More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look36.9%
Average: 9.52%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap: 11.9%

2 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Scary Movie 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"With a name like Zucker, it (almost always) has to be good."
4 stars

The Wayans Brothers' "Scary Movie" (2000) was a good bit of outrageous, anarchic fun. Its sequel, a year later, was rushed, sloppy and underdone. The Wayanses bailed out of the third film in the pre-production stage, and the man who stepped in saved the franchise. Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. David Zucker!

Zucker directed "Airplane!" (1980), "Top Secret!" (1984), and the first two "Naked Gun" movies, all masterpieces of sight gags, absurdist parody and fast-paced loopiness. The same mannerisms come through in "Scary Movie 3," so much so that the film feels like an homage to the genre Zucker more or less invented. And compared to the coarseness of the ultra-raunchy first two films, the PG-13 humor of No. 3 seems downright old-fashioned.

Zucker reportedly did an uncredited touch-up to the screenplay, too, which was otherwise written by Craig Mazin and Pat Proft (himself a parody veteran, having co-written all five "Naked Gun" and "Hot Shots!" films).

Like its "Scary Movie" predecessors, it's a merry spoof of recent films, this time including "The Ring," "Signs," "8 Mile," "The Matrix Reloaded" and "The Others." After a devilishly funny "Ring"-inspired prologue featuring Jenny McCarthy, Pamela Anderson, and Pamela Anderson's cleavage, we are reintroduced to Cindy Campbell (Anna Faris), whom you've probably forgotten is the only character to appear in all three films so far. She's a TV news reporter now, following a story about mysterious crop circles on a farm belonging to former priest Tom Logan (Charlie Sheen) and his brother, would-be rapper George (Simon Rex). She also has come into possession of a videotape rumored to kill all viewers seven days later. If you've seen the films in question, you get the idea.

Faris demonstrates a considerable flair for this sort of comedy, acting with just the right blend of deadpan and ditziness -- the same qualities already proven effective by Leslie Nielsen. Nielsen himself appears here, too, as the president of the United States. He gets to utter one of my favorite lines, in reference to some hip-hop types who are killed by aliens: "These men died for their country. Send flowers to their b*****s and hos."

Charlie Sheen, Simon Rex, Jeremy Piven, Anthony Anderson, Camryn Manheim and Regina Hall all perform gamely, too.

The film does suffer from a disease seemingly inherent to the genre, where some jokes fall flat, and some ideas are just bad to begin with. The appearance of a pedophile priest is not funny enough to justify its tastelessness, and the same could be said for a sequence where handicapped people are mistaken for aliens. And Michael Jackson jokes? Aren't those old yet?

But it's the sort of movie where if you don't like the current gag, you need only wait a few seconds before the next one turns up. One moment someone's making reference to "President Ford" as we see a painted portrait of Harrison Ford; the next, it seems, Camryn Manheim is being stuffed into a car that is far too small for her. The film is smart enough to keep things moving and to avoid belaboring any one gag. One of things I admire about Zucker's best movies is that the jokes aren't underlined. When Camryn Manheim is stuffed into that car, for example, it happens without comment or acknowledgment. And no one makes any mention at all of what President Harrison Ford's policies were during his term of service.

The running time is 83 minutes, but the last nine of that is the credits, and 74 minutes is just about right for a slappy, goofy film that remembers how funny it is to see people getting hit in the head.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8275&reviewer=247
originally posted: 10/26/03 08:08:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

6/01/09 Steve Warner Wonderfully funny, a laugh riot throughout! 5 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef Wow, is this over. The whole "Airplane!" spoof is over. Gone. Dead! LET IT REST IN PEACE! 1 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT THOUGH AN IMPROVEMENT OVER THE SECOND 'SCARY MOVIE', THE LAUGHS ARE STILL INCONSISTENT 2 stars
3/25/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Reasonable. 3 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White stupid but funny at times 3 stars
2/28/07 Beau This is the worst of the trilogy!!!! failed miserably to pay out movies. 2 stars
12/27/06 Charles Tatum Everything you've come to expect from the franchise 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Screw that abomination,Talladega Knights, this spoof is the sh*t!! 5 stars
7/14/06 Stanley Thai It's the best one in the series and it's funny. 4 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 still funny. can't wait to see the 4th one on video 5 stars
5/31/06 Ashley Hinz I don't like any of the Scary Movie's. 1 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor A fair sequel in this series 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer REDEMPTION! I LAUGHED MY ASS OFF! GOTTA SEE #4!!!! 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 That movie is the bomb and if you say it sucks , you talkin about yourself and lm only 11 5 stars
8/04/05 ^podo very funny! 5 stars
7/16/05 Naruto that's waste product 1 stars
7/16/05 tony this made up for the crapy scary movie 2. this ones a keeper 4 stars
12/27/04 The Talking Elbow Really stupid in some parts, but really funny in others. 4 stars
11/15/04 Samuel a pretty pointless movie... 2 stars
10/02/04 malcolm had maybe 3 good laughs 2 stars
8/22/04 Archanist 101 Anna Faris is HOT! 5 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth Less crude, more twisted, far funnier. Reminds me of good ol' days of ZAZ 4 stars
6/08/04 palaboy101 funny...you'd get the jokes only if you've seen the original films 4 stars
6/02/04 KR Like the alien schlong in Sheen's mouth; otherwise not great. 3 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham It wasnt like the other ones it just wasnt funny enough 4 stars
5/29/04 Kylie Yohn Its the greatest movie of all 5 stars
5/18/04 Mitch I was expecting crap, but surprisingly funny at points. 4 stars
5/13/04 Alex Zucker trying to make another Naked Gun movie 1 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose The should have stopped with the first one, this series has gotten worse with each sequal 2 stars
5/12/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
5/02/04 J Its so FUNNY that its SCARY!!! *** All it needed was Wayans Brothers!! 4 stars
3/15/04 mofo plz good, but when i got home a hooker slashed my arm open with a razor! 5 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr MUCH better than the first two. In fact just watch this one and skip the others. 4 stars
2/08/04 jmsynth Sometimes lame, but often hysterically funny. If you hate bad taste jokes AVOID!! 4 stars
2/08/04 Brian Hutton shit 1 stars
1/31/04 jayce as funny as a sulphuric acid enema-avoid!!! 1 stars
1/31/04 Littlepurch Best of the 3. Hysterical! The adverts on the lighthouse website - GENIUS!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Definitely the best of the 3! The Ring tape rocked!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White A good opening scene leads nowhere, as the film goes downhill quickly. 2 stars
1/22/04 tommy g good but I also missed shorty. but eather way the movie rules 5 stars
1/13/04 GhettoSmurf It was pretty kick ass, but where the fuck was shorty? 4 stars
1/05/04 GhettoSmurf It was pretty kick ass, but where the fuck was shorty? 4 stars
1/03/04 A F Why am I laughing? 3 stars
1/02/04 Long River Don't degrade yourself 1 stars
12/31/03 Qtpie4evr I think it was good!:) 4 stars
12/13/03 Ryan Best movie I have seen in a long time! 5 stars
12/06/03 lilcutie a good film 4 stars
12/05/03 ffffffffffff Pretty funny. Less disgusting than the other Scary Movies though 4 stars
12/01/03 *A Monotonous Creton Who Loves Tom Hulce* spare me!!! no more!!! but carlin is still the best 2 stars
11/27/03 he almost as good as the first on 4 stars
11/26/03 BMW Movie was funny I was laughing so much 5 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi I was crying cuz it was so funny 5 stars
11/21/03 Atif Aslam They should have made this movie Rated R instead of PG13 5 stars
11/14/03 Sean Movie Critic It's Scary Movie...what can you say...kind of funny! 4 stars
11/13/03 Qt4evr Itz a good film 4 stars
11/08/03 re a pretty good film 4 stars
11/07/03 Cameron Slick Absolutely dreadful. Well, not quite, about 1 in 3 jokes were funny. 2 stars
11/06/03 Dan Terrible. So pointless and disjointed. I didn't laugh more than twice 1 stars
11/03/03 Red a great film 5 stars
11/03/03 Brain Pamela has the fucken biggest boobs in the usa 5 stars
11/01/03 culprit64 Funny! Zucker does a great job. Better than the 1st and 2nd 5 stars
10/31/03 starr Il likeed the hype man he is a funny ass comedian 3 stars
10/31/03 Lord Chu Funny as hell. 5 stars
10/29/03 redpjas a pretty good film 4 stars
10/29/03 ROXANNE MORROW IT WAS REALY DIFFERENT 3 stars
10/28/03 KingNeutron At 1 point the kid grabs onto Tabitha because she's the LESSER threat! :) Saw it 2x already 4 stars
10/27/03 Rosamund they really need to quit while they're ahead with these flicks....... 3 stars
10/26/03 Curious George pretty good 4 stars
10/26/03 Kristin Ugh.... 1 stars
10/26/03 Wolf Too much time on 8mile, and I wish they'd quit the priest jokes, but ILMAO 4 stars
10/26/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) all da funny parts in da commercials. crap movie! 1 stars
10/26/03 SaRaH Certain parts were funny.But itz ok 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Oct-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Dec-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast