More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome39.81%
Worth A Look: 21.8%
Average: 16.11%
Pretty Bad: 6.64%
Total Crap: 15.64%

5 reviews, 181 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Freddy vs. Jason
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"My critic's card will be revoked for this, but I liked it a lot."
4 stars

"Freddy Vs. Jason" is the ultimate high-concept millennial junk, but that's what's good about it. This long-awaited showdown between two '80s slasher-movie icons -- Jason Voorhees, of the "Friday the 13th" series, and Freddy Krueger, of the "Nightmare on Elm Street" saga (it never occurred to me before, but the killers both have Eurotrash names) -- is just about perfect for what it is.

Generally bad acting: check.
Imaginative killings: check.
Gratuitous nudity: check.
Bad dialogue and nonsensical plot: check and check.

If you grew up loving the guilty-pleasure horror movies of the '80s, Freddy Vs. Jason will feel like home to you. I have a massive soft spot for such movies, and to fans like me, this is like Ali vs. Foreman.

In Freddy's old stomping grounds, the township has banded together to make sure everyone forgets his reign of dream-terror; fear gives him power, and years of neglect have weakened him. Freddy hits upon the idea of bringing Jason back from the dead so he can control the hulking hockey-masked psycho and send him to Elm Street. Once Jason gets there, he warms up by dropping in on a post-coital idiot and literally folding him in half. The survivors of Jason's first attack -- including Monica Keena, Kelly Rowland of Destiny's Child, and Katharine Isabelle (of the excellent Canadian werewolf film Ginger Snaps) -- figure out pretty quickly that they're in a Freddy Vs. Jason movie, especially when Freddy begins gaining strength and dominating their dreams.

As a horror fan, I have misgivings about Kane Hodder (who wore the hockey mask in the last few Friday the 13th films, including Jason X) being bumped aside here in favor of Ken Kirzinger; in truth, though, Jason requires little aside from heavy-footed stalking and machete-wielding. Nobody else, however, could or should play Freddy except Robert Englund, and he weighs in with his usual gleefully sadistic leering; Englund takes such pleasure in Freddy's antics that he makes the razor-fingered killer almost lovable (he wasn't always, though; look at the original Nightmare again and you may be surprised at how straight -- and ugly -- Englund plays it).

The kids, with the exception of the always-welcome Katharine Isabelle (who brings something fresh and ironic to her tomboyish, chain-smoking character), are more or less psycho fodder. The writers could've had more fun with the formula, which demands that the virginal girl prevail; Monica Keena's Lori is as dull as most of the other heroic virgins in these films. Compare her with the strapping Heather Langenkamp or Adrienne King (from the original Nightmare and Friday, respectively); are young actors not getting enough protein these days? Isabelle is the only performer who shows a future beyond horror, as Johnny Depp and Kevin Bacon showed in their roles in the first Nightmare and Friday. Then again, the movie is called Freddy Vs. Jason, not Scared Kids Trying Not to Go to Sleep.

The whole movie is just preparation for the main event, in which Freddy and Jason square off, first in Jason's dreamworld (where Freddy has the upper hand), then in the real world of Camp Crystal Lake (where Freddy is physically weaker). Director Ronny Yu, whose previous films include the inventive Bride of Chucky and The Bride with White Hair, gives the fans what they paid to see and then some; the horror icons fling each other around, hack and slash without restraint, lop off limbs that regenerate as in a video game. Watching this stuff, I was about as completely satisfied as I've ever been at the movies.

The movie will win no awards and impress few critics who didn't grow up in the '70s and '80s, and some of the expository material is flat-footed and awful, but this is "Freddy Vs. Jason," man. It's a cleverly wrapped gift to me and every horror fan like me, and I feel nothing but affection for it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8072&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/28/06 13:24:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/31/14 picekekdcm USA 2 stars
7/25/14 uvftwwkoc USA 3 stars
7/10/14 nxlbnvq USA 5 stars
6/24/14 The Big D Who carried whose head off at the end? Be warned, Michael Myers, before starting with Jason 4 stars
1/16/14 Fgwlllzg USA 5 stars
8/07/11 art FREDDY mopped up the floor with that mama's boy jason! 3 stars
10/07/10 Charles Manson Do you feel like wolf kabob roth vantage? Gefrannis booj, bear-ramage? 3 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT GORY AND DREARY 1 stars
9/27/10 art NOT to SPOIL the ending,BUT FREDDy REIGHN"S SUPREME i this FILM! 3 stars
3/31/10 James Awful CGI, bland story, predicatable ending, awful acting (except Englund) 1 stars
3/26/10 art IT WAS FIXED! because this was A FRED KRUGER FILM! 4 stars
3/10/10 Giggles Concept too retarded to ever be anything worth watching. 2 stars
1/26/10 art IT WAS DISSAPOINTING! 1 stars
10/22/09 art WHO CARES? 1 stars
2/21/09 Charlie Interesting Concept. Decent Delivery 4 stars
2/19/09 Total Crap It's what you'd expect. Merging a F13 movie with NoES movie. Loved the gore though. 2 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
4/16/08 art WHO CARES? / 1 stars
1/26/08 man lame 1 stars
10/29/07 hank3395 i love seeing 80s slashers pinned together 5 stars
10/03/07 wall dont bother 1 stars
9/18/07 Beau I found it entertaining, it was a well made film, with some framing errors, im now a fan 4 stars
9/15/07 dude avoid 1 stars
6/15/07 Indrid Cold Obviously made for the Freddy/Jason battles and while brief, they don't disappoint. 2 stars
3/23/07 dude I thought it sucked 1 stars
12/28/06 David Pollastrini didn't find it very scary. Liked the concept though. 4 stars
12/20/06 MP Bartley 80s horror cliches should stay in 80s horrors. A total bore. 2 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A decent film. Nothing more, nothing less. 3 stars
9/09/06 Booksworm I've seen better entertainment on a car insurance commercial.Better plots,too 1 stars
6/23/06 The X Fucking gay 2 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Will it ever end 1 stars
12/29/05 chris f great film i loved it 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 the greatest dang one 5 stars
11/27/05 cr good visual effects, cool lines,and a ok story, acting is hit and miss,not scary but gory 3 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Never has a movie been so much fun. The script, the direction, everything is just perfect. 5 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Does a credible job at finding a plausible way to join the franchises, but that's all 2 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns My favorite of either of the series by far. A bloody good time. 5 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Watch it high, it'll make you paranoid. Watch it normal it'll make you stupider. 2 stars
8/23/05 ES If you like either of these characters you'll not be disappointed 4 stars
7/23/05 Nick Great Movie 5 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
6/24/05 Cheif Fight at the end isn't disappointing, but acting, effects, and story sucked. Still Okay tho 3 stars
4/12/05 Phoenix I loved it! Very enjoyable. Final fight scene was awsome. 5 stars
3/11/05 Nick Boyd A bloody mess 1 stars
2/24/05 ELI Good deaths! Acting, script, and everything else sucked though... 2 stars
2/23/05 lol this movie sucks, fuckin' retarded plot. 2 stars
2/12/05 Littlepurch Overly gross but very fun. Final fight very exciting and, i think, well thought-out. 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules it's okay, probably. 3 stars
12/25/04 Freddy loved seeing Freddy kick Jason's ass! 5 stars
11/21/04 Zeus come out with a second one 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey Awesomeness. 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! It was good. 5 stars
11/08/04 Cridic It wasn't the best film u c the girls in da film shit dem selves and it ain't BITCH. 3 stars
10/16/04 My Opinion Is Better Than Yours I liked it ya fucking douchebag motherfuckers!!!! 5 stars
10/03/04 Daveman I'm with Slasher Goddess on this one, this film sucks ass and so do you Meth Lab. 1 stars
9/28/04 Butter G I'd have to say this movie was plotted well. The last fight sucked. Bad graphics. But okay! 3 stars
9/20/04 Dr Shroud. Fucking ace:especially the fight!!!. 5 stars
9/10/04 jeff this movie is amuzing if ur 12 years old. releasin such movies should be illegal. 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Ok, I loved this movie, but I love horror movies in general, except the Village 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth UC this film expecting pure fun and thats what you get, with the odd scare+laugh 5 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... I agree 'gyirsGYuiqE'... It's all FUN! 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel not a bad film at all. if you are a fan of either series, you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
7/02/04 Daveman The sorriest entry into either series although F13th parts V, VI, VII and X come very close 1 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess Despite some good gore, it's a huge disappointment. 1 stars
6/23/04 Littlepurch Strange but i REALLY liked it!More an action thn a horror and its lightheartd and just fun! 5 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 watch this at home in HD and 6.1 dolby - turn up the sub, my shaked - AWESOME! 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark This film was a lot more fun in the theater, but it's a good return to both series 3 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds The best movie Freddy and Jason have done in a while 5 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It was Tight!!!!!! 5 stars
5/28/04 T-Shirt Guy Kickass Shit! 5 stars
5/24/04 Monster W. Kung Way too much time spent on worthless, dumb characters. Average AT BEST, sadly. 3 stars
5/17/04 caleb I liked the part when Freddy came into the real world! 5 stars
5/16/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/14/04 himmy Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose two icons I grew up watching battling it out, very pleased with the end result 5 stars
5/11/04 7 Great fun! fuck the idiots who think it sucked 5 stars
5/09/04 Charlene Javier Ho-hum! 3 stars
5/07/04 Ross Answered a lot of questions regarding Jason 4 stars
5/07/04 dead next door first half is kind of boring but the final with our two heros fighting each other is great. 4 stars
4/15/04 J Funny and Gory! All they need is a different ending!!! *** 5 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart its a bit pointless and spoils the theme of the 2 films in but great gory scenes!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/04/04 J-P Not brilliant, but at least better than I expected. 3 stars
3/29/04 Bill Wilson BORING MOVIE. It sucked! 1 stars
3/28/04 Hoangxuandung Verry Interesting 5 stars
3/25/04 SrM Great popcorn-fun! 5 stars
3/25/04 shaun jackson its the shit 5 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker Needs A Better Ending 4 stars
3/22/04 Taylor very good, i think they should have a Freddy VS. Jason 2. because when freddy winks 4 stars
3/16/04 mr mister since jason has freddys head, ill bet i know what he uses freddys mouth for! 5 stars
3/10/04 bsho76 Interesting plot...not scary enough though 3 stars
3/04/04 david warren it was scary but neather one won 5 stars
3/03/04 me great 5 stars
2/29/04 C I think it wasn't scary and I am ten ! 4 stars
2/24/04 tatum A dumb idea turned into an even dumber film 1 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge More of a comedy than a horror. Predictable and puerile harmless popcorn. 3 stars
2/04/04 Agent Sands Surprisingly good script, excellent camerawork, & good acting. 4 stars
2/01/04 mushroom ken kirzingers "Jason" was all wrong bring back Kain 4 stars
1/29/04 J I hope there's a Freddy vs. Jason Round 2 5 stars
1/27/04 Samuel At the end i expected Ashton Kutcher to jump out and scream you got punked! 3 stars
1/22/04 George Hill This is one movie I'll never forget 5 stars
1/17/04 Miguel Ein gutes film! 5 stars
1/16/04 Yo Crazy Movie, Freddy's the best 5 stars
1/15/04 chase starnes cool 5 stars
1/09/04 Joseph Barale One of the best "Nightmare on Elm St" and "Friday the 13 th" movies ever 5 stars
1/06/04 George GGREAATT 5 stars
1/03/04 A F So entertaining. Freddy rules. 5 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Tottaly Awesome 5 stars
11/30/03 john much to my surprise - a fun ride and a good film 5 stars
11/16/03 Alice A must for all fans despite the terrible acting blondie 4 stars
11/14/03 Michael Dixon A fun, exciting thrillride of a horror movie! 4 stars
11/11/03 The Velcro Warlock Start will appeal to some, with girl showing boobs&butt; the rest is a muddled mess. 2 stars
10/28/03 sex machine billy-bob keeps to the other films enough to work 4 stars
10/19/03 peck Fantastic brilliant when the sequel coming out 5 stars
10/19/03 dead motherf**ker jason kicked freddys ass! 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Eye candy, eye candy! Everywhere I see eye candy! A horror masterpiece! 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Been waiting for this match-up since 1985. I loved every moment of this uber-gory smackdown 5 stars
10/05/03 Fred THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!! 5 stars
10/05/03 Samuel Justus Cabin Fever kicked its ass! well, hell Dickie Roberts kicked its ass!! 1 stars
10/01/03 Iván Not as good as the old gory stuff but still better than the shit released nowadays 4 stars
9/30/03 jawsboy24 A pussy ass flick!!! Where's the gore? Where are the cool kills? Too tame.You know the rest 1 stars
9/18/03 Bebe Too much blood spoiled the movie, but it seemed funny in some scenes^^ 3 stars
9/18/03 Alex Walton I thought the movie kicked ass 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Bunch of Shit!! 1 stars
9/16/03 I Would Huge disappointment, all of the death scenes are ripped off from earlier entries. 1 stars
9/15/03 LoudChris That was fun. I just want to know where Kane Hodder went! 4 stars
9/14/03 Obi Wan Finally Jason shows up at a party and goes to town!! LOL 4 stars
9/06/03 Greg the best movie ever made 5 stars
9/06/03 edward vickers this mpovie is what I have been waiting for!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/06/03 Awesomeguy Awesome.... 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie c'mon - freddy fucking rules. enough said. 5 stars
9/04/03 ChanceHead penis that is infested with crabs and AIDS. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
9/03/03 George Jung Proof that the movie industry has no respect for us. 1 stars
9/02/03 Gray has more than a few problems but beats jason x 4 stars
9/01/03 Koitus Jason being lit on fire, and "the rods" piercing his body? "Stretched" worse than before! 3 stars
8/31/03 I Would Kiss my ass, John. This film blows like every Friday The 13th film and Elm Street sequal. 2 stars
8/30/03 --- it was funny, but anyone who rates it awesome can go fuck themselves 2 stars
8/29/03 DARREN MUCH BETTER THAN IT COULD HAVE BEEN 3 stars
8/29/03 lashuna1028 fake acting, nowhere near scary 2 stars
8/28/03 John It rocks 5 stars
8/28/03 twapayback GOD DAM! (EOM) 5 stars
8/28/03 JJ from da block Freddy vs Jason? Give me Godzilla vs J. Lo's booty 1 stars
8/26/03 chris sweet 5 stars
8/24/03 nick2k the 'battle' was well worth the time sitting thru all those fake boobies. 3 stars
8/24/03 hell ya holy shit...... 5 stars
8/24/03 gladgirlwemadeit erik is dead on,i saw 2thirds fridays and seen all nightmares. good flick for initiated 4 stars
8/24/03 gman Markus, you spell it RETARD with a "D" not RETART, you FUCKING RETARD...good, mindless fun. 5 stars
8/24/03 George Jung Damn, sorry to piss everyone off, but this movie really wasn't that good. 1 stars
8/23/03 Richard D. This movie Rocks! Brutal and messy! Yes! 5 stars
8/23/03 Terrance Rogers Robert Englund is the only one that can play freddy that good 5 stars
8/23/03 hell yeah gets better every time you see it 5 stars
8/22/03 George Jung "Screw you, George Jung!!?" - That's not a question is it ass monkey. 1 stars
8/22/03 Brian i guess i shouldn't have expected so much.... 1 stars
8/21/03 Mickey This shit was more funny than scary. But the fight between the two kicked ass 3 stars
8/21/03 George Jung THE BEST MOVIE EVER for ass monkeys. 1 stars
8/20/03 Obi Wan Suprisingly good...didn't like how it ended for one of the Slashers though. 5 stars
8/20/03 Jack Bourbon Sucks. . . Jason X was much better, and that's a sad statement for FvJ 1 stars
8/20/03 Le'Var Osborne This is one of the best motherf**king movies ever!!!! 5 stars
8/19/03 Jimbo Nice date movie for you and your girl, espically since she will be holding you dick scared. 4 stars
8/19/03 Mike Smith Mandatory watching! 5 stars
8/19/03 john movie kicked ass screw who ever thoguht it was stupid 5 stars
8/19/03 Patherat Film was great JASON rules 4eva 5 stars
8/19/03 Sarah I had high expectations for this movie and wasn't disappointed. Excellent movie! 5 stars
8/18/03 Nick Everything I wanted and expected from this movie was delivered 5 stars
8/18/03 Shaun I've seen it twice and its just as fun 5 stars
8/18/03 Caiphn Suprisingly good. Worth seeing if you've ever had any interest whatsoever in either series. 5 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu Much, MUCH better than I expected. 5 stars
8/17/03 Michael One Badass Fucking Movie! Beats the Shit out of all recent horror movies. Well worth the $ 5 stars
8/17/03 Renegade Bushido The Fight and kills were awesome, fight could have been longer 4 stars
8/17/03 E Most fun I've had at the movies in a long time. Stupid? Not scary? So fucking what? 5 stars
8/17/03 Reese Witherspoon suckzzzzz Silly, stupid, unfunny, not scary. 1 stars
8/17/03 Jon great 5 stars
8/17/03 KingNeutron Would have liked some 4th-wall humor, they missed a perfect Python quote(just a flesh wound 4 stars
8/17/03 makeyougohmmdotcom As far as sequels go, it makes the cut 4 stars
8/17/03 Kagato The final 5 minutes alone are worth the price. 5 stars
8/17/03 Morally Sound Freddy Vs. Jason = One Kick Ass Horror/Action Film! The Best Of Both Series! 5 stars
8/17/03 hjhj shitty 1 stars
8/16/03 Shaun fun.....fun.......fun......fun........fun 5 stars
8/16/03 Kyle FUCK YES. 4 stars
8/16/03 Mickey Waiting for years on this and it was worth the wait! 5 stars
8/16/03 Jiz Holy shit that was the best movie ever. 5 stars
8/15/03 mAsON wILLIaMs THANK GOD THIS MOVIE EXISTS, I HOPE IT MAKES A BILLION! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast