More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome62.02%
Worth A Look: 12.92%
Average: 8.01%
Pretty Bad: 9.04%
Total Crap: 8.01%

16 reviews, 291 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lost in Translation
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A timeless experience amongst a foreign environment"
5 stars

Several years of me bashing Sofia Coppola as a talent-less hack have just gone out the window, since she has managed to create such a quiet, penetrating and amazing film that I would’ve never expected. At first you could say that her debut The Virgin Suicides was nothing but a fluke, but in her sophomore effort she’s proven that she’s inherited her legendary father’s talent and finally has shed the curtains that kept her in her father’s shadow and has come to be a filmmaker in her own right.

The above has been kept as a point of historical reference at my first stab at reviewing this movie all those years ago, but allow me to start again. There are so many things that you can say about Lost in Translation, that one runs the danger of perhaps reading into the film too much. I guess that was my only baffling mistake during the endless amount of times I watched this film, which was far and away my favorite film of 2003 (and for my money, the best film of 2003, yes even over Return of the King; stone me now.). I guess my problem was that for the most part, I tended to view a film in the most superficial sense, admiring its already impressive mechanics, the mood, the acting, the direction, the photography and editing, the music (especially the music, more on that later), etc. But yet there was always something fascinating and mysterious about this film that it always made me come back to it. Something that I was unable to explain about it back then, which made it all the more frustrating, because it was right there in front of me on the screen talking to me, but I couldn’t make a word of what it was saying. Yet, like dark matter, I could feel it, and it made perfect sense to me; I just couldn’t express it.

This is not a long pun, by the way. It WAS how I felt while watching this film, all those years ago. And now several years later, either due to experience or continuing knowledge and education, it suddenly came to me, the very thing that I couldn’t see or understand, last night when I decided to once again pop this film into my DVD player and revive the magic spell that this film placed on me from the second time I saw it onwards. Writer/director Sofia Coppola composed an intimate film about friendship, but also about love, not a carnal love so to speak, but a love which propels every single aspect of our lives, and drives us throughout them. Thanks to her humorous, reflective and wistful dialogue, her in-tune directing skills and a pair of excellent performances, this film comes to life and manages to capture a microcosm of such a feeling in a brief but everlasting 102 minutes.

The film concerns two people in similar but different stages of their lives: Bob Harris (Bill Murray), a middle aged actor who has flown from the U.S. to Japan to do promotion work for a Japanese Whiskey, commercials and all. Bob seems bored and depressed, and the tiredness and jet lag from the long flight from the US to Japan highlights these problems more intensely. It’s clear that he’s there for the money and also to get away from the miserable sameness that unfortunately has become his family life, yet at the same time he groans about the decision since he feels he should’ve been doing a play somewhere instead. Then there’s Charlotte (Scarlett Johansson), a recent University graduate whom is in Japan thanks to her husband of two years, John (Giovanni Ribisi), a photographer that is shooting a rock band at their record label’s request. Charlotte herself is also going through a bad stage of her marriage: Both she and John love each other but have different backgrounds (Charlotte studied philosophy) and thanks to this, a huge void has developed between them (though John may perhaps not admit it or does not know it yet) to such degree that when Charlotte subtly taunts John by erotically walking past him with nothing more than a blouse and panties on, he’s totally indifferent to her. That, and her repeated periods of loneliness in the hotel room due to the fact that John is busy working, along of course with the jet lag and different time zones, make for a crushingly boring and tedious experience, and it makes her wonder if her marriage is even working at all. It’s through sheer chance that both Bob and Charlotte find themselves one sleepless night at the hotel bar, and suddenly, after a couple more encounters, a surprising friendship develops, and it is after several get-togethers and gatherings along the city, where they discover that they both have several things in common, they are soul mates and as the days count down towards Bob’s eventual return to the States, perhaps they actually feel something more for each other.

The brilliance of this film lies not only in the characters themselves, but the location of the story. Coppola frames her two main characters against a background that is completely foreign to us, and thanks to the work of cinematographer Lance Accord, Tokyo, Japan is less like a city in the western sense, and more like an alien metropolis; the customs, the way buildings are built, their technological advances and how they are used in daily life, and lastly, how Japanese people are and interact with each other. It is an inspired decision, for it enables Coppola and editor Sarah Flack to highlight, compare and contrast these customs and traits to the usual western traits of our main characters and see how out of place they are, literally and figuratively. She brilliantly sets tone of the film in the opening scenes when Bob arrives from the plane and is greeted in the most cordial of ways from the Suntory reps, with gifts and their business cards and their brevity. Later on, Bob is given (hilariously, it must be said) firsthand knowledge as to how a Japanese film set is and how it works, and how in the supposed interest of the parties involved, a long rant and request from the director only ends up being a brief sentence from the interpreter asking for more intensity. Later on, Charlotte, in one of her routine trips out from the hotel, notices several things about Japanese life that sometimes overwhelm her, the way people go about their business, their kindness towards strangers, how they work and the wide creative liberties of how they work, and how they have fun, be it with videogames and karaoke bars. But most importantly, after encountering one of John’s clients, Kelly (Anna Faris), whom is an actress in Tokyo promoting her latest film and whom by her attitude represents everything that is so plastic and soulless about western life (she later calls John asking him to do a photo shoot for her, fueling even more the possibility that John’s love for Charlotte is not all absolute as he may claim it is), she later on observes a recently married couple at a nearby park, and it’s in this moment where she suddenly finds something that is the key of what has been lacking in her life with John and seems to find it almost without knowing it and in endless bounds with Bob: Harmony, emotional harmony. Formalities and responsibilities are always things that you do, routines that you have to follow in order to go about your lifestyle, your work and even your marriage, but what are these things to you and what do they mean to you if there isn’t any emotional resonance behind it all? If you lose the love for the things you do, or if you’re unable to find the one thing that you want to do in your life and much less obtain any support from your loved one in finding it, then they just become routines; tiresome, boring routines. This reflects on Bob as well, as his phone conversations with Lydia clearly reflect that any love that was between them is now gone, and all now has been replaced with the chores of dealing with the kids and worrying about what color of carpet she wants for Bob to put in his studio. This, along with the frustrating and (hilariously) pathetic shit that he has to endure during the commercial film and photo shoots for the whisky he’s being paid to endorse, make his life even more miserable.

But when he gets together with Charlotte, he suddenly feels alive, like no other time, and feels in complete harmony and peace with her. It’s this love that he feels for her (and vice versa), this harmony, what gets lost in the translation of our daily and usual exchange of routines.

The poetic final scene not only gives you a sensation of “We’ll always have Paris”, but that there is hope for these two that later on in life, despite their binding lifestyles, that they will fulfill their destinies together in the not too distant future.

Despite the fact that it was released amid the rampant fury of the Lord of the Rings phenomenon, Lost in Translation caught my eye almost by accident. I had read and was intrigued by the amount of reviews that the film received, and upon first viewing I was baffled by its apparent simplicity and shallowness. But upon a second view, the film suddenly opened up to me and took me to a journey of soul-searching that I had not experienced before and which also fascinated me, even if I couldn’t completely understand it. Yet its attention to detail, its emotional range and its use of music had a profound influence on me. It was this film that introduced me to the musical genius that is Kevin Shields, and the crushing and yet beautiful loudness of My Bloody Valentine (his band), The Jesus and Mary Chain, and the remaining realm of the Alternative Rock genre. This musical genre has always been a prominent force in college radio and the mass of listeners whom were tired of mainstream music, because it was music that channeled and echoed the hopes and fears of the everyday person in a more honest sort of way. Sofia Coppola is clearly one of these people, clearly understanding of this emotional current that flows within this musical genre. Therefore, her weavings of songs like the Pretenders’ “Brass in Pocket” or Roxy Music’s “More Than This” into Charlotte’s and Bob’s respective karaoke performances, which end up channeling both of these characters’ deep thoughts and feelings that they have for each other, are strokes of sheer genius. Then, as we see them riding the cab back to the hotel to the sound of My Bloody Valentine’s shimmering “Sometimes”, the apex of their blooming friendship is reached, and it reflects itself on Charlotte’s face. And then their final scene as we hear “Just like Honey” by The Jesus and Mary Chain in the background, their love for each other is consummated, crystallized forever. It’s these magic moments that stayed ingratiated in my mind and in other people’s minds forever, and full credit is deserved for Ms. Coppola, along with Ms. Flack, and Mr. Accord to pull such feats off with such gracefulness and precision.

The other two main threads in this fabric also deserve the highest amounts of praise. Bill Murray is masterful as Bob Harris, for he approaches him with such tact; he never goes overboard as typical Bill Murray does, but rather portrays Bob at first as an empty human being, almost soulless, devoid of any emotions, and you can see his face how it really annoys him being unable to resolve his frustrations while constantly trying to pretend a different appearance to the people that he comes in contact with. And yet when he and Charlotte make contact, he completely transforms himself into a jolly and funny guy, with a sharp sense of humor which is belied by his sometimes painful introspective of his married life. Scarlett Johansson pretty much became what you can call “the Alternative ‘It’ girl” with this film, and it’s clear to see why: She embodies her character with the right amount of intelligence (she’s a Philosophy major, for fuck’s sake!) and vulnerability. Her secret weapon is her own face as she manages to express her character’s feelings and emotions through her façade, and it’s just amazing how she is able to make cutting observations about either the emptiness of her surroundings and the people she meets or the sometimes unbearable hurt and numbness or her loneliness with just a simple look. And when she finally finds happiness and joy whenever she’s around Bob, her reflection of that happiness is simply stunning to watch.

Giovanni Ribisi doesn’t have a ton of screen time but is very reliable as is Anna Francis as Kelly. It has been said that both characters probably represent two people that exist in real-life and were once part of Ms. Coppola’s life, but let’s not get into that.

Years ago, I said about this movie that it was one about friendship and human dignity. That is partly true, but it’s actually more than that; it is a movie about literally being lost in a world full of wonders and pits and the finding of friendship and love and being able to channel those feelings with your loved one with dignity, respect and more importantly, in complete harmony. I can’t think of any other film expressing such train of emotions without including being blatantly sexual, nor with such genuine sense of joy and even fun. Lost in Translation stands apart in such regard, and because of that, it is a film that deserves to be ranked amongst the classics and a film that deserves viewing at least more than once, before you die. 5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8132&reviewer=235
originally posted: 11/17/04 08:51:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/16/15 David Hollingsworth A quirky romantic comedy that is sublime on every level. 5 stars
10/15/15 Luisa Great actors, not a bad movie, but overrated! 3 stars
9/11/15 misterfilms my top 3 films of 03: LOTR, LOST IN TRANSLATION, FINDING NEMO 5 stars
2/19/15 hhshjjsjj idiot film. i'm glad return of the king beat this trash 1 stars
9/10/14 dave1877 beautifully acted touching film 5 stars
10/28/13 reptilesni Two strangers at radically different stages of life who find they are kindred spirits 5 stars
8/18/12 Gerasimos This movie has crept into my psyche...permanently 5 stars
7/03/11 RLan A love story between a man and woman without sex being involved. What a wonderful concept! 4 stars
6/17/11 johnny 123 the greatest mood movie ever made. period. 5 stars
1/30/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess It didn't strike me as much as I hoped in would. Maybe I should see it again? 3 stars
11/27/10 Rinifi Along with Imamura's Vengeance is Mine, I can't get this film out of my head. 5 stars
8/15/10 bored mom So-so for slow drama. Gotta love Murray's character versus the rape-themed hooker. 3 stars
6/10/10 Erin Beautiful movie. One that I could watch over and over again. 5 stars
4/27/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE AND WELL ACTED MOOD PIECE 4 stars
4/23/10 Flounder I laughed and I cried. There's not a wasted moment. This is filmmaking at its finest 5 stars
7/01/08 phillipp you want to feel depressed by the end, but you can't..it's happyending.. 4 stars
5/20/08 Sam ok .. not great .. 3 stars
5/10/08 Yoda I have never seen another film that is so hilarious and so heartbreaking. 5 stars
3/19/08 mike is in love beautiful beautiful film! excellent movie which is not for idiots. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I was so touched by this movie that I guess you could say I'm obsessed by it. A classic. 5 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White torture in watching, hoping it will get better and it doesn't 1 stars
2/09/08 gui just watched it again. awesome. 5 stars
12/26/07 Freddy Tribal instinct brought them together, not love. Touching movie, but kind of shallow. 4 stars
12/16/07 LuLu One of the best films that I've ever seen. Bill Murray is fabulous! 5 stars
4/15/07 fools♫gold Comedy up there w/ "Arthur" + "Bamboozled"; a composer of film that hits you high and low. 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Much better than I had heard. An enjoyable viewing experience. 4 stars
10/28/06 Adam Perfect. Encapsulates the beauty of the human spirit. 5 stars
10/25/06 vehden Atypical love story. Subtle yet profound. Great character protrayal by both actors. CLASSIC 5 stars
10/17/06 Finny Khan One of the BEST movies. Very touching, poignanat. Lots of deep moments. 5 stars
9/17/06 Chris Scarlett is a smart goddess, Bill a genius, great together. One of my 5 favorite movies. 5 stars
8/15/06 reptilesni Poignant, funny, sweet, bittersweet buddy film with a bonus voyeuristic trip to Japan. 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley A foggy, touching illumination on loneliness and brief interaction. Quietly lovely. 5 stars
4/13/06 matt like watcing paint dry, coppola doesn't know how to tell a story 2 stars
4/04/06 Joe lifechanging. 5 stars
3/18/06 No.9 Perfectly mixes comedy/drama and, of course, MUSIC!! Seriously, the soundtrack rules 5 stars
2/20/06 Tomislav Bobic I'm feeling sorry for the people who doesn't "get it". Absolutely wonderful dream! 5 stars
2/17/06 Indrid Cold Two very boring people doing pretty much nothing ... it's as exciting as it sounds. 2 stars
1/18/06 JM Synth I guess I just didn't "get it". I do like films with plots, etc. 2 stars
12/13/05 o_O A hell of alot beter than "The Return of the King". Easily the best of the decade so far. 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Sofia Coppola is a talentless shill. Cheap cop-out cinematography. 2 stars
10/29/05 Ansue Noslen Like Seinfeld, a movie "about nothing;" w/o most of the humor at the human condition 2 stars
10/23/05 Natalie The film proves that thee are people who can truly "feel" and "care" for others. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The best movie of 2003. Bill Murray and Scarlet Johansson make an excellent pair. 5 stars
9/26/05 a. kurlovs decent movie about semi-interesting people, their watchable lives and petty problems. 3 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes hillarious, heartfelt, and heartbreaking 5 stars
9/05/05 thomas giudici beautiful and very touching 5 stars
9/01/05 ES Scarlett is a fox and Murray a riot, but in this movie they act like zombies on prozac 1 stars
8/31/05 matt coppola doesn't know how to tell a story, the movie goes nowhere 1 stars
8/27/05 Rahul Jawale Film is good. One of the first movie that i liked and didnt have a story. 5 stars
8/19/05 Michelle Go Sophia!! Loved this film. Loved the EFC review which says it all. 5 stars
8/10/05 Indrid Cold Detailed and subtle, but really just bored people doing boring stuff. 3 stars
8/09/05 jada loved Bill Murray! great acting, not for everyone though, kinda slow 4 stars
7/29/05 Bad Critic Quite boring at some points, but kept my interest. 3 stars
7/07/05 sandy amazing! my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
6/20/05 darick Don't kill me but...I didn't find it that engaging; merely tolerable 3 stars
6/11/05 Sarah Extremely emotionally touching film. Amazing! 5 stars
5/31/05 Steve Newman Very enjoyable with both lead actor and actress very believable 4 stars
5/11/05 Simon I'm with Sommersby on this one. Solid acting saves this trite flick from Suck status. 2 stars
3/26/05 MaryBeth Isaac I was moved to tears. What a beautiful movie. the ending was brilliant 5 stars
2/12/05 tina quietly brilliant. In my top 5 fave movies of all time 5 stars
1/25/05 Shawn a masterpiece of filmmaking. as good as a book, which is hard to say when reviewing movies. 5 stars
12/22/04 goatfarmer deadpan,depressing,lumbering, with occasional "ain't those nips weird!" moments 2 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams best opening shot ever for the fellas 4 stars
12/04/04 ChristopherM Jack Sommersby - bitter he didn't make the film himself. 5 stars
11/24/04 Geoff Great movie with fantastic performances from the two leads 4 stars
11/19/04 Brazilian John No translation could save it! It just don't have any story. A screen play with 2 lines! 1 stars
11/18/04 Chris Belldo finally 5 stars
11/15/04 DM Boring at times, but overall Jack Sommersby is wrong again. 4 stars
10/29/04 Mike Incredible soundtrack with Jesus And Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine mood. Fantastic 5 stars
10/18/04 will rogers (ivan campo) good atmosphere 5 stars
10/10/04 Agent Sands Very subtle and well-acted. The culture contrast if funny, and it's very entertaining. 4 stars
10/03/04 Daveman Looks like the Coppola family are here to stay and better yet, I love them for it. 5 stars
9/26/04 Harry J Absolutely lousy movie - don't recommend it - I will never own it. 1 stars
9/17/04 brown great movie- recommend it and I own it 5 stars
9/14/04 kitfo1 Im all lonesome in my $400 hotel room, boo hoo hoo. 3 stars
9/14/04 sdfr Absolutely brilliant! 5 stars
9/04/04 jeff the chick is so hot, love her booty :) good movie 4 stars
8/31/04 Pinkline Jones Flawed but has some good ideas 4 stars
8/29/04 George FANTASTIC!!!! 5 stars
8/17/04 Myrna Miller At End he say to her:"I will remember us forever". 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James One of the few touching and beautiful films...it strives for an intelligent audiance 5 stars
8/16/04 Monster W. Kung Absolutely wonderfully directed, story ok but not great. 4 stars
8/15/04 McGraw Self-important, and waaaaaay too slow. 3 stars
8/08/04 psychotic black dwarf Tongue in cheek & smart, but less impactful than a study of Bob Sapp (black karate icon). 4 stars
7/26/04 John Larson If you have no life, this may interest you. Forced, feelgood but empty. Hollywood sucks. 2 stars
7/25/04 Jayne Merritt Very disappointed, not much storyline, rubbish ending 2 stars
7/25/04 Richard Kinley 2 lost soles searching for a meaning and finding each other. Beautifully acted. 5 stars
7/21/04 dropdead scarlett johansson in the short blue wig in karaoke scene was worth seeing this movie.wow. 5 stars
7/18/04 ithaka peyru and the japanese stereotype gets pushed further 1 stars
7/16/04 jack the ripper pretty bad 2 stars
7/14/04 blip great film! 5 stars
7/13/04 piers totally hooked by it - beautiful in every sense 5 stars
7/13/04 Ralph I was lucky enough to be able to get my money back 1 stars
7/09/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen First Kirsten Dunst, now Anna Faris. What's with Sofia C & trashing young innocent blondes? 2 stars
7/05/04 Bruce Still waiting for the good parts. 2 stars
6/27/04 MyGreenBed Meant to be slow paced (not all can be "Die Hard"), daughter Copola has become impressive. 4 stars
6/21/04 Ry Slow and no plot 2 stars
6/20/04 Monster W. Kung Really quite good, but humor contains a few stereotypes too much. 4 stars
6/18/04 Semaj The mood of this film was perfect. 5 stars
6/10/04 zeitgeist THE film for pseudo-intellectuals. You can almost smell the banality. 2 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark One of the best films to come out in years, and it boasts Bill Murray's best performance. 5 stars
6/07/04 Daveman The film was about culture and finding fulfillment in the things you don't understand. 4 stars
6/01/04 maggie just fantastic-awesome 5 stars
5/24/04 DM Very surprised just how much this movie affects you 5 stars
5/24/04 Yoko Nagata (Japanese) I felt Sophia's affection to Japanese attitude. Bob and Scarlette are like Japanese. 5 stars
5/19/04 FrankB This film makes me want to be a film maker, this is truly art. 5 stars
5/15/04 skye puh-leeze. which was supposed to be the good karioke? 1 stars
5/11/04 HorrorScribbler Touching 5 stars
5/11/04 Patrick one of the best movies i've seen in a while 5 stars
5/10/04 Pinkline Jones An interesting ultimately Long Bus Ride to Nowhere 4 stars
5/09/04 Charlene Javier Simply brilliant! 5 stars
5/07/04 Ross This movie won what award? For what? 1 stars
5/06/04 Bobby Fisher melissa & she u should b ashamed of urselves, u 2 should stay clear of punch drunk love 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot great film.don't slag it off.just go and watch con air! 5 stars
5/03/04 terry reagan this really sucked! Id rather see "Gigli" again 50 x over than sit through this again!!!!! 1 stars
5/03/04 she Bill Murry is hot for a older guy but he didn't save this film 2 stars
4/26/04 Al This movie is awsome and is the shit. 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon I actually really enjoyed this because I work with the Japanese everyday!!! 4 stars
4/05/04 Ryan for older, introspective audiences only =) 5 stars
4/04/04 Amanda This movie stinks. A lot. I like movies with plots. And girls that wear pants. 1 stars
3/27/04 Melissa Gaugert What was all the hype about?!?! I don't get it. I wanted a better ending, too. 3 stars
3/26/04 George Hart Unforgettable, the older you are the more it will ring true 5 stars
3/26/04 rojo Interesting movie, not Oscar worthy. 4 stars
3/24/04 Zana This is good camering, Anna Faris rulz (that y i watched it) 5 stars
3/24/04 Chloe Brody What a pair...Murray and Johansson are perfect in the lead roles... 5 stars
3/23/04 Jubbly It's not racist... someone said that below. it's a good film. 5 stars
3/18/04 john surprisingly good - Wong Kar Wai couldn't have done it better 5 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman I love the subtlety. Bill & Scarlett are very charming! 5 stars
3/16/04 alex well... I was waiting for a sex scene, but it didn't come...Great Movie 5 stars
3/15/04 Bored to Tears Cinematic constipation. Slow, boring and overrated with a hint of racism thrown in. 1 stars
3/15/04 tina beautiful message but once the novelty wears off, it's weak without a story 3 stars
3/14/04 Fred A slow, flat, boring roller coaster ride and a total waste of 1.5 hrs. 2 stars
3/13/04 Elena Beautiful. PS, If you think the film is pointless, you missed the point. 5 stars
3/09/04 Wendranh good to see Bill Murray with something more worthy than he usually gets 4 stars
3/08/04 Paul Both funny and sensitive, every moment in this movie is great 5 stars
3/08/04 tina the best movie of the year 5 stars
3/07/04 tony total garbage 1 stars
3/07/04 Ted Don't expect to be spoonfed pap - it makes you think, and fill in the blanks yourself. 5 stars
3/07/04 Dave A Excellent film. 5 stars
3/05/04 Dick Boring. "Brief Encounter" it is not. Proves that Ms. Coppola and act or direct. 1 stars
3/04/04 Star-Crosser Murray's preformance, and the film as a whole, is overrated...but very VERY good. 4 stars
3/04/04 Niels Shit, boring and pointless 1 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Certainly not overrated. Excellent movie. Seems pretty moody, though, at times. 5 stars
3/02/04 Margie There's no plot, but that's the point. It's two people trying to find comfort in each other 4 stars
2/29/04 Lonesome_whistle A great, sweet movie about friendship 4 stars
2/29/04 John Vella Bardon can't understand how on earth this film was so critically acclaimed 2 stars
2/28/04 obsession It was the most amazing movie that I have seen this year, possibly in my life. Very Human. 5 stars
2/28/04 Emmelie I'm in awe, it's just the most beautiful movie ever! 5 stars
2/27/04 Paula I must have missed the plot.... 2 stars
2/26/04 Ryan W A beautiful film with dynamic characters who envoke deep sadness and empathy and humor. 5 stars
2/25/04 Rudy Smith Bill Murray was sublime - Scarlett Johannson was, well simply charming and vunerable. 5 stars
2/25/04 Soulis directing is incredible, the acting is good but Murray doesn't deserve an Oscar 5 stars
2/24/04 Ellen Can't understand what is so good about this movie. I was bored after five minutes 1 stars
2/24/04 Monday Morning I fell asleep, my girlfriend fell asleep, my dog fell asleep. What a ho-fucking-hum movie! 2 stars
2/22/04 Colleen Mar On my list of all time bad movies; I think filmakers owe me a refund on my ticket. 1 stars
2/22/04 Leon Trotsky Gentle, powerful and funny as hell. Yow. 5 stars
2/20/04 AJ Touching... 4 stars
2/17/04 Joe Masterfully subtle 4 stars
2/16/04 dianna thomas It was filmed beautifully 2 stars
2/16/04 Dana Incredibly average. Anothe deadpan Bill Murray role.The awards nomination make no sense. 3 stars
2/16/04 Fiona Sives sure, japanese culture is funny, but you can't sustain a film on it. dull dull dull ! 3 stars
2/16/04 laura its INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! a diferent film to hollywood, 5 stars
2/16/04 DrDanny Johansson is a Major Babe! 4 stars
2/15/04 R.W. Welch Low key Brief Encounter pic with some nice writing. Quite funny in spots. 4 stars
2/15/04 Arturo tierna y racional, tal vez demasiado 5 stars
2/14/04 Emily WORST movie I have ever seen. No plot. BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD. Don't waste your time. 1 stars
2/14/04 manc boi It's a great Monday night film! 4 stars
2/13/04 alice elliott Great pink knickers in opening scene - you can leave after that. 2 stars
2/13/04 steve kaldestad overrated! get over it! 3 stars
2/13/04 Luis J. Cruz A boring film about two bored people 3 stars
2/13/04 Larry I like slow movies but this story sucks. For wanna be hipsters 1 stars
2/12/04 Chiend Sucks out loud, the feel-shitty film of the year--could only appeal to shut ins!!! 1 stars
2/12/04 jj It's a boring fling affair that's overrated. 2 stars
2/12/04 Patrick Matthews Very drab and thin, with easy laughs at the Japanese and easy artiness from Tokyo cityscape 1 stars
2/10/04 Kirsten Dunst fan still in mourning At this rate, Sofia Coppola can never do adequate pennance for THE VIRGIN SUICIDES. 3 stars
2/10/04 Carly such a pretty movie. it just...makes everything ok. hooray, Sofia. 5 stars
2/10/04 Phil M. Aficionado Like poignancy, subtlety, honesty, genuine acting? Relationship studies? I do. Great. 5 stars
2/10/04 JamesVG Not worth all the hype, but fun to watch. I (unlike many here) liked the pace of the film. 4 stars
2/10/04 Tom Really great movie 5 stars
2/09/04 world wide wagon Billy Murray saved this movie from being an absolute horror. Was there a screenplay ? 2 stars
2/09/04 Natasha Loved it. took a few days to sink in. had to think about it. loved it. 5 stars
2/09/04 TJ Evocative yet irreverant slice of life 5 stars
2/08/04 john bale Starts promisingly, but doesn't go far with aging Murray's deadpan performance 4 stars
2/07/04 chris. best scene: swatches falling from fedex box 5 stars
2/07/04 your worst goddamn nightmare the best movie i've seen this year... let's face it, subtlety is becoming a lost artform... 5 stars
2/07/04 Michael Mozdy Not Losing Translation After the Hype 5 stars
2/06/04 megan moving movie 4 stars
2/06/04 Serge Delicate, subtle, beautiful. 5 stars
2/06/04 Sharon predictable, flat characters, yawn 3 stars
2/06/04 HARRY GEMBS BILL IS BETTER IN THE RAZOR'S EDGE 2 stars
2/05/04 sarah like any consummate teenager, it works a mood and fails to deliver 3 stars
2/05/04 jbob unique 4 stars
2/03/04 nick2k wow...i saw it today at the theatre. so good i got it at the midnite on-sale tonite. 5 stars
2/01/04 Ray Raspberry This did what "Cast Away" could not -- make the movie and the audience connect thru realism 5 stars
1/30/04 Elena This is nominated for best picture. I don't see how it could be "total crap" 5 stars
1/30/04 Lew Marx Worst movie since Hollow Man 1 stars
1/29/04 Desperado People who say they dont get it or that it sucks r incompetent idiots, Awesome Acting/Movie 5 stars
1/28/04 chris rucker horrible 1 stars
1/28/04 Tom John and Julia, poor souls, it's a forrest, not a bunch of trees 5 stars
1/28/04 Julia I must be missing something because I thought it was one of the most boring movies ever. 1 stars
1/27/04 John I don't want my money back, I want an hour and a half of my life back. 1 stars
1/27/04 smartmusician a very profound movie done by Sophia Coppola. Breathtaking visuals. Extraordinary!!!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 rich awesome 5 stars
1/25/04 R J K Stunningly thought provoking 5 stars
1/25/04 jmikie an OK movie I don't know WHY it is on so many top 10 list 3 stars
1/24/04 breadman It had to end the way it did & I'm glad. 4 stars
1/24/04 Vitality1 Murray deserves an Oscar nod, at the very least...great film 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White Abstract, engaging character study; Murray & Johansson are outstanding. 5 stars
1/21/04 MARC KHACHFE perfect. Scarlett and Bill..... 5 stars
1/21/04 Angolmois For a movie which puports to be so idealistic, it's quite condescending to the Japanese. 3 stars
1/20/04 Kay Cambourn subtle but seductive 4 stars
1/19/04 TOBY JARDIN the emperors new clothes 1 stars
1/16/04 Zaven Keleshian Best film w/out special effects of 2003 5 stars
1/16/04 LiquiDcUbe A Fine film which goes agaist all cliches and lets us see the world that we may never know. 4 stars
1/16/04 Colleen I can't believe I can't find a bad review on this movie 2 stars
1/16/04 Liz totally self-indulgent time waster 1 stars
1/16/04 Ralph R. Clemente Loved it - Scarlett & Bill rock 5 stars
1/12/04 Ingo A light in the dark... 5 stars
1/11/04 John Wesley Downey the perfect film for critics to slobber all over themselves about 4 stars
1/03/04 A F I love this film. Bill, you rule. Scarlett, marry me. Sofia, keep em coming. 5 stars
12/31/03 Bock So moody, its good! 5 stars
12/12/03 Helen Bradley Good acting, too slow a pace too long 2 stars
12/09/03 Jeannine Dreamy, moving, fun movie 5 stars
12/03/03 G. Finlay A terrific movie. Johansson, Murray & Coppola are beyond sublime. 5 stars
11/27/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/26/03 Chris Klejdys Entertaining movie. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician a profound movie. EXCELLENT 5 stars
11/22/03 Tom Dow superb 5 stars
11/21/03 Joshua S Simple and pure, but deep. Its the subtle things you miss the first viewing. See LIT 2x+!! 5 stars
11/16/03 Kathy Absolutely heartrending and moving. Bill Murray's best. 5 stars
11/11/03 Jod Decent, but tries too hard to be nothing 3 stars
11/10/03 ILLINIBRI Boring, pointless, slow. Don't tell me I'm not smart enough or artsy enough to "get it". 1 stars
11/06/03 john excellent 5 stars
11/06/03 Sherrill Durbin I am so much in love with this movie, I surprise myself. 5 stars
11/06/03 JM beautiful 5 stars
11/05/03 Marybeth R so, so bad. trite, shallow, immature. rave reviews make me wonder what's wrong w/ people. 1 stars
11/04/03 Whitey White I got it, and it was pure garbage. 1 stars
11/03/03 tim a beautiful film 5 stars
11/01/03 CJ One of the best and most honest films I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/29/03 clarance the cobra murray in his finest 5 stars
10/27/03 Kevin S Great movie with great performances 5 stars
10/26/03 J dude wasnt that great, still trying to figure it out...guess i got lost 3 stars
10/26/03 doris kyburz just one word: outstanding 5 stars
10/25/03 CB Brilliant! 5 stars
10/24/03 Mark Seagrave Remarkable film.Very close to my own experience in Japan ten years a go 5 stars
10/21/03 your worst goddamn nightmare If you loved Armageddon, you'll hate Lost in Translation, because you're an idiot... 5 stars
10/20/03 Revginny Really fine film with much discussion material for later 5 stars
10/20/03 Kate L. Do not miss this one! 5 stars
10/19/03 Michael Gillespie I've NEVER wanted to see a film again the next day as much as Lost in Translation... 5 stars
10/17/03 Bridget Bayley Excellent 5 stars
10/17/03 Henryk great filmmaking - images tell feelings 5 stars
10/16/03 Carmelita Florine Bill Murray is clearly one of the best actors ever. Off with Scarlett j's head 4 stars
10/16/03 Leonardo Menderes watched it twice, and still found something more; great movie! 5 stars
10/15/03 MoneyPenny If you don't love it there's something seriously wrong wit u 5 stars
10/14/03 des this is my favorite movie 5 stars
10/10/03 jada murray is awesome! moive not for everyone though 4 stars
10/10/03 zeitgeist The cinematography was breathtaking yet cheap. Should've called it, "Trite: the Movie" 3 stars
10/09/03 Michael Rittenberry Watching this movie makes me feel as if I'm in Tokyo with the characters. a brilliant film! 5 stars
10/09/03 trace mckellips bill is brilliant, but scarlett is not be be denied 5 stars
10/08/03 Hel Best film I've seen this year. Very original and special. 5 stars
10/08/03 Bee-eater Funny start, but how much moody gazing can we take? 3 stars
10/08/03 Robin boring!! 2 stars
10/07/03 Allan Okada Best film of the year. Succeeds on every level. 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Hilarious and moving...Bill Murray is absolutely perfect as is this film. 5 stars
10/07/03 ownerofdajoint have to read between the lines/not for everybody 4 stars
10/05/03 john wonderful...Sophia has it 5 stars
10/04/03 Stewart Sinclair Boring. This Emperor has no clothes. 2 stars
10/04/03 kiki wonderful,sweet, 5 stars
10/02/03 Mopsa Totally brilliant film....Murray should win an Oscar! 5 stars
10/01/03 Redpajammas a great film 5 stars
9/30/03 Doris Scheff Outstanding performances, subtle, rare 4 stars
9/30/03 Jeanie Best movie this year! 5 stars
9/30/03 charlie kafoure if this isn't the best film of the year, then i'll... 5 stars
9/30/03 Jin Tremendously moving and funny. 5 stars
9/29/03 Vince cool shit. 5 stars
9/28/03 guisada beautiful. 5 stars
9/28/03 KCobain Yeah, its all that and then some 5 stars
9/27/03 Ronzo Garbonzo not bad, but not a prize winner either 4 stars
9/26/03 FlixNH A film that works well on all levels. 5 stars
9/26/03 Sushigirl Fantastic. It still haunts me. 5 stars
9/23/03 The F-Bomb thank god bill did this instead of shitty's angels 5 stars
9/23/03 Jon Lyrik A truly wonderful film. Bill Murray is a God. 5 stars
9/22/03 Howard Rare, sad, sweet, existential and wry 5 stars
9/22/03 Dave really brilliant review by Collin Souter 5 stars
9/20/03 Steen Stays with you, see it in the afternoon! 5 stars
9/20/03 Heather Loved it, the scenes of Tokyo, the story, full of humor 5 stars
9/19/03 J. Zahas A rich quiet comical heartbreaking reverie of a film. 5 stars
9/17/03 Mopsa great great film, I laughed and cried at the same time 5 stars
9/17/03 nr A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/17/03 Emma Amazingly subtle, reserved, warm, tender -- and I'm talking about the movie and Bill Murray 5 stars
9/16/03 Beth Hinton Didn't live up to the hype... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2003


Directed by
  Sofia Coppola

Written by
  Sofia Coppola

Cast
  Bill Murray
  Scarlett Johansson
  Anna Faris
  Giovanni Ribisi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast