More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.49

Awesome: 19.3%
Worth A Look: 5.26%
Average: 14.04%
Pretty Bad: 28.07%
Total Crap33.33%

4 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Uptown Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Not really worth the Uptown location."
3 stars

It's yet another "spoiled bitch forced to actually work for a living" type deal here.

I don't usually watch this kind of film - ones that fall under the "chick flick" label - but you do what you can to keep yourself in the good graces of your wife. I feel so whipped sometimes. But I digress.

Brittany Murphy is Molly Gunn, the aforementioned spoiled bitch... well, not really that much of a bitch, but she still lives a lavish party-girl lifestyle as a rock star's daughter, the offspring of the late guitar god Tommy Gunn. This lifestyle comes to a crashing halt when the accountant managing Tommy Gunn's assets flees the country with those assets.

All of a sudden, Molly is broke and penniless, and is forced to crash at friends' apartments and find a job. Her employment search leads her to become a nanny for Ray (Dakota Fanning), the young daughter of Roma Schleine (Heather Locklear), a busy record executive. Ray is just about the polar opposite of Molly: high-class, reserved and germophobic. Despite the initial clashes and reality checks, the usual female bonding eventually ensues. Oh yeah, and there's a love interest for Molly thrown into the mix: Neal, a tortured-soul-type rock artist (Jesse Spencer).

The acting here is decent, but the cliche-sprinkled story leaves a little to be desired. Some things don't make sense... such as, can we really expect an eight-year-old girl to make it from an uptown Manhattan residence to a kiddie ride in the middle of Coney Island all by herself? After dark, even? And after all that's said and done, the ending to this film is sweet yet quite abrupt, not giving the story a chance to actually wrap everything up fulfillingly.

Uptown Girls is a fairly good film for the female crowd that could have been better if not for its awkward moments.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8075&reviewer=9
originally posted: 11/28/03 03:51:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/11 art DAKOTA is really a MINI-ME CLONE of BRITANY! 1 stars
6/20/08 PAUL SHORTT TAKES AN OBVIOUS COMIC SITUATION AND MISSES THE EASY LAUGHS BY MILES 2 stars
5/27/06 sachin manseta 5 stars
5/10/06 Jenna It was a good movie 5 stars
3/22/06 Katie<3 This movies was amazing. i absolutely ADORED it. whoever says its bad doesn't know anything 5 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes Dakota's the only bright spot of the sad-sack party 1 stars
7/22/05 ali aas 1 stars
3/06/05 ashley humphrey none 4 stars
1/29/05 blueviolet I was expecting a fun movie but it was depressing and bummed me out 3 stars
1/24/05 ASHA COOPER it suck's bad 1 stars
7/07/04 ali ali 5 stars
3/27/04 Nicole Aww this movies so cute.. birtneys a good actress to! 5 stars sexi mammi! 5 stars
3/23/04 Danielle THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!! 5 stars
2/22/04 carrie Pretty cute movie...would see again! 4 stars
2/15/04 Jingo P. Murphytalent rates somewhere with the left testicle of a wildebeast. 1 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Awful performances and unfunny screenplay; one of the worst of 2003. 1 stars
1/10/04 Me This is a great movie. It is worth seeing. 5 stars
1/08/04 KICK ASS OR DONT COME HOME! those 2 are like micheal jackson and peter pan,just hideous!!!! 2 stars
12/02/03 Chris We all know what to expect by the poster (chick flick) but it's a good one. 4 stars
11/10/03 Rhonda Blankenship Annoying for a while, then threatens to end repeatedly, before real (supposedly happy) end 3 stars
11/09/03 Allison O'Silla Another stinkin' BM movie. When'll BM learn what makes for good flicks? 2 stars
11/07/03 Green Beret Packers Brittany Murphy must've done this film to make JUST MARRIED look comparatively good. 1 stars
9/28/03 Willow Rosenberg I fucking LOVED this movie! Brittany Murphy is awesome. 5 stars
9/23/03 Torrey Dixson It was great I want to meet dakota and be like her. 5 stars
8/31/03 Alice killfanning.com 1 stars
8/30/03 your worst goddamn nightmare this movie sucked ass, but i snuggled to a gorgeous girl so i'll give it an extra point! 2 stars
8/29/03 Mack Intosh Holy mother of god, does this movie STINK! 1 stars
8/26/03 Chrys come on people. help get rid of fucking nauseating precocious kids, a la fanning. 1 stars
8/22/03 johnny brittany needs to eat a carrot 1 stars
8/20/03 Arianna great full of exitment 5 stars
8/18/03 MEEE great fun 5 stars
8/16/03 Jin Murphy is rotten and her cutesy routine is so played... 1 stars
8/15/03 Atanu Nauseating kid. Fanning should be banned from the industry. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Nov-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast