More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.63

Awesome: 19.23%
Worth A Look44.23%
Average: 23.08%
Pretty Bad: 7.69%
Total Crap: 5.77%

2 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Far and Away
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Barely passable."
3 stars

Far and Away is another one of those seemingly never-ending epics. This epic doesn't so much span a great amount of time, as it does locals.

Ireland to New York City, to the Open Frontier of the Wild West. Tom Cruise is a land laborer whose land is taken away and house set on fire, so when he goes to claim revenge, is stabbed in the leg by the man's daughter (Nicole Kidman). After some squabbles by them, they boat over to the US in hope of getting land. Accordingly, it doesn't work like that, and it takes several hours before there's anything that resembles it. In other words, it's Ron Howard doing his "thing." Which, if you don't know, is sucking it for all it is worth, with having little to begin with, and trying his darndest to spread an Oscar cream to illuminate it. Note to Ron: Don't trivialize the over-dramatic to begin with. It doesn't make it any more interesting or any more affecting. We go from Revenge of the Underprivileged to The Best Little Whore House in [City's name here] to Cimarron. Instead of taking one of these segments and developing and expanding it, the three are shoved together, semi-rushed (though it does boringly take its time in other places), and at best it amounts to a gritty, groutty postcard. Cruise's accent is decent, and Kidman's classiness is only put on display as a window dressing in the pretty period clothing.

Final Verdict: B-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=835&reviewer=172
originally posted: 01/06/01 05:55:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/25/13 Monday Morning Cool movie - kind of like "Downton Abbey" in reverse. 4 stars
7/18/11 anon I love it..great to watch with the family and really funny..a good old fashioned movie 5 stars
7/04/10 mr.mike See Barry Lyndon instead. 3 stars
6/20/10 Cat This film is incredibly soppy and it doesn't focus enough. Love story is boring. 2 stars
2/21/09 anonymous i really liked it but the ending was kinda lame 4 stars
3/22/08 Pamela White endearing 4 stars
10/31/07 Lia McDonald I loved this movie! I'm actually doing a paper on it in my english class. 4 stars
6/12/07 231212312123 tis movie is ta worst 1 eva saw 5 stars
3/29/07 Meghan I thought it was good, old...back when tom cruise could run, but i thought it had good stuf 4 stars
2/28/07 Joelmay this movie was good until the end when it just finished all of a sudden. 4 stars
2/27/07 CHRISTINEEE. THIS M0VIE WAS DUMB & G00D AT THE SAME TIME. THE ENDING WAS TERRIBLE TH0! 3 stars
9/21/06 Lauren M I thought the movie was good...ending was cheesey, but the movie is worth seeing! 4 stars
3/27/06 she wonderful 5 stars
10/28/05 corey this movie sucked 1 stars
6/19/05 Amanda "Ireland to New York City"??? Did you even watch this movie? It's Boston, you dunce. 5 stars
5/23/05 miranda my ss teacher had us wach it i think its awsome 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER has to be one of the all-time great love stories 5 stars
4/25/04 R.W. Welch Big bucks production has a contrived air about it. Just OK. 3 stars
10/22/03 americanhotty75 Great best movie ever!!!!!! 5 stars
4/09/03 Annaberri Great movie- And for the record, I thought the dying-twice part was funny 5 stars
4/09/03 JL Yeah, the dying twice part was lame, but other than that i loved it. 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Great epic until the absolutely stupid finale; go to the light, Tom! 3 stars
5/22/02 Jo I thought this movie was really good, I'd watch it again and again 4 stars
4/27/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Interminable and often dreary. Bring on the leprechauns. 2 stars
3/12/02 KMG Not as bad as the critics put it out to be....sure wish Tom would put out. 4 stars
1/07/02 Hannah Walker A Classic!! 5 stars
11/19/01 julia falk it was okay expect for joseph's dying twice 4 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy what's with you people. this movie wasn't great but it also wasn't shit. it's good. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Leave it to Ron Howard to make a giant piece of Irish shite! 2 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I like the visuals in the movie. The script wasn't that bad. (Cruise's accent sucks) 4 stars
3/23/01 Nathan Hawkins I thought the film depicted very good images of how the life of a immigrant was. 4 stars
3/08/01 Sanja watch it now and then. 3 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin slow and spotty 2 stars
5/19/00 Scott Smith Very moving. Fairly accurate portrayal. 4 stars
2/27/00 Nick Hudak This could be the worst movie ever made. 1 stars
8/02/99 beachlovr9 Suprisingly very good 4 stars
7/05/99 Sleeper Fart it away. This movie reeks. 1 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce An Irish tale starring a yank and an aussie. Chicks only. 3 stars
9/28/98 Heather A chick flick, but an enjoyable one! 4 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha soggy soggy, but i like 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-May-1992 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1992


Directed by
  Ron Howard

Written by
  Bob Dolman
  Ron Howard

Cast
  Tom Cruise
  Nicole Kidman
  Thomas Gibson
  Robert Prosky
  Barbara Babcock
  Cyril Cusack



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast