More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.65

Awesome82.43%
Worth A Look: 8.11%
Average: 5.41%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 4.05%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hard Day's Night, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"Another example of how the Beatles are better'n the Spice Girls"
5 stars

Another example of why the Beatles kick all ass eligble for kicking. That's A HARD DAY'S NIGHT in a nutshell.

Herein these few rolls of film, there lies a witty, charismatic film that converted many people into Beatlemaniacs in the sixties. Hell, it still does. I'm an example. Frankly, it's a classic.

The story follows the fab four as they prepare for a big gig, however, they are paired with Paul's cranky grandfather and therein, fun and hijinx ensue.

The movie transcends the characters of the Beatles beautifully. Kudos go to the writer and the director for doing a great job of balancing the credibility of the movie along with the lack of acting experience held by the Beatles.

However, even though the Beatles did have a lack of acting experience, they had a tremendous stage presence, accompanied by a fair amount of acting *talent*, special mention to John and Ringo. John does well of playing out his character of the wise aleck, smartass; Ringo plays out the part of the relatable sympathetic character very well; Paul and George play their
respective parts of the wise peacemaker and the quiet one admirably.

All in all, it makes for a great film. In fact, it's better than a great film. It's... a CLASSIC.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=817&reviewer=3
originally posted: 09/04/98 02:47:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/05/15 stanley welles a rock-and-roll movie classic 4 stars
6/22/13 PAUL SHORTT DELIGHTFUL COMIC FANTASIA WITH MUSIC 4 stars
5/25/12 Randy Love this movie, cannot tell you how many times that I have seen it. A real classic. 5 stars
10/14/11 Matt Ferrell Love this movie. Can watch it over and over, and it gets even more funny every time! 5 stars
9/07/10 Philly Cult Perfect screenplay, great music, a blast from start to finish. 5 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Why does this get great reviews? It's shit. The soundtrack is awesome though! 1 stars
10/11/05 Carolyn Rathburn I thought it was kind of silly really. 4 stars
9/06/05 Hannah This movie is really great for Beatles fans- especially if you can sing along! 5 stars
8/03/05 Eric Rollins Loved it as a pre-teen. It really shows its age at this point. 3 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington The Beatles could just make masterpiece after masterpiece, couldn't they? 5 stars
10/05/04 Windseeker I gotta agree with everybody else. The movie absolutely, positively surprises. 5 stars
6/04/04 Craig Great songs. Great movie. Check out the awesome lighting during "And I Love Her". I<3GH 5 stars
4/20/04 Desperado Great movie the Beatles at their best they r still the greatest of all time hands down A+ 5 stars
1/21/04 Chlo Brody The best Beatles movie ever made... 5 stars
5/19/03 kate loved it, amazing film!!!! 5 stars
3/24/03 Charles Tatum So whimsical as to be imperfect 4 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig the music alone makes it awesome the humor is added flavor 5 stars
5/10/02 vanessa The Beatles did a great job but the best kudos go to the writer and director of this film. 5 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Not Their Best Work, but Still Very Good. 5 stars
6/19/01 Paul's Uncle Very clean! 5 stars
6/15/01 Nicola This film shows a perfect example of the swinging sixties along with good music. 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye It's only fitting that the best rock'n'roll band should get the best rock'n'roll movie. 5 stars
3/12/01 viking You're an idiot, Sorry Man. The Beatles are a million times better than that techno crap !! 5 stars
2/06/01 Sorry man poop poop poop 1 stars
2/06/01 Beatles r GAY THey r one of the most overrated bands ever! and plus they CANT act! 1 stars
1/12/01 Skip I'm a huge Beatles fan, but I found this kind of boring. Sorry. 3 stars
1/07/01 gabriel simply fab 5 stars
12/20/00 Jaymie Yes there is a reason the Beatles in beating the backdoorboys! 5 stars
12/16/00 Matt There's a REASON why the new Backstreet Boys CD is getting its ass kicked by the Beatles... 5 stars
12/05/00 Doug Outstanding! 5 stars
11/19/00 viking the fab four are still fab !!! 5 stars
11/18/00 salvo how did you find the film? 5 stars
11/10/00 skye bigger than big 5 stars
7/07/00 John I have it and love it. Help is fine too. 5 stars
12/12/99 Glenn I'd turn left at Greenland to see this one. Too bad it inspired the Monkees. 5 stars
10/10/99 john grove totally magnificent 5 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah I miss the Beatles... A hell of a terrific movie! 5 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Better than Spiceworld: The Movie, Beatles forever! 5 stars
9/27/99 Ann Tyer Any Beatles fan should see this movie and people that aren't Beatles fans will be. 5 stars
9/25/99 alyssa Did you really rent it for the ACTING?? 4 stars
9/20/99 Weird Andy I'm no Beatlemaniac, but I dug the movie. Not quite as good as Lester's Musketeer flicks. 4 stars
9/20/99 Ricky Urena The music rocks! 5 stars
7/31/99 Emily This movie is my all time favourite movie, no question about it! 5 stars
2/27/99 Jennifer Bennett This is the greatest movie I have seen it a million times and laugh out loud each time 5 stars
12/27/98 roxy if you don't like this movie you're retarded. 5 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh Hey, Beatles kick ass better than Spice Girls and Backstreet Boys. Woohoo! 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Shows the four lads from Liverpool in all their innocence and charm. 5 stars
9/03/98 Johny Saw it a long time ago, but I still don't like The Beatles 3 stars
9/02/98 pooky the bald After spawning The Monkees and Spiceworld, this film has more to answer for than Idi Amin. 3 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy I love this movie, great film, with a great soundtrack. you'll see me in the seats for this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Aug-1964

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast