More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 8.64%
Worth A Look32.1%
Average: 28.4%
Pretty Bad: 13.58%
Total Crap: 17.28%

6 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Intolerable Cruelty
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Lifestyles of the rich and fatuous"
3 stars

[i]Intolerable Cruelty[/i] is a battle-of-the-sexes romantic comedy, Coen brothers-style. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones are smoothly matched as smarmy divorce lawyer and gold-digging California wife, respectively.

Not usually known for collaborating, the Coens share producing (with Brian Grazer) and writing (Robert Ramsey and Matthew Stone) credits on Intolerable Cruelty. The script is witty and light, to match Roger Deakins’ sunshiny cinematography and the sumptuous but thin lifestyles-of-the-rich-and-fatuous production design (Leslie McDonald).

There are enjoyable extended cameos from the likes of Geoffrey Rush and Billy Bob Thornton, and I got a kick out of Cedric the Entertainer’s “nail yo’ ass” private dick shtick at the start. Scarily memorable is the managing partner of Clooney’s law firm (Tom Aldredge), stuck on life support in the dungeon-like basement.

A few scenes drag, notably Clooney’s less-than-convincing confession at a family law seminar. And you’d be hard-pressed to remember much of [i]Intolerable Cruelty[/i] the morning after you’ve seen it. Coen brothers’ purists will scoff at their prostituting themselves as writers-director for hire. For the rest of us, this is a bright and breezy comedy with a higher-than-average IQ for entries in this genre.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8243&reviewer=104
originally posted: 12/04/03 16:38:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/17/08 Stu Some good dialouge and Clooneys charm make this Hollywoodised Coen Bros. film watchable. 3 stars
6/11/08 PAUL SHORTT FULL OF FUN, GLAMOUR, ENTERTAINMENT & ENOUGH STAR POWER TO BLAST THROUGH ANY REPETITIVENESS 4 stars
11/17/06 Alyssa Hale Total Crap! Nothing more to say! 1 stars
3/22/06 R.W.Welch Passable comedy but lacks the early Coen off-the-wall flair. 3 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands An immense amount of charm from the two stars, but the Coens are beginning a descent. 4 stars
8/14/05 Charlene Javier What a disappointment! 2 stars
8/01/05 Bad Critic Who really gives a crap about a couple spoiled retards who only care about money? 2 stars
4/18/05 Jeff Anderson Has it's cruel mind in the gutter. A sad & pathetic waste of time & unfunny to boot. 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Clooney's smooth a hell 4 stars
11/26/04 alien assassin I've been workin' on the railroad !!! 4 stars
10/24/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Clooney is doing Cary Grant, and that's quite a feat. Great flick! 5 stars
10/04/04 Josh Standlee I laughed so hard that at times I was fighting for air! Hilarious! 5 stars
9/26/04 VIctor Not a fan of Clooney but he's very good in this usually-funny satire; CZJ just okay 4 stars
9/05/04 psycho dwarf Like bike-race spectators you wait for long periods til the fun parts come & go too quickly 3 stars
8/19/04 Kaylee Lover Give me a break, a wasted 1.5 hours 2 stars
7/24/04 Jerry&Joan An unbelievable waste of time-This can only happen when actors are under contact. 1 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz lots of laughs 4 stars
4/18/04 Martin Meant to be an over the top caricature. Most don't get it. Very funny if you are cynical. 5 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands Story gets pretty contrived, but Clooney is one hilarious dude. Coens are slowly decreasing 3 stars
3/28/04 HorrorScribbler Not top-notch Coen brothers, but still pretty good. 4 stars
2/22/04 Mindy This movie was by far the biggest waste of my time in a while! I should've been paid. 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody A bit of fun 4 stars
11/27/03 Wendy Sue VERY funny in it's odd Coen way, just not alot of depth 4 stars
11/12/03 Helen Bradley slow pace 2 stars
11/12/03 Chris I like it but the film tired too much and we never feel Clooney and Zeta-Jones romance. 3 stars
11/09/03 Eddie Fan Worst movie ever made. Fucking boring waste of money. Zeta Jones can't act! 1 stars
11/07/03 Cameron Slick While not one of the Coen's better work, it's a worthwile entertaining goofball romantic. 4 stars
11/04/03 John Bale Cary Grant like Clooney and stunning Zeta Jones mix in Coen Bros magic. Much fun ! 5 stars
11/03/03 wrob Occasionally funny, but mediocre overall 2 stars
10/31/03 alien assassin Anyone who calls this film crap must be joking. Why don't you grow out of "Jackass" !!!!! 5 stars
10/31/03 Catherine Zeta Jones thinks her Welsh shit doesn't stink! (I can say that because I'm Welsh too.) 3 stars
10/31/03 Natasha Bly Guys in cast do best to pull humor out of harrowing subject; CZJ is her usual gigabrat. 3 stars
10/24/03 Jason King Found Clooney's mugging hilarious in its overstatement. One of the best movies of the year. 5 stars
10/23/03 DeeDee I watched it today and it was a waste of my money. It sucked big time. 1 stars
10/20/03 TheOthersFan if nothing else, a refreshing departure from the conventional romantic comedy formula 4 stars
10/19/03 Titus Not a worthy Cohen bros outing, but the stars are fun to watch. Worth matinee prices. 3 stars
10/17/03 no2coen Run! Run away. 1 stars
10/17/03 cpbjr Worth watching CZJ and GC 3 stars
10/16/03 Angry Black Man beautiful looking cast, but so-so movie. 3 stars
10/14/03 Lord Jiggy Enjoyed it a lot, a nice surprise. Clooney worked for me, so did the weird characters. 4 stars
10/14/03 harpoonflyby funnier than all hell. story sucked 4 stars
10/13/03 Ida A cute movie 4 stars
10/12/03 KCobain Horrid 1 stars
10/11/03 Michael Fantastically charming and wacky rom-com with an edge, & Clooney's best performance ever 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Oct-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 10-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast