More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome: 22%
Worth A Look52%
Average: 8%
Pretty Bad: 4%
Total Crap: 14%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rundown, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"A derivative,cookie-cutter action flick...that's actually pretty damn good."
4 stars

It's so great to see a "quality" B-movie hit the multiplexes once in a while. With very little originality or brains, Peter Berg's "The Rundown" puts similar flicks to shame simply by bringing that infectiously goofy FUN back into what's generally known as the Mindless Action Flick.

Love Bad Boys 2 or loathe it as much as I so passionately do, you can't claim that there's any real FUN to be had there. The copious action sequences tick off like a checklist 'o mayhem and plop onto the screen like the world's loudest conveyer belt.

And what's it say about the state of the modern Action Blockbuster that the ultra-expensive Bad Boys 2 is overshadowed in nearly every respect by The Rundown...a project that's been bouncing around Hollywood for over ten years!

Rescheduled a few times and repeatedly retitled (from Helldorado to Welcome to the Jungle to The Rundown), Peter Berg's second effort (after the sadly misunderstood Very Bad Things) delivers a collection of winning action scenes, surprisingly witty exchanges of Buddy Banter, exotic locales aplenty...and the ever-welcome presence of one Christopher Walken.

The plot sees our hulking hero (Dwayne Johnson, a.k.a. The Rock) on a mission to retrieve a ne'er-do-well wiseass from the deepest Amazon jungles. Immediately upon the hero's arrival, things go more than consistently awry. We got barroom brawls, insane plummets down mountains, tribes laden with feral little asskickers, and more colorfully devious henchmen than any action flick needs.

That The Rundown delivers the goods in a colorful and thankfully irony-free fashion would be enough to earn it my admittedly surprised recommendation. What makes The Rundown even better than that is the shockingly disarming lead performance by the Rock-Man! Neither of the WWF star's previous films (The Mummy Returns and The Scorpion King) afforded the affable lug with much material personable in nature, but in this one the guy's loose and charming, understated and entirely likeable. Based on his performance here, it seems there's very little to prevent Mr. Rock from becoming the heir apparent to the Slys and the Arnies.

Perhaps Vin Diesel could take some tips from The Rock's performance in The Rundown.

The Rundown is a simple equation, which makes the general dearth of quality action films each year all the more frustrating. Bring some energy, some color, some excitement and flash, a few good-humored performers well aware of the type of movie that they're acting in, and a villain worth booing...and you've probably just produced an action movie that approaches the enthusiasm and enjoyably silliness that The Rundown presents with an impressive consistency.

People think that movie critics hate "mindless action films". Trust me, we don't. We just hate the stupid and lazy ones. And those ones are freakin' everywhere. If you judge a film on its own entertainment agenda, "The Rundown" is simply a winner.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8182&reviewer=128
originally posted: 09/27/03 12:42:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell action & humor blend well 4 stars
8/26/13 DB I love action movies in general, but this one sucks! 1 stars
7/31/10 PAUL SHORTT HARMLESS ENTERTAINMENT 3 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner The Rock is a great actor! 5 stars
7/15/08 sweetgrrl1972 Surprisingly fun movie! The Rock proved he had chops in this. 4 stars
10/20/07 john great screenplay by james vanderbilt 5 stars
10/14/06 AJ Muller B-movie rises to A-level based on entertainment value alone; just have fun, okay?!? 5 stars
5/31/06 R.W.Welch Over-the-top actioner with intricate choreography. Works reasonably well. 3 stars
4/22/06 Jack Awesome! 5 stars
9/02/05 Tom Burns My favorite movie with The Rock. Loved it! 5 stars
7/25/05 Steve Newman Film entertained my 12 yr old (he says awesome) - i thought it was rubbish - stay clear 2 stars
5/02/05 Valerie The Rock rocks in this movie! 5 stars
4/25/05 Quigley the rock could never survive the stuff he suffes but a good film. But no more Sean W. Scott 3 stars
4/09/05 B Kniprath Very good action packed movie. 4 stars
3/05/05 Dan Good movie. 4 stars
1/31/05 axe Are they out of the jungle yet? *YAWN* 3 stars
11/19/04 JIZZ I think i could together a better movie about deficating than this could ever be 1 stars
11/10/04 Misti Very funny, not what I expected. Seann William Scott is hilarious 4 stars
11/08/04 Tony U c the Rock get smacked the fuck up and he still isn't tired or hurt 4 stars
7/09/04 qemm definetly way better then you would expect from a movie with the rock and seann scott in it 4 stars
7/04/04 I love Ernie Reyes Jr. This is an awesome movie. Seann William Scott is sooo hot. 5 stars
6/08/04 Tiit very good action 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot i wasnt expecting meet joe black and i didnt get it.good action com! 4 stars
4/21/04 M "stifler" is so fukn annoyin!!!! gets an averge for rippling muscles 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Entertaining! 4 stars
4/13/04 Vince Brainless action movie, crap script. A few impressive action scenes though. 2 stars
4/08/04 mongoose0111 OH MY GOD does this film suck!!! 1 stars
3/28/04 Kev Sounds like some people took it waaaaaay too seriously. 5 stars
3/24/04 K Sucks harder than your mom 1 stars
3/14/04 KEZZA I'm with Jack, sorry Chloe - it Rocks (get it?) 5 stars
3/14/04 Jack No waste of time because it wasnt total crap 4 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Waste of my fucking time! 1 stars
1/18/04 esquire not too freaking serious which i liked & just good fun! 5 stars
1/15/04 Helen Bradley Rubbish what a waste of money 1 stars
1/10/04 Nefertiri I love that movie.. I love The Rock... poor Rock He have been humped by the horny monkeys> 5 stars
1/02/04 Long River BORING 2 stars
12/29/03 jas sucks! So goddamn stupid 1 stars
11/27/03 John it's only good if you have never seen a good action movie 3 stars
11/07/03 Cameron Slick Brings good new inventions to the tired buddy action film. 4 stars
11/03/03 melfl it was a very funny and good movie. 5 stars
10/21/03 Christian Harding Great Mvie 4 stars
10/20/03 Igor Im not sure why I liked it. Maybe because my expectations were so low. Oh well. 5 stars
10/19/03 Frodogandy I expected it to suck ass, but it rocked! Rosario has tig ol' bitties! 5 stars
10/18/03 fiddla on da roof so good-i want to have gay sex with myself 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Nothing but great entertainment the whole way through! Loved it! 5 stars
10/16/03 jacques This movie was pretty good. 4 stars
10/07/03 Lola Farjardo Did anyone see the movie The Rundown? I finally did, and I must say I thought the storyline 2 stars
10/07/03 Ken Tonn The movie was really awsome. 5 stars
10/07/03 joconnell Pure fun! 4 stars
10/04/03 Jiz Rock acting? Scott funny? Strange day, but true. The monkey scene was retarded though. 4 stars
10/04/03 nick2k i was afraid the walken/rock/scott mix...but it wasn't crap at all. wow... 4 stars
10/02/03 Jestyr gonna agree with most everyone else. not bad, its a good fun film. 4 stars
10/01/03 Heath Good cinematography and decent acting - especially Walkins! 4 stars
9/30/03 Duckman damn funny show 4 stars
9/29/03 Obi Wan Surpisingly good. Rock was very good, action was good and comedy was on point! Nice Cameo 5 stars
9/29/03 JR I AGREE IT SUCKS.......ROCK GO BACK TO WRESTLING 1 stars
9/29/03 othree buyable choreographed fun, The Rock is always a solid character ;) 4 stars
9/28/03 jimmy james its ok, and would be better if you are 15 3 stars
9/28/03 srburns Fun popcorn movie 4 stars
9/27/03 KingNeutron Some good comic moments, Rock's best movie so far. 3 stars
9/27/03 Rod Johnston This is a sweet movie. I can really smell what the Rock is cookin! 5 stars
9/27/03 R Sanchez A fun, silly b movie. The Rock surprised me, he can actually act and he and Walken make it 4 stars
9/22/03 The F-Bomb it was fucking awesome! horny monkeys!!! 5 stars
9/21/03 michaelb14 saw a sneak preview, great popcorn flick, the rock was actually funny, and great action 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Sep-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast