More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.55

Awesome: 29.31%
Worth A Look: 6.9%
Average: 5.17%
Pretty Bad: 6.9%
Total Crap51.72%

3 reviews, 40 user ratings



Grind
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by wintermute

"This film goes from suck to blow."
1 stars

I don't know a lot about skateboarding. But I do know a little bit about movies. And I think it's safe to say that the director of this film is my mirror-universe counterpart.

Because this film was a complete and total waste of my time.

Remember those road movies from the 80's where a group of kids would drive from uncool Rhode Island to mega-cool California in their pursuit of soccer/baseball/videogame stardom? And along the way they would have a series of misadventures, first sexual experiences, and bonding moments?

Remember The Wizard?

Well, director Casey La Scala did the timewarp and brought us all back to 1987, when babes were blonde, breasts were big and your brother's custom van was the coolest vehicle on the planet. Ostensibly set in the modern day, it chronicles the sad, pathetic lives of 3 teenagers and one pedophile as they try to bring make their terribly proletarian dream of becoming professional skateboarders a reality.

La Scala could not have chosen a more bland set of characters if he had been blindfolded and set loose in a coma ward. Ridiculously unfunny fart jokes, stupid grunts, irritating laughs and insulting one liners comprise the "humour" of this "buddy comedy". I "almost" laughed once or twice. In addition, the "Sweet Lou" character, the sandy blonde twenty-something who preys on high school girls is so OBVIOUSLY a carbon copy of Matthew McConaughey's role in Dazed and Confused that it almost seems as though actor Joey Kern is auditioning for a part in a film that has already been shot.

I honestly don't understand how Steven Segal's films go straight to video and yet gems like these slip through to splatter all over the multiplex screens. Somebody is obviously asleep at the switch. This film covers no new ground and merely smears it's stinking verbal excrement over that which it retreads.

Instead of wasting any amount of money on this film, I recomend talking with your kids, riding a bike, or maybe just sitting in your room alone with all the lights off. Naked.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8073&reviewer=321
originally posted: 08/24/03 02:07:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/13 Kyle Not nearly as bad as this guy states.. just a tame, nice live your dream thing.. 5 stars
1/26/10 Danny Certainly not great, but it ddn't suck either. If you dig skateboarding you'll love it. 3 stars
4/08/08 Jason dont bag it fuckheads, if u were offered a role in it ud jump jump at it straight away 5 stars
7/25/07 troy a good movie, but they probably should learn to surf, Chris is dumb 4 stars
11/12/05 elida guillen good movie and good looking guys 5 stars
9/08/05 Chris Skateboarding is NOT s legitamte sport so why was this movie made 1 stars
6/09/05 TPTB... plot was crap, nice skating, good soundtrack 3 stars
6/02/05 adam yeah its bad but i mean come on its just around for a good time 4 stars
2/04/05 Chris If You Like This Movie You Realy Nees \\d To Aquire Some Taste Because It's Garbage 1 stars
11/08/04 Katie this movie is pretty bad.but,all people have opinions so props to those sharing their voice 2 stars
11/06/04 da hood' "I love it because iskate myself." You think that makes you cool, jackass? 2 stars
8/16/04 Joe To All the people who think tihs is a great movie, YOU ARE ALL VERY VERY STUIPD, it sucks 1 stars
8/02/04 Jeff Lisko Great movie for anyone thats a fan of skating or anyone with asense of humor 5 stars
7/31/04 carlee i luved it just cause i skate myself 5 stars
7/30/04 Amber i love this movie it is awesome whoever said it sucks is a loser!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *peace* 5 stars
7/29/04 Casey This movie is awesome! 5 stars
7/15/04 abbi mckiny i dont know about the other stars of the movie but the mike vogel (eric) is a real skater 5 stars
7/12/04 Josh GREAT MOVIE!!!!! o and all u critics dont know what your talking about 5 stars
6/26/04 Riki I thought the film was halarious, a little pointless, but entertaining! 4 stars
5/26/04 Karine this movie s filled with humor and fun. must see (hot guys, too!!) 5 stars
5/05/04 Tyler Wickersham Awesome 5 stars
4/02/04 scott fukin rocks 5 stars
3/31/04 daddy g awesome...great movie 5 stars
3/27/04 Jake Entertainment for the severly brain damaged only this is beyond stupid 1 stars
3/22/04 skater_chick AWESOME!!!...ADAM BRODY...DAMN HOTT! 5 stars
3/21/04 Sniffy Not the best, but damn that Adam Brody does it for me! :) 3 stars
2/19/04 me bad 1 stars
2/16/04 Natasha Theobald see "Dogtown and Z-Boys" instead 2 stars
2/15/04 LovelyArsenic I'm Loving It, so feck off to those who don't 5 stars
9/22/03 Collin Entertainment for the Stupid skateboarder masses, you'd have to be stupid to like this 1 stars
9/17/03 Natalie Stonecipher I'd give this a better name --- SKATEBORED! 2 stars
9/07/03 Amanda Extremely funny, not the best script but it kept me laughing through the whole movie!!! 4 stars
9/04/03 eddie DUDE, LIKE WHOOAAA.....i hope those skateboarding faggots cripple themselves. gay stuff. 1 stars
8/24/03 dave just when gigli set the bar, grind re-invents 1 stars
8/24/03 gman walked out halfway through, went home, and cried naked on the bed with all the lights off 1 stars
8/22/03 Brian doing the same thing at my theater that extreme days did a year ago...nothing 1 stars
8/21/03 Madison Freaken funny i love it adam is so funny i love evrything he said and love the dance scence 5 stars
8/16/03 Markus Rubish 1 stars
8/15/03 Collin Stupid, Mindless Ascinine, Pointless, Mindless, Poorly Concieved Garbage 1 stars
8/10/03 bluepers try to catch your breathes between hillarious comedy and awesome stunts 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 27-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Feb-2004


Directed by
  Casey La Scala

Written by
  Ralph Sall

Cast
  Mike Vogel
  Vince Vieluf
  Jason London
  Jennifer Morrison
  Joey Kern
  Lindsay Felton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast