More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome62.02%
Worth A Look: 12.92%
Average: 8.01%
Pretty Bad: 9.04%
Total Crap: 8.01%

16 reviews, 291 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lost in Translation
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"All Too Obvious in Its Intentions"
2 stars

Bill Murray -- unlike this overpraised wank-fest -- is miraculous.

Lost in Translation is about two frustrated Americans finding solace in each other's company while experiencing alienation while stuck in Tokyo due to career and personal obligations. Bob Harris (played by Bill Murray) is an American action-film star in his early fifties who's there to collect an easy two-million-dollar paycheck for shooting a whiskey commercial; and Charlotte (played by Scarlett Johansson) is the young wife of a fashion photographer who's tagged along with her husband because, after having recently graduated from Yale with a degree in philosophy, she hasn't anything better to do. After an initial encounter inside the hotel elevator, where just a courtesy smile is exchanged between the two, they manage to run across each other numerous times -- mostly in the hotel bar, where, due to insomnia as well as boredom, they make cordial conversation. Over the next few days, they loosen up considerably, confide in one another their fears, their troubles, and, yes, their hope for a more enriching and rewarding life; and, by darned, in the end they evolve into more emotionally-accessible and -fulfilled people than they were before. There's not much more to the film than this, but the writer/director, Sofia Coppola, certainly doesn't want you to think so -- she's hoping that the mere lack of a plot will automatically convince viewers that they're witnessing something "truthful". This is the sad state American film culture has reached: dress something shallow and obvious up with minimalism and art-house artifice, and viewers will go agog at all the nothingness while under the pretense that there must be something genuinely special about it all given its "respectful" presentation that's bereft of boobies and dead bodies. It's process-of-elimination favoritism: if a film isn't full of what we've grown tired of, then what it contains must be special -- it's favorably judging a film not for what it is, but, unfortunately, what it isn't. Thus, Lost in Translation emerges as the biggest vapid nothing since the repugnant In the Bedroom from two years ago, which also arrived on the scene with a wide array of critical acclaim and not so much as an original moment in its overlong, creatively-bankrupt cinematic body.

This is Coppola's second feature film following her 2000 debut, The Virgin Suicides, which was curiously unmoving in light of its true-life story concerning four teenage sisters committing suicide due to a strict parental upbringing. Admittedly, Coppola didn't embarrass herself as a director, even when she didn't show anything particularly indicative of distinctiveness; but her biggest liability there that similarly permeates the proceedings in Lost in Translation is her timidity -- it's as she believes doing too much with the camera is uncouth showboating, so she settles on a laid-back style that would be acceptable for high-grade material that the camera needn't bring anything out of but is decidedly deadly for material as decidedly lacking as this. Due to the absence of emotional immediacy and complexity, the character-driven scenes, rather than fluidly progressing, lackadaisically lurch forward; and it's this, coupled with Coppola's nagging habit of having the camera jerk up and down Cassavetes-style in a frail attempt to convey a you-are-there vitality, that accentuates the film's emptiness where a more sprightly aesthetic approach might have glided over it. Coppola makes a fundamental mistake of equating plainness with "truth" under the guise that understatement itself is an automatic virtue, even if there's nothing particularly enticing going on within or underneath the flabbily-shaped scenes for the audience to key off of -- we work harder just to stay involved with what's presently taking place than contemplating anything meaningful or insightful. Like the equally odious Punch-Drunk Love, here is a film striving mightily to be the ultimate Fable of Loneliness but is too rigidly controlled and top-heavy with blatant intent to allow for the kind of fresh, revealing behavorial idiosyncrasies that would jump-start our senses and envelop us in a wonderfully-etched world of spontaneity, surprise. Hence: Coppola and Paul Thomas Anderson have emerged as two of the most joyless directorial martinets in the business today, snuffing out semblances of life in their die-hard quest to make all-encompassing statements of life. Sitting through Lost in Translation is like laying on a psychiatrist's couch -- face down. It's that revealing.

The film is so chock-full of cliche after cliche that at about the thirty-minute mark I was waiting for Coppola to deliver the punchline. To get the story to its central Charlotte/Bob point, Coppola has not only saddled Charlotte with an inattentive photographer husband (a nondescript Giovanni Ribisi) who conveniently goes away on a weekend shoot so she can be left alone to saunter out alongside Bob, but before even that, she has Charlotte make one of those crying-for-help calls to a friend back home just so she can be put on hold by the too-busy friend. And Bob's been saddled with a too-attentive spouse: she keeps sending him faxes of a new shelf design for his study and FedExes him swatches of different burgundy shades to chose from. And if this isn't enough to pound the audience over the head, before formally meeting Bob, Charlotte even listens to a self-help audio tape that imparts such mind-shattering wisdom like "Each soul begins with an imprint, a pattern selected by your soul before you even get here". Yes, folks, we're talking destiny here! (Did Coppola get points for straight-laced unoriginality, or is it just a passion?) Throw in the character of a bubble-brained blonde actress named Kelly (the always-gruesome Anna Faris, who's not exactly a Jodie Foster in the intellect department herself), Bob having a criminally unfunny run-in with a masochistic masseuse in his room (she insists he rip her stockings -- and you wish you could rip the film right out of the damn projector), a late-night excursion where Bob rocks out to karaoke and Charlotte lets her guard down with Bob in a platonic bedroom chat, not to mention a horde of stereotypically eager-beaver, obnoxious Japanese, and you have something that's so by-the-numbers that the film should come with its own checklist. Lost in Translation isn't bad necessarily because it's stunningly obvious -- well, yeah, it is bad because of this -- but because Coppola has given such unwarranted respect to her own facile screenplay that she keeps you in suspense for the wrong reason: endlessly wondering when its maker is going to snap out of it and deliver the goods her maddeningly self-indulgent approach keeps promising.

Far be it for Coppola to fill in her one-hundred-and-two-minute running time with interesting observations, her hopeless reliance on obviousness isn't applicable only to the hastily filled-in details of the story but the story premise itself. In dealing with the matters of alienation and discontent, she's gone the typical route of having her characters experience these in a foreign land, whereas, by contrast, director Jane Campion, in her muddled-yet-watchable In the Cut, chose to tell a similarly-themed tale through the eyes of two dissatisfied New Yorkers (superbly played by Meg Ryan and Jennifer Jason Leigh) in their own everyday land. There, the piercingly beautiful opening-credits sequence where Leigh finds herself temporarily dislocated on an apartment terrace during a wind-blown flower-petal storm alone is more enchanting than the entirety of Coppola's wank-fest, but two even more telling moments followed: when Leigh's character remarks to her stepsister that she needs to move out of her noisy building, Leigh treats the noise as metaphor -- it's merely representative of a more collective dissatisfaction; and when Ryan's schoolteacher, who feels a stranger in the Big Apple during a mid-life crisis where she feels ill-defined, relaxes in a bathtub and tells her new lover, "I'm scared of what I want," it has tenfold the penetrating resonance than Charlotte's meek and meager self-reflection of uncertainty to Bob as they lay beside each other in bed. Where Coppola fails to employ the camera to capture and convey expressive mood (as if it's "hip" to photograph nothingness to convey just -- and only -- that), Campion garnishes every frame with the kind of texture and movement that incisively mirrors her characters' inner anxieties and reflects quite tellingly of how one's environment can go from comforting to suffocating. In the Cut is a botch as a thriller -- the plot wobbles, the pacing is languorous, and the whodunit angle is negligently rendered -- but it's extremely affecting as a character study on a level that Lost in Translation cannot even begin to approach because its characters are too boxed-in by Coppola's limited perception of how Americans actually relate to one another. Campion's characters seem to be existing in a whirlwind; Coppola's in a vacuum.

What somewhat redeems Lost in Translation, however, is the miraculous star performance of Bill Murray. Murray's usual brand of ironic detachment has served him well in broad comedies where his refusal to commit himself to the level of emotional urgency of that of his co-stars (even in the face of a green-slimed ectoplasm in Ghostbusters and a hard-as-nails drill sergeant in Stripes) evoked an aura of superiority that was always endearing, never smarmy. Here, he's required to slowly reveal yet hold himself in, and Murray gives an excellent performance of modulation and insinuation. His movie-star character knows how to present himself to the general public -- when having to face them, he all but flips on a switch to get himself into Mr. Congeniality mode -- but when he's with Charlotte, uncertainty gradually overcomes him; he's good at superficial talk at the hotel bar, but when their casual relationship begins deepening, he has to wade around the perimeters of intimacy before feeling comfortable and secure enough to commit himself. After over two decades of watching Murray act the wiser, it's refreshing (and, at times, breathtaking) to watch him take hold of a multi-faceted role and bring off emotional transitions with the dexterousness of a top-flight dramatic actor. He's that good here. Somewhat regrettably, though, the performance might have been even greater had Murray had a more interesting co-star than Scarlett Johansson to play off of. She was dazzlingly alert in supporting roles in Ghost World and The Man Who Wasn't There but gives a dull, unresponsive performance here -- even Murray's stalwart self can't convince you of his character's infatuation with her. Coppola reportedly envisioned the project as "Bill Murray Goes to Japan" before she began to write it, and this feels about right, because the screenplay's happenstances don't seem to have grown out of anything organic, just something superficial. And though Murray succeeds in vividly grounding his fair share of the dramatic baggage with gravitas and rootedness, he can't salvage Coppola's rickety ship of pretentiousness that, through all serious intent and purpose, is no more illuminating than a postcard.

Skip it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8132&reviewer=327
originally posted: 02/29/04 13:15:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/16/15 David Hollingsworth A quirky romantic comedy that is sublime on every level. 5 stars
10/15/15 Luisa Great actors, not a bad movie, but overrated! 3 stars
9/11/15 misterfilms my top 3 films of 03: LOTR, LOST IN TRANSLATION, FINDING NEMO 5 stars
2/19/15 hhshjjsjj idiot film. i'm glad return of the king beat this trash 1 stars
9/10/14 dave1877 beautifully acted touching film 5 stars
10/28/13 reptilesni Two strangers at radically different stages of life who find they are kindred spirits 5 stars
8/18/12 Gerasimos This movie has crept into my psyche...permanently 5 stars
7/03/11 RLan A love story between a man and woman without sex being involved. What a wonderful concept! 4 stars
6/17/11 johnny 123 the greatest mood movie ever made. period. 5 stars
1/30/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess It didn't strike me as much as I hoped in would. Maybe I should see it again? 3 stars
11/27/10 Rinifi Along with Imamura's Vengeance is Mine, I can't get this film out of my head. 5 stars
8/15/10 bored mom So-so for slow drama. Gotta love Murray's character versus the rape-themed hooker. 3 stars
6/10/10 Erin Beautiful movie. One that I could watch over and over again. 5 stars
4/27/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE AND WELL ACTED MOOD PIECE 4 stars
4/23/10 Flounder I laughed and I cried. There's not a wasted moment. This is filmmaking at its finest 5 stars
7/01/08 phillipp you want to feel depressed by the end, but you can't..it's happyending.. 4 stars
5/20/08 Sam ok .. not great .. 3 stars
5/10/08 Yoda I have never seen another film that is so hilarious and so heartbreaking. 5 stars
3/19/08 mike is in love beautiful beautiful film! excellent movie which is not for idiots. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I was so touched by this movie that I guess you could say I'm obsessed by it. A classic. 5 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White torture in watching, hoping it will get better and it doesn't 1 stars
2/09/08 gui just watched it again. awesome. 5 stars
12/26/07 Freddy Tribal instinct brought them together, not love. Touching movie, but kind of shallow. 4 stars
12/16/07 LuLu One of the best films that I've ever seen. Bill Murray is fabulous! 5 stars
4/15/07 fools♫gold Comedy up there w/ "Arthur" + "Bamboozled"; a composer of film that hits you high and low. 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Much better than I had heard. An enjoyable viewing experience. 4 stars
10/28/06 Adam Perfect. Encapsulates the beauty of the human spirit. 5 stars
10/25/06 vehden Atypical love story. Subtle yet profound. Great character protrayal by both actors. CLASSIC 5 stars
10/17/06 Finny Khan One of the BEST movies. Very touching, poignanat. Lots of deep moments. 5 stars
9/17/06 Chris Scarlett is a smart goddess, Bill a genius, great together. One of my 5 favorite movies. 5 stars
8/15/06 reptilesni Poignant, funny, sweet, bittersweet buddy film with a bonus voyeuristic trip to Japan. 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley A foggy, touching illumination on loneliness and brief interaction. Quietly lovely. 5 stars
4/13/06 matt like watcing paint dry, coppola doesn't know how to tell a story 2 stars
4/04/06 Joe lifechanging. 5 stars
3/18/06 No.9 Perfectly mixes comedy/drama and, of course, MUSIC!! Seriously, the soundtrack rules 5 stars
2/20/06 Tomislav Bobic I'm feeling sorry for the people who doesn't "get it". Absolutely wonderful dream! 5 stars
2/17/06 Indrid Cold Two very boring people doing pretty much nothing ... it's as exciting as it sounds. 2 stars
1/18/06 JM Synth I guess I just didn't "get it". I do like films with plots, etc. 2 stars
12/13/05 o_O A hell of alot beter than "The Return of the King". Easily the best of the decade so far. 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Sofia Coppola is a talentless shill. Cheap cop-out cinematography. 2 stars
10/29/05 Ansue Noslen Like Seinfeld, a movie "about nothing;" w/o most of the humor at the human condition 2 stars
10/23/05 Natalie The film proves that thee are people who can truly "feel" and "care" for others. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The best movie of 2003. Bill Murray and Scarlet Johansson make an excellent pair. 5 stars
9/26/05 a. kurlovs decent movie about semi-interesting people, their watchable lives and petty problems. 3 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes hillarious, heartfelt, and heartbreaking 5 stars
9/05/05 thomas giudici beautiful and very touching 5 stars
9/01/05 ES Scarlett is a fox and Murray a riot, but in this movie they act like zombies on prozac 1 stars
8/31/05 matt coppola doesn't know how to tell a story, the movie goes nowhere 1 stars
8/27/05 Rahul Jawale Film is good. One of the first movie that i liked and didnt have a story. 5 stars
8/19/05 Michelle Go Sophia!! Loved this film. Loved the EFC review which says it all. 5 stars
8/10/05 Indrid Cold Detailed and subtle, but really just bored people doing boring stuff. 3 stars
8/09/05 jada loved Bill Murray! great acting, not for everyone though, kinda slow 4 stars
7/29/05 Bad Critic Quite boring at some points, but kept my interest. 3 stars
7/07/05 sandy amazing! my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
6/20/05 darick Don't kill me but...I didn't find it that engaging; merely tolerable 3 stars
6/11/05 Sarah Extremely emotionally touching film. Amazing! 5 stars
5/31/05 Steve Newman Very enjoyable with both lead actor and actress very believable 4 stars
5/11/05 Simon I'm with Sommersby on this one. Solid acting saves this trite flick from Suck status. 2 stars
3/26/05 MaryBeth Isaac I was moved to tears. What a beautiful movie. the ending was brilliant 5 stars
2/12/05 tina quietly brilliant. In my top 5 fave movies of all time 5 stars
1/25/05 Shawn a masterpiece of filmmaking. as good as a book, which is hard to say when reviewing movies. 5 stars
12/22/04 goatfarmer deadpan,depressing,lumbering, with occasional "ain't those nips weird!" moments 2 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams best opening shot ever for the fellas 4 stars
12/04/04 ChristopherM Jack Sommersby - bitter he didn't make the film himself. 5 stars
11/24/04 Geoff Great movie with fantastic performances from the two leads 4 stars
11/19/04 Brazilian John No translation could save it! It just don't have any story. A screen play with 2 lines! 1 stars
11/18/04 Chris Belldo finally 5 stars
11/15/04 DM Boring at times, but overall Jack Sommersby is wrong again. 4 stars
10/29/04 Mike Incredible soundtrack with Jesus And Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine mood. Fantastic 5 stars
10/18/04 will rogers (ivan campo) good atmosphere 5 stars
10/10/04 Agent Sands Very subtle and well-acted. The culture contrast if funny, and it's very entertaining. 4 stars
10/03/04 Daveman Looks like the Coppola family are here to stay and better yet, I love them for it. 5 stars
9/26/04 Harry J Absolutely lousy movie - don't recommend it - I will never own it. 1 stars
9/17/04 brown great movie- recommend it and I own it 5 stars
9/14/04 kitfo1 Im all lonesome in my $400 hotel room, boo hoo hoo. 3 stars
9/14/04 sdfr Absolutely brilliant! 5 stars
9/04/04 jeff the chick is so hot, love her booty :) good movie 4 stars
8/31/04 Pinkline Jones Flawed but has some good ideas 4 stars
8/29/04 George FANTASTIC!!!! 5 stars
8/17/04 Myrna Miller At End he say to her:"I will remember us forever". 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James One of the few touching and beautiful films...it strives for an intelligent audiance 5 stars
8/16/04 Monster W. Kung Absolutely wonderfully directed, story ok but not great. 4 stars
8/15/04 McGraw Self-important, and waaaaaay too slow. 3 stars
8/08/04 psychotic black dwarf Tongue in cheek & smart, but less impactful than a study of Bob Sapp (black karate icon). 4 stars
7/26/04 John Larson If you have no life, this may interest you. Forced, feelgood but empty. Hollywood sucks. 2 stars
7/25/04 Jayne Merritt Very disappointed, not much storyline, rubbish ending 2 stars
7/25/04 Richard Kinley 2 lost soles searching for a meaning and finding each other. Beautifully acted. 5 stars
7/21/04 dropdead scarlett johansson in the short blue wig in karaoke scene was worth seeing this movie.wow. 5 stars
7/18/04 ithaka peyru and the japanese stereotype gets pushed further 1 stars
7/16/04 jack the ripper pretty bad 2 stars
7/14/04 blip great film! 5 stars
7/13/04 piers totally hooked by it - beautiful in every sense 5 stars
7/13/04 Ralph I was lucky enough to be able to get my money back 1 stars
7/09/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen First Kirsten Dunst, now Anna Faris. What's with Sofia C & trashing young innocent blondes? 2 stars
7/05/04 Bruce Still waiting for the good parts. 2 stars
6/27/04 MyGreenBed Meant to be slow paced (not all can be "Die Hard"), daughter Copola has become impressive. 4 stars
6/21/04 Ry Slow and no plot 2 stars
6/20/04 Monster W. Kung Really quite good, but humor contains a few stereotypes too much. 4 stars
6/18/04 Semaj The mood of this film was perfect. 5 stars
6/10/04 zeitgeist THE film for pseudo-intellectuals. You can almost smell the banality. 2 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark One of the best films to come out in years, and it boasts Bill Murray's best performance. 5 stars
6/07/04 Daveman The film was about culture and finding fulfillment in the things you don't understand. 4 stars
6/01/04 maggie just fantastic-awesome 5 stars
5/24/04 DM Very surprised just how much this movie affects you 5 stars
5/24/04 Yoko Nagata (Japanese) I felt Sophia's affection to Japanese attitude. Bob and Scarlette are like Japanese. 5 stars
5/19/04 FrankB This film makes me want to be a film maker, this is truly art. 5 stars
5/15/04 skye puh-leeze. which was supposed to be the good karioke? 1 stars
5/11/04 HorrorScribbler Touching 5 stars
5/11/04 Patrick one of the best movies i've seen in a while 5 stars
5/10/04 Pinkline Jones An interesting ultimately Long Bus Ride to Nowhere 4 stars
5/09/04 Charlene Javier Simply brilliant! 5 stars
5/07/04 Ross This movie won what award? For what? 1 stars
5/06/04 Bobby Fisher melissa & she u should b ashamed of urselves, u 2 should stay clear of punch drunk love 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot great film.don't slag it off.just go and watch con air! 5 stars
5/03/04 terry reagan this really sucked! Id rather see "Gigli" again 50 x over than sit through this again!!!!! 1 stars
5/03/04 she Bill Murry is hot for a older guy but he didn't save this film 2 stars
4/26/04 Al This movie is awsome and is the shit. 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon I actually really enjoyed this because I work with the Japanese everyday!!! 4 stars
4/05/04 Ryan for older, introspective audiences only =) 5 stars
4/04/04 Amanda This movie stinks. A lot. I like movies with plots. And girls that wear pants. 1 stars
3/27/04 Melissa Gaugert What was all the hype about?!?! I don't get it. I wanted a better ending, too. 3 stars
3/26/04 George Hart Unforgettable, the older you are the more it will ring true 5 stars
3/26/04 rojo Interesting movie, not Oscar worthy. 4 stars
3/24/04 Zana This is good camering, Anna Faris rulz (that y i watched it) 5 stars
3/24/04 Chloe Brody What a pair...Murray and Johansson are perfect in the lead roles... 5 stars
3/23/04 Jubbly It's not racist... someone said that below. it's a good film. 5 stars
3/18/04 john surprisingly good - Wong Kar Wai couldn't have done it better 5 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman I love the subtlety. Bill & Scarlett are very charming! 5 stars
3/16/04 alex well... I was waiting for a sex scene, but it didn't come...Great Movie 5 stars
3/15/04 Bored to Tears Cinematic constipation. Slow, boring and overrated with a hint of racism thrown in. 1 stars
3/15/04 tina beautiful message but once the novelty wears off, it's weak without a story 3 stars
3/14/04 Fred A slow, flat, boring roller coaster ride and a total waste of 1.5 hrs. 2 stars
3/13/04 Elena Beautiful. PS, If you think the film is pointless, you missed the point. 5 stars
3/09/04 Wendranh good to see Bill Murray with something more worthy than he usually gets 4 stars
3/08/04 Paul Both funny and sensitive, every moment in this movie is great 5 stars
3/08/04 tina the best movie of the year 5 stars
3/07/04 tony total garbage 1 stars
3/07/04 Ted Don't expect to be spoonfed pap - it makes you think, and fill in the blanks yourself. 5 stars
3/07/04 Dave A Excellent film. 5 stars
3/05/04 Dick Boring. "Brief Encounter" it is not. Proves that Ms. Coppola and act or direct. 1 stars
3/04/04 Star-Crosser Murray's preformance, and the film as a whole, is overrated...but very VERY good. 4 stars
3/04/04 Niels Shit, boring and pointless 1 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Certainly not overrated. Excellent movie. Seems pretty moody, though, at times. 5 stars
3/02/04 Margie There's no plot, but that's the point. It's two people trying to find comfort in each other 4 stars
2/29/04 Lonesome_whistle A great, sweet movie about friendship 4 stars
2/29/04 John Vella Bardon can't understand how on earth this film was so critically acclaimed 2 stars
2/28/04 obsession It was the most amazing movie that I have seen this year, possibly in my life. Very Human. 5 stars
2/28/04 Emmelie I'm in awe, it's just the most beautiful movie ever! 5 stars
2/27/04 Paula I must have missed the plot.... 2 stars
2/26/04 Ryan W A beautiful film with dynamic characters who envoke deep sadness and empathy and humor. 5 stars
2/25/04 Rudy Smith Bill Murray was sublime - Scarlett Johannson was, well simply charming and vunerable. 5 stars
2/25/04 Soulis directing is incredible, the acting is good but Murray doesn't deserve an Oscar 5 stars
2/24/04 Ellen Can't understand what is so good about this movie. I was bored after five minutes 1 stars
2/24/04 Monday Morning I fell asleep, my girlfriend fell asleep, my dog fell asleep. What a ho-fucking-hum movie! 2 stars
2/22/04 Colleen Mar On my list of all time bad movies; I think filmakers owe me a refund on my ticket. 1 stars
2/22/04 Leon Trotsky Gentle, powerful and funny as hell. Yow. 5 stars
2/20/04 AJ Touching... 4 stars
2/17/04 Joe Masterfully subtle 4 stars
2/16/04 dianna thomas It was filmed beautifully 2 stars
2/16/04 Dana Incredibly average. Anothe deadpan Bill Murray role.The awards nomination make no sense. 3 stars
2/16/04 Fiona Sives sure, japanese culture is funny, but you can't sustain a film on it. dull dull dull ! 3 stars
2/16/04 laura its INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! a diferent film to hollywood, 5 stars
2/16/04 DrDanny Johansson is a Major Babe! 4 stars
2/15/04 R.W. Welch Low key Brief Encounter pic with some nice writing. Quite funny in spots. 4 stars
2/15/04 Arturo tierna y racional, tal vez demasiado 5 stars
2/14/04 Emily WORST movie I have ever seen. No plot. BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD. Don't waste your time. 1 stars
2/14/04 manc boi It's a great Monday night film! 4 stars
2/13/04 alice elliott Great pink knickers in opening scene - you can leave after that. 2 stars
2/13/04 steve kaldestad overrated! get over it! 3 stars
2/13/04 Luis J. Cruz A boring film about two bored people 3 stars
2/13/04 Larry I like slow movies but this story sucks. For wanna be hipsters 1 stars
2/12/04 Chiend Sucks out loud, the feel-shitty film of the year--could only appeal to shut ins!!! 1 stars
2/12/04 jj It's a boring fling affair that's overrated. 2 stars
2/12/04 Patrick Matthews Very drab and thin, with easy laughs at the Japanese and easy artiness from Tokyo cityscape 1 stars
2/10/04 Kirsten Dunst fan still in mourning At this rate, Sofia Coppola can never do adequate pennance for THE VIRGIN SUICIDES. 3 stars
2/10/04 Carly such a pretty movie. it just...makes everything ok. hooray, Sofia. 5 stars
2/10/04 Phil M. Aficionado Like poignancy, subtlety, honesty, genuine acting? Relationship studies? I do. Great. 5 stars
2/10/04 JamesVG Not worth all the hype, but fun to watch. I (unlike many here) liked the pace of the film. 4 stars
2/10/04 Tom Really great movie 5 stars
2/09/04 world wide wagon Billy Murray saved this movie from being an absolute horror. Was there a screenplay ? 2 stars
2/09/04 Natasha Loved it. took a few days to sink in. had to think about it. loved it. 5 stars
2/09/04 TJ Evocative yet irreverant slice of life 5 stars
2/08/04 john bale Starts promisingly, but doesn't go far with aging Murray's deadpan performance 4 stars
2/07/04 chris. best scene: swatches falling from fedex box 5 stars
2/07/04 your worst goddamn nightmare the best movie i've seen this year... let's face it, subtlety is becoming a lost artform... 5 stars
2/07/04 Michael Mozdy Not Losing Translation After the Hype 5 stars
2/06/04 megan moving movie 4 stars
2/06/04 Serge Delicate, subtle, beautiful. 5 stars
2/06/04 Sharon predictable, flat characters, yawn 3 stars
2/06/04 HARRY GEMBS BILL IS BETTER IN THE RAZOR'S EDGE 2 stars
2/05/04 sarah like any consummate teenager, it works a mood and fails to deliver 3 stars
2/05/04 jbob unique 4 stars
2/03/04 nick2k wow...i saw it today at the theatre. so good i got it at the midnite on-sale tonite. 5 stars
2/01/04 Ray Raspberry This did what "Cast Away" could not -- make the movie and the audience connect thru realism 5 stars
1/30/04 Elena This is nominated for best picture. I don't see how it could be "total crap" 5 stars
1/30/04 Lew Marx Worst movie since Hollow Man 1 stars
1/29/04 Desperado People who say they dont get it or that it sucks r incompetent idiots, Awesome Acting/Movie 5 stars
1/28/04 chris rucker horrible 1 stars
1/28/04 Tom John and Julia, poor souls, it's a forrest, not a bunch of trees 5 stars
1/28/04 Julia I must be missing something because I thought it was one of the most boring movies ever. 1 stars
1/27/04 John I don't want my money back, I want an hour and a half of my life back. 1 stars
1/27/04 smartmusician a very profound movie done by Sophia Coppola. Breathtaking visuals. Extraordinary!!!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 rich awesome 5 stars
1/25/04 R J K Stunningly thought provoking 5 stars
1/25/04 jmikie an OK movie I don't know WHY it is on so many top 10 list 3 stars
1/24/04 breadman It had to end the way it did & I'm glad. 4 stars
1/24/04 Vitality1 Murray deserves an Oscar nod, at the very least...great film 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White Abstract, engaging character study; Murray & Johansson are outstanding. 5 stars
1/21/04 MARC KHACHFE perfect. Scarlett and Bill..... 5 stars
1/21/04 Angolmois For a movie which puports to be so idealistic, it's quite condescending to the Japanese. 3 stars
1/20/04 Kay Cambourn subtle but seductive 4 stars
1/19/04 TOBY JARDIN the emperors new clothes 1 stars
1/16/04 Zaven Keleshian Best film w/out special effects of 2003 5 stars
1/16/04 LiquiDcUbe A Fine film which goes agaist all cliches and lets us see the world that we may never know. 4 stars
1/16/04 Colleen I can't believe I can't find a bad review on this movie 2 stars
1/16/04 Liz totally self-indulgent time waster 1 stars
1/16/04 Ralph R. Clemente Loved it - Scarlett & Bill rock 5 stars
1/12/04 Ingo A light in the dark... 5 stars
1/11/04 John Wesley Downey the perfect film for critics to slobber all over themselves about 4 stars
1/03/04 A F I love this film. Bill, you rule. Scarlett, marry me. Sofia, keep em coming. 5 stars
12/31/03 Bock So moody, its good! 5 stars
12/12/03 Helen Bradley Good acting, too slow a pace too long 2 stars
12/09/03 Jeannine Dreamy, moving, fun movie 5 stars
12/03/03 G. Finlay A terrific movie. Johansson, Murray & Coppola are beyond sublime. 5 stars
11/27/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/26/03 Chris Klejdys Entertaining movie. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician a profound movie. EXCELLENT 5 stars
11/22/03 Tom Dow superb 5 stars
11/21/03 Joshua S Simple and pure, but deep. Its the subtle things you miss the first viewing. See LIT 2x+!! 5 stars
11/16/03 Kathy Absolutely heartrending and moving. Bill Murray's best. 5 stars
11/11/03 Jod Decent, but tries too hard to be nothing 3 stars
11/10/03 ILLINIBRI Boring, pointless, slow. Don't tell me I'm not smart enough or artsy enough to "get it". 1 stars
11/06/03 john excellent 5 stars
11/06/03 Sherrill Durbin I am so much in love with this movie, I surprise myself. 5 stars
11/06/03 JM beautiful 5 stars
11/05/03 Marybeth R so, so bad. trite, shallow, immature. rave reviews make me wonder what's wrong w/ people. 1 stars
11/04/03 Whitey White I got it, and it was pure garbage. 1 stars
11/03/03 tim a beautiful film 5 stars
11/01/03 CJ One of the best and most honest films I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/29/03 clarance the cobra murray in his finest 5 stars
10/27/03 Kevin S Great movie with great performances 5 stars
10/26/03 J dude wasnt that great, still trying to figure it out...guess i got lost 3 stars
10/26/03 doris kyburz just one word: outstanding 5 stars
10/25/03 CB Brilliant! 5 stars
10/24/03 Mark Seagrave Remarkable film.Very close to my own experience in Japan ten years a go 5 stars
10/21/03 your worst goddamn nightmare If you loved Armageddon, you'll hate Lost in Translation, because you're an idiot... 5 stars
10/20/03 Revginny Really fine film with much discussion material for later 5 stars
10/20/03 Kate L. Do not miss this one! 5 stars
10/19/03 Michael Gillespie I've NEVER wanted to see a film again the next day as much as Lost in Translation... 5 stars
10/17/03 Bridget Bayley Excellent 5 stars
10/17/03 Henryk great filmmaking - images tell feelings 5 stars
10/16/03 Carmelita Florine Bill Murray is clearly one of the best actors ever. Off with Scarlett j's head 4 stars
10/16/03 Leonardo Menderes watched it twice, and still found something more; great movie! 5 stars
10/15/03 MoneyPenny If you don't love it there's something seriously wrong wit u 5 stars
10/14/03 des this is my favorite movie 5 stars
10/10/03 jada murray is awesome! moive not for everyone though 4 stars
10/10/03 zeitgeist The cinematography was breathtaking yet cheap. Should've called it, "Trite: the Movie" 3 stars
10/09/03 Michael Rittenberry Watching this movie makes me feel as if I'm in Tokyo with the characters. a brilliant film! 5 stars
10/09/03 trace mckellips bill is brilliant, but scarlett is not be be denied 5 stars
10/08/03 Hel Best film I've seen this year. Very original and special. 5 stars
10/08/03 Bee-eater Funny start, but how much moody gazing can we take? 3 stars
10/08/03 Robin boring!! 2 stars
10/07/03 Allan Okada Best film of the year. Succeeds on every level. 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Hilarious and moving...Bill Murray is absolutely perfect as is this film. 5 stars
10/07/03 ownerofdajoint have to read between the lines/not for everybody 4 stars
10/05/03 john wonderful...Sophia has it 5 stars
10/04/03 Stewart Sinclair Boring. This Emperor has no clothes. 2 stars
10/04/03 kiki wonderful,sweet, 5 stars
10/02/03 Mopsa Totally brilliant film....Murray should win an Oscar! 5 stars
10/01/03 Redpajammas a great film 5 stars
9/30/03 Doris Scheff Outstanding performances, subtle, rare 4 stars
9/30/03 Jeanie Best movie this year! 5 stars
9/30/03 charlie kafoure if this isn't the best film of the year, then i'll... 5 stars
9/30/03 Jin Tremendously moving and funny. 5 stars
9/29/03 Vince cool shit. 5 stars
9/28/03 guisada beautiful. 5 stars
9/28/03 KCobain Yeah, its all that and then some 5 stars
9/27/03 Ronzo Garbonzo not bad, but not a prize winner either 4 stars
9/26/03 FlixNH A film that works well on all levels. 5 stars
9/26/03 Sushigirl Fantastic. It still haunts me. 5 stars
9/23/03 The F-Bomb thank god bill did this instead of shitty's angels 5 stars
9/23/03 Jon Lyrik A truly wonderful film. Bill Murray is a God. 5 stars
9/22/03 Howard Rare, sad, sweet, existential and wry 5 stars
9/22/03 Dave really brilliant review by Collin Souter 5 stars
9/20/03 Steen Stays with you, see it in the afternoon! 5 stars
9/20/03 Heather Loved it, the scenes of Tokyo, the story, full of humor 5 stars
9/19/03 J. Zahas A rich quiet comical heartbreaking reverie of a film. 5 stars
9/17/03 Mopsa great great film, I laughed and cried at the same time 5 stars
9/17/03 nr A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/17/03 Emma Amazingly subtle, reserved, warm, tender -- and I'm talking about the movie and Bill Murray 5 stars
9/16/03 Beth Hinton Didn't live up to the hype... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2003


Directed by
  Sofia Coppola

Written by
  Sofia Coppola

Cast
  Bill Murray
  Scarlett Johansson
  Anna Faris
  Giovanni Ribisi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast