More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.1

Awesome27.34%
Worth A Look: 18.75%
Average: 15.63%
Pretty Bad: 13.28%
Total Crap: 25%

6 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jeepers Creepers 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"More from the Creeper...for whatever that's worth."
2 stars

Five or six years from now, we'll look back at 2003 as a year in which the Horror Genre enjoyed a small but very healthy revolution. Movies like "28 Days Later", "May", "Cabin Fever" and "Bubba Ho-tep" have reinvigorated the genre and its many fans. And if we dig a lot closer, we MAY remember that 2003 also gave us the likes of "Wrong Turn", "House of 1,000 Corpses" and "Jeepers Creepers 2"...although I doubt it.

Though hardly any sort of mini-classic, Victor Salva's original Jeepers Creepers was met with a small sense of enthusiasm upon its theatrical (and subsequent video) release - mainly because it was a fitfully entertaining Monster Movie featuring an effectively creepy creature. The first half of the film in particular was quite impressive - before the ideas ran out and the flick slowly veered closer to cookie-cutter territory.

The sequel continues the trend put forth in the original's second half and not its first. Quite simply, Jeepers Creepers 2 offers a whole lotta not much and does it staunchly and consistently for 90-some minutes. In a threadbare attempt to recall Hitchcock's Lifeboat, Salva this time plunks his entree of eventual victims into a broken-down school bus and lets us peer in as several of them get skewered and shish-kabobed.

In a subplot lifted from the semi-admired cult flick Pumpkinhead, we're also presented with a grieving farmer daddy caught up in Monster Vigilante mode. This diversion does help to pad out the flick's meager running time and offers easily-pleased moviegoers a few chances to cheer at all the gritty machismo - but that's about it.

Certainly a B-level horror sequel can succeed despite such a blatantly one-note narrative, but Jeepers Creepers 2 isn't really one of them. Since the entire movie consists of one bus, one flying monster and several teenagers...you know precisely what you're in for: a hefty body count that's predicated by protagonist personality (which in other words means: the most obnoxious ones earn the ugliest deaths) and a finale that runs on about three fake-jolts too long.

In an effort to tie both films together while explaining the "Creeper" and his motivations, Salva has cooked up a handful of truly insipid plot devices, most notably one teenage girl who seems to suddenly share some sort of "exposition ESP". This allows her to spout all sorts of story explanation so the audience can keep up...as if we're watching something that's particularly brain-taxing.

The bare minimum that a horror flick can offer and still earn a recommendation is quite simply: the goods, the gore, the kills, the scares. In nearly every case, Jeepers Creepers 2 fails resoundingly. Most of the death scenes consist of two scaly claws digging into a victim's shoulders, the soon-to-be-dead looks confused and scared before being yanked skyward, remaining screamers look up and howl with terror. By the time the few creative kills wander onscreen, you'll be too bored to care.

Points are due to Salva and company for at least tackling the horror with some small semblance of creativity. The Creeper is quite the compelling little devil; too bad he's realized amidst such familiar trappings and tiresome caricatures.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8105&reviewer=128
originally posted: 09/11/03 19:30:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/09/09 Chris F a lot better than the first film 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
7/11/08 Renzo real corny horror flick 1 stars
4/26/07 David Risser Just another flick where people are picked off one by one by a giant Bat. 2 stars
3/28/07 Stanley Thai Want a thrilling action film? Well, here you go. 4 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Even sh*ttier than the first, campier; Why do they make sequels to stupid films? 1 stars
8/02/06 dan cant call this film horror,pretty boring thriller 2 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Interesting concept from first film is forgotten here. 2 stars
6/21/06 roger fenton awesome i liked it alote 5 stars
4/24/06 Annie More special effects than the 1st movie had, but 1st is still way better! 3 stars
12/10/05 cody Better than part 1, fun action horror flick with cool cast ,good acting,good storyand scary 4 stars
9/05/05 Tom Burns A very entertaining action/horror movie. Loved it. 5 stars
8/18/05 ES if you like wrestling & the sequels to highlander and the crow, then this movie is for you 1 stars
8/18/05 --- Comic book action flick, not scary like the first 3 stars
8/14/05 Annie It was a very good movie and my family can't wait for Jeepers Creepers 3! 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Jeepers Creepers where'd ya get that sjitty movie? 1 stars
7/03/05 Eddie FUCKING PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
5/26/05 Channy C'mon it was baps man they both are nasty and nasty iz great!!!! 5 stars
5/20/05 E-FUNK The Creeper is a tired, ass-sucking waste of a monster in an equally retarded sequel. Avoid 1 stars
11/26/04 jesse wetherell thisfilmshouldnothavebeen.itwasn'tgoodenoughforhollywood,notcampyenoughforB-moviestatus 1 stars
11/15/04 Gabby Really enjoyed the first one. What the hell happened with this load of devil vomit???? 2 stars
9/28/04 Butter G Shamefull sequal. Not better than 1st. in 1st its good until u find out its a bird creature 2 stars
9/04/04 Fred C'MON!!! IT'S GOOD 5 stars
9/01/04 Andy Edge RAT INFESTED FAECAL MATTER 1 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G gay 2 stars
8/03/04 Joseph Barale A real hell of a time 5 stars
7/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Sucks big time, all the Creeper does this time is fly in the sky 1 stars
7/10/04 jmsynth the only scary thing is it's current "awsome" rating 1 stars
6/23/04 jelisa smith I thought it was alright 4 stars
6/23/04 Freeman Great Movie 5 stars
6/07/04 ANOMOUS I love this movie 5 stars
5/20/04 kektex damn you victor salva for giving this world such a crappy line of movies... 1 stars
4/28/04 gray made by a pervert 1 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart its better than the first one not as intense though but its a great teen film!!! 4 stars
3/26/04 S-P Only good thing about this was the creepers makeup- the rest sucked 2 stars
3/17/04 mr mister the creeper is real! he lives in my yard! argh! 3 stars
3/16/04 Nadia This is by far the scariest and best horror movie i have ever seen. 5 stars
3/10/04 bsho76 A lot better than I expected it to be...not too bad for a sequel 3 stars
2/26/04 Joseph Barale Smashing 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Creepy 5 stars
2/20/04 Bianca Al Santos was hot I liked the movie too! 5 stars
2/13/04 Dillon AWESOME 5 stars
2/11/04 jodie jeppers creepers 2 is excellent especially with Al Santos in it he is fit and sexy 5 stars
1/28/04 Hank Great 5 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Extremely disappointing, all the Creeper does is fly in the sky. 1 stars
1/24/04 Fred Cool 5 stars
1/23/04 yummyme I like Al Santos... he's hot! And also like the shirtless guy at the last part of the film 3 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Silly, but very amusing horror-comedy; OK performances. 3 stars
1/12/04 George Hill I like it 5 stars
1/06/04 George wowww coooooll movie really see it! 5 stars
12/29/03 Anonymous This Film Is Insulting Compared to the first only the deleted scenes are worth a look 2 stars
12/27/03 lmo Not as good as 1st one, but worth seeing so you know what happens when 3rd one comes out! 4 stars
12/26/03 Sara Good movie, but the 1st one is better 4 stars
12/26/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A stupid ass sequel to an even stupider ass movie. 1 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Not bad. 3 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/08/03 trevor gamble it was very exciting 4 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth Wasn't scared by the film. I am scared by the 25% vote of awsome + the 27% for worth a look 1 stars
11/27/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/20/03 Max GREAT 5 stars
11/16/03 Alice Could hold me in his grip the first 40 minutes after that it went downhill 4 stars
11/11/03 jimmy d it was a masterpeice. but when i got home my scarecrow lunged at me with a reaping hook! 5 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess Laughable characters, hilarious dialouge, Creeper spends most of the time flying in the sky 1 stars
10/20/03 Gary Good movie 4 stars
10/20/03 here a good film 4 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee So-so beginning, super-cool ending. The Creeper is still my favorite monster! 4 stars
10/16/03 Mitsuki This movie is great! Way better than FvsJ and any other horror out this year. 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant After a very cool opening sequence the Creeper becomes an annoying ass-sucker movie. 2 stars
10/07/03 seta my favorite monster of all time 5 stars
10/05/03 Samuel Justus Freddy Vs Jason ?? Jeepers Creepers 2 ?? Fuck that!! Cabin Fever kicked both films asses!!! 5 stars
10/02/03 Angie not as good as the first one, but a movie i would watch again 4 stars
9/28/03 Redpajammas a good film 4 stars
9/25/03 Collin Stuipd, Stupd, Stupid Go see Freddy Vs Jason its a better flick that has a sence of humor 1 stars
9/22/03 Jim GREAT 5 stars
9/18/03 Timmy great 5 stars
9/18/03 larry Awesome movie 5 stars
9/18/03 Kristin This movie is a really awesome creature feature! What the reviewer said was totally wrong! 5 stars
9/17/03 BB Entertaining while you watch it, retarded to think about afterwards 2 stars
9/14/03 Rick better than the first 5 stars
9/14/03 nr good 4 stars
9/14/03 Obi Wan Much better than the first one, but dunno if that's saying much. Good for 1 viewing 3 stars
9/04/03 Hekx As much suspense as a trip to the toilet. 1 stars
9/04/03 snowconehead More of the idiots should have died. Shame. 4 stars
9/03/03 maxomai schlock, but fun schlock. 4 stars
9/02/03 Joey Better than the first 5 stars
9/02/03 blog blog blog Crappy slasher manure. If you're dumb enough to like Freddy v Jason, you may like this shit 1 stars
8/31/03 John A very good sequel 5 stars
8/31/03 Zerocool A total bogus movie, didn't liked it at all, Part 1 was better 1 stars
8/30/03 John Very scary 5 stars
8/30/03 Boombah Baby Trashy. Come on, can't they do better than this? 2 stars
8/30/03 Mag Pye Pretty good. Maybe it was the hash? 4 stars
8/22/03 Crocface Saw it at the fantasia festival 2003 and I love it 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 23-Dec-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Feb-2004


Directed by
  Victor Salva

Written by
  Victor Salva

Cast
  Jonathan Breck
  Ray Wise
  Nicki Lynn Aycox
  Drew Bell
  Billy Aaron Brown
  Kasan Butcher



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast