More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 21.05%
Worth A Look: 23.68%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 10.53%

2 reviews, 26 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

White Men Can't Jump
[] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"His name is Woody. haha"
3 stars

They really can't. But they wear hemp suits.

This movie can't jump either.

A summation: Wesley Snipes and Woody Harrelson are basketball hustlers. They get together (not like that you perv) and hope to make big money. But racial and personality clashes (admit it, Woddy would get on ANYone's nerves after like 4 minutes) escalate.

In the movie's defense, the direction, timing and language are all very well done. However, the acting is lacking, in my opinon. Both characters are very flat and well, uninteresting. I felt the movie should have delved into the main players more, been about them. Instead it was a LOT about the game. And I could give a fuck.

Rosie Perez is the most interesting character. They tell us so much about her, and so little about the makes me think that the writing was just fine, it was the main players who couldn't pull it off. And if Rosie Perez is acting better than you are...honey, it's time to retire the hemp suit, if you catch my drift. You know who you are, Mr. Harrelson.

In the end I feel this movie had a lot of potential that just didn't materialize. 3 sporks.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/03/98 10:45:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/27/15 stanley welles clever and funny 4 stars
8/17/08 John Millheim So funny, Snipes & Woody are great together in this movie 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Rosie Perez's 2nd most mind numbingly, tear my eyes out annoying role 1 stars
4/26/05 Clubber Lang Hysterical, highly entertaining, but loses momentum towards the end. 4 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G This movie owns, andrew and charles suck eachothers 2 inch dicks 5 stars
12/09/03 john good story - exiting sports action and funny too! 5 stars
11/13/02 Charles Tatum Ron Shelton is a hack 1 stars
8/11/02 blakers a goiod film 3 stars
5/26/02 Jessica Davis Marquee read WHITE MEN CAN'T JUMP GRAND CANYON A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT. 3 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden Such A Demeaning and Stupid Title, and So Is The Movie. 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean Wesley and Woody was so great together in this one. It was a fun movie 4 stars
6/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I love this movie. If you think I'm an idiot, then by all means flame me... 4 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Rosie Perez looks good, the rest is cliche and dreadful 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake After game of horse, the movie becomes quite annoying. 3 stars
12/17/00 Speedy Hands down, the funniest sports movies ever. Hilarious insults! 5 stars
7/07/00 Bruce This is my favorite sports comedy, absolutely hillarious 5 stars
6/26/00 Steve Layne If you're not a basketball fan you won't get it. 4 stars
2/28/00 Kris Rothermal Wesley plays some great hoops, the court scenes are great 5 stars
1/19/00 Add If you like b.ball then you'll love this! 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey s'cool 3 stars
2/15/99 Vick Di Brecci I knew guys like Woody and Wesley in college. I guess my years there have set the standard 4 stars
10/05/98 Johny I liked it a lot years ago when i saw it 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald I wanna punch Rosie Perez almost as hard as the French chick in Pulp Fiction. Skank. 3 stars
9/04/98 Badass A fine movie. It's a joy. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  27-Mar-1992 (R)



Directed by
  Ron Shelton

Written by
  Ron Shelton

  Wesley Snipes
  Woody Harrelson
  Rosie Perez
  Tyra Ferrell
  Cylk Cozart
  Kadeem Hardison

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast