More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 19.62%
Worth A Look34.81%
Average: 27.85%
Pretty Bad: 8.23%
Total Crap: 9.49%

9 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Big Daddy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Adam Sandler cries. What is the world coming to?"
4 stars

If there was one thing you could count on in this topsy-turvy world, it was that Adam Sandler movies were really, really insincere. This security is now gone. This is the true end of innocence.

There really isn't much of a middle ground when it comes to Adam Sandler. There's the Albert Brooks group, who hate him and cannot understand his success, and there's the idiots. I fall firmly into the "idiot" group, and each of his movies have made me laugh harder than any "subtle, intelligent" comedy could ever dare try. They appeal to the lowest common denominator in each of us. "Billy Madison", "Happy Gilmore", "The Waterboy" - each movie contains some of the dumbest humor you can find, but underneath, you can sense a true twisted wit. A drunken lout who chases an imaginary penguin around, a woman playing badminton with a donkey named Steve, a rest home/sweatshop - these things may make us laugh for simple reasons, but it takes a true sense of sarcastic intelligence to come up with that.

The plot of "Big Daddy": Sandler plays Sonny Koufax, a toll-booth operator whose girlfriend is sick of his who-cares attitude, so, in an attempt to prove to her that he's ready to move on to the next level, he takes in his best friend's illegitimate son (twins Cole and Dylan Sprouse). Wackiness ensues.

In his latest movie, we sense that Sandler is trying to mature, and it frightens us. He seems to be trying to appeal to a family audience, and it really doesn't work for him. There are things in this movie that are as funny as anything Sandler's ever done, but three-quarters of the way through, he gets serious, and it's depressing to see him resorting to such a tired and cliched ending. There's a courtroom scene, tears, a father-son reunion, and even a happy ending where all the cast gathers together to hug. I almost expected the bald kids from "Patch Adams" to run in and give everyone clown noses and lead them in a rendition of "We are the World".

Is it funny? Of course. But it represents a possible change in Sandler's career, and it isn't a promising one. We see traces of the Robin Williams "So heartwarming you'll vomit on your shoes" movies, and we have to stop it. Adam Sandler is supposed to stand for dorky, frat-boy comedy involving puke, lighting dog shit on fire, and guys who may redeem themselves at the end, but you get the feeling that their fingers are crossed as they're doing it. In "Big Daddy", we get a lot of the classic Sandler humor, but we also get a lame, tear-forcing ending that makes us fear for his comedic future. And, THE FUTURE OF OUR ENTIRE WAY OF LIFE.

Adam, "The Waterboy" made a shitload of money. You know your current kind of movies? You know, the funny kind? Keep making those.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=820&reviewer=27
originally posted: 06/26/99 13:31:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/26/12 roscoe average at best. the layla character aonest bonding ruined laughternd the h 2 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Sandler brings it again in this film! Genius! 5 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ESSENTIALLY MEAN SPIRITED "COMEDY" 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny, that kid is cute! i always get all misty at the end, awwww 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca More Sandler nonsense. That's a good thing. 4 stars
12/06/06 Sharon This movie was just ok for me. Afew chuckles. 3 stars
7/08/06 NS Hilarious and awesome! 5 stars
6/06/06 Tyler Totten funny funny movie 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Adam Sandler can do Drama, I was surprised too 3 stars
3/21/06 natalie very funny i watched it over 100 times 4 stars
2/13/06 jessica im in love with that movie i just watched it last night cole and dylan did great 5 stars
12/24/05 cody a good adam sandler with great music like sweet child of mine, good soild picture 4 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. The best movie Sandler ever made! 5 stars
7/22/05 tony A classic funny film! 4 stars
7/20/05 Amy wonderfully funny movie 4 stars
6/03/04 lesa Williams i loved this movie. there was no point but then again it was hilarious. 4 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Sandler is a fucking faggot, anyone who likes his movies likes dicks in their mouth 1 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr Worth going out and renting. 4 stars
2/06/04 Tim Cappitte one of the best movies ever 5 stars
12/10/03 animosus This movie is good, not because of Sandler but because of the twins. Watch and rate it ! :) 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel boring at times... 3 stars
10/01/03 Crysal Pezant Best Movie All Around 5 stars
9/26/03 Christina Best Movie!! I have it at home and i love watchin' it!! It's one of Adam's best movie!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/03 3man Less funny and more sappy than other Sandler flicks. 4 stars
5/22/03 joe mama sandler sucks altogether 1 stars
5/02/03 kitfo was that a movie or a McDonald's commercial 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Good time-killer, but it goes waaaay too nice in the final third. Ech! 3 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton oh my god, sandler's downhill trail of crap continues... 1 stars
11/04/02 kymberly the best movie eva 5 stars
7/28/02 Kyle Great movie 5 stars
7/07/02 hilarydsur awesome but sad 5 stars
6/29/02 Film Dude Not as good as Happy Gilmore. 3 stars
6/08/02 Film Guy ALRIGHHHHHHHHHHHHT 4 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean This and The Waterboy made me stop going to Adam Sandlers movie in theaters. 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. A comedy that ends up being a heart-warmer. Good if you like that sort of thing ( I don't) 4 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden Tries To Be Funny, but The Script Is Lame and Quite Dull. 1 stars
12/25/01 Jeremy okay 5 stars
11/19/01 Badfish Excellent!!! 5 stars
11/09/01 Mark Scubaman is the true star of the movie. 5 stars
8/31/01 Gary Toilet humour at its worst. The ending made me want to vomit. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Good intentions, some funny stuff, but overly-sappy. 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat I can't help it. I love this movie. 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass Joey Lauren Adams is fine! Oh yeah, the movie was okay too. 4 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart I am not a Sandler fan, but I actually liked this movie. 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a really good movie. I like it because Sandler plays a serious role. 4 stars
4/04/01 Andrew Carden The first Sandler movie to be heartwarming. He should stick to crude stuff though. 3 stars
3/11/01 Shaun Turner awesome, sandler's greatest movie 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Jon Stewart saves this from being a blob of nothingness. 2 stars
12/01/00 Elvisfan Stink. Stank. Stunk. Adam & his fan need to grow up 1 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo Piss poor acting and not funny! 1 stars
7/30/00 The Bomb 69 it was stupid humor done well, entertaining 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan Only good part was looking at adam sandler... he kinda cute 2 stars
4/21/00 foxgroundcolt hooters,hooters,hooters!!! 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright Not bad as Sandler movies go, but his popularity remains mystifying. Fun, if not memorable. 3 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Boring and unfunny. Adam what have they done to you! 1 stars
3/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Adam Sandler's trademark hoarse yelling alone is worth the ride. 4 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan Last Adam Movie I ever watch! Movies sucked...repetive Gay and Tit jokes!! get boring 1 stars
11/09/99 MAFIABOY!! wanst expecting much........walked out with nothing. 2 stars
11/05/99 Mike Very avaerge movie 2 stars
10/13/99 Rachael Very funny 5 stars
10/13/99 Alison A great movie for all to see. Recommend it for everyone 5 stars
10/10/99 HotStuff It was okay but I waz expecting better?? 4 stars
10/06/99 karen good 5 stars
10/04/99 Lindsey I loved this movie, I thought it was another great Adam Sandler movie!!! 5 stars
10/03/99 amanda cool ass 5 stars
9/24/99 KK Marginal at best. 3 stars
9/23/99 Mark Dainty Where's the funny angry Happy Gilmore guy. Better than "The Waterboy" - but only just. 3 stars
9/16/99 Ratso I'm sorry, Adam Sandler movies aren't complete unless he fights a game show host. 1 stars
9/12/99 Jason Kinsey Sandler's movie's are getting kinda gay 3 stars
9/11/99 Timbo MEDIOCRE 3 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread worth a look 4 stars
8/13/99 cody better than Waterboy, not close to happy gilmore 4 stars
8/13/99 Dragonfly Rent it on video. Don't see it in the theater. 3 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Not Impressed at his Gay Jokes..Tit Jokes..and his jokes seemed lame!!!!!!!!!! Hated it!!! 1 stars
7/31/99 Michael Glaringly sappy, scarcely funny, & Adam Sandler failing as an actor. Fucking worthless 1 stars
7/27/99 trend the ending needed a little help but all in all a movie worth seeing 4 stars
7/27/99 emperor what was with the ending? 2 stars
7/25/99 Craig At least he got rid of that stupid accent from that crap-fest the waterboy. 4 stars
7/22/99 Miss Bee starts out pretty good, but seems like they just made up some crap at the end to end it. 4 stars
7/12/99 Katie It was okay, cute and some funny parts, but no Billy Madison. 3 stars
7/11/99 Starry Knight A million times better than the WaterBoy 5 stars
7/11/99 Cherry I don't like 'Guy Movies'. This one is defintely a 'Guy Movie'. GROSS! 3 stars
7/10/99 Chef ADogg Soft core comedy is not as bad as soft core porn, but nearly. 3 stars
7/10/99 Scott Pretty much what you would expect from a Sandler movie. Same character, different name. 3 stars
7/08/99 Polly All I can say is that I love the funny mooV's best! 5 stars
7/06/99 Angie ok...every funny part in the movie was in the previews!! overall it was really cute. 4 stars
7/05/99 Tristynn not as bad as I expected.. pretty good for a Adam Sandler movie..this one HAD a story line! 4 stars
7/04/99 Dave Worth renting but not a trip to the theater 3 stars
7/03/99 EmpresS Some Humor, not a lot, are the key words... 3 stars
7/03/99 Bill Hartman Like a cross between Billy Madison and the Wedding Singer. Some Humor, Some Heart. 4 stars
6/30/99 Tony Daquano best since Happy Gilmore 5 stars
6/30/99 Kortan Worth it jsut for the sheryl crow cover of Sweet Child o' Mine 4 stars
6/29/99 Jason Erbey Adam Sandler is THE MAN!!! I love him! 5 stars
6/29/99 iyu Kicks the shit out of Waterboy. But not as funny as his others. A really cute movie though. 5 stars
6/28/99 Bartleby It was a typical Sandler movie, lots of laughs, little substance 4 stars
6/28/99 Spoon I thought it was very poorly thought out. i might have giggled a few times 1 stars
6/28/99 Cage Calm down everyone... It was very funny, but OK at best. 3 stars
6/28/99 Randall There was so much good in this movie, but something still didn't sit right with me 4 stars
6/28/99 P.S.O.K That judge was a bitch! 4 stars
6/28/99 matchbox20 FUNNY MOVIE. The best 7 bucks I have ever spent! 5 stars
6/26/99 jvt Sandler's best since Happy Gilmore despite diving into some sappy moments 5 stars
6/26/99 Mr Showbiz The gags are almost as abundant as the product placements for McDonalds and Hooters 4 stars
6/26/99 Malbert Different from Adam Sandler's usual, but still great 5 stars
6/26/99 Jason Pedrick It was ssoooo funny 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jun-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Sep-1999 (PG)


Directed by
  Dennis Dugan

Written by
  Steve Franks
  Tim Herlihy
  Adam Sandler

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Joey Lauren Adams
  Jon Stewart
  Leslie Mann
  Josh Mostel



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast