More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome55.64%
Worth A Look: 19.9%
Average: 7.43%
Pretty Bad: 6.71%
Total Crap: 10.31%

15 reviews, 327 user ratings


Latest Reviews

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Kill Bill: Vol. 1
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Rip-snorting geekgasm, part the first."
5 stars

Forget what you've heard, the good and the bad: Quentin Tarantino's 'Kill Bill - Vol. 1,' the geek master's first movie in six years, neither reinvents the cinematic wheel nor reveals its author at a low point. It's not a great movie -- not the great movie 'Pulp Fiction' was -- but it's great fun.

Tarantino has assembled an adoring remix of everything he's ever loved in movies on the theme of revenge: some spaghetti Westerns here (ever seen 1967's God Forgives, I Don't? You can bet QT has), some Asian standards there, mixed in with Truffaut (whose The Bride Wore Black informs Kill Bill more than a little, though Tarantino has denied seeing it; I doubt this) and nasty X-rated Swedish exploitation (They Call Her One-Eye, an influence on the heroine and one of her betrayers). I would've loved to have seen it all in one mammoth, glorious, three-hour-plus gulp (Miramax, imitating the heroine at the House of Blue Leaves, cleaved the film into two parts); as it is, Vol. 2 can't get here fast enough.

Trembling and bloodied, Uma Thurman's Bride (known by no other name in this volume; her real name is bleeped three times) chokes out four last words before Bill (David Carradine), the eponymous focus of her vengeance, blows her brains out. Well, almost. That's the first shot of the movie, and we learn that the bullet knocked her into a four-year coma. She escapes an aborted bedside murder attempt by Elle Driver (Daryl Hannah, cold and mean as a knife here), one of Bill's minions. "Don't you ever wake up," Elle snarls, but eventually the Bride does snap out of it; you know this is an exploitation picture because she has to kill two loutish rapists within five minutes of her resurrection. Willing her coma-stiffened legs to function, the Bride takes off, Death List in hand, and sets about her course of action: slashing through each of her former cohorts on Bill's Deadly Viper Assassination Squad -- including Elle, the domesticized Vernita Green (Vivica A. Fox), and the fearsome O-Ren Ishii (Lucy Liu) -- before tracking down Bill.

Thurman spends most of her screen time seething with scarcely repressed homicidal rage, though she's got a cheerier moment here when she poses as a bubbly American tourist who just happens to have stumbled into the sushi bar of retired-and-in-hiding master swordsman Hattori Hanzo (Sonny Chiba, whose name Tarantino can now cross off his list of Movie Gods I Want to Put in My Movies). Hanzo fashions the Bride a sword sharp enough, one imagines, to slice the thoughts of air molecules. It slices, all right; in the designed-to-be-legendary Showdown at the House of Blue Leaves, it drenches the floor, ceiling, and walls in hissing, gushing arterial spray as the Bride carves her way through O-Ren's cadre of assassins (the Crazy 88s) as though they were soft ice cream.

Kill Bill is a temple of worship -- a devout hymn of praise to crap cinema (which isn't always crappy). Tarantino, a generous filmmaker if ever there was one, pelts us with stylistic jabs as well as flying body parts. O-Ren's origin story, for instance, is told as a spectacularly gory anime cartoon, and that's pretty much what you're watching all along. The movie, though, retains Tarantino's preference for long breezes of rhetoric (though shortened somewhat and honed to a point here -- most of the wordiness here is on the part of those hoping to avoid the Bride's wrath) as well as quiet, still moments. Tarantino, who's seen everything and knows how it works, isn't trying to subvert anything this time out. His goal, it's clear, is to make the ultimate revenge movie with the ultimate sword battle scene.

The latter might well occur in Vol. 1, but never fear, more impressive stuff is on tap for Vol. 2 (from what I remember of the script, which, like many, I've read online). Tarantino ends this first part with a line from Bill obviously intended to get people to come back for the second part (effectively giving away a surprise that had originally been saved for the saga's last act), but it's hardly necessary. You want to see what happens next with the Bride -- not whether she gets her revenge, but how, and what toll it may take on enemies and innocents alike.

I'll miss Lucy Liu as O-Ren, smugly cocooned in her stature and acumen, and Chiaki Kuriyama as O-Ren's psychotic bodyguard Go-Go Yubari; but we have more Daryl Hannah coming up, and more Michael Madsen (barely glimpsed here) as Budd, the team's only male Viper; and we'll get to meet Bill and see for ourselves whether we -- and the Bride -- still want him dead.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8244&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/06/07 14:45:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Tribeca Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Tribeca Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/04/14 cheap seo services USA 3 stars
5/28/14 MarcSin highly stylised and blended with different elements , its a must-watch film 5 stars
5/18/14 ClotildeStraseskie USA 4 stars
5/12/14 ThaddeusRuhter USA 2 stars
5/12/14 check it out USA 4 stars
4/06/14 IvanSteinhorst USA 2 stars
1/27/14 uogyvzpwun USA 3 stars
2/28/13 Ed Blows. Couple hours of my life wasted. 1 stars
11/10/11 matthew thompson dalldorf What Josie said (I too am a huge JC fan!) 2 stars
9/11/11 Captain00Kirk My favorite Tarantino film! Great bloody, stylish fun! www.youtube.com/Captain00Kirk 5 stars
6/27/11 DR Slick, entertaining in parts. But cliché ridden and devoid of emotion or strong characters. 2 stars
12/14/10 moose rapper I liked this better when it was called 'Lady Snowblood.' 2 stars
6/11/10 Flathead King Shallow and self-indulgent trash from Tarantino. 1 stars
8/04/09 art WONDERFUL!,UMA IS A SABER_-WIEDLING BAD-ASS! 5 stars
6/05/09 Dr.Lao Well, that was goofy 2 stars
3/17/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess The whole point of this movie is to remind you of better films tha you could be watching. 2 stars
12/20/08 PAUL SHORTT STRUCTURALLY AND NARRATIVELY AMPUTATED 'REVENGE SOLVES EVERYTHING' NONSENSE 1 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt great film, so bloody and viloent, Uma is awesome! 5 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner One of my favorite all time films. 5 stars
7/09/08 Quigley Well-made but almost instantly forgettable. 2 stars
12/16/07 Jason Blondie slices up black-haired oppressors with a samuri sword that handles like a laser swo 5 stars
7/03/07 Jubei It HAD to be the ultimate swordfigter movie but came up short.Could've been more stylish. 4 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Like Jackie Brown, proves tough to rate. I wish I gave Vol. 2 a 3/5. 5 stars
2/01/07 Melissa Tokarczyk I liked Volume 1 better than 2. 4 stars
1/10/07 Matt How many ways can you spell CRAP? 1 stars
1/09/07 Drew Galletti Part of my favorite series 5 stars
1/08/07 Anthony Feor It will go down in history 4 stars
11/26/06 Jason of Essex A disgraceful excuse for Tarantino to play out his sick mind. The amine saves it somewhat. 2 stars
11/07/06 Drew Loved these movies 5 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller This flick is the shit; disagree and I'll cut all your limbs off with a Hattori Hanzo sword 5 stars
9/12/06 Eden Just a lot of fun. Shallow yeah, but how could anyone hate it? 5 stars
8/28/06 R.W.Welch Stylized revenge flick, ultra violent. Eventually wears thin. 3 stars
8/26/06 james burke It's too bad Tarantino peaked so early in his career. Fanboys will like it-no one else will 1 stars
6/27/06 the bride naruto?? you suck big fat gay cock. this movie rocks!!! 5 stars
6/08/06 ES It was good 4 stars
5/31/06 Anthony G Fantastic. 5 stars
3/13/06 Roderick Cromar Brilliant. Can't wait for director's cut. And the prequel. 5 stars
1/16/06 Frank Rountree Totally unbelievable story, but the way it is told keeps you watching, the action is great 4 stars
1/10/06 Mike Both are completely awesome 5 stars
12/31/05 Ronin a very uncanny movie 4 stars
12/02/05 Naruto Pretentious movie hailing violence. Tarantino should be banned 1 stars
11/23/05 Sully fucking fantastic!!!! too bad part 2 is worthless... 5 stars
11/12/05 Jordan G. This, no doubt, has to be one of the most brilliant movies i've seen. It is a must see! 5 stars
11/08/05 Jonathon Holmes fucking great 5 stars
11/08/05 Bojan S This is the movie that truly represent the art of film making. 5 stars
11/08/05 Indrid Cold You can list the flaws all day long, it's still far more entertaining than a typical movie. 5 stars
10/20/05 a ninja The best sound track in the history of cinema, it parallels action with a fluid grace 5 stars
10/13/05 Wisamane Stupid college Crack head junkie "Artistic" Bull shit, it was horrible!! 1 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands One of the all-time great entertainments. Brilliantly filmed, great soundtrack. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor One of the best of 2003. Quentin Tarantino is a genius. 5 stars
9/26/05 a. kurlovs surprisingly dull and idiotically pretentious. only the soundtrack helps. 3 stars
9/17/05 Jonathon Holmes fucking great 5 stars
9/14/05 Pinkline Jones Tarantino watching too many Japanese cartoons about as original as a Bollywood movie. 1 stars
8/25/05 Eden Campy fun hugely enjoyable to watch. Some people take it too seriously tho 5 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G Great movie, she looks hot is some scenes, then not, wtf 5 stars
8/22/05 ES A revenge story with an old west feel coupled with eastern combat and comic violence 4 stars
8/09/05 Maalstrom Entertaining action with fun story 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack GREAT FILM!!!! 5 stars
7/27/05 Naka "Dumb"? What movie did you see? Intense, brilliant homage to grindhouse film. 5 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Good, but dumb. 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Silly Billy 3 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Killer! 5 stars
6/28/05 goobs too stupid 4 words 5 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy Gets better with age and having seen Vol 2. Not worth getting in a twist over though. 4 stars
6/20/05 me I bloody hated this POS, loved Pulp Fiction but this made me hate Tarantino 1 stars
5/25/05 The shizz Its not his best (pulp fiction), but it fucking rocks anyway 5 stars
5/12/05 C Vega great film amazing tarantino's best script to date 5 stars
4/08/05 Jason Kreitzer Fantastic, I loved this movie. 5 stars
3/20/05 Natasha Theobald with style to spare and an abundance of rich color and detail 4 stars
2/19/05 april gupton kick ass movie 5 stars
2/18/05 dbx badass 5 stars
2/17/05 Kathleen4691 why do we put up with films that require watching a part II to understand the plot? 3 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton I never dreamed this was possible; everything I ever dreamed of having in a film. 5 stars
2/03/05 haha Once again quentin pops a load on the competition. Good shit 5 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher Love to see a good slasher movie with a woman in power. Go Uma! 4 stars
2/01/05 april gupton rocks 5 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris Couldn't stand it, too many heads chopped off for me 2 stars
2/01/05 bongeezer Not enough blood...Just kidding... Excellent film 5 stars
1/30/05 gina rabsatt not that impressed to rush for II but it was okay 4 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM WEIRD BUT GOOD 4 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Derivative from Lady Snowblood...but it rocked! Kung fu genre fans only. 5 stars
1/16/05 Charlene Javier Give us more, Quentin! 5 stars
1/15/05 Hawkeye Pierce MASTERPIECE both plot and severed arms are included, can't be wrong!!! 5 stars
1/14/05 Barry Taylor I thought it was a great movie, I don't understand why people are putting it down. 5 stars
1/14/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Gory, violent mess. I loved every minute of it. 5 stars
1/13/05 Paul D Kill Bill - a great kick ass movie!! 4 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams A violent, spectacular orgy that i wanna jump in on. 5 stars
11/29/04 Samuel fucking brilliantly done. 5 stars
11/28/04 Monster W. Kung A flaming, idiotic, laughable PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
11/08/04 Florian A brilliant movie full of diff film elements for anyone who appreciates real film language. 5 stars
10/24/04 ODH Fun flick. Good action sequences, comic book like story, lots of gore!!! Kewl!!! 4 stars
10/15/04 dave the gore is just to frieken awsome, tarantino has a fetish for feet and goriness 5 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert Very strange, over the top movie but it somehow worked! 4 stars
10/11/04 Rio Driver Brilliantly Gory! 5 stars
10/05/04 Josh Standlee The Bride vs. The Crazy 88: Best scene ever! 5 stars
9/07/04 Alex Go Go was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/26/04 Anthony G DJ you can fucking gargle my balls you stupid jew, this movie owns 5 stars
8/26/04 DJ Wtf? This movie was stupid and phony. How can you people enjoy this crap? 2 stars
8/25/04 Jessica better than the second 5 stars
8/17/04 Herolder Entertaining, but way overrated 4 stars
8/12/04 kc super entertaining 5 stars
8/11/04 f up briliancy in a hard-core underground way, i luv it 5 stars
8/08/04 Mike McGilvray A true Tarentino fan would appreciate where he chose to go in this film. 5 stars
8/05/04 Dean Highly enjoyable 5 stars
7/25/04 John Larson What was this crap? This is a modern day Kung Fu revenge disaster of a film. 1 stars
7/21/04 Kammy Jones This is the perfect action film for all action lovers. 5 stars
7/06/04 Daniel the best Tarantino flick ever! 5 stars
7/01/04 valerie hart fantastic gut rush!!!great movie action packed gore and excitment cartoon scenes are great! 5 stars
7/01/04 Piz I thought it was over-hyped, and what's up with the cartoons?? 3 stars
6/21/04 Dick Logan Very entertaining film. Much better than KB2. 5 stars
6/19/04 J Pure guts n' blood! **** out of 4 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Not much substance as far as plot goes, but dialogue and direction are breathtaking. 5 stars
6/06/04 Mitsaso Hilariously amazing...!!!! 5 stars
6/06/04 valerie hart its a fantstic movie action packed with all the gore great music 5 stars
6/04/04 dead next door pretty cool cartoon violence 3 stars
5/25/04 Pearce Great movie. All fun. 5 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean Not Tarrantino's best. Action scenes were great, except for the stupid blood splattering. 3 stars
5/22/04 Hal Galikakick Brillant Film Making 5 stars
5/21/04 Your mom Anyone who hates this is a filthy zionist jew 5 stars
5/16/04 Jean disapointing...for a Tarantino. But let see vol. II... 3 stars
5/15/04 LIAM JACKSON brilliant movie. all revenge films should be like this 5 stars
5/15/04 skye all style, with little substance. and some of the goofiest dialogue in the history of film 4 stars
5/14/04 Littlepurch Average. I enjoyed it and fights were gr8 but it was too long and the gore was laughable! 4 stars
5/12/04 mark stephsns Shitload of action,violent as hell,but it is comic book looking violence done really well 5 stars
5/12/04 Matthew King Kill Bill Vol. 1 was a smart / awesome action movie, with great acting and cinematography. 5 stars
5/06/04 Samantha orr First time in a long time where I ddin't walk out of the theatre completely let down! GREAT 5 stars
5/06/04 Ken I loved it! 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot I can't stop watchin this film.it is stunning.lets stop slating stuff to be different!this 5 stars
5/04/04 Ray Raspberry This is an insult to Japanese film. Not a spaghetti western in the least. 2 stars
5/04/04 Monster W. Kung Meaningless, dim-witted, and utterly absurd. Very poor. 2 stars
4/30/04 HorrorScribbler Monty Python meets Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon 4 stars
4/28/04 4x4 Great movie! Spaghetti western themes with awesome chicks. 5 stars
4/26/04 The man with the plan Masterpiece...... 5 stars
4/25/04 Lesterwink23 Good, bloody action...but a little slow for my taste in some parts. 4 stars
4/24/04 david greenidge took me back 30 years to my intense sinophile days,thank you quentin 5 stars
4/23/04 Jonni Fantastic piece of artwork 4 stars
4/22/04 Hydrian Live action anime done right 4 stars
4/21/04 M Tarantino does it again! Fresh, Original Adult Fun! 5 stars
4/20/04 tatum One of the coolest flicks I've ever seen 5 stars
4/19/04 Gobsmack Brilliant, brillaint film, even for those who dont catch all the references. 5 stars
4/18/04 gman if you feel it lacks substance, see vol. 2 for the heart that beats all this blood! great.. 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 love it, YA BASTARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Good, but not great. An overrated film. 3 stars
4/17/04 Alex Plot? What plot? It doesn't matter. This one you watch for the cinematics only. 4 stars
4/17/04 American Slasher Goddess Not horrible, but very overrated. 2 stars
4/16/04 Phil M. Aficiando Great production of an outrageous and pointless flick 3 stars
4/15/04 alice Enjoyed every bit of it 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon I loved this film, hell it is violent but one hell of a ride 5 stars
4/12/04 Chris Sheer Brilliance 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I hate QT and I still loved this film. But its an aquired taste, very unique filmaking styl 4 stars
4/11/04 Caleb i was shocked at first but when i left the theatre, i said to myself "THAT WAS AWESOME!" 5 stars
3/24/04 Margie even tho i laughed at how outrageous it was, I LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! (and great music) 5 stars
3/20/04 Angie Great Drama 5 stars
3/20/04 MIKE CERNY BEST MOVIE EVER CREATED 5 stars
3/19/04 Cary Gordon Fun, but had no real depth to it. If you like action and don't mind blood here you go. 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Tariteno's best flicks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman I absolutely adore this film. It's a movie about revenge--nothing more, nothing less. 5 stars
3/17/04 Alfred Guy The pop culture, cartoon violence, I loved it! 5 stars
3/16/04 alex Tarantino is da best. Kill Bill rocked. Uma Thurman , I love that woman 5 stars
3/10/04 jdogg Wake up!! He's stealing from other directors!! What's so great about that? Schmucks!!! 1 stars
2/27/04 Whatevr You'll either love it or you'll hate it. Hopefully love it. 5 stars
2/20/04 Agent Sands I thought QT ran out of ideas, but he's far from that. Great action, soundtrack, & humor. 5 stars
2/17/04 Igor Waiting for part 2 to declare it as the best film of all time. This movie owns. Period 5 stars
2/15/04 Angolmois The worst of Tarantino's movies, but that's still a head above the rest of Hollywood trash. 4 stars
2/07/04 king of cool one of the greatest films of all time---amazing 5 stars
1/27/04 axtion movie fan great swordplay, and action suspense one of the best!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/24/04 Alan Quentin can do action. 5 stars
1/22/04 Mohammad Sucks 1 stars
1/21/04 smartmusician surprised at how GREAT the film was. Especially since this movie isn't my type of genre 5 stars
1/10/04 andrew I creamed my pants 5 stars
1/05/04 Andy Bronson great film 5 stars
1/03/04 A F Hate action films, yet strangly loved this film. Lucy Liu, perhaps? MMM.... 5 stars
1/01/04 HELLOWEEN yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn 1 stars
12/27/03 your worst goddamn nightmare WOW!! I had no expectations. This was an amazing movie. Vol. 2 better not stink tho 5 stars
12/22/03 logic okay style, but full of bullshit and hack-job concepts 3 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart One of my favorites of the year!!!! 5 stars
12/14/03 Agent Sands Very possibly QT's most entertaining movie. A nearly flawless & inventive popcorn epic 5 stars
12/13/03 human plot is simple but what is important is the way the things go on 4 stars
12/10/03 Farah Awayer Absolutely amazing cinematography, soundtrack and acting. Loved it!! 5 stars
12/06/03 Yoshi This movie is spectacular. The violence does not make this film great. Its the style. 5 stars
12/05/03 Jason The style of this movie is awesome. Plot? We don't need no stinkin plot. 5 stars
12/05/03 Eliza it was nothing more than gratuitous violence just like his previous two films. boring. 1 stars
12/03/03 Igor If part 2 is half as good as this part, it will be my favorite film of all time. 5 stars
11/27/03 John cinematic genius evokes both Sergio Leone and Gene Kelly 5 stars
11/24/03 E. Goobye CGI, its refreshing to have realistic ass kicking back 5 stars
11/23/03 Jason One of my favorites. You will either LOVE it or hate it. 5 stars
11/22/03 JamesVG I actually went to Target and got a plastic sword after seeing this film. Tarantino = fun. 4 stars
11/22/03 Hossein Zamen Zarrabi I love Quentin Tarantino and all of his films specially Pulp Fiction. 5 stars
11/15/03 Bob Kowal I guess I'm one of the guys "Kill Bill Volume 1" (KBV1) is targeting . 2 stars
11/14/03 Gogo The whole storyboard drained in blood, what's left: a Tarantino self-copy. Stupidly boring. 2 stars
11/14/03 Andrew A welcome return for the most influential director of the 90's 5 stars
11/13/03 Vic Vegan QT is a relic of the 90's.. quit riding his dick. Looking forward to Mr. Blonde tho 1 stars
11/12/03 HOTSTUFF This better win an oscar for something!!!! 5 stars
11/11/03 Igor sweet violence. sweet, sweet violence. 5 stars
11/09/03 Norman Mailer Sans the samurai sword mystique, anime sequence, schoolgirl etc this is a pretty weak movie 2 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Even greater than I thought it would be. A fun, BLOODY, classic epic from the almightly QT. 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Campy, cheap, 1950s japanese style blood-spurting stuff for 13 year olds. But Uma... 2 stars
11/07/03 Cameron Slick Exhilirating...and more. 5 stars
11/07/03 target Are you kidding it is "great"? Yeh right 1 stars
11/06/03 ian wainwright yet another Tarantino masterpiece. this film works superbly well on many different levels 5 stars
11/06/03 hey hey a fantastic movie great film tarantino!!! 5 stars
11/06/03 spacecowboy yay yay! 5 stars
11/06/03 Kooler giddy gorey goodtimes 5 stars
11/06/03 Fernando Very intense, Quentin was right to split in half, but the whole movie would be masterpiece 5 stars
11/05/03 ND by GOd, it's one of the best movie of 2003!!!!!!! Fuck Bad Boys II 5 stars
11/03/03 malcolm i dig an action scene as much as anyone, but damn ... 3 stars
11/03/03 Laurie Miles Best film I've seen this year by far! 5 stars
11/01/03 Shams Huque Fantastic movie! 5 stars
10/31/03 max baumgartner one of the best moveis (80% were from quentin) i have ever senn 5 stars
10/29/03 Kevin Jones I would have watched that homemade porno my parents have of themselves then this crap. 1 stars
10/28/03 DCJoeDog he did it, the s.o.b. made live action anime, OMFG!!!!! 5 stars
10/28/03 Dante Ultra-violent and downright hilarious! 5 stars
10/28/03 Zack G AWESOME MOVIE!!! Definatly a movie that you'll want to see again and again. 5 stars
10/27/03 Trevor Two words... or is it one? GOGO.. GO GO... GOGO ahh... whatever. 5 stars
10/27/03 Caiphn Suprisingly fun to watch. 4 stars
10/27/03 JFK MIller I am an active homo sexual 1 stars
10/26/03 Elladan This was absolutely fucking awesome. 5 stars
10/26/03 TheDude I was pretty high but I thought it kicked ass..What moron would cut a 3 hour movie in half 5 stars
10/26/03 Martin slick, stylised lame story telling at it's best. TOTALLY over the top!! 5 stars
10/26/03 Movie Viewer sucks. self-indulgent dribble without a real idea 1 stars
10/25/03 John Bale Visually stunning revenge fable - a breath of fresh air - great cinema 5 stars
10/24/03 Morally Sound Puts the 'Awe' in AWESOME! 5 stars
10/24/03 Max Lethal Dude. Just see it. 5 stars
10/24/03 MIC Stop jocking QT. Plot flimsy. Underwhelming dialogue. So witty anime. Charlie's Angels. 2 stars
10/23/03 Jack Bourbon Some boring scenes, meaningless dialogue, awesome killing, and Darryl Hannah who rocks here 4 stars
10/23/03 paul tarantino goes off the deep end, in a big way. enjoy the ride. 4 stars
10/23/03 Wendy Carpenter Shucks! The title had me thinking Hillary Clinton would be the lead character! 1 stars
10/23/03 B.fresh Cool nuff..anime, hospital and 50 henchmen scenes were best. Shoud really have been 1 show. 4 stars
10/22/03 Andy N Cant wait for vol 2 and would crawl over broken glass for a part 3 5 stars
10/22/03 spacecowboy WOOOOOHOOO!!! 5 stars
10/22/03 Dimples Two words: KICK ASS!!! 5 stars
10/22/03 chris. yes, bloodiest movie ever...aside from the evil deads, of course. 5 stars
10/22/03 HeavyK kick ass movie. A must see for any fans of explotation type films. Very Gory. 5 stars
10/22/03 amy can't wait for #2 5 stars
10/21/03 Will Like a live action Japanese anime. Bloodiest movie I've ever seen by a wide margin. 4 stars
10/21/03 Wendy Carpenter Shucks! The title had me thinking Hillary Clinton would be the lead character! 1 stars
10/21/03 Koitus A "blood-squirting" and "squishy-sounding" good time! 4 stars
10/20/03 Jamal This was such a waste of money I can't even begin 2 tell you how angry I am that I saw this 1 stars
10/20/03 Dominic Really violent, really entertaining 5 stars
10/20/03 Monday Morning Dreadful - nothing redeeming about it except Uma. 1 stars
10/20/03 Lord Jiggy Vile, reprehensible pornography. Well done, but still porn. 1 stars
10/20/03 Troy Butler Amazing - a work of art, and possibly the best FILM OF THE YEAR!!! Bring on Volume 2!!! 5 stars
10/20/03 sumixam Best movie ever, pure entertainment all the way 5 stars
10/20/03 Cool Leather Jack Awesome, the avg.Joe will find it violent 5 stars
10/20/03 Anus One of the best films ever. Anyone who hates this is ether a faggot, a furry, or Lowtax 5 stars
10/19/03 talkingraven very good, qt's homage to the action flix of the 70's. Can't wait for part 2. 4 stars
10/19/03 Ralf Stupid action, annoying music, nothing good 1 stars
10/19/03 Daigoro The Blair Witch Project was awesome too. Pull your head out. 5 stars
10/19/03 manuel tipton it sucked...worse than the blair witch project 1 stars
10/19/03 matute this movie is the most absurd celebration of sadistic pleasure for slaughter and gore 2 stars
10/19/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) A whole lot better than I expected. Surprisingly original. It'sCharlie's Angels done right! 5 stars
10/19/03 Wendy Carpenter Shucks! The title had me thinking Hillary Clinton would be the lead character! 1 stars
10/19/03 B Day Utter rubbish, waste of time, don't watch it. 1 stars
10/18/03 dave reynolds goes above Sid and Nancy as the worst movie I have sat through. All I can say is why? 1 stars
10/18/03 matthew smith i had such a great time, I want more, one of the best films this year 5 stars
10/18/03 T.C. One of the most entertaining films I've ever seen 5 stars
10/18/03 KING EDWARD mr. pointy, i would like to stab you 'beyond belief'. kill bill is GOD. I have spoken. 5 stars
10/18/03 Mr. Pointy This movie sucks beyond belief. Then sucks more. 1 stars
10/18/03 Missy_NYC Uma at her best. Not an Oscar pic, but it's wickedly fun and totally funny. 5 stars
10/18/03 Morally Sound Tarantino's best movie! 5 stars
10/18/03 gary kind of dumb 3 stars
10/17/03 Jimmy James meh :| 3 stars
10/17/03 Alex Tarantino you crazy, lovable son of a bitch!! 5 stars
10/17/03 Aquatakat.net My God, how could they release such a shitty movie? 1 stars
10/17/03 Equinox Complete crap. 1 stars
10/17/03 Jesus fucking Christ It's not meant to be "Pulp Fiction"..you all are pathetic pieces of shit, at best 5 stars
10/17/03 Goofy Maxwell After seeing The Bride bloodied & befouled, the Nobel Peace Prize winner may wish Bill dead 5 stars
10/17/03 Yerka nothing special 2 stars
10/16/03 Prophecy funky black guy from Enter the Dragon meets crazy madman tarantino and a movie is born :-D 5 stars
10/16/03 Todd Bertuzzi Holy fucking bloody, funny, messy awesome film...Pussy Wagon HAH!!!! LOL :) 5 stars
10/16/03 Ryan not bad but was no Pulp Fiction... 4 stars
10/16/03 Alex Lam Shin Cheung Good movie... made me very horny!!! 5 stars
10/16/03 Filmie Quentin, Quentin, Quentin. Stop making films. 1 stars
10/16/03 Jiz Kicked major ass when it wasn't dragging on 4 stars
10/16/03 Wolf Part of Cottonmouth's childhood anime sequence actually made my teeth hurt. 4 stars
10/16/03 Lee Brimmicombe-Wood Reverential, fun pulp actioner 5 stars
10/15/03 Donna Gelpigi Darn! And I thought from the title that Hillary Clinton would be the lead character! 1 stars
10/15/03 here a great film 5 stars
10/15/03 maxomai This is the coolest action flick -- ever. 5 stars
10/15/03 Max I guess I'm just a fan of Tarantino. I loved it. Can't wait for Volume 2 5 stars
10/15/03 MikeZero If you don't have anything to add to the genres you steal from, don't bother. 1 stars
10/15/03 Fipper Great rendition of every Asian genre, old and new 4 stars
10/14/03 Jacques Cool Movie! 5 stars
10/14/03 bitterman Why cut the movie in half? Q.T. needs to stop before he kills again. 3 stars
10/14/03 The Fat Bastid no reason to show up before the last 30 minutes 1 stars
10/14/03 Frodogandy Awesome! Made me wanna go to Okinawa and get a Hanzo sword myself! 5 stars
10/14/03 grace Q & U rock! 5 stars
10/14/03 Nicki D. So damn sweet .Could have done w/o Uma's feet. Hey, that rhymes! 5 stars
10/14/03 James Bond I guess Im just not a fan of Quentin Tarantino I thought it sucked 1 stars
10/14/03 harpoonflby masturabatory plot and script, anime was useless, too much QT not enough YWP, nice swords 2 stars
10/14/03 snowconehead Uma Thurman's feet are hideous 5 stars
10/14/03 Dwight Harvey incredibly entertaining 5 stars
10/14/03 Erik Van Sant As annoying as Tarantino is, he's a damn fine filmmaker. Shouldn't be in 2 volumes though. 5 stars
10/13/03 steve Extremely disapointing 1 stars
10/13/03 Davey L. Slick, funny, and deliciously violent. Fantastic cast. Hoping for more dialogue in part2 5 stars
10/13/03 Dante I thought the film was execellent, well written, and the action was superb! 5 stars
10/13/03 Eric S. Bloody good. Heh. 5 stars
10/13/03 Hanzo "The Razor" Itami Yo, drake, It ain't trying to BE a Pulp Fiction 2, fool! 5 stars
10/13/03 One who knows Martial arts performances and choreography were totally lame! 1 stars
10/13/03 Drake McGinnis What the hell are people that liked it thinking? There will never be a Pulp Fiction 2! 1 stars
10/13/03 Daniel Ehrlich U MA God 4 stars
10/13/03 Titus This was the most fun since Pirates! 5 stars
10/13/03 jennifer thank you, tarantino, for putting in the wonderful okinawa! 5 stars
10/13/03 Jack the Dagger Bes damn movie i sever seen the blood and guts rules you my man tarentino! 5 stars
10/12/03 Lord Chu Awesome shit. Any fan of anime will love this. 5 stars
10/12/03 Alex Carter Tarantino is four for four 5 stars
10/12/03 Renegade Bushido Would have been great if it wasn't for that DAMN BLACK AND WHITE halfway through the fight 4 stars
10/12/03 Gary Ozbourne GREAT 5 stars
10/12/03 Metrazol Prophet It's the horrible thought of live anime, but Tarantino actually makes it work, scary, ehe? 4 stars
10/12/03 Isengard Fucking awesome except for Uma's nasty-ass feet! ewwww 5 stars
10/12/03 Morally Sound Welcome back, QT. 5 stars
10/12/03 KingNeutron Thurman overacts a bit, otherwise the film is very artistic and explorative. 4 stars
10/12/03 Kyle ...4 months.................. fuck you, Miramax. 5 stars
10/11/03 nick2k i'm not giving it a perfect because they are making me wait til february to see the rest... 4 stars
10/11/03 cinkcool good for a one time thing, but just dont get any bloodier 3 stars
10/11/03 Vince Fuckin' A. 5 stars
10/11/03 john wonderful..Quentin is back...fun, action, excellent acting when necessary 5 stars
10/11/03 Soki Undoubtedly the worst movie I've ever seen. Would have preferred savage beatings over this. 1 stars
10/11/03 Vicious The ass-kickingest of films, drenched in blood, and there's more to come. Goody. 5 stars
10/11/03 Aaron In trying to make a mediocre movie, QT succeeded with flying colors 3 stars
10/11/03 Eeon Very entertaining, and certainly Tarantino 5 stars
10/11/03 spankachu awesome so awesome 5 stars
10/10/03 Choadushouse The most strikingly fun original and amazing film I've ever seen. I was in AWE. 5 stars
10/10/03 quentin rots "homage"? or "stealing others' work b/c you're a damn retard"? 1 stars
10/10/03 Morally Sound Wow! Great Tarantino flick; that's right, he's back, better then ever! Kung-fu-kick-ass! 5 stars
10/04/03 Chris It's like vengence on speed 5 stars
10/03/03 The F-Bomb saw this at a special screening a few weeks ago. DAMN!!! LOT OF BLOOD.SWEET AS HELL!!!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Oct-2003 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2004

UK
  17-Oct-2003 (18)

Australia
  16-Oct-2003 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast