More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 19.62%
Worth A Look34.81%
Average: 27.85%
Pretty Bad: 8.23%
Total Crap: 9.49%

9 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Big Daddy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"There is no plot here, merely a premise."
2 stars

A collection of pretty funny outtakes from Adam Sandler's earlier movies, with a small child inserted through the magic of CGI. I was especially impressed with the way they made these edited pieces seem like an actual plot narrative, although you can see a few points where nothing matches up at all.

Yes, I think Adam Sandler is quite funny. No, I'm not a self-proclaimed comedy purist who only thinks an actor's first three movies are always his best. It's just that Big Daddy seems like an outline for a vehicle that they had to use because the kid puked on the actual script. Adam gets kid, Adam does hijinks, random stoner buddies of Adam (Buscemi, Schneider) show up for alleged wackiness, kid turns on the puppy-face, every female in the audience turns to goo, Adam makes another $100 mill.

Now, I realize that Adam Sandler has never claimed to be Olivier, nor his films purported to be art. But wait, I did like a few things in Big Daddy. I liked when Adam yelled in that deep silly voice, and I loved the thought of what that all-ketchup diet would do to the feces he'd be cleaning off his apartment walls in 2 hours. Seriously, if there's a bodily function this kid didn't display, please do NOT enlighten me as to what it might be. Put some semen in his hair (or in his beer), and he's a poster child for the ideals of the modern American comedy: He already has snot, spit, poop, puke, and pee covered.

Here's the deal: If you laugh hysterically at Sandler's antics, as I often do, you will obviously love (or at least enjoy) this one. If you don't like him, why the hell are you reading a review of his new movie? I'll be looking forward to his next efforts. Maybe he'll stretch a little, and yell again in that deep funny voice and make jokes about boogers.

The dumb goofy guy of Billy Madison times the sweet goofy guy from The Wedding Singer minus the violent goofy guy from Happy Gilmore plus two cute twins forced into a life of bondage by a major film studio equals Big Daddy, only dumber.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=820&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/20/99 11:00:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/26/12 roscoe average at best. the layla character aonest bonding ruined laughternd the h 2 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Sandler brings it again in this film! Genius! 5 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ESSENTIALLY MEAN SPIRITED "COMEDY" 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny, that kid is cute! i always get all misty at the end, awwww 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca More Sandler nonsense. That's a good thing. 4 stars
12/06/06 Sharon This movie was just ok for me. Afew chuckles. 3 stars
7/08/06 NS Hilarious and awesome! 5 stars
6/06/06 Tyler Totten funny funny movie 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Adam Sandler can do Drama, I was surprised too 3 stars
3/21/06 natalie very funny i watched it over 100 times 4 stars
2/13/06 jessica im in love with that movie i just watched it last night cole and dylan did great 5 stars
12/24/05 cody a good adam sandler with great music like sweet child of mine, good soild picture 4 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. The best movie Sandler ever made! 5 stars
7/22/05 tony A classic funny film! 4 stars
7/20/05 Amy wonderfully funny movie 4 stars
6/03/04 lesa Williams i loved this movie. there was no point but then again it was hilarious. 4 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Sandler is a fucking faggot, anyone who likes his movies likes dicks in their mouth 1 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr Worth going out and renting. 4 stars
2/06/04 Tim Cappitte one of the best movies ever 5 stars
12/10/03 animosus This movie is good, not because of Sandler but because of the twins. Watch and rate it ! :) 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel boring at times... 3 stars
10/01/03 Crysal Pezant Best Movie All Around 5 stars
9/26/03 Christina Best Movie!! I have it at home and i love watchin' it!! It's one of Adam's best movie!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/03 3man Less funny and more sappy than other Sandler flicks. 4 stars
5/22/03 joe mama sandler sucks altogether 1 stars
5/02/03 kitfo was that a movie or a McDonald's commercial 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Good time-killer, but it goes waaaay too nice in the final third. Ech! 3 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton oh my god, sandler's downhill trail of crap continues... 1 stars
11/04/02 kymberly the best movie eva 5 stars
7/28/02 Kyle Great movie 5 stars
7/07/02 hilarydsur awesome but sad 5 stars
6/29/02 Film Dude Not as good as Happy Gilmore. 3 stars
6/08/02 Film Guy ALRIGHHHHHHHHHHHHT 4 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean This and The Waterboy made me stop going to Adam Sandlers movie in theaters. 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. A comedy that ends up being a heart-warmer. Good if you like that sort of thing ( I don't) 4 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden Tries To Be Funny, but The Script Is Lame and Quite Dull. 1 stars
12/25/01 Jeremy okay 5 stars
11/19/01 Badfish Excellent!!! 5 stars
11/09/01 Mark Scubaman is the true star of the movie. 5 stars
8/31/01 Gary Toilet humour at its worst. The ending made me want to vomit. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Good intentions, some funny stuff, but overly-sappy. 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat I can't help it. I love this movie. 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass Joey Lauren Adams is fine! Oh yeah, the movie was okay too. 4 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart I am not a Sandler fan, but I actually liked this movie. 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a really good movie. I like it because Sandler plays a serious role. 4 stars
4/04/01 Andrew Carden The first Sandler movie to be heartwarming. He should stick to crude stuff though. 3 stars
3/11/01 Shaun Turner awesome, sandler's greatest movie 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Jon Stewart saves this from being a blob of nothingness. 2 stars
12/01/00 Elvisfan Stink. Stank. Stunk. Adam & his fan need to grow up 1 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo Piss poor acting and not funny! 1 stars
7/30/00 The Bomb 69 it was stupid humor done well, entertaining 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan Only good part was looking at adam sandler... he kinda cute 2 stars
4/21/00 foxgroundcolt hooters,hooters,hooters!!! 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright Not bad as Sandler movies go, but his popularity remains mystifying. Fun, if not memorable. 3 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Boring and unfunny. Adam what have they done to you! 1 stars
3/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Adam Sandler's trademark hoarse yelling alone is worth the ride. 4 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan Last Adam Movie I ever watch! Movies sucked...repetive Gay and Tit jokes!! get boring 1 stars
11/09/99 MAFIABOY!! wanst expecting much........walked out with nothing. 2 stars
11/05/99 Mike Very avaerge movie 2 stars
10/13/99 Rachael Very funny 5 stars
10/13/99 Alison A great movie for all to see. Recommend it for everyone 5 stars
10/10/99 HotStuff It was okay but I waz expecting better?? 4 stars
10/06/99 karen good 5 stars
10/04/99 Lindsey I loved this movie, I thought it was another great Adam Sandler movie!!! 5 stars
10/03/99 amanda cool ass 5 stars
9/24/99 KK Marginal at best. 3 stars
9/23/99 Mark Dainty Where's the funny angry Happy Gilmore guy. Better than "The Waterboy" - but only just. 3 stars
9/16/99 Ratso I'm sorry, Adam Sandler movies aren't complete unless he fights a game show host. 1 stars
9/12/99 Jason Kinsey Sandler's movie's are getting kinda gay 3 stars
9/11/99 Timbo MEDIOCRE 3 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread worth a look 4 stars
8/13/99 cody better than Waterboy, not close to happy gilmore 4 stars
8/13/99 Dragonfly Rent it on video. Don't see it in the theater. 3 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Not Impressed at his Gay Jokes..Tit Jokes..and his jokes seemed lame!!!!!!!!!! Hated it!!! 1 stars
7/31/99 Michael Glaringly sappy, scarcely funny, & Adam Sandler failing as an actor. Fucking worthless 1 stars
7/27/99 trend the ending needed a little help but all in all a movie worth seeing 4 stars
7/27/99 emperor what was with the ending? 2 stars
7/25/99 Craig At least he got rid of that stupid accent from that crap-fest the waterboy. 4 stars
7/22/99 Miss Bee starts out pretty good, but seems like they just made up some crap at the end to end it. 4 stars
7/12/99 Katie It was okay, cute and some funny parts, but no Billy Madison. 3 stars
7/11/99 Starry Knight A million times better than the WaterBoy 5 stars
7/11/99 Cherry I don't like 'Guy Movies'. This one is defintely a 'Guy Movie'. GROSS! 3 stars
7/10/99 Chef ADogg Soft core comedy is not as bad as soft core porn, but nearly. 3 stars
7/10/99 Scott Pretty much what you would expect from a Sandler movie. Same character, different name. 3 stars
7/08/99 Polly All I can say is that I love the funny mooV's best! 5 stars
7/06/99 Angie ok...every funny part in the movie was in the previews!! overall it was really cute. 4 stars
7/05/99 Tristynn not as bad as I expected.. pretty good for a Adam Sandler movie..this one HAD a story line! 4 stars
7/04/99 Dave Worth renting but not a trip to the theater 3 stars
7/03/99 EmpresS Some Humor, not a lot, are the key words... 3 stars
7/03/99 Bill Hartman Like a cross between Billy Madison and the Wedding Singer. Some Humor, Some Heart. 4 stars
6/30/99 Tony Daquano best since Happy Gilmore 5 stars
6/30/99 Kortan Worth it jsut for the sheryl crow cover of Sweet Child o' Mine 4 stars
6/29/99 Jason Erbey Adam Sandler is THE MAN!!! I love him! 5 stars
6/29/99 iyu Kicks the shit out of Waterboy. But not as funny as his others. A really cute movie though. 5 stars
6/28/99 Bartleby It was a typical Sandler movie, lots of laughs, little substance 4 stars
6/28/99 Spoon I thought it was very poorly thought out. i might have giggled a few times 1 stars
6/28/99 Cage Calm down everyone... It was very funny, but OK at best. 3 stars
6/28/99 Randall There was so much good in this movie, but something still didn't sit right with me 4 stars
6/28/99 P.S.O.K That judge was a bitch! 4 stars
6/28/99 matchbox20 FUNNY MOVIE. The best 7 bucks I have ever spent! 5 stars
6/26/99 jvt Sandler's best since Happy Gilmore despite diving into some sappy moments 5 stars
6/26/99 Mr Showbiz The gags are almost as abundant as the product placements for McDonalds and Hooters 4 stars
6/26/99 Malbert Different from Adam Sandler's usual, but still great 5 stars
6/26/99 Jason Pedrick It was ssoooo funny 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jun-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Sep-1999 (PG)


Directed by
  Dennis Dugan

Written by
  Steve Franks
  Tim Herlihy
  Adam Sandler

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Joey Lauren Adams
  Jon Stewart
  Leslie Mann
  Josh Mostel



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast