More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome68.85%
Worth A Look: 19.67%
Average: 9.02%
Pretty Bad: 0.82%
Total Crap: 1.64%

4 reviews, 98 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Tombstone
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'm NOT your huckleberry. Don't touch me."
5 stars

Yeehaw.

I'm not big on Westerns. I'm also not really a fan of Val Kilmer's work (I haven't liked him in much since Top Secret), but damn it if I didn't love this film.

Tombstone tells the story of Wyatt Earp (Kurt Russell, sporting a nifty handlebar mustache), his family (including Sam Elliot, also with nifty handlebar mustache, and Bill Paxton, with a nifty...oh, you get the idea), and his friend Doc Holliday (Kilmer) who come to Tombstone seeking to get away from everything. Wyatt's no longer a lawman, having already cleaned up Dodge City. Wyatt and his kin are just looking to settle down and basically retire in peace and relative obscurity. But it's just not that easy. A band of outlaws (known as the Cowboys, not related to the band of outlaws playing football in Dallas) starts causing trouble. Earp and his boys come to a confrontation with the Cowboys at the fabled OK Corral. The shootout isn't glorified, if anything, it's fleeting. The rest of the film helps to deal with the consequences of ths shootout, when Wyatt and Doc seemingly stand alone against the Cowboys.

Tombstone's been faulted for some historical inaccuracies, some fudging of dates and things, but as entertainment, Tombstone is right cool. Strong performances from the entire cast (especially Kilmer and Michael Biehn, as Johnny Ringo) and nice production values make you forget about the films flaws. Only Dana Delany, as Josephine Marcus, seems miscast.

It's not merely good vs. evil in the case of the Earps and the Cowboys; the Earps were far from angels. But Tombstone does make the western accessible and less boring, actually making it quite stylish.

Powers Boothe needs to take a bath in this movie. Bad.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=829&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/12/98 01:18:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/30/14 helen schick academy awards treated this best cast and best western ever like crap all cast was superb i 5 stars
10/25/12 Ed Totleben Jr Great flick. Val Kilmer owns this!" 4 stars
8/02/10 Sharon This is my absolute favorite movie. Val Kilmer should have one best actor. Recount!!! 5 stars
4/16/08 Quigley A great Western only enhanced by Kilmer's classic performance. 5 stars
1/31/08 overrated imo. sporatic at the end. cheesy cliched hollywood music django 3 stars
1/01/08 kay I loved Doc Holiday in Tombstone. I watched over, and over again.. 5 stars
12/26/07 Steven Streat It was a Daisy!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White good actors and good western can get long 4 stars
11/10/07 Tim Awesome 5 stars
8/07/07 Westeditor Truth of the story is immaterial. Kilmer should have won Best Actor. He'll never equal that 5 stars
3/14/07 bob hummel addicted great film outstanding acting 5 stars
3/02/07 john gtrat western 5 stars
2/05/07 action movie fan technically outstanding, but meandering plot weakens film-good shooutouts though 3 stars
1/05/07 movie house rat great film one of the best ever on this subject 5 stars
11/03/06 AJ Muller Superb western - Russell and Kilmer anchor one of the best casts of all time. 5 stars
6/01/06 BHTMfan Maybe the best western ever and no doubt the best collection of memorable one-liners ever. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Brilliant (Aussie loves US history) - Val K, t'finest Doc Holliday u'll ever see 5 stars
2/09/06 The Man Better than Wyatt Earp. Overly stylized. for a real western see High Plains Drifter 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a classic in making western with great perf. by val kilmer and kurt russell, a good story 4 stars
12/22/05 David I had to turn it off in the middle because it was so depressing and violent. 1 stars
8/22/05 ES Few slow parts but nothing as bad as Wyatt Earp, great cast, realistic action, lodinum, etc 5 stars
8/07/05 Desperado Val Kilmer was screwed by the Academy, great performance, great movie 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Fantastic, underrated western. Much better than other 90s attempts. 4 stars
3/07/05 Nannie turner The very best..Val Kilmer was the greatest Doc yet. 5 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson A GREAT WESTERN! It gives a strong sense of time & place more real than the dull WYATT EARP 5 stars
1/12/05 Sully "I do believe its time to redefine the nature of our relationship" 5 stars
10/01/04 Aaron Smith One of the better modern westerns. Doesn't beat Quick and the Dead, though. 4 stars
5/27/04 padfoot 2/ B.catherine This movie has you hooked from the start. its great it has great graphics! totally worth it 5 stars
5/06/04 Carly My ALL-TIME favorite movie! 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot My favourite western,what a cast,what performances! 5 stars
4/21/04 Sara Watched so often that I can recite line by line--everybody should see this film 5 stars
4/11/04 mike too bad they stop making great movies like this the whole cast was great . 5 stars
3/19/04 Marissa This movie was awesome, and I often quote Val's Doc Holiday hilarious one- liners! 5 stars
1/22/04 Abe Giesbrecht "Hollywood Western", feels false compared to 'Wyatt Earp' 3 stars
1/20/04 lance lightsey best movie ever 5 stars
11/29/03 john it seems to take a (great) greek director these days to do a western right! sensational! 5 stars
11/22/03 adguy One of the best. Val Kilmer's performance worth the price of the DVD. 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald Val Kilmer is great, quotable lines for miles, memorable scenes throughout 4 stars
6/27/03 cochese THE best western of all time. 5 stars
6/20/03 Vincent van Bennekum very good western 5 stars
4/30/03 beepers val kilmer is the greatest! 5 stars
2/23/03 R.W. Welch Fairly authentic and convincingly acted rendition of the Earp-Holliday legend. 4 stars
2/11/03 Rob Spataro Very good 4 stars
1/26/03 T-man I'm your huckleberry 5 stars
12/04/02 E. Clifton Daniel One of the worst flicks ever ... a sappy cliched feculent pretend-spaghetti-western. 1 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Great, better than Costner's turkey 4 stars
8/05/02 KMG INTERESTING 4 stars
7/27/02 ownerofdajoint vengeanceis minesayethkurtrussell........ 4 stars
7/07/02 Film Guy Nice 4 stars
6/19/02 Michael Machart This movie should get four stars. 5 stars
4/10/02 Erica Jones I love Tombstone! It is the coolest! 5 stars
3/04/02 AngeFaitore This was okay, for a western. I can sit through any Thomas Haden Church movie. 3 stars
2/27/02 S. Kearns Incredible western, best work Kilmer and Russell have done 5 stars
2/16/02 Doc Holiday Just Fucking Cool 5 stars
1/18/02 chris it was cool i liked i more than i like myself 5 stars
12/05/01 Michael_W Violent, expansive, stylish - Kilmer rules and Kurt is pretty good too. 5 stars
10/17/01 JesseL This movie rules. Only morons think it is cheesy or overrated. 5 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth This shit has some seriously cheesy fucking lines. Kurt suck my ass. 3 stars
5/14/01 John D. Rockefeller overrated 3 stars
5/10/01 The Bomb 69 not bad 4 stars
4/26/01 Dusty it was a great movie that really pumps you up. Val Kilmer is a perfect Doc Holiday!!!!! 5 stars
3/29/01 fifu fun to watch but missing a good plot 3 stars
3/14/01 Chris Drake A religious experience for aetheists; loved Latin shootout best. 5 stars
2/25/01 Robert K Weaver Another western in fancy dress 3 stars
2/17/01 l cav #1 it's sam elliott #2 it's "you're a DAISY if you do" 5 stars
2/07/01 Skip Val Kilmer is great, but the film itself lacks style. 3 stars
2/07/01 Obi Wan One of the best westerns! Maybe Kurt's best. 5 stars
2/06/01 Alex Moir One of the best movies ever, in my top 5 5 stars
2/05/01 Cowboy up! One of the greatest movies of all time! 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo Great movie 5 stars
10/25/00 Jenn DiVeterano My Favorite Movie of all Time! 5 stars
9/21/00 "Cowboy" W. Martin Best movie I ever seen 5 stars
7/23/00 Michael Stoner Kilmer and Biehn were the scene stealers, Mike Notch plays with his crotch 4 stars
6/29/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good: Kilmer walks away with the film; Delany drags it down. 4 stars
6/02/00 Wafer one of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
5/31/00 DREDD Kilmer, with the smooothest performance ever.. 5 stars
3/31/00 Simone-711 Fascinating portrayal of Doc Holliday by Val Kilmer. Loved the Earp's wardrobe! 5 stars
1/13/00 Larry Ping a classic western 5 stars
12/03/99 mike rotch the movie was an inconsistant rewrite of previous films 2 stars
11/07/99 Derik Berkebile The best western this decade with the possible exception of the young guns movies 5 stars
10/30/99 Meepos Despite the cast, this is a great God-damn movie. 5 stars
10/13/99 Rebecca Still One of my top 10 most enjoyable movies 5 stars
9/20/99 Connee Sheckler Kilmer had a Southern Maryland/Virginia accent down pat! 5 stars
8/13/99 umelder sam elliott played wyatt's brother, not sam neil... the big lebowski meets jurrasic park 5 stars
7/03/99 Jason Murphy Movie was great, Val Kilmer was Awesome! 5 stars
5/28/99 Jonny Be BAD "little jerry", You're a god damn fairy.And Jackson,Whitten, and Oz, Fuck you too!!! 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Way better than Kostna, Val is the huckleberriest. 4 stars
11/27/98 little jerry For about 2/3 of the way this is pretty good but then totally derails. 3 stars
11/17/98 Gray Whitten This movie makes me wanna be a cowboy when I grow up. That or a pimp. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo "ain't that a daisy..?" Val Kilmer will never, CAN never perform better than he did here. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan Val steals the show hardcore! "Say when...." 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg "I'll be your Huckleberry...." 4 stars
9/19/98 Jonny Be BAD Hey,Johny!You're not worthy of the name. From now on, I dub you "Yawni". I hope you die.. 5 stars
9/19/98 Johny Seems over praised to me, it's just good 4 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic A far superior production to the more expensive Costner film. Russell rules as an actor. 5 stars
9/16/98 {{{OZ}}} What the hell is the yuckhead below on? Sporky rules the school, as does Tombstone. 5 stars
9/10/98 Jonny Be bAD yOUR rEVIER SHOULD BE BITCH SLAPPED... I HOPE SHE DIES.... SHE DOESN'T DO TOMBSTONE JUSTICE 5 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Finally, a Val Kilmer performance that shouldn't result in castration! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast