More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome68.6%
Worth A Look: 19.83%
Average: 9.09%
Pretty Bad: 0.83%
Total Crap: 1.65%

4 reviews, 97 user ratings


Latest Reviews

White Bird in a Blizzard by Jay Seaver

Hwayi: A Monster Boy by Jay Seaver

Butter on the Latch by Jay Seaver

Thou Wast Mild and Lovely by Jay Seaver

Boyhood by Brett Gallman

Suspect, The by Jay Seaver

Reconstruction of William Zero, The by Jay Seaver

In the Land of the Head Hunters by Jay Seaver

Red Family by Jay Seaver

Bayonetta: Bloody Fate by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tombstone
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I hate Kurt Russell and Jason Priestley, but damn it, this rules."
5 stars

"I beweive I'm your hucklebewwy.." - Val Kilmer may be a complete prick, but he shall never be more suited to any role than he was to this one right here. Kilmer IS Doc Holliday and I'd pay to go see him in this role again and again. The dude manages to act green. How did he do that?

So who else is there? Kurt Russell as Wyatt. He's the guy with way too much eye make-up trying to look like he has less wrinkles than Goldie Hawn. (Fat chance, bub.)

Sam Elliott as his brother Virgil. Nobody else in the world can wear a cowboy hat, leather pants and handlebar moustache and not look like he's cruising for hot times with a well hung fella.

Bill Paxton? He plays the dumb ass sidekick. Go figure.

But just when you figure this is a helluva ride it get's better! Powers Boothe! Michael Biehn (who will play Mad Max 4, mark my words)! Chuck Heston! Jason Priestl... uhh.. Dana Delan.. umm.. Billy Zan... God no.. OH! Thomas Haden Church!! Yes! It's Ned in a western! He always was too good for Stacey.

So what's the story? Well you've read about Wyatt Earp, gunufight at the OK Corral and such. Well here's how Hollywood sees it. Of course it's nothing like the actuality of events, but heck, at least Tombstone isn't a total Congo-isation of same.

In reality, Earp and his kin were a nasty bunch of creeps. They weren't looking for peace, quiet and a family way of life, they were into extortion, prostitution, guns and booze. The famed story of their showdown at OK was kind of loose with the facts, in as much as when their opponents stopped firing and surrendered, they were butchered unarmed. But why let reality spoil a damn good story?

Enough of the history lesson. This is how it should have been, because the idea of real folks screaming "YOU CALLED DOWN THE THUNDER... WELL NOW YOU'RE GONNA GET IT!" is just too cool for words.

This is a real ensemble piece. Every character has a story and a dillemma (well, except for some of the "wimmin", but hey, this is Hollywood). The story travels many differents and the performances are stand-out all over.

Michael Biehn as Johnny Ringo is God damned sublime.
"I want your blood... and I want your soul. And I want 'em both... right now.."

Powers Boothe is just cocky as hell, even Delany and Priestley don't shame themselves. This is just one hell of a tight ship all round and anyone from action fans, to western buffs, to just folks who like decent films should bring plenty home from this puppy.

If for no other reason than seeing Kilmer ("ain't that a dandy?") in the role of his existence, you must see this movie.

A Paxton movie without special effects? YES! It is true!

"YOU TELL THEM I'M COMING! AND HELL'S COMING WITH ME!!"

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=829&reviewer=1
originally posted: 11/24/98 15:53:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/25/12 Ed Totleben Jr Great flick. Val Kilmer owns this!" 4 stars
8/02/10 Sharon This is my absolute favorite movie. Val Kilmer should have one best actor. Recount!!! 5 stars
4/16/08 Quigley A great Western only enhanced by Kilmer's classic performance. 5 stars
1/31/08 overrated imo. sporatic at the end. cheesy cliched hollywood music django 3 stars
1/01/08 kay I loved Doc Holiday in Tombstone. I watched over, and over again.. 5 stars
12/26/07 Steven Streat It was a Daisy!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White good actors and good western can get long 4 stars
11/10/07 Tim Awesome 5 stars
8/07/07 Westeditor Truth of the story is immaterial. Kilmer should have won Best Actor. He'll never equal that 5 stars
3/14/07 bob hummel addicted great film outstanding acting 5 stars
3/02/07 john gtrat western 5 stars
2/05/07 action movie fan technically outstanding, but meandering plot weakens film-good shooutouts though 3 stars
1/05/07 movie house rat great film one of the best ever on this subject 5 stars
11/03/06 AJ Muller Superb western - Russell and Kilmer anchor one of the best casts of all time. 5 stars
6/01/06 BHTMfan Maybe the best western ever and no doubt the best collection of memorable one-liners ever. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Brilliant (Aussie loves US history) - Val K, t'finest Doc Holliday u'll ever see 5 stars
2/09/06 The Man Better than Wyatt Earp. Overly stylized. for a real western see High Plains Drifter 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a classic in making western with great perf. by val kilmer and kurt russell, a good story 4 stars
12/22/05 David I had to turn it off in the middle because it was so depressing and violent. 1 stars
8/22/05 ES Few slow parts but nothing as bad as Wyatt Earp, great cast, realistic action, lodinum, etc 5 stars
8/07/05 Desperado Val Kilmer was screwed by the Academy, great performance, great movie 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Fantastic, underrated western. Much better than other 90s attempts. 4 stars
3/07/05 Nannie turner The very best..Val Kilmer was the greatest Doc yet. 5 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson A GREAT WESTERN! It gives a strong sense of time & place more real than the dull WYATT EARP 5 stars
1/12/05 Sully "I do believe its time to redefine the nature of our relationship" 5 stars
10/01/04 Aaron Smith One of the better modern westerns. Doesn't beat Quick and the Dead, though. 4 stars
5/27/04 padfoot 2/ B.catherine This movie has you hooked from the start. its great it has great graphics! totally worth it 5 stars
5/06/04 Carly My ALL-TIME favorite movie! 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot My favourite western,what a cast,what performances! 5 stars
4/21/04 Sara Watched so often that I can recite line by line--everybody should see this film 5 stars
4/11/04 mike too bad they stop making great movies like this the whole cast was great . 5 stars
3/19/04 Marissa This movie was awesome, and I often quote Val's Doc Holiday hilarious one- liners! 5 stars
1/22/04 Abe Giesbrecht "Hollywood Western", feels false compared to 'Wyatt Earp' 3 stars
1/20/04 lance lightsey best movie ever 5 stars
11/29/03 john it seems to take a (great) greek director these days to do a western right! sensational! 5 stars
11/22/03 adguy One of the best. Val Kilmer's performance worth the price of the DVD. 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald Val Kilmer is great, quotable lines for miles, memorable scenes throughout 4 stars
6/27/03 cochese THE best western of all time. 5 stars
6/20/03 Vincent van Bennekum very good western 5 stars
4/30/03 beepers val kilmer is the greatest! 5 stars
2/23/03 R.W. Welch Fairly authentic and convincingly acted rendition of the Earp-Holliday legend. 4 stars
2/11/03 Rob Spataro Very good 4 stars
1/26/03 T-man I'm your huckleberry 5 stars
12/04/02 E. Clifton Daniel One of the worst flicks ever ... a sappy cliched feculent pretend-spaghetti-western. 1 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Great, better than Costner's turkey 4 stars
8/05/02 KMG INTERESTING 4 stars
7/27/02 ownerofdajoint vengeanceis minesayethkurtrussell........ 4 stars
7/07/02 Film Guy Nice 4 stars
6/19/02 Michael Machart This movie should get four stars. 5 stars
4/10/02 Erica Jones I love Tombstone! It is the coolest! 5 stars
3/04/02 AngeFaitore This was okay, for a western. I can sit through any Thomas Haden Church movie. 3 stars
2/27/02 S. Kearns Incredible western, best work Kilmer and Russell have done 5 stars
2/16/02 Doc Holiday Just Fucking Cool 5 stars
1/18/02 chris it was cool i liked i more than i like myself 5 stars
12/05/01 Michael_W Violent, expansive, stylish - Kilmer rules and Kurt is pretty good too. 5 stars
10/17/01 JesseL This movie rules. Only morons think it is cheesy or overrated. 5 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth This shit has some seriously cheesy fucking lines. Kurt suck my ass. 3 stars
5/14/01 John D. Rockefeller overrated 3 stars
5/10/01 The Bomb 69 not bad 4 stars
4/26/01 Dusty it was a great movie that really pumps you up. Val Kilmer is a perfect Doc Holiday!!!!! 5 stars
3/29/01 fifu fun to watch but missing a good plot 3 stars
3/14/01 Chris Drake A religious experience for aetheists; loved Latin shootout best. 5 stars
2/25/01 Robert K Weaver Another western in fancy dress 3 stars
2/17/01 l cav #1 it's sam elliott #2 it's "you're a DAISY if you do" 5 stars
2/07/01 Skip Val Kilmer is great, but the film itself lacks style. 3 stars
2/07/01 Obi Wan One of the best westerns! Maybe Kurt's best. 5 stars
2/06/01 Alex Moir One of the best movies ever, in my top 5 5 stars
2/05/01 Cowboy up! One of the greatest movies of all time! 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo Great movie 5 stars
10/25/00 Jenn DiVeterano My Favorite Movie of all Time! 5 stars
9/21/00 "Cowboy" W. Martin Best movie I ever seen 5 stars
7/23/00 Michael Stoner Kilmer and Biehn were the scene stealers, Mike Notch plays with his crotch 4 stars
6/29/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good: Kilmer walks away with the film; Delany drags it down. 4 stars
6/02/00 Wafer one of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
5/31/00 DREDD Kilmer, with the smooothest performance ever.. 5 stars
3/31/00 Simone-711 Fascinating portrayal of Doc Holliday by Val Kilmer. Loved the Earp's wardrobe! 5 stars
1/13/00 Larry Ping a classic western 5 stars
12/03/99 mike rotch the movie was an inconsistant rewrite of previous films 2 stars
11/07/99 Derik Berkebile The best western this decade with the possible exception of the young guns movies 5 stars
10/30/99 Meepos Despite the cast, this is a great God-damn movie. 5 stars
10/13/99 Rebecca Still One of my top 10 most enjoyable movies 5 stars
9/20/99 Connee Sheckler Kilmer had a Southern Maryland/Virginia accent down pat! 5 stars
8/13/99 umelder sam elliott played wyatt's brother, not sam neil... the big lebowski meets jurrasic park 5 stars
7/03/99 Jason Murphy Movie was great, Val Kilmer was Awesome! 5 stars
5/28/99 Jonny Be BAD "little jerry", You're a god damn fairy.And Jackson,Whitten, and Oz, Fuck you too!!! 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Way better than Kostna, Val is the huckleberriest. 4 stars
11/27/98 little jerry For about 2/3 of the way this is pretty good but then totally derails. 3 stars
11/17/98 Gray Whitten This movie makes me wanna be a cowboy when I grow up. That or a pimp. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo "ain't that a daisy..?" Val Kilmer will never, CAN never perform better than he did here. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan Val steals the show hardcore! "Say when...." 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg "I'll be your Huckleberry...." 4 stars
9/19/98 Jonny Be BAD Hey,Johny!You're not worthy of the name. From now on, I dub you "Yawni". I hope you die.. 5 stars
9/19/98 Johny Seems over praised to me, it's just good 4 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic A far superior production to the more expensive Costner film. Russell rules as an actor. 5 stars
9/16/98 {{{OZ}}} What the hell is the yuckhead below on? Sporky rules the school, as does Tombstone. 5 stars
9/10/98 Jonny Be bAD yOUR rEVIER SHOULD BE BITCH SLAPPED... I HOPE SHE DIES.... SHE DOESN'T DO TOMBSTONE JUSTICE 5 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Finally, a Val Kilmer performance that shouldn't result in castration! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast