More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.36

Awesome: 6.56%
Worth A Look: 14.75%
Average: 21.31%
Pretty Bad: 22.95%
Total Crap34.43%

3 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cold Creek Manor
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Figgis in the mainstream?"
4 stars

A surprise of sorts, though it becomes less surprising or awe-inspiring as time passes from its close.

The revelations themselves do not lessen in impact, although most of the secretive suspense is dispensed midway through, leveling for some old fashioned nail-biting and pulse-pumping tension. My own initial surprise afterwards was that I was able to like a film by Mike Figgis again, something I no longer believed possible after Miss Julie and the even deeper pitfall of Time Code. Shock, too, was to discover such a commercial venture from Figgis, who has always strayed from the mainstream despite high critical standing (Leaving Las Vegas) or bright star-wattage (One Night Stand). And so, when an affluent New York couple and their pair of well-bred kids move to the country after the son was nearly run over, the property they buy in foreclosure brings some bad luck. Is it the erstwhile owner of the land, bought out from under him while in jail, attempting to swindle back what was once his? Or is there an anathema with greater and ambiguous repercussions? Or could it just be a case of over-excitable nerves in new territory? Well, the previews have done more than their basic position of recruiting viewers into the theater and enticing them with a solid mystery, but the good news is that the previews are misleading and the story travels down a route allowing more potential for dirt-in-the-eyes, water-in-the-shoes, and fog-on-the-mirror. No preparation or comfort zone will take the wind out of the structure and patience of the film, which has the benefit of offering far more of a reward than the generic direction it could have moved in. Itís a nice change when the trailers can set up a positive expectation, with the actual movie able to toss out the preconceptions, and vault over those initial expectations; it goes to show that no matter the time, no matter how advanced the material one has created or is creating with, there is still a place for the old fashioned. To swing back to Figgisí direction, there is not much, positive or negative, to say about it. He shows restraint in multiple aspects (and interestingly, the naked shoulder of Sharon Stone still qualifies as sex appeal apparently), he employs a real cinematographer, his ambitions donít rise above their potential, he doesnít run amuck with more than itís worth, and he makes some good use of low-angle shots. On the other hand, itís hard to go wrong with such staunch material. Additional steadfast support comes from the performances of Dennis Quaid, Kristen Stewart, Ryan Wilson, Dana Eskelson, Christopher Plummer, Stone, and Stephen Dorff.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8163&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/05/04 18:55:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell IT SUCKS 1 stars
9/25/10 Dax Pretty scary, plot was pretty straightforward but I thought they actually did an ok job. 4 stars
9/23/10 PAUL SHORTT OBVIOUS AND INDIFFERENTLY MADE AND ACTED 1 stars
5/03/07 karel A very naive movie 1 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
1/06/06 aimless Staggeringly Bad, a showcase of Mike Figgis' limitations as a director 1 stars
12/15/05 Jeff Anderson Completely stupid from the word go! I've had migraine headaches more thrilling than this!! 1 stars
9/27/05 tatum I have seen better suspense on "This Old House" 2 stars
8/26/05 ES What was this about again? oh yeah, that's right, I don't care 1 stars
6/22/05 darick Not abysmal, merely forgettable and boring 2 stars
5/24/05 Tracie Smegelski This one is worth seeing just for little hottie Stephen Dorff. He's sexy and smokin' here! 4 stars
3/22/05 Kyle Not very original, but I thought it was entertaining. 4 stars
11/05/04 psycho black dwarf Greg: it's not Faulkner for crying out loud, but it's not FUBAR either, it's forgettable. 2 stars
9/27/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 I find it hard to imagine professionals made this unbearable garbage 1 stars
9/25/04 Playful Penis Paul More like Cold Creek Manure! Ha! Hahahaha...oh, I need medication 1 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva the snakes were a little much 3 stars
6/20/04 Stuart Ripped off - avoid 2 stars
6/06/04 sweet c dale(sooooo hot)the rest just cold!!! 3 stars
5/24/04 Erick DŪaz Rubbish!!! 1 stars
5/05/04 Jack Sommersby Irredeemably awful. Neither scary nor suspenseful -- just endlessly tedious. 1 stars
4/23/04 James Hill It was a good movie 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Really boring and not thrilling. Like a big budget Lifetime movie, but with bigger stars. 2 stars
3/09/04 bsho76 Watching this movie made me want to light myself on fire 2 stars
1/03/04 A F Cold Crap Manor. Suckiest suck that ever sucked 1 stars
12/31/03 Spill The Beans oh my god this scared me to death!! So suspensful and unpredicable!! Im still shaking 5 stars
11/21/03 Roy R. Pryor Promising starting suspense, but film passes over 7 opportunities to not be predictable. 2 stars
10/07/03 nr it was just okay 3 stars
9/30/03 Morgan Un-intense and completely predictable. Underdevelopment of the characters 1 stars
9/29/03 Nadia Murphy This was a terrible movie. I want my money back. 1 stars
9/29/03 Big Daddy Predictable but ok and keeps your attention. 3 stars
9/27/03 SABRINA ALLEN IT WAS BACK WOODS, RED NECK AND FULL OF STUPITY 1 stars
9/27/03 Pat Landry Bad Plot but I thought it had good acting. The ending should have shown the sheriff alive. 5 stars
9/27/03 Mary Hanson Totally loved it!!!! 5 stars
9/26/03 Angry Black Man A black family would have sold the damn house!!! 1 stars
9/23/03 The F-Bomb SHARON STONE'S CAREER IS OVER!! GET OVER IT BITCH!!! 1 stars
9/22/03 jimmy james omg. wtf. lol. ggkthx. 1 stars
9/22/03 Ellie Bad acting, predictable, stupid!!! 2 stars
9/21/03 here i liked it it was good 5 stars
9/21/03 Janine Lay Predictable stupid plot, nothing scary, bad acting, stupid redneck bullshit 1 stars
9/20/03 Timmy This isn't a horror movie, it's just one of those crappy dramas 1 stars
9/20/03 Jason Zito I saw this for free, and it was the most expensive movie ever 1 stars
9/19/03 Mr Chan director forgot what movie about half-way through 1 stars
9/15/03 Gary good movie, but too many flaws 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Sep-2003 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast