More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.92

Awesome: 24.72%
Worth A Look44.94%
Average: 28.09%
Pretty Bad: 2.25%
Total Crap: 0%

7 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tarzan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"I like loincloths."
3 stars

I dislike Disney. That said, I didn't hate this one. Finally the 3D animation is integrated so it doesn't look like 2 different movies spliced together like in Beauty and The Beast and Hunchback Of Notre Dame.

The animation gets 5 stars from me. The voices, except for Minnie, score an 'above average'. I totally agree with Ryan that Rosie O'Donnell was way too much, but hey, the kids eat it right up.

The movement in the animation behind Tarzan is breathtaking. The animals are awesome, and Tarzan reinterpreted as an extreme sports guy is a really awesome take on it. A very clever way to update the story and make it accessable for the 90s and still stay faithful to the original. An awesome use of the medium.

However (always a 'however' with me), there's so much violence in this one. I thought the opening sequence with the lost gorilla baby was handled extremely well. Subtle, yet clear. But dude, at the end? Those scenes were scary to ME, and I'm 21. If I were like 8, I think I would have nightmares from seeing a guy hanged... especially the way they did it here...

Aside from that, I found the moral of the story to be very forced. And I hate Minnie Driver. Overall, I thought the movie disjointed in its storytelling, and awkward.

3 sporks, a definite for animation fans.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=819&reviewer=6
originally posted: 07/27/99 02:36:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/20/11 Magic A touching story about what constitutes family. Deep Canvas gets a work out here. 4 stars
4/03/09 Dominic CLAYTON reminds me of MERLOCK from DUCKTALES THE MOVIE and GASTON from BEAUTY & THE BEAST. 5 stars
11/17/08 Little Buddy This is Disney's best animated feature film since 1940's FANTASIA. 5 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 4 stars
10/01/08 PAUL SHORTT A BEAUTIFULLY CRAFTED, WELL-PACED AND WELL VOICED FEATURE 4 stars
9/11/08 Little Buddy Released after Mulan and Anastasia. 5 stars
7/04/08 Quigley Great Disney film with awesome action and rousing music. Not to be missed. 5 stars
2/04/08 johnnyfog Better than Pocahontas 3 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Superb animation, fast action, great character design. Weak ending though. 4 stars
7/13/05 Manasa Kanthi Nice movie for kids to enjoy, only the kids know than elders however fast action it has. 4 stars
5/13/04 Sean Scanlan Okay 3 stars
3/28/04 john another confused modern Disney film cashing in on the Disney brand name 2 stars
3/01/03 ME A GOOD FILM 5 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Would Have Been Better As A Live-Action Movie...Too Confusing For Kids. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie, but not top Disney material. 3 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla it would've been better if wasn't for those damn FAST action scenes that I didn't get. 4 stars
10/27/00 viking Better than some live action versions I've seen 4 stars
6/22/00 Michael Grimm awesome movie, my favorite disney flick since Aladdin 5 stars
6/06/00 MATTHEW MYLAN LOVED IT, SEEN IT ABOUT 5 TIMES. 5 stars
3/27/00 Richard Wright Superb animation and good humour can't quite redeem a by-the-numbers plot and dire music. 3 stars
3/19/00 Jed Good disney fare although villian is underdeveloped. 4 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Loved it 5 stars
11/07/99 Faith Andrew I loved this movie. I laughed and cried and had my breath taken away on many occasions 5 stars
10/03/99 Britney Awesome movie! Great soundtrack! 5 stars
9/20/99 Weird Andy Disney continues to mind-rape America's kinder. 2 stars
9/15/99 RICHARD E. SHEFFIELD BEST ANIMATED SINCE BEAUTY AND THE BEAST 5 stars
9/06/99 Kenya Another classic story with same old Disney sap. Nice animation, though. 3 stars
8/20/99 Noreen Totally absorbing and beautiful. Though more of a 4 1/2 than a 5. 5 stars
8/19/99 Geoff Finally! Disney's back on track. 5 stars
8/03/99 dbx When the silverback got shot i had to stop myself from shouting all too easy. 4 stars
7/29/99 PhilmPhreak Good Disney fare 4 stars
7/26/99 claire disney did it again. a must-see. 5 stars
7/17/99 buddy Beautiful!! Best film of the year so far. 5 stars
7/14/99 bridgette decent. tarzan was rather repulsive looking though 4 stars
7/11/99 Freyja Beautiful to look at and a great story. Right up there with The Lion King. 5 stars
7/07/99 iyu An Incredible, beautiful achievement. 5 stars
7/06/99 jlgallardo Great animation,except for the faces of Tarzan & Jane. 4 stars
7/03/99 ADAM (OREOADAM@AOL.COM) TARZAN WAS GREAT IT KICKED BIG ASS TARZAN WAS COOL I MEAN AT LEAST HE COULD PICK HIS NOSE 5 stars
7/01/99 Elizaveta I was actually...touched. ugh, get rid of O'Donnell 4 stars
6/28/99 The Graduate Surprisingly moving, with very dimensional characters. 5 stars
6/22/99 Negative Creep 6 ONSCREEN DEATHS! A DISNEY RECORD. Too bad the death toll didnt include Rosie O'Donnell! 4 stars
6/21/99 Ah Dooey not too bad 5 stars
6/20/99 Melissa Simply breathtaking. Disney has done it again. 5 stars
6/20/99 j.b. This movie looks great. It's a typical disney movie. 4 stars
6/18/99 Mr Showbiz The script is a rote rehash of all the standard Disney elements. 3 stars
6/17/99 Christina Disney's best animated feature since the lion king. 5 stars
6/14/99 Mr Variety Disney’s Tarzan swings, even if it doesn't always soar. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jun-1999 (G)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Sep-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast