More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.75

Awesome: 11.8%
Worth A Look: 19.88%
Average22.98%
Pretty Bad: 22.36%
Total Crap22.98%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Underworld
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Being about vampires and werewolves, it can both suck and bite."
2 stars

Movies about vampires, werewolves, or vampires AND werewolves are great fun to write about because no matter how eloquently you describe the plot, it is always going to sound stupid.

In "Underworld," the vampires and werewolves are two warring factions, living in the modern world but keeping their existence hidden from humans. Their dispute is centuries old, and it deals with some experimentation to combine the two species, as well as an old forbidden cross-species love affair.

See what I mean?

It's the sort of film that's far more fun to talk about that it is to watch. It doesn't rise to the level of hootingly bad camp; it's too turgid and serious for that, with overwrought dialogue like this bit from the opening narration: "The lycan horde scattered in the wind in a single evening of flame and retribution." Gotta love it.

Ages ago, there was a big war between the vampires and the werewolves (called lycans, thank you very much) in which head vamp Viktor (Bill Nighy) allegedly destroyed the head lycan, Lucian. But Viktor is gone now -- we don't know why, and we don't know why the war happened in the first place -- and leading the blood-suckers now is a guy named Kraven (Shane Brolly), which is a play on the word "craven," which means "cowardly," so you know where this is going.

Viktor's main supporter is Selene (Kate Beckinsale), and she pines for him and doesn't like Kraven. Meanwhile, the wolves seem to be chasing a specific human named Michael (Scott Speedman), which puzzles and worries the vamps, who assume nothing good can come of the lycans targeting a human for anything other than food purposes.

I had no idea what was happening for much of the film, or why. The vamps and wolves mostly stay away from each other; it is only in the end that a full-on battle takes place. Most of the questions are answered eventually -- what started the war, why Michael's being chased, etc. -- but I question the wisdom in keeping an audience in the dark for so long while simultaneously giving them so few characters to be interested in.

It's disappointing to see vampires and werewolves misused in such a manner. They have almost zero contact with the human world -- in fact, what alarms the vamps most about the wolves' seeking Michael is that they're chasing him in broad daylight -- and consequently the film feels disconnected from reality, even more than a movie about mythological creatures needs to be. We don't know what city it all happens in; it might as well be a fantasy world, or an ancient city, or another planet.

The scenes of people transforming into werewolves (they can do this at will, independently of the moon cycle) are extremely cool, and there's a dark broodiness about the whole thing (directed by first-timer Len Wiseman and written by him and two other rookies) that could have worked if the story made more sense and if there were someone to root for. As it is, it's just a lot of darkness and nonsense.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8166&reviewer=247
originally posted: 09/19/03 17:47:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell boring & overrated 1 stars
4/01/12 Cr a cool action/horror movie with vampires vs werewolves, good effects and leads are good. 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess You'll enjoy it while watching it, but you'll forget about it afterword 3 stars
7/04/10 art THIS MAKES you FORGET about TWILIGHT! 4 stars
5/07/09 true Really liked it, a good vampire movie. Lots of action, lead actress very hot. 4 stars
3/22/09 james obrien beutiful kate 5 stars
3/08/09 Linda Diaz Guilty Pleasures sexy vamps and hunky wolves! 5 stars
3/02/09 Ira Awesome backstory. OK character design. The acting killed it. 2 stars
2/06/09 Alejandro Sosa The action is what made the movie some what enjoyable! 3 stars
2/01/09 MIng I love all the underworld movie, however this one is a little below the others 3 stars
1/24/09 David Tried to be badass but failed. 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
8/07/07 ravenmad I like the dark stuff, Kate made it great! Without her: awful. I like women that kick ass! 4 stars
7/17/07 MaDmAN Kate is beautiful!! But this has got to be one of the most boring, depressing movies ever! 3 stars
12/26/06 RoBeRt rObErTsOn I USUALLY WOULDN'T JACK OFF TO THIS... OK, OKAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY ONLY ONCE 2 stars
12/03/06 RazorFang I had no problem following this movie and I missed part of it.Unrated version is better. 4 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller Kate rocked it and the action/FX were solid but it should have been WAY better. 3 stars
9/20/06 Pritchett All in all I thought it was pretty lame. 2 stars
8/19/06 Beau i agree, repetitive fight scenes, a bit boring, but good storyline plot 3 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist 3 words, DISSAPIONTING, NERDY,CRAPFEST.Too futuristic, really boring time waster!! 1 stars
5/17/06 Taylor I think this movie is the best ever! 5 stars
4/24/06 Annie The Matrix meets Van Helsing is the best description yet! 3 stars
3/09/06 Dk Matrix meets Van Helsing and thats a cool combination 4 stars
2/24/06 ES Liked it, necessary to enjoy the UW evolutions 4 stars
2/17/06 Galliwertz A one-way ticket to DULLSVILLE! ALMOST as bad as QUEEN OF THEM DUMB. 1 stars
2/10/06 Carolyn Rathburn love it, dark, vampires, werewolves, bloodlust, great movie 5 stars
2/08/06 FritztheCat Easily one of the dullest, most pretentious "action" films I've ever sat through. 1 stars
1/29/06 CthulhuFhtagn This is one super-lame film for super-lame people. 1 stars
1/26/06 jeff repetitive fight scenes, bad acting, boring. 1 stars
1/25/06 Runaway Stiff, boring, redundant, incoherent, silly, dull, uninteresting, bland, dumb, pandering... 1 stars
1/23/06 Noodle I agree, for the very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, VERY easily entertained. 1 stars
1/22/06 Simon For the easily entertained. It's really just cool/good (kate)-looking stuff and "nonsense". 3 stars
1/21/06 SoHo I never thought a movie about vampire vs. werewolves could be so BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/19/06 Sumixam Better than most make it out to be 4 stars
11/14/05 Indrid Cold Average at best; even Blade did this type of thing much better. 3 stars
10/23/05 Raul Valdez Great movie you people need to stop bugging. 5 stars
10/22/05 Jack I've seen Total Crap and this is not Total Crap . . . but almost. 3 stars
8/18/05 ES A good lead in whenever they start to produce world of darkness movies, but yikes bad actin 4 stars
7/22/05 Jordan Okay This Movie rocks I love camps n lycans DEC 2 05 Underworld Evolution!!!!!!!!!!!!yay!! 5 stars
7/14/05 Sully Kate can suck my blood anytime.... 4 stars
3/11/05 Gray all my friends agreed this movie was shit 1 stars
1/30/05 enzeru interesting how it shows both perspectives (vamp/lycan), just don't expect another Matrix 4 stars
1/27/05 JesseL One of the better vampire flicks ever. Love Beckinsale. 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton Dark, stylish, underrated movie in the tradition of "Blade". Very cool. 4 stars
12/10/04 Gray sucked ass 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams after that GORGEOUS opening shot, it all goes to hell 1 stars
9/03/04 Steve Newman Dissapointed with general acting - special effects are good 4 stars
8/02/04 Raf Milis The beginning is pretty good, but the end?? come on..i've seen this a thousand times.... 2 stars
7/12/04 Dave C Short and sweet: I enjoyed it. Sure it's flawed as many movies are, but I enjoyed it still. 4 stars
6/05/04 Carmen THIS MOVIE WAS THE BOMB AND I LOVE IT SO MUCH 5 stars
5/05/04 gray me and my friends laughed outloud towards the end really vamp/werewolf? :) 1 stars
4/11/04 stryper rocks Selene's a cool chick....smart, relentless, dark, and deadly with those silver bullets 5 stars
3/25/04 Erica Thornton well-paced, interesting premise 4 stars
3/18/04 rachel burke lots of action worth a look 4 stars
3/18/04 Maria I liked the show..but it defitanly was missing something! 3 stars
3/17/04 Alfred Guy It was ok, mostly tepid. Been there, saw that. 3 stars
3/16/04 alex considering it was stolen from some unknown book series... it wasn't that bad 3 stars
3/12/04 Jack Bourbon It really wasn't that bad, which was nothing short of miraculous considering the trailer 3 stars
3/12/04 jdogg "visually stunning"="worth a look"?? No thinking here, thank you...we prefer to just stare. 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Worth watching at least once 4 stars
2/05/04 Ingo Mediocre mixture of 'hip' ingredients. 3 stars
2/04/04 Dave Nice 4 stars
2/04/04 Joy Visually stunning. . 4 stars
2/04/04 Sammy This movie was the best I've seen in a while. The special effects were awesome!! 5 stars
1/27/04 jasarco wanna c it again 4 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody Here's a nice piece of shit 1 stars
1/27/04 Samuel if you've never saw either of the "Blade" movies watch one of them instead they are better 3 stars
1/26/04 u sexay thing f...u. 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White Considering the great visual effects, you'd expect much better. 2 stars
1/22/04 Tom Cruise At least this is a lead character I'm taller than... pity I can't outact her. 1 stars
1/18/04 Cheerleader who ran out of TP&has to wipe her ass with her pompoms Firmly in a tradition of making bad vampire flicks seem "a dime a dozen". 1 stars
1/13/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Can't be taken seriously, but doesn't make it as a spoof either. 1 stars
1/12/04 George Hill A movie that has everything I expected 5 stars
1/08/04 JJ Not as bad as it is amateurish and cliche ridden... 2 stars
1/08/04 KICK ASS OR DONT COME HOME! this movie is for only ppl in the goth and D&D scene 4 stars
1/06/04 tricky dick The title of this lame assed shit should be THE BLATRIX!!! 1 stars
1/03/04 A F Pretty Crappy. 2 stars
11/27/03 John noisy confused shallow and childish...sorry this one is only for die hard fans of the genre 2 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee A fast-paced masterpiece that should never be forgotten! 5 stars
10/15/03 Jeff Marc A rip off of the DARK HORSE comic OUT FOR BLOOD only WORSE! 1 stars
10/10/03 Gary AWESOME 5 stars
10/06/03 Kitty Confusing, Boring, Weird looking chick in leather - 'nuff said. 1 stars
10/04/03 Worthy Slacker Poorly shot shootouts/action scenes cut to rapidly. Variation of Rome & Juliet story. 3 stars
10/04/03 Randy J Redmond It sucked ass! I walked out after the quick silver bullets! 1 stars
10/02/03 Peace Frog Eeon's a piece of shit at best...may he get AIDS from his own father....tool 1 stars
9/30/03 Eeon Not bad. 4 stars
9/30/03 great pumpkin i liked when the guy was all green and those blood tubes coming out 3 stars
9/28/03 Renegade Bushido Give the guy who played Kraven an Academy Award! (sarcasm) 3 stars
9/27/03 NoRefill Could have been so much more. Boring at times, interesting at others. 3 stars
9/25/03 Billy Bob Fun movie, lots of action. Could use a bit more explanation of plot, but overall a good fl 4 stars
9/24/03 malcolm waaaay better than T3 and Matrix: Reloaded 4 stars
9/23/03 Obi Wan Good fun and no A-List actors to ruin the flick. 4 stars
9/23/03 KingNeutron VAMPIRES DONT REFLECT - but otherwise 2 GREAT plot twists 3 stars
9/23/03 Eric S. Is it OK if I enjoyed this movie, even while recognizing its flaws? 4 stars
9/23/03 Chrys Is anyone ever gonna wise up to how very vapid and talentless kate beckinsale is? 1 stars
9/23/03 krystin it was actually pretty good...I was surprised 4 stars
9/23/03 Gray 1000 bullet guns+lame "guy who's a vampire/werewolf " =laughably bad movie 1 stars
9/23/03 LoudChris Fun creature flick with great sets. Kate performs well and looks great. 4 stars
9/22/03 Timmy Better than Blade 5 stars
9/22/03 The F-Bomb too fucking loud with no fucking story.kate's hot, though 3 stars
9/21/03 Randy Muselman Could have cut about 20 minutes from the film. Seem more of a cross between Blade & Matrix 3 stars
9/21/03 David How can you reduce Vampires and Lycans to cardboard hollywood guntoters? 2 stars
9/21/03 syrius What's up with the bad acting and infinite ammo?! 2 stars
9/21/03 Oksana Good characters, lots of promise, need stronger storyline. Like Michael and Selene, 4 stars
9/21/03 wesley cox complaint- like matrix 1 person shoots and hit 20 people who are shooting at the 1 person 4 stars
9/20/03 Vicious When will anyone ever do werewolves right? And i hate vampires. 2 stars
9/20/03 Lord Chu There could be more heads being chopped off, but overall? Pretty good. 4 stars
9/20/03 michaelb14 Could have been much better, still enjoyable though 3 stars
9/20/03 Damon A decent flick for average joe, a good flick for people who like gothic movies 4 stars
9/20/03 Timmy GREAT 5 stars
9/20/03 ludvig the movie was awesome except for all the guns why couldn't they just fight without guns 5 stars
9/19/03 Mr Chan me lika this movie, it real good! 4 stars
9/19/03 Gary best movie ever 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Sep-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 10-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jan-2004


Directed by
  Len Wiseman

Written by
  Danny McBride

Cast
  Kate Beckinsale
  Scott Speedman
  Shane Brolly
  Robby Gee
  Erwin Leder
  Sophia Myles



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast