More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 24.83%
Worth A Look30.34%
Average: 17.24%
Pretty Bad: 19.31%
Total Crap: 8.28%

7 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Once Upon a Time in Mexico
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A big jumbled bloody mess ... but a fun one."
4 stars

Time was, a film making only $25 million would not warrant a sequel. But in a year when even something like "Jeepers Creepers" gets a follow-up, we have "Once Upon a Time in Mexico," the sequel to 1995's "Desperado" (itself a sequel to the ultra-low-budget "El Mariachi," 1992).

It is all the handiwork of Robert Rodriguez, a film industry maverick and jack-of-all-trades. He handled the writing, directing, photographing, editing, producing and scoring of this film, and he has multi-tasked on his other work, too, including the recent trilogy of "Spy Kids" flicks. There is always a singularity of vision about his movies, an energy that carries from screenplay to scene composition to editing. You can tell it's the work of the same talented man, and there's a certain excitement to seeing a movie made that way.

"Once Upon a Time in Mexico" has more of the same exuberant violence and bloodshed that marked "El Mariachi" and "Desperado," where the force of being shot often propels victims backward and airborne several yards, where the bloodless gunshot wounds of old-time Westerns are a thing of the past, and where even the good guys can get shot, too (though they often live to tell about it). Such extremities are an acquired taste, certainly, though the cool stylization of the wanton bloodshed is undeniably impressive, whether you happen to like looking at it or not.

This time around, El Mariachi (Antonio Banderas), the brooding guitarist/gunfighter, is approached with a special mission by a CIA agent named Sands (Johnny Depp). A drug lord named Marquez (Gerardo Vigil) is going to assassinate the Mexican president, stage a coup, and assume leadership of the country. Sands wants El Mariachi to kill Marquez AFTER he takes out the president but BEFORE he can take control.

El Mariachi is preoccupied with mourning the apparent demise of his lover Carolina (Salma Hayek), mourning being a running theme for him in these films. He actually disappears from the film for a while, as Rodriguez focuses a lot of attention on Johnny Depp's scene-stealing CIA agent. (Amazingly, Depp does for this film what he did for "Pirates of the Caribbean," i.e., he saves it, overhauls it and makes it worth watching.)

The film gets extremely bogged down in its side plots, though. I'm honestly at a loss to explain who everyone is, or why they want the various other people dead. I know only that most of them get their wish. I know there's Willem Dafoe as a drug guy who wants to alter his face so as to be unrecognizable, and a female Mexican agent (Eva Mendes) who has a history with Sands, and Mickey Rourke as an American who's involved somehow, and also a chihuahua that sort of figures in and sort of doesn't, and Cheech Marin and Danny Trejo and Enrique Iglesias and a million others. It's one of the busiest films I've seen, especially when the busyness is viewed in ratio to how much is actually accomplished.

Depp's performance, as parenthetically mentioned, is the best reason to see the film, the audacious violence being the second-best. It never runs short on energy, and such frantic endeavors can make a film fun without making it, you know, good.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8131&reviewer=247
originally posted: 09/13/03 08:35:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/12 GEORGE B. FEIST LOVE THE HUMOR...over the top and actors have fun 4 stars
11/09/11 Jeff Wilder Hayek underused and the plot is overstuffed. Good action though. 3 stars
9/07/10 BC Entertaining the first time, but when you view it a 2nd time, you realize how dumb it is 3 stars
3/25/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Mind-blowing action and funny dialogue 4 stars
11/12/08 PAUL SHORTT A MINDLESS TEDIOUS ORGY OF VIOLENCE 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight Story is pretty terrible, but it doesnt matter because the cast rocks 4 stars
2/17/08 SamanthaP super bloody and violent and awesome, and Johnny was hot!!! 4 stars
10/29/07 Hester Less style and tightness than desperado, some cool scenes 2 stars
10/02/07 Double M A Rodriguez movie that has Banderas, Depp, Dafoe, Rourke (!) should be better. still, fun.. 3 stars
1/26/07 Artist Bill Silly putty is more entertaining... 2 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller Admittedly all over the friggin' place but damned entertaining and a hell of a good time. 4 stars
7/22/06 Agent Sands One of Depp's most entertaining characters. 4 stars
7/01/06 R.W.Welch Desperado on a big budget. Moves well, good stunt work. 3 stars
6/27/06 Ashley Hinz Horrible excuse for a movie. 1 stars
6/16/06 Michele loved it 5 stars
6/13/06 Indrid Cold Why have Mickey Rourke and Willem Dafoe in your movie if they don't do anything? 3 stars
5/26/06 William Goss Has its moments and performances, but underwhelming on the visceral front. 3 stars
5/19/06 drydock54321 this is not for me 2 stars
4/29/06 RK Rodriguez's movies are always stylish and entertaining 3 stars
2/21/06 Striker An insult to Desperado(1995) 1 stars
11/01/05 missjie86 Throw logic and reason out the window and just enjoy the ride. 4 stars
10/12/05 Maddison I have seen this movie over a million times and it took my breath away. i loved Johnny depp 5 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands Rodriguez's best movie, hands down. Depp steals every scene, even the ones he isn't in. 4 stars
10/08/05 Wisamane Dont listin to the people under me, this movie is incredible with the action it provides! 5 stars
8/16/05 me bandage man is sexy, i also happen to be mentally ill 5 stars
8/12/05 Kelly there is not enough space to tell how awful it was!i walked out!!!Go rent Desperado instead 1 stars
6/22/05 Agent Sands (re-post) lol im jk this movie is GAY just like me 1 stars
6/08/05 Naruto Absolute waste of time 1 stars
3/16/05 Andrea Worst Depp movie I've ever seen. Plot is way too confusing. Who is who?? 2 stars
2/23/05 malcolm where the hell was salma hayek 2 stars
1/02/05 Fred An empty, nonsense movie 1 stars
11/21/04 psycho black dwarf Bad idea to draw comparison to Leone w/ this hohum hocum. 3 stars
11/14/04 ELI This movie was DRY! Needed more blood. 3 stars
9/05/04 AL No plot, no characters. Lots of shooting. crap 1 stars
8/25/04 Agent Sands Rodriguez's hands-down best movie. This is Depp's best role to date, hence my name. 5 stars
8/21/04 ALDO way 2 confusing...way to many characters..disappointing 2 stars
8/19/04 courtney lost me during the movie but still good action 4 stars
7/20/04 Ionicera I didn't get what was going on but I was also playing Isketch at the same time 3 stars
7/08/04 Denise Johnny Depp is terrific, brilliant, and funny 5 stars
7/02/04 DM Nothing special, but enjoyable enough 4 stars
6/26/04 Alex weirdly good 5 stars
6/21/04 milehigh Proves it doesn't take $100 Million and a crew of thousands to create garbage. 2 stars
6/20/04 zoila were was film 3 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot visually superb,its fun,it ain't gonna change the face of cinema.. 4 stars
5/01/04 Ray Amazing in a rare way!! 5 stars
4/07/04 yosharto Depp n Banderas were way hot!even wen eyes were takin outt!sharting!shoud have been it dis! 4 stars
3/28/04 Kev *Yawn* What is this crap? 2 stars
3/24/04 Margie another great character for depp. But still weird. i guess if you go along with it it's OK 4 stars
3/17/04 CoLLeeN when was done i wanted to watch it again to try and catch what i missed.then i thought why? 4 stars
3/10/04 Ash Yet again, Depp IS the film! 5 stars
3/09/04 bsho76 Dull, confusing...Depp is the only interesting character 2 stars
3/08/04 john bale Mainly nonsense, and waste of talent, with complicated plot, but a bit of fun anyhow 3 stars
3/02/04 bob best movie ever seen watch it 5 stars
2/23/04 Gray fun to watch but confusing 4 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Funny 5 stars
2/20/04 Agent Sands In my top 5! Action, Depp, script, music, everything, deserve a STANDING OVATION!! 5 stars
2/16/04 Doug Gump Just awful -- if they advertised that Johnny Depp's eye are bored out, no one would bother. 1 stars
2/15/04 kgpian hard to follow... but simply superb 5 stars
2/15/04 sabujakash just watch it 5 stars
2/15/04 avradip breathstopping 5 stars
2/15/04 Clint White Hard to figure out what the hell is going on here 2 stars
2/12/04 jj It's a fun & intertaining movie with, sometimes, good action. 3 stars
2/10/04 Jingo P. Low character developement and overly-confusing storyline, but STILL LOVED IT! 4 stars
2/08/04 hooters It's very entertaining, great acting, beautiful music 5 stars
2/01/04 George great film and great music 5 stars
1/26/04 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) One of my top 5 FAVORITE movies. It's the masterpiece of Depp AND Rodriguez. 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White Nice visual style and colorful performances. 4 stars
1/03/04 A F Depp rules. This film was strangly appealing to me. 5 stars
12/23/03 Cheryl Mayfield Much sound and fury; little else. 2 stars
12/20/03 john title is supposed to be an hoomage to Leone - well the movie sure isn't - actually boring 2 stars
12/02/03 Kooler Jennifer Aniston's old hair-do looks great on Banderas 3 stars
11/15/03 Ultron Banderas gives the perofrmance of his life in this entertaining film. 4 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) I changed my mind. Rourke is OK too. You notice I changed my name again, b/c Depp KICKS ASS 5 stars
10/29/03 Paola Its cool. I wnat it on DVD NOW!!! 5 stars
10/23/03 Ann This one is worth it for some of the stunts. Depp saves it. "Johnny Saves" 4 stars
10/14/03 Lord Jiggy A bunch of quick cuts in search of coherence...whole thing should have been about Depp. 3 stars
10/10/03 Scarlett Fun! Loved this film but w/o Depp it would've bombed. Watch it for Depp and for the action. 5 stars
10/08/03 Azeneth I haven´t seen it, but I certainly will just to watch Depp and Banderas. 4 stars
10/07/03 ownerofdajoint saave your money;this thing is like a cartoon amok with no plot readily evident 2 stars
10/04/03 LM as bad as it gets 1 stars
10/02/03 snowconehead Fun, but gratuitous. Innocent people die every 3 minutes. Depp is awesome. 4 stars
10/01/03 MA Designs the movie was very good 4 stars
9/27/03 Mr. Hat Mariachi was good, Desperado was great, Mexico is 2 awesome. ALL except Rourke are GREAT. 5 stars
9/25/03 malcolm w/o awesome-as-usual Depp, this movie would've been unwatchable 2 stars
9/23/03 disappointed Thouroughly disappointed by this effort. RR could've done A LOT better. 2 stars
9/20/03 Lord Chu Simply AWESOME. I'm going to watch it again and again. 5 stars
9/20/03 Jack Bourbon Wow what a surprise 5 stars
9/20/03 greenmonster no one carried this film, it was miserable, I want my $6.50 back 1 stars
9/19/03 daryl M Depp carried the film 5 stars
9/18/03 ajay it was kinda cheesy... There were cool moments, but overall pretty crappy. 2 stars
9/17/03 karmap awesome 5 stars
9/17/03 Wolf Occasional flashes of artistic genius, but needs an EDITOR 3 stars
9/16/03 Wendy Agreed. "Plot" hard to follow, but Depp is quite enjoyable. Worth seeing. 4 stars
9/15/03 Worthy Slacker Eradically cut. Too many subplots that "El Marichi" gets lost. Saved by a kinetic Depp! 4 stars
9/15/03 Koitus Agree that the movie was WAY too many sub-plots. Unrealistic church shootem up scene also! 3 stars
9/15/03 jawsboy24 Average. Decent acting, but the action is mostly dull. Worth a look, but not great. **'s 3 stars
9/15/03 LoudChris Video isn't even close to film, but damn that was a rad flick. 5 stars
9/14/03 nick2k way too many subplots....that was its biggest flaw. no 'desperado', but an 'end' it is. 3 stars
9/14/03 escher Maybe not a "good" movie, but easily one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in awhile. 5 stars
9/14/03 Nicole Plots not developed - can be hard to follow. Great performance by Depp 4 stars
9/14/03 KING EDWARD what kind of a faggot name is starhawk? i hope you die - the movie is great 5 stars
9/14/03 Starhawk This is the most awful drivel I've seen this year. Terrible action sequences and lame plot 1 stars
9/13/03 michaelb14 enjoyable but a bit disjointed, seemed rushed, but overall a good asskicking film 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 20-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Feb-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast