More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.12

Awesome27.69%
Worth A Look: 19.23%
Average: 15.38%
Pretty Bad: 13.08%
Total Crap: 24.62%

6 reviews, 94 user ratings



Jeepers Creepers 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Lots of teens die, but at least they're not killing each other."
4 stars

The first part of this review will be about the movie "Jeepers Creepers 2," and only about the movie. The second part will address some external factors that may color one's view of the film and that have been weighing heavily upon me.

First, the movie. It is a sequel to the mildly successful 2001 horror film in which two teens, a brother and sister, flee a man-eating monster that uses its victims' body parts to replace its own as they wear out, thus giving itself immortality. "Jeepers creepers, where'd you get those peepers?" is how the old song goes, and the answer here is, "I got them from that kid I killed," which you will admit is not an especially catchy lyric for a pop song.

At any rate, the deal was that this monster awakens every 23 years and feeds for 23 days before going into hibernation again. This bit of information seemed irrelevant at the time, but in the sequel, taking place just days after the first film, it matters. For you see, it is now day 23. If those being pursued by the monster can last one more day, they will be safe.

The intended victims this time around are a team of high school basketball players. (The creature, like the film's director, seems to prefer the flesh of young boys -- but I promised I would wait before getting into that, didn't I?) The boys, fresh off a state championship, are returning home by bus, traveling with a school newspaper reporter, a couple coaches, some cheerleaders, the whole entourage.

Then they get a flat tire in the middle of nowhere, and then it gets dark, and then the winged monster starts swooping in from out of nowhere and carrying them off one by one. Do the remaining students stay on the bus, where it's relatively safe but where they have no way of summoning help, or do they make a break for the farmhouse that must surely be down the road?

Writer/director Victor Salva (who pulled the same double-duty on the first film) is a student of horror films and has demonstrated in his "Jeepers Creepers" series that he knows a cliché and how to avoid it. The result is that the "JC" movies are several degrees less loathsome than your average teenage slasher flick, even if that's what they really are at heart.

What Salva forgets, though, is that the less you see a monster, the scarier it is. The earlier film kept the creature mostly hidden until the last couple reels -- which is when the film became significantly less frightening, too. This time around, the monster is highly visible right from the start. We see him way too much, up close too often, and we grow too accustomed to his ghastly, fearsome face.

Salva does know the value of a good claustrophobic setting, though. Being hunted by a monster is scary enough; being hunted while trapped in a small space like a school bus is even better. There are many quiet, suspenseful moments, and more than a few thrilling surprise attacks. The special effects are universally seamless and organic: You don't notice them, and that's impressive.

I have not mentioned the cast. Nothing against them, but they're not very memorable. The characters are a little more fleshed-out than usual, but I still had trouble telling many of them apart. Ray Wise plays a father bent on revenge after his son was abducted by the monster in the film's prologue, and I guess the lead student would be Scott, played as an arrogant sore winner (he didn't get enough time on the court, apparently) by Eric Nenninger.

Salva used a psychic to tell us the story in the first film; this time one of the girls on the bus, named, improbably, Minxie (Nicki Lynn Aycox), has some prophetic dreams that give her the low-down. Admittedly, it would be hard for the kids to learn about the monster and its 23-day feeding cycle otherwise, since they're stuck on a bus with no outside communication. But couldn't one of the students have heard the legend before? For that matter, do they even need to know? With or without intricate details about the monster, their strategy is the same: Don't let it eat you.

Aside from a ridiculous epilogue, the film offers enough chills and adventure to sustain itself. It is a genre picture, for sure, but a reasonably good one.

Then there is the matter of Victor Salva himself. In 1988, he confessed to having sexually molested a 12-year-old boy. When Salva's film "Powder" was released in 1995, the boy staged public protests against Salva and Disney (which released the film), saying audiences should not support a man who had been a child molester.

My position, generally, is that a director or actor's real life should have no bearing on how one views his films. It is unfair to judge a movie on anything other than the movie itself. If you're going to allow factors like an actor's private life or a director's criminal record to determine whether the movie is good or not, then you might as well also factor in things like the temperature in the theater and the quality of the popcorn.

That said, Salva doesn't do himself any favors by taking every possible opportunity to photograph his young, smooth male actors with their shirts off. On its own, it's absurd, perhaps even amusing, to see the teens go topless so often; but knowing Salva's past and what surely prompted such costuming methods, it's creepy. The creature's attitude toward the young men -- leering at them, choosing his favorites, even licking its lips -- is all the more unsettling if one compares the monster's fondness for the boys to Salva's.

If I were guilty of Salva's crimes, and if I were truly sorry for my actions, I would take every precaution thereafter to manifest to the world my reformation and repentance. I wouldn't allow anything to appear in my work that would give skeptics fuel for believing I was the same old lech I had been before.

Salva is either outrageously ignorant of public perception, or else he is flipping us all off. "Yeah, I like to look at young-looking men with their shirts off," he seems to say. "What are you going to do about it?"

The answer to that question is up to the individual. I can recommend the film on its own merits as a competently made, relatively scary horror flick. The writer/director's attitude and history don't necessarily have to play a part in one's decision to see or not see the movie. It's just something to think about.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8105&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/31/03 10:53:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/01/16 Aj wales Better than first. But i think two is enough. We have seen the creeper. No more interest fo 4 stars
6/06/15 sirgalahadXL5 saw 1 & 2 and loved them both & anxiously await JC3 etc. 5 stars
4/09/09 Chris F a lot better than the first film 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
7/11/08 Renzo real corny horror flick 1 stars
4/26/07 David Risser Just another flick where people are picked off one by one by a giant Bat. 2 stars
3/28/07 Stanley Thai Want a thrilling action film? Well, here you go. 4 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Even sh*ttier than the first, campier; Why do they make sequels to stupid films? 1 stars
8/02/06 dan cant call this film horror,pretty boring thriller 2 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Interesting concept from first film is forgotten here. 2 stars
6/21/06 roger fenton awesome i liked it alote 5 stars
4/24/06 Annie More special effects than the 1st movie had, but 1st is still way better! 3 stars
12/10/05 cody Better than part 1, fun action horror flick with cool cast ,good acting,good storyand scary 4 stars
9/05/05 Tom Burns A very entertaining action/horror movie. Loved it. 5 stars
8/18/05 ES if you like wrestling & the sequels to highlander and the crow, then this movie is for you 1 stars
8/18/05 --- Comic book action flick, not scary like the first 3 stars
8/14/05 Annie It was a very good movie and my family can't wait for Jeepers Creepers 3! 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Jeepers Creepers where'd ya get that sjitty movie? 1 stars
7/03/05 Eddie FUCKING PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
5/26/05 Channy C'mon it was baps man they both are nasty and nasty iz great!!!! 5 stars
5/20/05 E-FUNK The Creeper is a tired, ass-sucking waste of a monster in an equally retarded sequel. Avoid 1 stars
11/26/04 jesse wetherell thisfilmshouldnothavebeen.itwasn'tgoodenoughforhollywood,notcampyenoughforB-moviestatus 1 stars
11/15/04 Gabby Really enjoyed the first one. What the hell happened with this load of devil vomit???? 2 stars
9/28/04 Butter G Shamefull sequal. Not better than 1st. in 1st its good until u find out its a bird creature 2 stars
9/04/04 Fred C'MON!!! IT'S GOOD 5 stars
9/01/04 Andy Edge RAT INFESTED FAECAL MATTER 1 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G gay 2 stars
8/03/04 Joseph Barale A real hell of a time 5 stars
7/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Sucks big time, all the Creeper does this time is fly in the sky 1 stars
7/10/04 jmsynth the only scary thing is it's current "awsome" rating 1 stars
6/23/04 jelisa smith I thought it was alright 4 stars
6/23/04 Freeman Great Movie 5 stars
6/07/04 ANOMOUS I love this movie 5 stars
5/20/04 kektex damn you victor salva for giving this world such a crappy line of movies... 1 stars
4/28/04 gray made by a pervert 1 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart its better than the first one not as intense though but its a great teen film!!! 4 stars
3/26/04 S-P Only good thing about this was the creepers makeup- the rest sucked 2 stars
3/17/04 mr mister the creeper is real! he lives in my yard! argh! 3 stars
3/16/04 Nadia This is by far the scariest and best horror movie i have ever seen. 5 stars
3/10/04 bsho76 A lot better than I expected it to be...not too bad for a sequel 3 stars
2/26/04 Joseph Barale Smashing 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Creepy 5 stars
2/20/04 Bianca Al Santos was hot I liked the movie too! 5 stars
2/13/04 Dillon AWESOME 5 stars
2/11/04 jodie jeppers creepers 2 is excellent especially with Al Santos in it he is fit and sexy 5 stars
1/28/04 Hank Great 5 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Extremely disappointing, all the Creeper does is fly in the sky. 1 stars
1/24/04 Fred Cool 5 stars
1/23/04 yummyme I like Al Santos... he's hot! And also like the shirtless guy at the last part of the film 3 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Silly, but very amusing horror-comedy; OK performances. 3 stars
1/12/04 George Hill I like it 5 stars
1/06/04 George wowww coooooll movie really see it! 5 stars
12/29/03 Anonymous This Film Is Insulting Compared to the first only the deleted scenes are worth a look 2 stars
12/27/03 lmo Not as good as 1st one, but worth seeing so you know what happens when 3rd one comes out! 4 stars
12/26/03 Sara Good movie, but the 1st one is better 4 stars
12/26/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A stupid ass sequel to an even stupider ass movie. 1 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Not bad. 3 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/08/03 trevor gamble it was very exciting 4 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth Wasn't scared by the film. I am scared by the 25% vote of awsome + the 27% for worth a look 1 stars
11/27/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/20/03 Max GREAT 5 stars
11/16/03 Alice Could hold me in his grip the first 40 minutes after that it went downhill 4 stars
11/11/03 jimmy d it was a masterpeice. but when i got home my scarecrow lunged at me with a reaping hook! 5 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess Laughable characters, hilarious dialouge, Creeper spends most of the time flying in the sky 1 stars
10/20/03 Gary Good movie 4 stars
10/20/03 here a good film 4 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee So-so beginning, super-cool ending. The Creeper is still my favorite monster! 4 stars
10/16/03 Mitsuki This movie is great! Way better than FvsJ and any other horror out this year. 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant After a very cool opening sequence the Creeper becomes an annoying ass-sucker movie. 2 stars
10/07/03 seta my favorite monster of all time 5 stars
10/05/03 Samuel Justus Freddy Vs Jason ?? Jeepers Creepers 2 ?? Fuck that!! Cabin Fever kicked both films asses!!! 5 stars
10/02/03 Angie not as good as the first one, but a movie i would watch again 4 stars
9/28/03 Redpajammas a good film 4 stars
9/25/03 Collin Stuipd, Stupd, Stupid Go see Freddy Vs Jason its a better flick that has a sence of humor 1 stars
9/22/03 Jim GREAT 5 stars
9/18/03 Timmy great 5 stars
9/18/03 larry Awesome movie 5 stars
9/18/03 Kristin This movie is a really awesome creature feature! What the reviewer said was totally wrong! 5 stars
9/17/03 BB Entertaining while you watch it, retarded to think about afterwards 2 stars
9/14/03 Rick better than the first 5 stars
9/14/03 nr good 4 stars
9/14/03 Obi Wan Much better than the first one, but dunno if that's saying much. Good for 1 viewing 3 stars
9/04/03 Hekx As much suspense as a trip to the toilet. 1 stars
9/04/03 snowconehead More of the idiots should have died. Shame. 4 stars
9/03/03 maxomai schlock, but fun schlock. 4 stars
9/02/03 Joey Better than the first 5 stars
9/02/03 blog blog blog Crappy slasher manure. If you're dumb enough to like Freddy v Jason, you may like this shit 1 stars
8/31/03 John A very good sequel 5 stars
8/31/03 Zerocool A total bogus movie, didn't liked it at all, Part 1 was better 1 stars
8/30/03 John Very scary 5 stars
8/30/03 Boombah Baby Trashy. Come on, can't they do better than this? 2 stars
8/30/03 Mag Pye Pretty good. Maybe it was the hash? 4 stars
8/22/03 Crocface Saw it at the fantasia festival 2003 and I love it 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Aug-2003 (R)
  DVD: 23-Dec-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Feb-2004


Directed by
  Victor Salva

Written by
  Victor Salva

Cast
  Jonathan Breck
  Ray Wise
  Nicki Lynn Aycox
  Drew Bell
  Billy Aaron Brown
  Kasan Butcher



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast