More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome: 22.22%
Worth A Look51.52%
Average: 8.08%
Pretty Bad: 4.04%
Total Crap: 14.14%

6 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

Zero Theorem, The by Peter Sobczynski

Tusk by Peter Sobczynski

Maze Runner, The by Jay Seaver

Welcome to New York by Jay Seaver

Metalhead by Jay Seaver

Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan by Charles Tatum

subscribe to this feed


Rundown, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"I love when a movie ends up being much better than it had a right to be"
4 stars

If you were like me, and dismissed THE RUNDOWN during it's theatrical run as just another stupid action vehicle for Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson - well, get in the apology line behind me, because you owe one to everyone involved for judging a book by it's cover. THE RUNDOWN is good. Perhaps it's not genre-revolutionizing and life-altering good. But it's definitely snappy one-liners and bone-crunching action good, and that's good enough for me.

THE RUNDOWN is one of those movies that just comes together. You expect it to be dumb, but it's refreshingly clever. You expect the acting to range anywhere from mediocre to horrible, and everyone in the cast rises to the occasion and turns in a damn solid performance. You expect the action scenes to be pedestrian, and you are giddily surprised to find a director with a sharp eye at the helm, who knows just how to get the most out every flying scissor-kick or thug getting a blunt object cracked over his head. There's a torch-passing cameo in the opening scene, where The Rock brushes against Arnold Schwarznegger in the hall of a nightclub, and the Governator just smiles at him and says "Have Fun." Never has such an exhortation been taken to heart so well. It's that sense of fun that constantly uplifts THE RUNDOWN, and gives you a newfound respect for directors like Peter Berg (VERY BAD THINGS) and even guys like The Rock or Sean William Scott, who manage to rise above the niches they've been typecast into.

Rock plays Beck, a very tough dude who runs down people to collect on their gambling debts in order to pay off one of his own. Despite his talent for breaking bones and laying out guys who are twice his size, he's really just a nice guy who hates guns, doesn't like hurting people, and who wants to get out of "the life" and open a quiet restaurant somewhere. He's given the chance to do just that if he does one last job for his boss - find the Boss's son down in the jungles of Brazil. It seems that Travis (Sean William Scott) ran off to become a treasure hunter after sleeping with the wrong guy's wife. Now he has to come back to face the music.

Beck takes the job and goes looking for Travis, making the acquaintence of sexy bartender Marianna (Rosario Dawson) in the process. Finding Travis is the easy part. Getting him back home is another story, since local crime overlord and slave driver Hatcher (Christopher Walken, in top form) is looking for a valuable artifact that Travis claims to know the whereabouts of.

What ensues is a lot of chasing and fighting in the jungle, a lot of funny exchanges between Scott and The Rock, and plenty of hilarious dialogue from Walken in his unsurpassed deadpan style (His "Tooth Fairy" analogy is bound to be quoted repeatedly by fans). But best of all are the fight scenes, which are full of energy and great camera angles and some really fantastic coreography. Sure, they're used as a showcase for The Rock's wrestlemania moves, but they work. If you're an action fan, seeing how much furniture the rock breaks over people's heads will constantly bring a smile to your face.

I don't know if The Rock will really become as big as Schwarznegger was in his prime, but making movies like THE RUNDOWN is certainly a way to get off on the right foot. Likewise, his progress as an actor is impressive when compared to 2002's SCORPION KING. He's not going to be ready to do any Shakespeare festivals anytime soon, but he sells the role with a combination of an intimidating demeanor and likable gruffness. If you're in the mood for a solid two hours of one-liners and good ass-kicking, THE RUNDOWN is defintely worth running down to the video store for.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8182&reviewer=258
originally posted: 11/09/04 16:10:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/26/13 DB I love action movies in general, but this one sucks! 1 stars
7/31/10 PAUL SHORTT HARMLESS ENTERTAINMENT 3 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner The Rock is a great actor! 5 stars
7/15/08 sweetgrrl1972 Surprisingly fun movie! The Rock proved he had chops in this. 4 stars
10/20/07 john great screenplay by james vanderbilt 5 stars
10/14/06 AJ Muller B-movie rises to A-level based on entertainment value alone; just have fun, okay?!? 5 stars
5/31/06 R.W.Welch Over-the-top actioner with intricate choreography. Works reasonably well. 3 stars
4/22/06 Jack Awesome! 5 stars
9/02/05 Tom Burns My favorite movie with The Rock. Loved it! 5 stars
7/25/05 Steve Newman Film entertained my 12 yr old (he says awesome) - i thought it was rubbish - stay clear 2 stars
5/02/05 Valerie The Rock rocks in this movie! 5 stars
4/25/05 Quigley the rock could never survive the stuff he suffes but a good film. But no more Sean W. Scott 3 stars
4/09/05 B Kniprath Very good action packed movie. 4 stars
3/05/05 Dan Good movie. 4 stars
1/31/05 axe Are they out of the jungle yet? *YAWN* 3 stars
11/19/04 JIZZ I think i could together a better movie about deficating than this could ever be 1 stars
11/10/04 Misti Very funny, not what I expected. Seann William Scott is hilarious 4 stars
11/08/04 Tony U c the Rock get smacked the fuck up and he still isn't tired or hurt 4 stars
7/09/04 qemm definetly way better then you would expect from a movie with the rock and seann scott in it 4 stars
7/04/04 I love Ernie Reyes Jr. This is an awesome movie. Seann William Scott is sooo hot. 5 stars
6/08/04 Tiit very good action 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot i wasnt expecting meet joe black and i didnt get it.good action com! 4 stars
4/21/04 M "stifler" is so fukn annoyin!!!! gets an averge for rippling muscles 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Entertaining! 4 stars
4/13/04 Vince Brainless action movie, crap script. A few impressive action scenes though. 2 stars
4/08/04 mongoose0111 OH MY GOD does this film suck!!! 1 stars
3/28/04 Kev Sounds like some people took it waaaaaay too seriously. 5 stars
3/24/04 K Sucks harder than your mom 1 stars
3/14/04 KEZZA I'm with Jack, sorry Chloe - it Rocks (get it?) 5 stars
3/14/04 Jack No waste of time because it wasnt total crap 4 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Waste of my fucking time! 1 stars
1/18/04 esquire not too freaking serious which i liked & just good fun! 5 stars
1/15/04 Helen Bradley Rubbish what a waste of money 1 stars
1/10/04 Nefertiri I love that movie.. I love The Rock... poor Rock He have been humped by the horny monkeys> 5 stars
1/02/04 Long River BORING 2 stars
12/29/03 jas sucks! So goddamn stupid 1 stars
11/27/03 John it's only good if you have never seen a good action movie 3 stars
11/07/03 Cameron Slick Brings good new inventions to the tired buddy action film. 4 stars
11/03/03 melfl it was a very funny and good movie. 5 stars
10/21/03 Christian Harding Great Mvie 4 stars
10/20/03 Igor Im not sure why I liked it. Maybe because my expectations were so low. Oh well. 5 stars
10/19/03 Frodogandy I expected it to suck ass, but it rocked! Rosario has tig ol' bitties! 5 stars
10/18/03 fiddla on da roof so good-i want to have gay sex with myself 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Nothing but great entertainment the whole way through! Loved it! 5 stars
10/16/03 jacques This movie was pretty good. 4 stars
10/07/03 Lola Farjardo Did anyone see the movie The Rundown? I finally did, and I must say I thought the storyline 2 stars
10/07/03 Ken Tonn The movie was really awsome. 5 stars
10/07/03 joconnell Pure fun! 4 stars
10/04/03 Jiz Rock acting? Scott funny? Strange day, but true. The monkey scene was retarded though. 4 stars
10/04/03 nick2k i was afraid the walken/rock/scott mix...but it wasn't crap at all. wow... 4 stars
10/02/03 Jestyr gonna agree with most everyone else. not bad, its a good fun film. 4 stars
10/01/03 Heath Good cinematography and decent acting - especially Walkins! 4 stars
9/30/03 Duckman damn funny show 4 stars
9/29/03 Obi Wan Surpisingly good. Rock was very good, action was good and comedy was on point! Nice Cameo 5 stars
9/29/03 JR I AGREE IT SUCKS.......ROCK GO BACK TO WRESTLING 1 stars
9/29/03 othree buyable choreographed fun, The Rock is always a solid character ;) 4 stars
9/28/03 jimmy james its ok, and would be better if you are 15 3 stars
9/28/03 srburns Fun popcorn movie 4 stars
9/27/03 KingNeutron Some good comic moments, Rock's best movie so far. 3 stars
9/27/03 Rod Johnston This is a sweet movie. I can really smell what the Rock is cookin! 5 stars
9/27/03 R Sanchez A fun, silly b movie. The Rock surprised me, he can actually act and he and Walken make it 4 stars
9/22/03 The F-Bomb it was fucking awesome! horny monkeys!!! 5 stars
9/21/03 michaelb14 saw a sneak preview, great popcorn flick, the rock was actually funny, and great action 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Sep-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast