More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome68.85%
Worth A Look: 19.67%
Average: 9.02%
Pretty Bad: 0.82%
Total Crap: 1.64%

4 reviews, 98 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tombstone
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Who Wouldíve Expected It To Be This Good?"
5 stars

Geez, if you seen the utter boring stupidity that is Wyatt Earp first (which I unfortunately did), you may ask yourself like I did, will this movie be any good? Well, my friend, after seeing this flick, the answer is FUCKING HELL YEAH!!! Erase everything you know and heard about Wyatt Earp (and please lets do) and rent this sucker. Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer pretty much suck now, but back then in this movie, man, itíll knock your socks off. For those who havenít seen Wyatt Earp, DONíT, and rent this film.

First of all, the plot is widely known. Wyatt Earp (Russell) and his brothers Virgil (Sam Elliot) and Morgan (Bill Paxton) arrive in Tombstone to find prosperity and richness and trying to get out of the ďlawmanĒ stuff after cleaning up Dodge City. Unfortunately, in Tombstone, the gang of The Cowboys (The Clanton Gang), which are headed by Curly Bill Brocius (Powers Boothe), and Johnny Ringo (Michael Biehn) have infested the town with their shit, and soon after a few incidents, the retired Earp is forced to bring out his guns again and start chasing the Cowboys, all leading up to the infamous shooting at the OK Corral, and afterwards on.

First of all, I always like historical movies to be accurate to the material that theyíre presenting. Iíve always said that history always brings out the best of plots; if and only if theyíre present it the way it was. Historical inaccuracy has always been present in Hollywood, and it has pissed me off many times when that happens in a historical movie, and brings up a bunch of lameass bullshit instead. But when they come up with some great stuff, then thereís pretty much nothing to complain about. Remember Braveheart? It was a historically inaccurate film, but it kicked ass since it was artistically well made. Itís damn cool, and well made despite the inaccuracies. This movie is pretty much the same way. It tends to be formulaic, but man, itís blend of action, drama, and comedy cuts through time like a blade and as the film progresses, youíre rewarded with enjoyment and entertainment, and like everyone has said, thatís what moviemaking is all about, entertainment. Sure, the danger signs are pretty eminent. George P. Cosmatos is known for his load of trashfests like Rambo: First Blood Part 2, Cobra, and later, The Shadow Conspiracy, but if there was ever a movie that he at least made it well, itís this one.

The action scenes are well staged and placed, and every performance is given to the fullest. Fuck Kevin Costner playing Wyatt Earp, Kurt Russell IS Wyatt Earp. The lad has emotion, has anger, and doesnít let anything back, and he was fearsome to watch. Val Kilmer though, gives his best performance of his career as Doc Holliday, and somehow manages to eclipse Russell. Two big surprises: Powers Boothe is unusually wacky and enjoyable as Curly Bill, and I say surprising because itís a rare role for an actor whose used to take more serious roles. Michael Biehn is the other surprise, playing the evil Johnny Ringo, and its enough to say that with his performance here it just proves more and more why Biehn is one of the most underrated actors in the business.

In the end, forget that Wyatt Earp exists and watch this film. It has everything that Wyatt Earp never had, and its fun, its damn good, and its fucking awesome. Seriously, this film is your huckleberry. (4.5-5)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=829&reviewer=235
originally posted: 08/02/02 13:55:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/30/14 helen schick academy awards treated this best cast and best western ever like crap all cast was superb i 5 stars
10/25/12 Ed Totleben Jr Great flick. Val Kilmer owns this!" 4 stars
8/02/10 Sharon This is my absolute favorite movie. Val Kilmer should have one best actor. Recount!!! 5 stars
4/16/08 Quigley A great Western only enhanced by Kilmer's classic performance. 5 stars
1/31/08 overrated imo. sporatic at the end. cheesy cliched hollywood music django 3 stars
1/01/08 kay I loved Doc Holiday in Tombstone. I watched over, and over again.. 5 stars
12/26/07 Steven Streat It was a Daisy!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White good actors and good western can get long 4 stars
11/10/07 Tim Awesome 5 stars
8/07/07 Westeditor Truth of the story is immaterial. Kilmer should have won Best Actor. He'll never equal that 5 stars
3/14/07 bob hummel addicted great film outstanding acting 5 stars
3/02/07 john gtrat western 5 stars
2/05/07 action movie fan technically outstanding, but meandering plot weakens film-good shooutouts though 3 stars
1/05/07 movie house rat great film one of the best ever on this subject 5 stars
11/03/06 AJ Muller Superb western - Russell and Kilmer anchor one of the best casts of all time. 5 stars
6/01/06 BHTMfan Maybe the best western ever and no doubt the best collection of memorable one-liners ever. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Brilliant (Aussie loves US history) - Val K, t'finest Doc Holliday u'll ever see 5 stars
2/09/06 The Man Better than Wyatt Earp. Overly stylized. for a real western see High Plains Drifter 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a classic in making western with great perf. by val kilmer and kurt russell, a good story 4 stars
12/22/05 David I had to turn it off in the middle because it was so depressing and violent. 1 stars
8/22/05 ES Few slow parts but nothing as bad as Wyatt Earp, great cast, realistic action, lodinum, etc 5 stars
8/07/05 Desperado Val Kilmer was screwed by the Academy, great performance, great movie 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Fantastic, underrated western. Much better than other 90s attempts. 4 stars
3/07/05 Nannie turner The very best..Val Kilmer was the greatest Doc yet. 5 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson A GREAT WESTERN! It gives a strong sense of time & place more real than the dull WYATT EARP 5 stars
1/12/05 Sully "I do believe its time to redefine the nature of our relationship" 5 stars
10/01/04 Aaron Smith One of the better modern westerns. Doesn't beat Quick and the Dead, though. 4 stars
5/27/04 padfoot 2/ B.catherine This movie has you hooked from the start. its great it has great graphics! totally worth it 5 stars
5/06/04 Carly My ALL-TIME favorite movie! 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot My favourite western,what a cast,what performances! 5 stars
4/21/04 Sara Watched so often that I can recite line by line--everybody should see this film 5 stars
4/11/04 mike too bad they stop making great movies like this the whole cast was great . 5 stars
3/19/04 Marissa This movie was awesome, and I often quote Val's Doc Holiday hilarious one- liners! 5 stars
1/22/04 Abe Giesbrecht "Hollywood Western", feels false compared to 'Wyatt Earp' 3 stars
1/20/04 lance lightsey best movie ever 5 stars
11/29/03 john it seems to take a (great) greek director these days to do a western right! sensational! 5 stars
11/22/03 adguy One of the best. Val Kilmer's performance worth the price of the DVD. 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald Val Kilmer is great, quotable lines for miles, memorable scenes throughout 4 stars
6/27/03 cochese THE best western of all time. 5 stars
6/20/03 Vincent van Bennekum very good western 5 stars
4/30/03 beepers val kilmer is the greatest! 5 stars
2/23/03 R.W. Welch Fairly authentic and convincingly acted rendition of the Earp-Holliday legend. 4 stars
2/11/03 Rob Spataro Very good 4 stars
1/26/03 T-man I'm your huckleberry 5 stars
12/04/02 E. Clifton Daniel One of the worst flicks ever ... a sappy cliched feculent pretend-spaghetti-western. 1 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Great, better than Costner's turkey 4 stars
8/05/02 KMG INTERESTING 4 stars
7/27/02 ownerofdajoint vengeanceis minesayethkurtrussell........ 4 stars
7/07/02 Film Guy Nice 4 stars
6/19/02 Michael Machart This movie should get four stars. 5 stars
4/10/02 Erica Jones I love Tombstone! It is the coolest! 5 stars
3/04/02 AngeFaitore This was okay, for a western. I can sit through any Thomas Haden Church movie. 3 stars
2/27/02 S. Kearns Incredible western, best work Kilmer and Russell have done 5 stars
2/16/02 Doc Holiday Just Fucking Cool 5 stars
1/18/02 chris it was cool i liked i more than i like myself 5 stars
12/05/01 Michael_W Violent, expansive, stylish - Kilmer rules and Kurt is pretty good too. 5 stars
10/17/01 JesseL This movie rules. Only morons think it is cheesy or overrated. 5 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth This shit has some seriously cheesy fucking lines. Kurt suck my ass. 3 stars
5/14/01 John D. Rockefeller overrated 3 stars
5/10/01 The Bomb 69 not bad 4 stars
4/26/01 Dusty it was a great movie that really pumps you up. Val Kilmer is a perfect Doc Holiday!!!!! 5 stars
3/29/01 fifu fun to watch but missing a good plot 3 stars
3/14/01 Chris Drake A religious experience for aetheists; loved Latin shootout best. 5 stars
2/25/01 Robert K Weaver Another western in fancy dress 3 stars
2/17/01 l cav #1 it's sam elliott #2 it's "you're a DAISY if you do" 5 stars
2/07/01 Skip Val Kilmer is great, but the film itself lacks style. 3 stars
2/07/01 Obi Wan One of the best westerns! Maybe Kurt's best. 5 stars
2/06/01 Alex Moir One of the best movies ever, in my top 5 5 stars
2/05/01 Cowboy up! One of the greatest movies of all time! 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo Great movie 5 stars
10/25/00 Jenn DiVeterano My Favorite Movie of all Time! 5 stars
9/21/00 "Cowboy" W. Martin Best movie I ever seen 5 stars
7/23/00 Michael Stoner Kilmer and Biehn were the scene stealers, Mike Notch plays with his crotch 4 stars
6/29/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good: Kilmer walks away with the film; Delany drags it down. 4 stars
6/02/00 Wafer one of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
5/31/00 DREDD Kilmer, with the smooothest performance ever.. 5 stars
3/31/00 Simone-711 Fascinating portrayal of Doc Holliday by Val Kilmer. Loved the Earp's wardrobe! 5 stars
1/13/00 Larry Ping a classic western 5 stars
12/03/99 mike rotch the movie was an inconsistant rewrite of previous films 2 stars
11/07/99 Derik Berkebile The best western this decade with the possible exception of the young guns movies 5 stars
10/30/99 Meepos Despite the cast, this is a great God-damn movie. 5 stars
10/13/99 Rebecca Still One of my top 10 most enjoyable movies 5 stars
9/20/99 Connee Sheckler Kilmer had a Southern Maryland/Virginia accent down pat! 5 stars
8/13/99 umelder sam elliott played wyatt's brother, not sam neil... the big lebowski meets jurrasic park 5 stars
7/03/99 Jason Murphy Movie was great, Val Kilmer was Awesome! 5 stars
5/28/99 Jonny Be BAD "little jerry", You're a god damn fairy.And Jackson,Whitten, and Oz, Fuck you too!!! 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Way better than Kostna, Val is the huckleberriest. 4 stars
11/27/98 little jerry For about 2/3 of the way this is pretty good but then totally derails. 3 stars
11/17/98 Gray Whitten This movie makes me wanna be a cowboy when I grow up. That or a pimp. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo "ain't that a daisy..?" Val Kilmer will never, CAN never perform better than he did here. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan Val steals the show hardcore! "Say when...." 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg "I'll be your Huckleberry...." 4 stars
9/19/98 Jonny Be BAD Hey,Johny!You're not worthy of the name. From now on, I dub you "Yawni". I hope you die.. 5 stars
9/19/98 Johny Seems over praised to me, it's just good 4 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic A far superior production to the more expensive Costner film. Russell rules as an actor. 5 stars
9/16/98 {{{OZ}}} What the hell is the yuckhead below on? Sporky rules the school, as does Tombstone. 5 stars
9/10/98 Jonny Be bAD yOUR rEVIER SHOULD BE BITCH SLAPPED... I HOPE SHE DIES.... SHE DOESN'T DO TOMBSTONE JUSTICE 5 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Finally, a Val Kilmer performance that shouldn't result in castration! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast