALLY wanted to make things interesting, they would have brought in HALLOWEEN's Michael Meyers and HELLRAISER's Pinhead for an all-out tag-team Lucha Libre.

Who knew that Elm Street and Camp Crystal Lake were just a short van ride's distance from each other? NOBODY did, because it's just one of the newly made-up contrivances introduced in this movie in order to give thin justification to the pairing of two of the slasher genre's most well-known figures. But what the hell, it's not like there was going to be any kind of sensible plot in this thing anyway, so here goes.

Freddy (Robert Englund), a child murderer who was burned alive by an angry mob, only to come back to life and murder teenagers by the dozens in a succession of increasingly lame movies, is trying yet again to come back from whatever netherworld he has been inhabiting. The only problem is, his power comes from the fear of his victims, and since the adult denizens of Elm Street have done everything in their power to erase all traces of Krueger's existence and make their children forget about him, he has no fear to draw strength from. So, he decides to ressurect fellow slasher Jason Vorhees (Ken Kirzinger) from his grave at nearby Camp Crystal Lake and have him start killing the local teens for him, until he can gather enough strength to return to the slayer's limelight.

Predictably enough, the first killing takes place where it all began, at the house from the first Nightmare on Elm Street Flick. With daddy out of town, Lori (Monica Keena), the busty virgin, is hanging out with her friends Kia (Kelly Rowland), the sassy-talking black chick, and Gib (Katharine Isabelle), the slutty stoner chick. Some guys come over, Gib takes one of them upstairs for a shag, leaves him in bed to go take a shower, and when she comes out - well, guess who's recieved a lovely machete acupuncture from Jason? Teens run screaming out into the rain, let the carnage begin.

Meanwhile, Lori's old boyfriend escapes from the Westin Hills Asylum where he's been locked up in isolation because he saw Freddy kill Lori's mom a few years earlier. Fearful that he might start spreading the tale of Krueger again. Lori's father and the cops have conspired to keep him locked away before he can "infect" the other teens. But by the time he gets out to warn Lori, Jason's already launched a campaign of slaughter, including the machete mangling of several teens at a cornfield rave. The survivors, which include Lori, Kia, Lori's boyfriend, a nerdy virgin guy, the new deputy on the force who isn't involved in the coverup, and a blatant "Jay from Clerks" stoner clone, plot to turn the two killers against each other. Most of them will be dead before the end credits. You won't miss any of them.

After temporarily sedating Jason and driving him to the derelict remains of Camp Crystal Lake, the promised big showdown between F and J takes place, complete with lots of hacking, slashing, smashing, crashing, and wire-fu. And while it's not exactly the greatest showdown on earth, it's rather entertaining in spots.

Alas, the gory money shots and the big brawl are the only real entertainment the movie has to offer. The rest is just your standard "Teens huddle together and try to figure out how to kill the monster while slowly getting picked off in a predictable and orderly fashion" slasher movie routine. And while the idea of the whole "Freddy-gate" cover up conspiracy on the part of the authority figures is an interesting twist (usually the incredulous adults are the least likely to believe in all of the "serial killer back from the dead" bugaboo nonsense), it's all just the typical filler to move things along from murder A to B to C. The acting is bad and the script is generally trite, although the effective one-liner occasional pops up to keep you laughing in between decapitations.

As expected, there's no clear-cut winner at the end of FREDDY VS. JASON - but honestly, were you expecting one? How the hell are they going to make F VS. J 2, 3, 4, or 5 otherwise? But while it's not exactly required viewing for horror buffs, it's still better than either of the last installments of FRIDAY THE 13th or the NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET were on their own.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8072&reviewer=258
originally posted: 05/07/04 04:01:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/31/14 picekekdcm USA 2 stars
7/25/14 uvftwwkoc USA 3 stars
7/10/14 nxlbnvq USA 5 stars
6/24/14 The Big D Who carried whose head off at the end? Be warned, Michael Myers, before starting with Jason 4 stars
1/16/14 Fgwlllzg USA 5 stars
8/07/11 art FREDDY mopped up the floor with that mama's boy jason! 3 stars
10/07/10 Charles Manson Do you feel like wolf kabob roth vantage? Gefrannis booj, bear-ramage? 3 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT GORY AND DREARY 1 stars
9/27/10 art NOT to SPOIL the ending,BUT FREDDy REIGHN"S SUPREME i this FILM! 3 stars
3/31/10 James Awful CGI, bland story, predicatable ending, awful acting (except Englund) 1 stars
3/26/10 art IT WAS FIXED! because this was A FRED KRUGER FILM! 4 stars
3/10/10 Giggles Concept too retarded to ever be anything worth watching. 2 stars
1/26/10 art IT WAS DISSAPOINTING! 1 stars
10/22/09 art WHO CARES? 1 stars
2/21/09 Charlie Interesting Concept. Decent Delivery 4 stars
2/19/09 Total Crap It's what you'd expect. Merging a F13 movie with NoES movie. Loved the gore though. 2 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
4/16/08 art WHO CARES? / 1 stars
1/26/08 man lame 1 stars
10/29/07 hank3395 i love seeing 80s slashers pinned together 5 stars
10/03/07 wall dont bother 1 stars
9/18/07 Beau I found it entertaining, it was a well made film, with some framing errors, im now a fan 4 stars
9/15/07 dude avoid 1 stars
6/15/07 Indrid Cold Obviously made for the Freddy/Jason battles and while brief, they don't disappoint. 2 stars
3/23/07 dude I thought it sucked 1 stars
12/28/06 David Pollastrini didn't find it very scary. Liked the concept though. 4 stars
12/20/06 MP Bartley 80s horror cliches should stay in 80s horrors. A total bore. 2 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A decent film. Nothing more, nothing less. 3 stars
9/09/06 Booksworm I've seen better entertainment on a car insurance commercial.Better plots,too 1 stars
6/23/06 The X Fucking gay 2 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Will it ever end 1 stars
12/29/05 chris f great film i loved it 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 the greatest dang one 5 stars
11/27/05 cr good visual effects, cool lines,and a ok story, acting is hit and miss,not scary but gory 3 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Never has a movie been so much fun. The script, the direction, everything is just perfect. 5 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Does a credible job at finding a plausible way to join the franchises, but that's all 2 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns My favorite of either of the series by far. A bloody good time. 5 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Watch it high, it'll make you paranoid. Watch it normal it'll make you stupider. 2 stars
8/23/05 ES If you like either of these characters you'll not be disappointed 4 stars
7/23/05 Nick Great Movie 5 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
6/24/05 Cheif Fight at the end isn't disappointing, but acting, effects, and story sucked. Still Okay tho 3 stars
4/12/05 Phoenix I loved it! Very enjoyable. Final fight scene was awsome. 5 stars
3/11/05 Nick Boyd A bloody mess 1 stars
2/24/05 ELI Good deaths! Acting, script, and everything else sucked though... 2 stars
2/23/05 lol this movie sucks, fuckin' retarded plot. 2 stars
2/12/05 Littlepurch Overly gross but very fun. Final fight very exciting and, i think, well thought-out. 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules it's okay, probably. 3 stars
12/25/04 Freddy loved seeing Freddy kick Jason's ass! 5 stars
11/21/04 Zeus come out with a second one 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey Awesomeness. 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! It was good. 5 stars
11/08/04 Cridic It wasn't the best film u c the girls in da film shit dem selves and it ain't BITCH. 3 stars
10/16/04 My Opinion Is Better Than Yours I liked it ya fucking douchebag motherfuckers!!!! 5 stars
10/03/04 Daveman I'm with Slasher Goddess on this one, this film sucks ass and so do you Meth Lab. 1 stars
9/28/04 Butter G I'd have to say this movie was plotted well. The last fight sucked. Bad graphics. But okay! 3 stars
9/20/04 Dr Shroud. Fucking ace:especially the fight!!!. 5 stars
9/10/04 jeff this movie is amuzing if ur 12 years old. releasin such movies should be illegal. 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Ok, I loved this movie, but I love horror movies in general, except the Village 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth UC this film expecting pure fun and thats what you get, with the odd scare+laugh 5 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... I agree 'gyirsGYuiqE'... It's all FUN! 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel not a bad film at all. if you are a fan of either series, you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
7/02/04 Daveman The sorriest entry into either series although F13th parts V, VI, VII and X come very close 1 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess Despite some good gore, it's a huge disappointment. 1 stars
6/23/04 Littlepurch Strange but i REALLY liked it!More an action thn a horror and its lightheartd and just fun! 5 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 watch this at home in HD and 6.1 dolby - turn up the sub, my shaked - AWESOME! 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark This film was a lot more fun in the theater, but it's a good return to both series 3 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds The best movie Freddy and Jason have done in a while 5 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It was Tight!!!!!! 5 stars
5/28/04 T-Shirt Guy Kickass Shit! 5 stars
5/24/04 Monster W. Kung Way too much time spent on worthless, dumb characters. Average AT BEST, sadly. 3 stars
5/17/04 caleb I liked the part when Freddy came into the real world! 5 stars
5/16/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/14/04 himmy Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose two icons I grew up watching battling it out, very pleased with the end result 5 stars
5/11/04 7 Great fun! fuck the idiots who think it sucked 5 stars
5/09/04 Charlene Javier Ho-hum! 3 stars
5/07/04 Ross Answered a lot of questions regarding Jason 4 stars
5/07/04 dead next door first half is kind of boring but the final with our two heros fighting each other is great. 4 stars
4/15/04 J Funny and Gory! All they need is a different ending!!! *** 5 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart its a bit pointless and spoils the theme of the 2 films in but great gory scenes!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/04/04 J-P Not brilliant, but at least better than I expected. 3 stars
3/29/04 Bill Wilson BORING MOVIE. It sucked! 1 stars
3/28/04 Hoangxuandung Verry Interesting 5 stars
3/25/04 SrM Great popcorn-fun! 5 stars
3/25/04 shaun jackson its the shit 5 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker Needs A Better Ending 4 stars
3/22/04 Taylor very good, i think they should have a Freddy VS. Jason 2. because when freddy winks 4 stars
3/16/04 mr mister since jason has freddys head, ill bet i know what he uses freddys mouth for! 5 stars
3/10/04 bsho76 Interesting plot...not scary enough though 3 stars
3/04/04 david warren it was scary but neather one won 5 stars
3/03/04 me great 5 stars
2/29/04 C I think it wasn't scary and I am ten ! 4 stars
2/24/04 tatum A dumb idea turned into an even dumber film 1 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge More of a comedy than a horror. Predictable and puerile harmless popcorn. 3 stars
2/04/04 Agent Sands Surprisingly good script, excellent camerawork, & good acting. 4 stars
2/01/04 mushroom ken kirzingers "Jason" was all wrong bring back Kain 4 stars
1/29/04 J I hope there's a Freddy vs. Jason Round 2 5 stars
1/27/04 Samuel At the end i expected Ashton Kutcher to jump out and scream you got punked! 3 stars
1/22/04 George Hill This is one movie I'll never forget 5 stars
1/17/04 Miguel Ein gutes film! 5 stars
1/16/04 Yo Crazy Movie, Freddy's the best 5 stars
1/15/04 chase starnes cool 5 stars
1/09/04 Joseph Barale One of the best "Nightmare on Elm St" and "Friday the 13 th" movies ever 5 stars
1/06/04 George GGREAATT 5 stars
1/03/04 A F So entertaining. Freddy rules. 5 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Tottaly Awesome 5 stars
11/30/03 john much to my surprise - a fun ride and a good film 5 stars
11/16/03 Alice A must for all fans despite the terrible acting blondie 4 stars
11/14/03 Michael Dixon A fun, exciting thrillride of a horror movie! 4 stars
11/11/03 The Velcro Warlock Start will appeal to some, with girl showing boobs&butt; the rest is a muddled mess. 2 stars
10/28/03 sex machine billy-bob keeps to the other films enough to work 4 stars
10/19/03 peck Fantastic brilliant when the sequel coming out 5 stars
10/19/03 dead motherf**ker jason kicked freddys ass! 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Eye candy, eye candy! Everywhere I see eye candy! A horror masterpiece! 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Been waiting for this match-up since 1985. I loved every moment of this uber-gory smackdown 5 stars
10/05/03 Fred THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!! 5 stars
10/05/03 Samuel Justus Cabin Fever kicked its ass! well, hell Dickie Roberts kicked its ass!! 1 stars
10/01/03 Iván Not as good as the old gory stuff but still better than the shit released nowadays 4 stars
9/30/03 jawsboy24 A pussy ass flick!!! Where's the gore? Where are the cool kills? Too tame.You know the rest 1 stars
9/18/03 Bebe Too much blood spoiled the movie, but it seemed funny in some scenes^^ 3 stars
9/18/03 Alex Walton I thought the movie kicked ass 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Bunch of Shit!! 1 stars
9/16/03 I Would Huge disappointment, all of the death scenes are ripped off from earlier entries. 1 stars
9/15/03 LoudChris That was fun. I just want to know where Kane Hodder went! 4 stars
9/14/03 Obi Wan Finally Jason shows up at a party and goes to town!! LOL 4 stars
9/06/03 Greg the best movie ever made 5 stars
9/06/03 edward vickers this mpovie is what I have been waiting for!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/06/03 Awesomeguy Awesome.... 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie c'mon - freddy fucking rules. enough said. 5 stars
9/04/03 ChanceHead penis that is infested with crabs and AIDS. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
9/03/03 George Jung Proof that the movie industry has no respect for us. 1 stars
9/02/03 Gray has more than a few problems but beats jason x 4 stars
9/01/03 Koitus Jason being lit on fire, and "the rods" piercing his body? "Stretched" worse than before! 3 stars
8/31/03 I Would Kiss my ass, John. This film blows like every Friday The 13th film and Elm Street sequal. 2 stars
8/30/03 --- it was funny, but anyone who rates it awesome can go fuck themselves 2 stars
8/29/03 DARREN MUCH BETTER THAN IT COULD HAVE BEEN 3 stars
8/29/03 lashuna1028 fake acting, nowhere near scary 2 stars
8/28/03 John It rocks 5 stars
8/28/03 twapayback GOD DAM! (EOM) 5 stars
8/28/03 JJ from da block Freddy vs Jason? Give me Godzilla vs J. Lo's booty 1 stars
8/26/03 chris sweet 5 stars
8/24/03 nick2k the 'battle' was well worth the time sitting thru all those fake boobies. 3 stars
8/24/03 hell ya holy shit...... 5 stars
8/24/03 gladgirlwemadeit erik is dead on,i saw 2thirds fridays and seen all nightmares. good flick for initiated 4 stars
8/24/03 gman Markus, you spell it RETARD with a "D" not RETART, you FUCKING RETARD...good, mindless fun. 5 stars
8/24/03 George Jung Damn, sorry to piss everyone off, but this movie really wasn't that good. 1 stars
8/23/03 Richard D. This movie Rocks! Brutal and messy! Yes! 5 stars
8/23/03 Terrance Rogers Robert Englund is the only one that can play freddy that good 5 stars
8/23/03 hell yeah gets better every time you see it 5 stars
8/22/03 George Jung "Screw you, George Jung!!?" - That's not a question is it ass monkey. 1 stars
8/22/03 Brian i guess i shouldn't have expected so much.... 1 stars
8/21/03 Mickey This shit was more funny than scary. But the fight between the two kicked ass 3 stars
8/21/03 George Jung THE BEST MOVIE EVER for ass monkeys. 1 stars
8/20/03 Obi Wan Suprisingly good...didn't like how it ended for one of the Slashers though. 5 stars
8/20/03 Jack Bourbon Sucks. . . Jason X was much better, and that's a sad statement for FvJ 1 stars
8/20/03 Le'Var Osborne This is one of the best motherf**king movies ever!!!! 5 stars
8/19/03 Jimbo Nice date movie for you and your girl, espically since she will be holding you dick scared. 4 stars
8/19/03 Mike Smith Mandatory watching! 5 stars
8/19/03 john movie kicked ass screw who ever thoguht it was stupid 5 stars
8/19/03 Patherat Film was great JASON rules 4eva 5 stars
8/19/03 Sarah I had high expectations for this movie and wasn't disappointed. Excellent movie! 5 stars
8/18/03 Nick Everything I wanted and expected from this movie was delivered 5 stars
8/18/03 Shaun I've seen it twice and its just as fun 5 stars
8/18/03 Caiphn Suprisingly good. Worth seeing if you've ever had any interest whatsoever in either series. 5 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Much, MUCH better than I expected. 5 stars
8/17/03 Michael One Badass Fucking Movie! Beats the Shit out of all recent horror movies. Well worth the $ 5 stars
8/17/03 Renegade Bushido The Fight and kills were awesome, fight could have been longer 4 stars
8/17/03 E Most fun I've had at the movies in a long time. Stupid? Not scary? So fucking what? 5 stars
8/17/03 Reese Witherspoon suckzzzzz Silly, stupid, unfunny, not scary. 1 stars
8/17/03 Jon great 5 stars
8/17/03 KingNeutron Would have liked some 4th-wall humor, they missed a perfect Python quote(just a flesh wound 4 stars
8/17/03 makeyougohmmdotcom As far as sequels go, it makes the cut 4 stars
8/17/03 Kagato The final 5 minutes alone are worth the price. 5 stars
8/17/03 Morally Sound Freddy Vs. Jason = One Kick Ass Horror/Action Film! The Best Of Both Series! 5 stars
8/17/03 hjhj shitty 1 stars
8/16/03 Shaun fun.....fun.......fun......fun........fun 5 stars
8/16/03 Kyle FUCK YES. 4 stars
8/16/03 Mickey Waiting for years on this and it was worth the wait! 5 stars
8/16/03 Jiz Holy shit that was the best movie ever. 5 stars
8/15/03 mAsON wILLIaMs THANK GOD THIS MOVIE EXISTS, I HOPE IT MAKES A BILLION! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast