More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome67.37%
Worth A Look: 18.95%
Average: 6.32%
Pretty Bad: 7.37%
Total Crap: 0%

3 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Evil (Ondskan)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Follows in the trend of unswallowable Swedish pride."
3 stars

A Swedish Rebel without a Cause confronting the violence and anomie in redress of the same time period’s state of social democracy following the removal of Nazi occupation.

(It’s also Sweden’s official submission to the Academy Awards.) A troubled teenager who uses his fists at school (but is whipped at home by his step-father) is expelled, and determined not to be pacified any more, his mother sends him to a private boarding school. There, the rules are of a different diktat than the schooling in Elina — it is the students who run the show to the instructors’ negligence. The student body, however, is run by the upperclassmen, who see it to make it an endurance of hell for those beneath them, as it is a vicious cycle of being knocked around in the lower form and making up for it later. While the tough-minded protagonist tries to avoid conflict, he is too strong-willed (are you seeing a trend of unswallowable pride amongst the Swedish?) to be subjugated to their tortures, and to his burden, fights back. Where it’s lacking in aesthetics, director Mikael Håfström dives headfirst into achieving staggering realism. (Additional support in the realism department comes from Andreas Wilson in the lead, near always wholly believable.) His examination into the manifestation of rage, angst, and this so-called “evil,” is diplomatic and doggedly rooted in a contextual cause-and-effect. Little is done as embellishment or exaggeration, and Håfström’s decision to avoid straying from the realms of the portrait is arguably an asset. It takes some dedication on the viewer’s part to stick around from slowness early on, but the reward is higher at the very end. With Henrik Lundström, Gustaf Skarsgård, Linda Zilliacus, and Marie Richardson.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8229&reviewer=172
originally posted: 02/06/04 07:54:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Vancouver Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Vancouver Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Leeds Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Leeds Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Atlanta Film Festival For more in the 2005 Atlanta Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/09/12 geraldo Chief protagonist fpr violence and cruelty is Jewish. Hmm 4 stars
8/15/10 lauríce Well done movie, fabulous actors! 5 stars
11/29/09 Nemesis Fantastic! I can feel the drama through the characters. Well written drama. 5 stars
7/26/09 Rob Byrne A very moving film and one that you will think about long after you see it 5 stars
11/24/05 Heath Buck Brilliant. 4 stars
11/08/05 Sofia Best film I've ever seen! 5 stars
7/26/05 ato sumi extremely intense...andreas done a great job!!! 5 stars
6/02/05 Marcela R This film makes me feel reconciled with the life 5 stars
2/23/05 Rodrigo S This movie is a biography of the book's author: I was a student at that school. 5 stars
1/08/05 Elizabeth S Solid cast, engrossing story. 4 stars
11/19/04 eddy an impressive movie 5 stars
8/25/04 Jay Another teenage movie with the major antagonists looking 25! Unoriginal and pathetic 2 stars
7/07/04 Marinka Franulovic I loved Andreas Wilson in the leading role. He was brillian! Congratulations Andreas. 5 stars
4/22/04 James Awesome movie! Don't miss it! The Swedes know what they are doing! 5 stars
4/19/04 pba Best swedish movie in a long time. And yes the reviewers should do some research. 5 stars
4/19/04 Jonas Mellberg See the film & read the book! Feel it, it's close. 5 stars
4/14/04 Lina Johansson Movie isn't that unrealistic, reviewer should do some more research before reviewing. 5 stars
4/12/04 Lily I agree, it does feel a bit silly sometimes, but it's definately worth a look. 4 stars
4/11/04 Rob Lane Excellent film - a must see 5 stars
4/08/04 Nils Gasslander Don't say such crap about swedish films! By the way, it's a biograpy. Unrealistc huh? 5 stars
3/31/04 Rob Lane Excellent film - the hopelessness of an 'evil' situation is so well portrayed 5 stars
3/27/04 Linda Zilliacus Film was great, and I'm in love with Linda Zilliacus 4 stars
3/27/04 ane haveråen jævli bra film 5 stars
3/20/04 Linda Mattsson U got 1 thing more wrong... Its a true story about the author's own life when he grew up.. 5 stars
3/19/04 Robert Hellström You've got one thing wrong, The writer of ondskan or evil as you call it is Jan Guillou. 5 stars
3/08/04 Guerin Charlotte It is a very good movie/ I recommend it! 5 stars
3/05/04 Trond Børresen has read the book bether then the film,but stil som of the best thing i have seen! 5 stars
3/01/04 Lisa Lavendell one of the best films in movie history! 5 stars
3/01/04 Marcus Elensky Very interesting movie 5 stars
1/29/04 Aram Coulter Saw this at Toronto Film Festival - it was awesome and thrilled it got nominatedfor Oscar! 5 stars
1/28/04 Emma Åkerman Andreas is great and everyone in Sweden has read this book at school. Unbeatable! 5 stars
1/28/04 John James Ever been young? Didnt dare to fight back? See this! 5 stars
1/28/04 Ivar Johansson A modern Ingmar Bergman-film 5 stars
1/28/04 Eric Good 5 stars
1/03/04 laura funay great young actor - would like to see what else he can do 5 stars
11/27/03 Eric Seriously stylish film 4 stars
11/25/03 Pekka Linda Zilliacus is great! 5 stars
11/19/03 Gustav Sandstrom This movie you have to see! Raw but justified violence 5 stars
11/17/03 Micki I love Andreas Wilsons work in this movie, 5 stars
11/16/03 Sonia this movie is the best, and so real. 5 stars
11/13/03 Hanna The book was the best book I've read, the film didn't get close. Be open-minded, true story 5 stars
11/07/03 sippo andreas is HOT. and the movie is great 5 stars
11/05/03 Caroline Sandberg This film is very very good, but the book is better... 5 stars
11/05/03 Jenny Chen I haven't read the book yet, but I sure will after seeing this amazingly well done movie. 5 stars
11/03/03 Marika Andersson The film is based on the biography of the author Jan Guillou. The book is amazing. 4 stars
11/03/03 hannah great. and if you're from sweden you understand the greatness of it better. read the book. 5 stars
11/01/03 Emso Nice work Andreas! 5 stars
11/01/03 Sandy Another good swedish movie wich is worth watching it.. 5 stars
10/31/03 Sara Duarte Jason Whyte: "Evil" is a screen version of the autobiographic book by J.Guillou-->realistic 5 stars
10/31/03 Helli Great movie and a fiiiiiine actor =P 4 stars
10/21/03 j very intense 5 stars
10/20/03 Joanna Larsson Andreas Wilson rocks! 5 stars
10/18/03 Jonas von Poonas If I can choose 1 movie to see, this is the one. 5 stars
10/17/03 Fredrik read the book! 4 stars
10/17/03 Hanna very good read the book too. 4 stars
10/17/03 Jens 'Evil' can't be unrealistic, Jason Whyte, since it all did happen to the book's author... 5 stars
10/17/03 in love with Andreas JESUS..IM IN LOVE WITH THIS GUYS...HIS GIRLFRIEND IS SOOOO LUCLY TO HAVE HIM I SWAER 5 stars
10/11/03 elin I think the film is awsome.. and I know andreas.. and I think he is an very good actor 5 stars
10/11/03 Sara A great movie 5 stars
10/11/03 Ida this Movie is the best & Andreas Wilson Look S0 Damn Good.. 5 stars
10/10/03 Sanna awesome movie, I LOVE ANDREAS WILSON!!! 5 stars
10/10/03 Lena Brandt The movie is not "unrealistic", its based on the life story of the author, u jerks!!!! 5 stars
10/09/03 Nina Andreas Wilson i teh hottest guy in the universe... the movie is worth seeing- just for him 5 stars
10/09/03 Emma painfully good, knowing that the truth was worse makes it even more painful 5 stars
10/06/03 Arne >Carlsson we think this is a very good movie 5 stars
10/05/03 Linda I like this film. And I love Andreas Wilson 5 stars
10/04/03 Mats If you thought the movie was brutal, read the novel. 4 stars
10/04/03 Maria just amazing! Andreas ahh so beautiful... 5 stars
10/03/03 elin andreas wilson, will you marry me?? 5 stars
10/02/03 Josephine It's a great movie, not like the book of course. Andreas Wilson, mad hot :D 5 stars
10/02/03 josefine a movie that makes you think 5 stars
10/01/03 Fred Fair enough Jason, but this DID happen as depicted in the film... 5 stars
9/30/03 John This is a great self biografi from Jan Guillou! 5 stars
9/30/03 Mirko one of the best movie i've seen in my life 5 stars
9/30/03 Helena G Andreas Wilson is a star 5 stars
9/29/03 Marcus Amazing performaces and adaptation from the original novel is well done. 4 stars
9/29/03 Charna Excellent 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Mar-2006
  DVD: 27-Jun-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast