More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look36.9%
Average: 9.52%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap: 11.9%

2 reviews, 72 user ratings



Scary Movie 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Disenfranchised."
2 stars

The baton is removed from the hands of the Wayanses to David Zucker, though the results score much lower than the previous two parodies, a far cry from the hilarity of the first.

Reductions and cuts are abound throughout, foregoing some of the typical raunch to see a PG-13 rating, the end credits hitting the screen before the minutes click over to 75, and with only Anna Faris and Regina Hall returning to the ensemble cast, the latter of whom qualifies as little more than a glorified cameo. The host movies that get taken to with pot shots are namely The Ring, Signs, 8 Mile, and the collective Matrix trilogy (already parodied the first go-round, already a parody of itself by that franchise’s close) with other minor gags from The Others, Bruce Almighty, and similar pop culture tidbits (Simon Cowell being mowed down by bullets after a negative review). And considering the time in which the filmmakers had to prepare for this sequel, there is no rhythm or composure to the comedy itself; yes, it contains a handful of stray laughs and the rare bit of cleverness, but Scary Movie 3 is a huge disappointment in its inability of and inconsistency towards any type of humor, especially compared to its predecessors. (As big of a disappointment as Scary Movie 2 was in being so rushed and slapped together, it still reflected a formula that made the first work so well.) The progression of any linear story being told through satire is never a consideration of the filmmakers, amounting to little more than the connection of dislocated skits developed out of a sitcom mentality — in the end, hardly worth the joke. With Zucker attached, he appears to have attracted a large gathering of stunt casting (Charlie Sheen, Simon Rex, Leslie Nielsen, Queen Latifah, Eddie Griffin, Jeremy Piven, Camryn Manheim, Darrell Hammond, Anthony Anderson, George Carlin, D.L. Hughley, Ja Rule, Pamela Anderson, Jenny McCarthy, Denise Richards, and on and on and on), but it’s rendered worthless when their appearances meaning nothing.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8275&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/13/04 07:52:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

6/01/09 Steve Warner Wonderfully funny, a laugh riot throughout! 5 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef Wow, is this over. The whole "Airplane!" spoof is over. Gone. Dead! LET IT REST IN PEACE! 1 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT THOUGH AN IMPROVEMENT OVER THE SECOND 'SCARY MOVIE', THE LAUGHS ARE STILL INCONSISTENT 2 stars
3/25/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Reasonable. 3 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White stupid but funny at times 3 stars
2/28/07 Beau This is the worst of the trilogy!!!! failed miserably to pay out movies. 2 stars
12/27/06 Charles Tatum Everything you've come to expect from the franchise 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Screw that abomination,Talladega Knights, this spoof is the sh*t!! 5 stars
7/14/06 Stanley Thai It's the best one in the series and it's funny. 4 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 still funny. can't wait to see the 4th one on video 5 stars
5/31/06 Ashley Hinz I don't like any of the Scary Movie's. 1 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor A fair sequel in this series 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer REDEMPTION! I LAUGHED MY ASS OFF! GOTTA SEE #4!!!! 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 That movie is the bomb and if you say it sucks , you talkin about yourself and lm only 11 5 stars
8/04/05 ^podo very funny! 5 stars
7/16/05 Naruto that's waste product 1 stars
7/16/05 tony this made up for the crapy scary movie 2. this ones a keeper 4 stars
12/27/04 The Talking Elbow Really stupid in some parts, but really funny in others. 4 stars
11/15/04 Samuel a pretty pointless movie... 2 stars
10/02/04 malcolm had maybe 3 good laughs 2 stars
8/22/04 Archanist 101 Anna Faris is HOT! 5 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth Less crude, more twisted, far funnier. Reminds me of good ol' days of ZAZ 4 stars
6/08/04 palaboy101 funny...you'd get the jokes only if you've seen the original films 4 stars
6/02/04 KR Like the alien schlong in Sheen's mouth; otherwise not great. 3 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It wasnt like the other ones it just wasnt funny enough 4 stars
5/29/04 Kylie Yohn Its the greatest movie of all 5 stars
5/18/04 Mitch I was expecting crap, but surprisingly funny at points. 4 stars
5/13/04 Alex Zucker trying to make another Naked Gun movie 1 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose The should have stopped with the first one, this series has gotten worse with each sequal 2 stars
5/12/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
5/02/04 J Its so FUNNY that its SCARY!!! *** All it needed was Wayans Brothers!! 4 stars
3/15/04 mofo plz good, but when i got home a hooker slashed my arm open with a razor! 5 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr MUCH better than the first two. In fact just watch this one and skip the others. 4 stars
2/08/04 jmsynth Sometimes lame, but often hysterically funny. If you hate bad taste jokes AVOID!! 4 stars
2/08/04 Brian Hutton shit 1 stars
1/31/04 jayce as funny as a sulphuric acid enema-avoid!!! 1 stars
1/31/04 Littlepurch Best of the 3. Hysterical! The adverts on the lighthouse website - GENIUS!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Definitely the best of the 3! The Ring tape rocked!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White A good opening scene leads nowhere, as the film goes downhill quickly. 2 stars
1/22/04 tommy g good but I also missed shorty. but eather way the movie rules 5 stars
1/13/04 GhettoSmurf It was pretty kick ass, but where the fuck was shorty? 4 stars
1/05/04 GhettoSmurf It was pretty kick ass, but where the fuck was shorty? 4 stars
1/03/04 A F Why am I laughing? 3 stars
1/02/04 Long River Don't degrade yourself 1 stars
12/31/03 Qtpie4evr I think it was good!:) 4 stars
12/13/03 Ryan Best movie I have seen in a long time! 5 stars
12/06/03 lilcutie a good film 4 stars
12/05/03 ffffffffffff Pretty funny. Less disgusting than the other Scary Movies though 4 stars
12/01/03 *A Monotonous Creton Who Loves Tom Hulce* spare me!!! no more!!! but carlin is still the best 2 stars
11/27/03 he almost as good as the first on 4 stars
11/26/03 BMW Movie was funny I was laughing so much 5 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi I was crying cuz it was so funny 5 stars
11/21/03 Atif Aslam They should have made this movie Rated R instead of PG13 5 stars
11/14/03 Sean Movie Critic It's Scary Movie...what can you say...kind of funny! 4 stars
11/13/03 Qt4evr Itz a good film 4 stars
11/08/03 re a pretty good film 4 stars
11/07/03 Cameron Slick Absolutely dreadful. Well, not quite, about 1 in 3 jokes were funny. 2 stars
11/06/03 Dan Terrible. So pointless and disjointed. I didn't laugh more than twice 1 stars
11/03/03 Red a great film 5 stars
11/03/03 Brain Pamela has the fucken biggest boobs in the usa 5 stars
11/01/03 culprit64 Funny! Zucker does a great job. Better than the 1st and 2nd 5 stars
10/31/03 starr Il likeed the hype man he is a funny ass comedian 3 stars
10/31/03 Lord Chu Funny as hell. 5 stars
10/29/03 redpjas a pretty good film 4 stars
10/29/03 ROXANNE MORROW IT WAS REALY DIFFERENT 3 stars
10/28/03 KingNeutron At 1 point the kid grabs onto Tabitha because she's the LESSER threat! :) Saw it 2x already 4 stars
10/27/03 Rosamund they really need to quit while they're ahead with these flicks....... 3 stars
10/26/03 Curious George pretty good 4 stars
10/26/03 Kristin Ugh.... 1 stars
10/26/03 Wolf Too much time on 8mile, and I wish they'd quit the priest jokes, but ILMAO 4 stars
10/26/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) all da funny parts in da commercials. crap movie! 1 stars
10/26/03 SaRaH Certain parts were funny.But itz ok 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Oct-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Dec-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast